Weddings

Thoughtful Weddings Reviews

Thoughtful Weddings

Thoughtful Weddings

Baltimore, MD
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 49 Reviews
View more information

49 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 49
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

39 User photos

Sort by:
  • Laura
    Laura V. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Can't Recommend Enough!

    Rovan did such an amazing job as our officiant for our wedding this past September! He doesn't just officiate your ceremony, he tells your story. We had multiple guests come up to us after the ceremony to ask how we knew Rovan or if he was a friend, because the ceremony was that personal/intimate!

    Before the wedding he took the time to really get to know us - our meeting ended up lasting two hours because we got along so well and we covered so much about my husband and I and our relationship! He then sent a whole draft of everything he would say and we got the chance to make edits. He also provided guidance on writing our own vows, readings we could use, and also unity ceremony ideas - all of which were so helpful because we honestly had no idea where to even start, especially being non religious!

    Rovan typically likes to attend the rehearsal (not common for officiants), however he was working another wedding the night of our rehearsal so we met on zoom a few days prior. He went over the entire structure of the ceremony and provided lots of amazing tips - I took copious notes and was able to hand them to our venue coordinator to go over at the rehearsal. It was really helpful and provided the structure we needed.

    I can't recommend Rovan enough - he truly feels like a friend at this point and I wish him all the best!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie H. Married on 06/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Wonderful Experience!

    My now-husband and I met with a few officiants when we were first engaged in 2019, and found the process to be quite daunting. I had a religious background but did not want to get married in a church, and my husband has never really been involved in religion, but knew he wanted our wedding to be meaningful. After stumbling upon Rovan, we set up a call with him and we immediately knew we wanted him to marry us. He had the religious touch that I was looking for with the spiritual and sentimental aspects we both desired. We booked Rovan then, somewhere in the fall of 2019 with an anticipated wedding of fall 2020. As we all know, covid-19 came along and derailed our wedding plans. My husband and I were heartbroken to postpone the day we had anticipated, but knew we wanted to keep our original promise to marry. Rovan was more than game to not only postpone the 'big' wedding ceremony, but to also marry us in a small backyard ceremony on our original date. In July of 2020, we met virtually to plan both ceremonies and went forward with our plans for a backyard ceremony. The original date arrived, and Rovan married us in our backyard with our closest family in attendance. He gave us a officiated a wonderful and abbreviated ceremony, and we were so elated to be officially married, but still sad that all the dreaming and planning we had done still had to wait to come to life. Somehow, that time did fly by and it was yet again time to chat with Rovan about our 'big' wedding plans in 2021. He had all of the details, knew the game plan, and we were getting excited to celebrate with the rest of our family as covid-19 restrictions had finally been lifted! Rovan attended our rehearsal, which at least an hours drive. He was patient when the best man arrived late and answered any questions we had. He walked us through the what our big day would look like and kept everything short and sweet. We parted ways comforted that the wedding would go off without a hitch. And it did! The next day Rovan arrived and everyone was ready for the big event. Rovan was prompt, gave a pleasant greeting to the guests and delivered a profound and much appreciated second wedding ceremony/vow renewal. We can't say enough about Rovan's services. He was very attentive, professional, got to know us as a couple and gave a heartfelt ceremony that was a beautiful beginning to our married life. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a wonderful wedding officiant!
  • Ariel
    Ariel C. Married on 06/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Heartfelt, Personalized Ceremony

    Rovan made our special day even more special by helping us craft a beautiful and personal ceremony for our wedding. I was very adamant about wanting to do a handfasting as part of our ceremony and Rovan easily accommodated us. Being able to work with him and edit the ceremony script ourselves was a wonderful, hands-on experience! And I appreciated Rovan's commitment to not only delivering a fantastic ceremony, but also keeping it under 30 minutes in order to keep things moving along. I highly recommend Rovan and Thoughtful Weddings!
  • Colleen
    Colleen F. Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect officiant - it's like you know him!

    Rovan was an amazing officiant! We did three pre-marital counseling sessions with him prior to our wedding and then one planning session prior to our wedding. Rovan was extremely professional and gave us a great wedding ceremony toolkit that allowed us to make decisions within a traditional ceremony framework. He worked with us to personalize the ceremony and incorporate the correct amount of religious references. In addition, Rovan made the marriage license submission process easy and got along extremely well with our family. He also keeps everything professional and takes off after the ceremony, so as not to mix work and pleasure. He was amazing and we'd highly recommend him!!!
  • M
    Marisa Married on 10/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great wedding officiant!

