Toast & Jam Reviews

306 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

306 Reviews for Toast & Jam

Recommended by 99%

306
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

18 User photos

Toast & Jam 1
Toast & Jam 2
Toast & Jam 3
Toast & Jam 4
Toast & Jam 5
Toast & Jam 6
Toast & Jam 7
+ 12
Sort by:
  • L

    Liz · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katie was awesome at keeping the party going and keeping everyone on the dance floor! She was everything we hoped for, and more! We met with her a few times before the wedding, so she could get a vibe of what we are looking for, which she caught perfectly. She was amazing at providing suggestions. So organized and on top of it!

    Sent on 08/30/2017
  • B

    Bridget · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    TOAST & JAM IS THE BEST! I went to a wedding that a DJ from toast and jam DJ-ed and it was so awesome, the dance floor was packed all night, with people of all ages. So when it was time to get married I got their info; I got a different DJ and she killed it too! Alli was the best, she got everyone on the dance floor no matter the age. She played the couple songs we really wanted and even did some scratching/mixing. At the end of the night everyone kept saying how awesome she was; I totally agree. Alli was super accommodating with some last minute introduction changes, and was super polite and nice to talk to. If you are getting married and want to have a dance party, hire toast and jam!!

    Sent on 07/14/2017
  • Jillian

    Jillian · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toast & Jam was by far the best DJ service I’ve ever seen (and therefore used!) Ruby rocked our socks off at a friend’s wedding, so we requested her for ours! And then our other friends chose T & J for their wedding because of how highly we spoke of them! They truly are the best!

    Sent on 12/29/2017
    Toast & Jam 8
    Toast & Jam 9
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly, truly the best. Dustin understood our vibe from our first meeting and made our experience smooth, and most of all, FUN! We got rave reviews after our wedding of guests desperate to know where we found him. The dance floor was bumping from the first minute it opened until after the lights came on. People had to be forced off the dancefloor! Dustin is brilliant, and made our wedding the best it could have been.

    Sent on 06/26/2017
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is a reason that Toast & Jam has nearly 500 reviews on Yelp and a five star rating. And yes, this is how we found them.) Seriously, this team is incredible. My now husband and I worked with Emily and she is the best! She is a real pro with incredible experience (and some funny stories) and a really relaxed, fun personality. From the second she joins your team, you know that you’re in good hands and that having a busy dance floor is going to happen. Some additional things I like about Toast & Jam – the equipment is solid (for god’s sake, do not hire some guy you found on Craigslist), they’ve worked at venues all over the city (so aren’t running around the day-of not knowing what they’re doing), and their “pre-work” for song selection is solid. Seriously, it’s a nearly 10 page packet listing wedding music options from the last six decades. Circle what you like, cross out what you don’t, create the must/don’t playlist. They will take it from there! One thing I loved about Emily is that she said, “I don’t care how much money people are giving me. Unless they give me more than you did, they’re not going to get anything off the no playlist.” It was that kind of attitude that just made us laugh. Her arsenal of music also can't be beat with remixes that you didn't know existed.

    Then on the day of, she delivered! She did the music for both our ceremony and reception and everything went perfectly. I keep hearing stories about DJs riding off the rails (read: playing Cha Cha & Electric Slide back-to-back) or playing songs on the don’t playlist. Emily gave us none of that and gave us the most fun dance party/90s sing-a-long party that we ever could have ask for on our wedding day. She kept the dance floor GOING. Everyone from my older uncles to our friends to my cousin’s little ones were crushing the dance floor. I give Emily all the credit and recommend her + Toast & Jam to anyone having a future Chicago wedding. Emily – thank you, THANK YOU!

    Sent on 11/05/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When it came time to hire a DJ for our wedding, there was only one choice: Toast & Jam. All of my friends who’d had especially fun and memorable weddings had used them, so we knew we would, too. We went into the night with high expectations, and Tabitha did not disappoint. We Skyped with her a couple of times before the wedding to talk about what kind of music we liked and didn’t like, and we were able to send her a list of songs we’d like to hear, as well as songs we wouldn’t. We didn’t have to worry about goofy songs like The Chicken Dance or “Red Solo Cup” because these are already on Toast & Jam’s company do-not-play list. Tabitha put together an amazing playlist, politely declined to take requests, and made sure everyone had a great time! At one point about an hour into dancing, nearly everyone was still on the dance floor, including my 90-year old grandmother. Tabitha was also super accommodating of my husband’s surprise boy band dance and made sure that she didn’t spoil the surprise for me. Seriously, look no further. Hire Tabitha, and you and your guests will have the most fabulous time dancing the night away!

