The Whiteface Lodge Reviews

19 | Lake Placid, NY
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for The Whiteface Lodge

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

19

7 User photos

Order by:
  • Terri

    Terri Schumann · Married on 03/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whiteface Lodge: Luxury Venue, Adirondack Elegance, Astonishing Value

    The Whiteface Lodge was our wedding venue for our Adirondack wedding on September 15, 2019, and it was the most magical place to have a wedding, the most prepared, generous and hospitable to us and our guests. I can’t say enough about this exemplary venue and our two points of contact: Rosette Press, Director of Social & Catering Sales, and Nicole Zaluski, on-site Wedding Planner and Artist of our day.

    Our Adirondack wedding was a destination wedding, so first we interfaced with Rosette, who showed us the Whiteface and helped us get our contract together, choose our food and nail down the overall timing and purchases. Rosette is elegant, wise, funny and calm…she helped us stay on task and followed up professionally when payments were due and as our day approached. Rosette’s calm competence and attention to detail made us feel well cared for, in supremely good hands, assured and relaxed and ready.

    As our day approached Nicole became our front and center contact, as she is the artistry behind the entire day. Nicole interfaces with ALL vendors on the day of the wedding, so you don’t have to, and she handles every little personalized touch and detail with more precision and care than you can imagine.

    I once came to visit Nicole before the wedding and she was personally re-vacuuming one of the private dining rooms for a rehearsal dinner she was curating because she wanted it “just so.” Nicole is an actual artist; if you tell her your ideas she will create something even more magical than you imagined…taking your idea and making it more ethereal, more artistic, more unique. Nicole made all our details come together in a fabric of beauty, warmth and welcome! I valued her and her curation SO SO MUCH.

    If Nicole is the artist/wedding planner for your day, she has an astonishing canvas to work with: The Whiteface Lodge is one of the most stunning interiors/exteriors I have ever seen. Its honeyed Adirondack wood is inviting, its dimensions generous yet cozy, and it photographs extremely well, warm with great hues and tones. The setting of the property is singular and stunning, nestled in the Adirondacks, friend of wind and water. Our guests were over the moon with this venue; they still compliment us on finding such a gem for our wedding setting.

    The food at the Whiteface is exemplary and surprising: Chef chose local seasonal vegetables and created food that was delicious and fresh, Michelin quality, including wines that were paired and appreciated. The servers are elegant and well-oiled, the entire day went better than we could have imagined. The Lodge setting felt casually elegant, not fussy, but deeply luxurious and cultured, a place to remember, a place to return to.

    The Whiteface is a luxury venue, no doubt about it, but when the bill came in we were actually surprised at what an overall value it was. All the beauty, care and singular setting for a good price. You won’t regret choosing the Whiteface Lodge, and working with Rosette and Nicole. They will make you want to come back, again and again, to such a special place…as unique as Brigadoon!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • Peter

    Peter · Married on 11/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Special Wedding Venue

    The Whiteface Lodge is the perfect place to get married! They were so flexible and easy to work with. The whole wedding weekend was an incredible experience.

    Sent on 01/19/2020
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most beautiful wedding!

    My wedding at the Whiteface Lodge was amazing! We had a couple bumps at the end, BUT the Lodge went above and beyond to correct any mistakes that were made, and my wedding turned out to be, I may be biased here, the best wedding ever!

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • J

    Jenah · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so incredibly happy we chose to get married at The Whiteface Lodge. From the moment we walked in for our tour, we fell in love. Rosette, in charge of sales, was so welcoming and full of information. We had a full list of venues to visit and ended up booking then and there.

    At that point, we began working with the amazing event planner, Nicole. She too was super friendly and made the process so simple. She was in contact every step of the way and let us know what she needed when.

    The weekend of the wedding was a dream. We had the entire clubhouse to ourselves, which we would highly recommend. We were able to spend so much time with all of our friends and family. Everyone loved the ice skating, outdoor hot tubs, etc.

    We had a smaller wedding of 50 people and they made the space look perfect. We got married in the Kanu room, which had the fireplaces roaring and looked completely transformed from the dining area! The reception was more than we could have asked for. The food was FANTASTIC (which we knew from the tasting!), the drinks were well made, and the staff were so friendly. Honestly, whatever we asked for they did and did so with a huge smile.

    This was the perfect winter wonderland wedding. Our friends and family cant stop talking about it! We will forever cherish our time spent at the lodge and cant wait to go back for our anniversaries. We also cant think Nicole and the team at Whiteface Lodge enough for their patience and guidance throughout this process.

    Sent on 03/26/2018
  • L

    Lee-Ann · Married on 02/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, stunning venue. The staff are absolutely amazing! It was the perfect location for our dream winter wedding.