    Rovan was an absolute pleasure to work with and made crafting the perfect wedding ceremony a breeze! He was very responsive from the moment we contacted him, down to the last detail. He sat down with us to get to know us and our story from start to finish and he drafted a beautiful ceremony -- that every guest really loved and felt very true to our marriage. We're so grateful we had Rovan as an officiant!
  • M
    Meghan Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible

    Everyone was blown away by our wedding ceremony. Rovan is a wonderful, kind, and down to earth person. He made sure to take the time to get to know us, and make a beautiful, heartfelt, and personalized ceremony. I’ve already had two guests from my wedding ask for his information, as they want to have him officiate their big day as well. If you want to have a heartfelt ceremony to remember forever, Rovan is your man!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 09/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional and Easy to Work With

    My husband and I were looking for an officiant who could add a few touches of religion to an otherwise non-religious wedding (husband is Christian, I am nothing specific). We knew Rovan was the one about 5 minutes into the call. It was almost like he was reading our minds on what we both wanted, and the process was so personalized yet fluid, it couldn't have been easier. He came to rehearsal and early to the wedding, ensuring we never once felt like we had to know what to do without guidance. If you are looking for the perfect officiant, no need to look further!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and thoughtful ceremony

    Rovan created the most beautiful ceremony for us- it was sentimental and sweet- bringing the crowd to tears- and fun and funny- prompting many laughs and so many smiles. So many guests said that it was the best wedding ceremony they had ever witnessed. Rovan makes his ceremonies personal to couple (lots of folks thought he must be an uncle), he brings in the community, and he is just a delight to be around. He also helped us write our own vows and was extremely patient giving us helpful feedback. I am SO thrilled that we chose Rovan for our special day.
  • V
    Victoria P. Married on 09/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Wedding Ceremony Experience

    Rev. Rovan does a wonderful job helping you prepare a beautiful ceremony, no matter how religious you want it to be (or not be). He gives you many examples of different elements of ceremonies and is willing to sit down and talk with you before the day arrives. He arrives on-time, dressed professionally and ready to go.

    In terms of the actual ceremony, Rovan really goes out of his way to put you at ease when you are standing up at the altar. He intentionally speaks clearly so that you can understand and repeat what he is saying (vows). Helping bring calm to the chaos of the day was refreshing and something that was much appreciated. Don't worry about Rovan or his part, he will make sure everything runs smoothly and your ceremony stays on target and on schedule. We had multiple people approach us after the ceremony and tell us it was the best wedding ceremony they have ever heard.

    Thanks again, Rovan, you were wonderful!
  • Makenna
    Makenna H. Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional and Unique Ceremony

    My husband and I are so happy we chose Rovan to officiate our wedding! He was beautifully able to articulate the story of how we met while honoring our 'spiritual but not religious' beliefs and throwing in a few laughs along the way. We wanted a ceremony that wasn't 'cookie cutter', but wouldn't alienate our conservative family members and he did exactly that. We couldn't recommend him enough!
  • Marta
    Marta Married on 08/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything you need in an officiant and more!

    We had some trouble on deciding our officiant, but we are glad we chose Rovan at Thoughtful Weddings. He has done many weddings before and knows what to do and what not to do. He was nice enough to meet us in person so we could share our story with him to help write the ceremony script. When we asked him to change the initial script to something more custom than traditional, he accepted and helped us perfect the text for the ceremony. His vow kit was extremely helpful for us to write our personal vows. We highly recommend Rovan at Thoughtful Weddings!
  • J
    Jessica F. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Officiant

    Rovan was great! The ceremony was beautiful and everything we could have hoped for. Everyone was talking about how personal he made the ceremony and how unique it was. Rovan was on top of everything throughout the planning process which is extremely helpful when you have so many different things to remember. He led our rehearsal and came early the day of to ensure everything was just right. I highly recommend him.
  • N
    Natalie K. Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful vendor!

    Simply put, I highly recommend Rovan and Thoughtful Weddings for your wedding ceremony! Rovan really takes the time to meet his couples and curate a wedding ceremony that actually tells the story of the bride and groom. He also will give you access to the ceremony text in advance, so that you can collaborate with him. Rovan makes the ceremony every combination of funny, happy, light-hearted and serious; he also engaged the audience, which was well appreciated. We were married 2 months ago, and our wedding guests still comment on how lovely our ceremony was! Finally, as a bride, communication with vendors is so important - Rovan would always reply promptly. Highly recommend!
  • Sean
    Sean M. Married on 05/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and Professional Wedding Ceremony

    Rovan did a wonderful job officiating our wedding ceremony. He has an extremely professional approach that makes everything simple and stress free while providing a ceremony that was beautiful, had a personal touch, and was exactly what we were looking for. Following the reception we had guests commenting to us all night about how lovely the ceremony was and how much they enjoyed listening to Rovan speak. I would definitely recommend Rovan to anyone who is looking for a simple yet beautiful ceremony that is totally stress free.
  • Francesca
    Francesca G. Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Must Have

    Rovan was a top notch professional. He got to know us and our story and was able to compose a very personalized ceremony much different than the usual “Love is patient love is kind....” All our guests commented at how they enjoyed hearing our story. He was very responsive via email and phone throughout the entire planning process as well as very receptive to any changes we requested. He also expertly ran our rehearsal; he was puntional and very detailed on explaining how the ceremony would go. The day of our wedding he was early and spoke with all my vendors so that our ceremony would run smoothly which it did! I highly recommend Thoughtful Weddings/Rovan he made our day absolutely perfect!
  • D
    Daniel Married on 05/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best officiant there is!!!