    Sent on 05/17/2017
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were originally assigned a DJ who wasn’t a good fit for us, we weren’t jiving. We let Toast and Jam know, and they reassigned us to Karin. Karin was awesome! She was always professional and responded to our messages quickly. She asked the right questions (things we hadn’t even thought of) and gave us suggestions when we didn’t have ideas about music. All of the contract details and payment information was clear and easy to deal with. With the two pre-wedding meetings (which we could do over phone/Skype) and the extensive song list we were given to review, we felt prepared and that there wasn’t anything for us to worry about on our wedding day. And that was true! Karin came up to us at the reception to introduce herself to us in person, but we didn’t have to think about or do anything related to the music on our wedding day. She took care of her own set-up (spoke directly to our venue to coordinate) and played a steady mix for cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing. We personally enjoyed the music which flowed throughout the night, and we received many compliments about our DJ. Karin did a wonderful job as an emcee and had a calm, easygoing, fun, professional vibe. She facilitated the speeches, special dances, and announcements perfectly. We couldn’t have asked for a better DJ.

    Sent on 03/24/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toast & Jam truly brought the party for our wedding. DJ Emily was a breeze to work with; she really took the time to get to know us and understand our quirky musical taste and the cultivate a night of music that matched it perfectly. She ensured that sound was perfect in our space throughout the ceremony and reception and really responded to the crowd's needs. (DJ Emily also let me cut the feet out of her back up tights and use them as socks to cover my blisters to keep me dancing!) We can't recommend Toast & Jam's vibe enough; it made out reception feel classy and put together and not like it was out of some 80's prom movie -- even when that was the music we were listening to!!!

    Sent on 03/27/2017
  • K

    Kit · Married on 02/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had multiple friends recommend Toast + Jam when we were beginning to look for a DJ for our wedding and let me tell you, they did not disappoint. Toast + Jam has a bunch of DJs on the team and most of them are women — I just love that! They’re also all about NOT being cheesy and cliche, so I knew we were going to be in safe hands on our wedding day. We worked with DJ Kristin and just loved her from our first conversation. She has the best energy and is just fun to be around. T+J has a great comprehensive song list to get you started when you’re thinking about music — it’s a perfect jumping off point and makes it so easy to communicate the feel and vibe you want. On our wedding day, Kristin was so fantastic and provided the perfect ambiance for cocktail hour, great dinner tunes, and completely rocked the reception — the dance floor was packed through the very last song. We still have friends and family talking about how great our DJ was and strongly recommend Toast + Jam (and DJ Kristin!) to anyone looking for a great DJ in Chicago.

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • A

    Allison · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Dustin Drase as our DJ for our wedding on 12/17/16. He was amazing! From the beginning, he understood our vision for the wedding music. He sat down with us and went through all our music choices. He was so easy to work with and accommodating to our song choices. When it came to the wedding day, we were blown away by him. From the ceremony to the cocktail hour to the dinner to the dance music, Dustin did a fantastic job. Several people commented that it was the best wedding music they have ever heard. He was able to create the exact vibe we were going for. So much so that when the music ended at midnight, guests on the dance floor begged for more! Dustin helped create a fantastic party that people are still talking about. If you are considering hiring Toast & Jam, do it! And request Dustin if possible!!

    Sent on 12/31/2016
  • R

    Robert · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We thought the other reviews and promises on their website might be an exaggeration, but trust me -- every word is true! Our guests didn't leave the dance floor from the moment the music started until the venue closed down. Kate did a wonderful job picking songs that fit us and our guests, and did a fabulous job during the ceremony too. They're definitely the best DJs in Chicago!

    Sent on 01/25/2017
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 12/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were referred to T&J by a friend who used them for their wedding and we are SO happy we did! We had Kate for our wedding and we got along really well from the moment we met. She made planning the day really easy; we could tell she had DJ'd tons of weddings before. We gave her a ton of freedom in music and only said we wanted to dance a lot, and she absolutely delivered -- the dance floor was packed until the lights came on! And there was great variety too, so that people of all ages got out and danced. The music for the ceremony was perfection, as was the cocktail hour/dinner. I'm not sure how she does it, but she just knows the right song to play at the right time. It felt like we had a friend up there choosing our favorite songs. We would book T+J again without question, and you should too.

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We danced the night away with Dustin. People LOVED the music (including us) and we thought he did a fantastic job! He did a great job incorporated our wishes and he had people/dancing and singing along the whole night!

    Sent on 11/25/2016
  • R

    Roxana · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dustin was an amazing DJ. I sent him a ton of Romanian music that I wanted him to play during dinner and after the first dances. He incorporated it wonderfully. I had some very specific do not play requests and must plays - he absolutely nailed it. We decided to extend our wedding reception, in part, because he kept the dance floor going all night.

    Sent on 12/02/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Dustin Drase was assigned as our wedding DJ and he was AWESOME! All of our guest kept telling us how great he was and really kept people out on the dance floor. My advice to anyone selecting a DJ is to share with them some of your personal playlists so they know what type of songs and music are your favorites. They'll take care of keeping people dancing. Also, avoid DJ handcuffs... that means don't cross everything off their lists and say they're not allowed to play it. Instead, give them the names of a few artists (3-4) that you absolutely don't want them to play.