    Sent on 03/23/2018
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 12/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were extremely satisfied with everything!!! Nicole and the team were accommodating and helpful in all aspects of our wedding. The food was delicious and the venue was even more spectacular with all the Christmas decorations!! We haven't been able to stop talking about the amazing we had with family and friends. The best thing we did is make our wedding weekend last for 4 day straight, surrounded by everyone we love!

    Sent on 12/28/2017
  • O

    Oliver · Married on 03/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Nicole from the vey beginning and she made the process super easy and stress-free. The venue offered a lot of flexibity with packages, bar choices, and menus choices. I also did a lot of the decor and all of the florals myself. Nicole and her team placed everything it the perfect spot based of a key I made and as I walked down the aisle I saw my beautiful ceremony vision come to life and was able to repeat the same feeling of excitement seeing the reception come to life upon our entrance. I also had the guests personally come up and compliment that their meal was seriously delicious and they were amazed at the beautiful plated dish they were presented still piping hot! The lodge takes great pride in their food and creates a seasonal menu that is ever changing. You are not just stuck with chicken or steak. My mother is also a vegan and they were more than happy to accommodate her with a fantastic dish she loved! Another great aspect was that the resort itself has awesome amenities and many of our guests made it a mini vacation taking a day or two extra to enjoy the pool, spa, hot tubs, and slopes. I kept having guests tell me this was the most beautiful venue and the whole family was able to enjoy their time. Relaxing the day after my wedding at the pool and steam room was a total lifesaver and it was so nice to be able to take a few moments to myself after such an eventful few days.

    Sent on 03/22/2017
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 01/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at The Whiteface Lodge this past January and aside from it being the most beautiful place to have a wedding, the staff simply made everything up to and on the wedding day so flawless and smooth. My winter wedding was truly a wonderland! As a guest at the Lodge, each and every person who works there goes over and beyond to leave you feeling so special. Everything from the suites to the amenities to the property views are beyond words - simply breathtaking. I cannot wait to stay again - it feels like home and I miss it already!

    Sent on 03/01/2017
  • P

    Rachel · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For two people who wanted to elope, my husband and I are so happy that we didn't. Our wedding at Whiteface Lodge was one of the best weekends of our lives. From the warm chocolate chip cookies awaiting our guests upon their arrival to the inviting fireplaces, the lodge itself was simply beautiful.

    Even better than the scenery was our experience with the staff. With all of the juggling parts included in planning and executing a wedding, I felt incredibly confident and at ease knowing that the Whiteface staff was standing beside me. In particular, Nicole, our events and day-of-event coordinator was a dream. Her competence, calm and warmth allowed my husband and I to focus on our family and friends and not get caught up in the behind-the-scenes work. She was able to pretty quickly read our style and personality, adding many special details to our wedding without us even asking (I don't know how she does it!).

    The Whiteface Lodge has become a home away from home for us and we look forward to visiting again in years to come.

    Sent on 11/14/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have picked a better venue for the most important day of our life. Not only is the entire hotel Gorgeous, Nicole the event manager tailored our wedding to exactly what we wanted. She was awesome and can't thank her enough. Guests came up to me the next day and said it was one of the best weddings they have ever been too. Although, it is pricey, your are paying for quality. I will never forget that night and can't wait to spend my anniversaries in this beautiful place.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married here on September 20th and am pleased to say that the whole planning experience at the Whiteface Lodge was top notch. Nicole, the day of coordinator, was always friendly, accommodating, and eager to see that everything went smoothly on my special day. She even remembered that I like my steak rare:). Whatever it is that you want, from a special color of linen to non-traditional cake flavors, the Lodge is great about making it happen. The Canoe Club is STUNNING. If you decide to have your wedding here, you won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 10/18/2015
  • M

    Maryanne · Married on 09/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing, couldn't have picked a better wedding destination than the Whiteface Lodge. Our wedding was September 18 with only 23 guests. Our wedding ceremony was held on the veranda at Kanu over looking Whiteface; the same area held our cocktail hour. The open bar and appetizers we great and a wonderful way to kick things off. We had one long table beautifully decorated, our guests raved about how delicious the food was. We did get in trouble multiple times For being to excited and loud :( but we still had a great time. They also made our cake (chocolate cake with salted Caramel butter cream frosting), best cake I have ever had. Everything was perfect and would do it all over again if I could. My hair and makeup was also taken care of at their salon and turned out great. I cannot thank and state how great it was working with Nicole, she handled everything I asked for and more. Nicole made the whole experience effortless and without worry. She is a real asset to the Whiteface Lodge.