    Rovan met with my wife & I to learn about our story as a couple and wrote a personalized ceremony. He made our day perfect and was amazing from start to finish. If you're looking for an officiant -- hire Rovan!!!!
  • A
    Ashley S. Married on 04/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and personal wedding ceremony

    Rev. Rovan officiated my husband and my wedding in April of 2019, and he was an absolute pleasure to work with. To begin with, he was always quick to respond to us and clearly explained himself when necessary. He made it a point to meet with us 2 months before the wedding in order to write a personalized ceremony. He asked us what we wanted, and did his best to accommodate our requests, and even insisted that we were involved and contributed to the final script. Rev. Rovan was also able to tactfully create a ceremony that incorporated some religious aspects in order to please our families, while still limiting it enough that our friends were not uncomfortable or overwhelmed. His experience especially showed, in his patience and understanding when dealing with our easily distracted families, as well as handling a very confusing and hectic day-of schedule. Rev. Rovan definitely helped to make our day special and unique to us, and we are truly grateful.
    - Ashley and Kevin

  • Y
    Yessica Married on 03/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    ........abc and t and I s cross

    .....






    Abc and ts and I s crossed.
  • Kate
    Kate S. Married on 09/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    Rovan was an amazing generous thoughtful and essential component of our wedding. From beginning to end he really worked hard to make this day everything we had hoped for. He took so much time and care writing our wedding ceremony and helping us craft a beautiful memory we will be able to remember and cherish forever. We got numerous comments that our ceremony was one of the most beautiful ceremonies people had been to and a major part of that was Rovan and his expertise. We cannot say thank you enough!!!
  • Jenna
    Jenna Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful officiant comes highly recommended!

    We had such a wonderful ceremony planned and written by Rovan! He truly got to know us and personalized every last detail to make it something special. Rovan is patient, flexible, understanding of any wish, and truly a great person to work with. We have the most amazing memories from our special day and would recommend him to anyone looking!

  • R
    Rebekah Married on 08/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rovan from the beginning was a wonderful person to work with. He took the time to get to know my husband and myself to make our service as fabulous as it could be. We got so many compliments on how beautiful our ceremony was and how personal and welcoming it felt. Our day was one of a kind thanks to Rovan! Definitely would highly recommend him to make everyone's day special
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rovan was Professional and a Joy

    My husband and I were very picky about our officiant when my husband’s rabbi couldn’t preform the ceremony. Thankfully Rovan was such a great choice! He was quick with our draft after our pre-planning meeting and took all our changes to heart. We were very confident the day of that we would have the quick, thoughtful, sometimes funny, and cry-inducing ceremony that we had dreamed of!

    Photos by Lauren Nievod Photography
  • M
    May Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was such a pleasure working with Rovan for our wedding! He has such an easy going and comforting demeanor that I knew very quickly after our first meeting that he was going to be our officiant. We wanted a very secular ceremony and Rovan understood completely without any judgement. He patiently listened to our story and crafted a beautiful ceremony that truly represented the both of us. Our guests loved Rovan and told us many times that day how great he was! I am so incredibly happy that we hired Rovan and would recommend him to anyone getting married!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 03/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding ceremony would not have been half as nicely done, had it not been for Rovan's thoughtful touches. I've been to many weddings, and I knew exactly what I DIDNT want our ceremony to look like - an officiant who mispronounced names, recited the same tired lines as everyone else's wedding, a very unpersonalized and generic ceremony. Rovan met with us for over an hour and he asked us many questions about how we met, what was important to us, what was our vision for the day. He took all of that and produced a draft document of the ceremony that we were able to edit and give feedback on, to truly make it ours. Its worth noting, that we made very few edits. :) I can't tell you the number of people that have specifically complimented us on our ceremony and how special and unique it was. It told our story, which was a fabulous way of making everyone in the room feel like they were part of our story moving forward. It was a beautiful, meaningful ceremony! Rovan was a pleasure to work with and is such a kind man. I would very much recommend you do yourself (and your guests who have to sit through your ceremony) a favor and allow Rovan to construct the perfect, tailored ceremony.
  • K
    Kendall Married on 11/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Choose Rovan! He met with us multiple times to make sure he truly understood who we are, where we came from, how we worked as a couple, how we met, how we fell in love, and so many other details about us and he used it all to hand craft a beautiful ceremony. This ceremony was the most beautiful, well-written, personalized ceremony and we are so lucky Rovan took the time to create it for us. He edited our vows for us, supplied so many different reading options. He also created the perfect ceremony that included all members of our audience from incredibly catholic to entirely non-religious. He is the type of person you want to be friends with and have mentor you. He is so wise and fun and talented. He does such a good job that when all is said and done, you feel as though the price you paid is not enough and he deserves more. Truly amazing. The epitome of a deserving 5 star officiant. I know how hard it is to choose someone based on reviews, but Rovan is the one, trust me.