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved, loved, loved our experience with Toast & Jam! We received so many compliments on our DJ, Ruby's, music selections. She was able to keep the dance floor busy all night. We also had some specific requests when it came to dinner music and she completely nailed the tone we were going for. Thank you Ruby & Toast & Jam!

    Sent on 01/12/2017
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katy was great! We chose Toast & Jam because they were awesome at a friend's wedding and they were just as great at ours! Their system for figuring out our music preferences worked wonderfully and Katy had our guests dancing all night long. Our guests remarked on how good she was at reading the dance floor and choosing songs that appealed to both our older and younger guests. If you can get Toast & Jam (book early since they're popular), don't hesitate!

    Sent on 10/08/2017
  • J

    Jason · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on 8/6/16 at Room1520 - an awesome venue, for the perfect wedding! We were lucky enough to score DJ Kristin for the evening and all we can say is WOW!! Talk about someone that LOVES their job. She was a professional and friend all the way through, and really showed up the evening of the wedding. Her smile (and dancing) lit up the room and set the bar for the evening.

    Music was the MOST important piece of our wedding puzzle. We wanted our dance floor packed the entire night, and people complaining about being sore the next morning. Mission accomplished. Kristin worked with us to create a specific tone for the evening. We had music surprises throughout the night, which Kristin spaced out perfectly, that gave so much energy to the dance floor.

    Everything you read about Toast & Jam is true, so there's no need to repeat. There are so many options when it comes to music, but after going through the process, I can't even begin to imagine the night without Kristin. It was the perfect evening, everything we had hoped for (and more) and we owe it all to DJ Kristin. Thank you so much for the unforgettable memories.

    Oh... They have toasts coasters in their office. Loved that!

    Sent on 08/29/2016
  • K

    Kerry · Married on 07/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible service! Dustin from Toast & Jam was amazing to work with, made everything so easy on us, and was EXTREMELY helpful in song selections. He went well above and beyond what we had expected and were ecstatic with the results. We really cannot say enough positive things about our experience with Dustin and Toast & Jam.

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • L

    Leah · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Toast & Jam for the win! Katy Albert DJ'd our wedding and we loved her! She's a pleasure to work with, and an awesome DJ.

    Sent on 08/19/2016
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    T&J was a recommendation by our photography and we couldn’t be happier to have selected them to be our DJ. From the moment I reviewed their website and viewed their ‘don’t play’ video we knew that we’d be a perfect match.
    We had the esteemed pleasure of working with Mary from T&J. I came into our first meeting with specific ideas for the ROS but Mary was able to bring her seasoned expertise into the conversation to steer us in the right direction. She had also worked with many of our other vendors in the past so it made coordinating the details of the ceremony that much smoother.
    We LOVED the song mix throughout the night and so did our guests because our dance floor was filled all night long. In the end, Mary’s recommendations on the timing of the dances and the way she read our crowd throughout the night was spot on.
    I’d recommend T&J to every Chicago wedding couple because they were the best!

    Sent on 06/19/2016
  • User6904086 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The stars and quantity of great reviews speak for themselves. After attending several weddings with disappointing DJs, we new a great DJ was important to us. Toast & Jam had the best reviews and the fortunately the market is very closely priced. They were our number one choice after reviewing a few competitors. We were assigned Kate & Rachel as our DJ duo. We were so excited to know their DJ friendship story and to have them at the wedding. Kate & Rachel were incredibly calming the week before the wedding as we reviewed the final details. They did an incredible job of keeping the dance floor active even when we were pulled away from it. They also hit all our favorite songs. We couldn't recommend T&J and K&R more.

    Sent on 06/30/2016
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 05/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Where do I start!? Rachel was absolutely wonderful from the first moment my Wife and I contacted her. She was incredibly knowledgeable of her music selection and helped guide us in the right direction so we could have an epic dance party at our wedding, all while giving us control of the music we wanted to hear. I highly recommend anyone who wants to hear more than a Spotify playlist at their wedding to use Toast & Jam. I promise and you and your guests will not regret it.

    Sent on 05/24/2016
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome! Our DJ was Dustin and the music couldn't have been better! We were able to give very little direction on what types of music we wanted and he was able to choose the perfect songs all night. The dance floor was literally packed until the cleaning crew came in at the end of the night!

    Sent on 06/03/2016
  • T

    Megan and Parker · Married on 04/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Toast & Jam for our April 2016 wedding and could not have been more pleased with the result. Rachel Karlic was our DJ and she was amazing! I cannot say enough how fantastic Rachel was to work with. From our first meeting we knew Rachel was going to be the DJ for our wedding and it is one of the best decisions we made. When we met Rachel she asked us a lot of questions about our style of music, vision for the wedding, etc. All our guests raved about the music and she kept the dance floor full all night long. Many people have told us how much fun our wedding was and Rachel helped to make it so!

    Sent on 08/16/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review