    Sent on 11/17/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier that we chose The Whiteface Lodge for our wedding weekend!! It is such an absolutely BEAUTIFUL venue! Nicole and Rosette were wonderful to work with - very professional and helpful throughout the entire planning process! We are looking forward to coming back to the lodge for many years to come, and will always be filled with wonderful memories from our wedding :)

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • K

    Kara · Married on 12/14/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Venue

    We got married at Whiteface on 12/14. Our wedding could not have been more beautiful. We had some rocky communication leading up to the the day, but everything went off without a hitch. Nicole made sure everything was in order, and the event staff was absolutely lovely.

    Sent on 12/27/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 12/10/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our December wedding with the Whiteface Lodge was the absolute happiest day of our lives, and part of that is due to our amazing wedding venue and coordinator Nicole Zaluski-Barth. The venue is stunning, and our guests could not stop talking about how it looked and felt like the perfect winter wonderland - from the vows in front of the tree and various Christmas decorations, the lit fireplaces, to icicles everywhere and the wooden lodge ambiance, we couldn't have asked for a better aesthetic for our wedding day vision. Many guests told us our food was the best wedding food they've ever had. Nicole was extremely flexible, and was able to accommodate every question and request - this was extremely appreciated. Coming upstate from NYC, it was a pleasure to be treated like a human instead of a number when planning your wedding. Nicole was very laid back and made me feel calm and relaxed on my wedding day. The lodge staff on our wedding day was also excellent - our guests loved the bartenders and servers, and they also went above and beyond to ensure that the bridge and groom were well fed (and watered). There were minor hiccups on the wedding day, including a miscommunication about the wedding cake, coordinating the post-ceremony exit to take photos, and timing of dinner was longer than expected, however I don't think this items detracted from the overall success of our wedding - for the price tag, you expect perfection :) Thank you Whiteface Lodge for everything!

    Sent on 03/15/2017
  • J

    Jill · Married on 11/11/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married here November 2016 and it was nothing short but my dream wedding. Nicole was amazing and she made everything so easy and stress free. I would choose The Whiteface Lodge for my wedding over and over again!

    Sent on 02/10/2018
  • B

    Bianca · Married on 10/07/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful setting, definitely a dream wedding! Only hiccup was with communication between us and the staff. However, they were able to work with us and we left satisfied. Nicole and Rosette were very helpful and we look forward to celebrating our future anniversaries here!

    Sent on 10/27/2017
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 11/04/2017

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    This venue is amazing and I would highly recommend the location to anyone. The Adirondacks are scenic and romantic !
    I was not pleased with the reservation, room blocking process and lack of explanation of the room blocking process. What was told to me at the preliminary meeting and what really happened were 2 different things.
    Many of my guests stayed elsewhere because they were not happy with the service, or should I say, lack of service from the reservation desk.
    I would definately stay here again and enjoy the amenities of the lodge.
    I appreciated the help and details from the wedding planner ! She was easy to work with and accommodated all my requests.
    Thank you for having an amazing place to be married and gather friends and family!!

    Sent on 01/02/2018
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 02/24/2017

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    You may not get what you have contracted for related to your room block and once on the property you have no recourse and SURPRISE they have been paid in advance so nobody seems to care if you are unhappy and or not. The White Face Lodge is a beautiful venue and totally met my daughter's winter wedding dream destination vision. The rooms and suites were tastefully decorated and luxurious. The day of my daughter's wedding was perfect and the wedding coordinator Nicole was professional, helpful, and kept the days event on time. Nicole was wonderful to work with and responsive. With that said we were extremely unhappy with the reservation departments fulfillment of our guests suites and honoring our contracts "main lodge housing" agreement. Even after speaking with Rosette prior to our room block filling and specifically requesting that none of our room block guests be housed in the club house they were. Although Rosette was on the property and I asked to speak with her in person she did not come out of her office or attempt to speak with me. Check in is 4PM however; when I asked if my room would be available sooner the day of check in I was told at 9AM that I would be first priority for check in and that it was estimated I would be able to check in at 1:30PM. Not sure why they told me this because our room wasn't ready until 4PM. Don't tell your guests an earlier time if you can't deliver just tell them 4PM is check in. It was apparent that the only individuals they wanted to please were the guests paying the higher rate for rooms and give the middle finger to the pre-paid room block guests.

    Sent on 04/06/2017

    The Whiteface Lodge's reply:

    Our goal at the Whiteface Lodge is that every couple’s wedding is their dream day and we are so pleased that was so for your daughter’s wedding. They are a lovely couple and it certainly was a beautiful event. We always wish to take great care of our guests, be they staying with a wedding group or not. We do not make a distinction when checking guests in. We regret any issues that may have occurred when guests were making reservations, however all rooms were honored as agreed to in the contract. We do our utmost to accommodate all room requests including, but not limited to, early check- in which we unfortunately cannot guarantee. We also had discussed your concerns at length with your husband at the time and are happy to discuss with you further at any time as well.
    All our best wishes to the happy couple.

    Rosette Press Director of Sales