The West Monitor Barn Reviews

9 | Richmond, VT
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for The West Monitor Barn

Recommended by 96%

9

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

1 User photo

The West Monitor Barn 1
Sort by:
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The West Monitor Barn was the perfect location for our wedding and our day could not have gone better! From the moment we toured the barn and met with Cae we knew it would be the perfect place for us. The location and barn are gorgeous and every staff member we worked with was friendly and helpful. We worked with Laura thorughout the year planning for our big day and she was absolutely wonderful! She worked with all of our vendors to make sure everyone was in the loop and it took a lot of the stress off of us. One of the things they do, that most other venues don't, is only have one wedding a weekend. This was such a big plus for us as it allowed us to get in early to set up on Friday for our Saturday wedding, and allowed time for cleanup on Sunday. Laura also did our flowers (Unfurled Vermont) and they were gorgeous!! We would recommend this venue a thousand times over and had a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 09/25/2017
    The West Monitor Barn 2
  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough nice things we can say about the West Monitor Barn and our experience working with the folks at VYCC for our wedding. We were initially drawn to the barn because of it’s gorgeous location and stunning photos from previous weddings, and were sold on it when we found out all of our rental money goes right back to the VYCC, since conservation is important to us. Booking a wedding venue as-is (no catering, bar service, decorations, etc.) can definitely be difficult and make for a time-intensive planning process (AND we were an out of state couple) but the VYCC team was so wonderful and responsive, from our first tour and visit through to the next-day clean up process. They were flexible with us, allowing us to visit the barn when we were able to be in town, even when there were other events going on, staying in constant email contact in the weeks leading up to the wedding, and supported our vendors along the way. Our only “dislike” about the Monitor Barn is that they have an exclusive bar-service contract with Bevo, who we had a mixed experience with. It would have been nice to shop around for a bar service that we chose ourselves. Overall, the staff, space, and experience with West Monitor Barn was amazing (and our photos could not have turned out better with the barn and the mountains as our backdrop, even in the rain!)

    Sent on 02/12/2017
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When it came to my big day there were only a few items I had to check in with the West Monitor Barn people about and all three were taken care of within 20 minutes. We were able to pretty much do whatever we would like and in turn we had the most perfect wedding. Leading up to our big day when I e-mailed a question I would get a response within an hour - which really helped eased my already stressed mind.

    Sent on 12/11/2016
  • User4406881 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The West Monitor Barn was a lovely setting for our daughter's recent wedding. We had a wonderful time and found that the setting and services there were excellent. Bevo, our caterer, did a great job and it was obvious that the bevo team had worked at the West Monitor Barn on other occasions as they handled everything seemingly effortlessly. We enjoyed ourselves and left the venue and catering responsibilities that day up to the professionals. We were happy to have such a memorable occasion in such a terrific venue.

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • M

    Meg · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about the West Monitor Barn is amazing. It is beautiful, comes equipped with seating for 200 and Kelsey and all of the other staff at the barn are helpful and friendly.

    Sent on 07/16/2014
  • User2523113 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great site, people, and organization!!

    Sent on 08/17/2013
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Events manager Cailie is outstanding. This was the perfect venue for us and made our day magical. But PLEASE rent fans. We rented 2, and wish we rented more.

    Sent on 09/20/2011
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/22/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The barn was a great place to hold our wedding. We were looking for a laid back barn vibe and that is what we got. The location was beautiful and the back drop to all the photos were beautiful. I think it was a bit more DIY than we anticipated, which was hard because we did it as a destination wedding, but it also gave us the flexibility to make it what we wanted. Our main issues were that the day of contact went missing when we needed their help with turning the heat on in the barn for the reception which caused for everyone being cold longer than we wanted, we left our flowers in the upstairs refrigerator the night before and they all froze and died, and the exclusive contract with the bar service left for minimal negotiating power. Overall it still was a beautiful setting and we had an amazing day.

    Sent on 10/14/2018
  • User4515969 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Beautiful setting, gorgeous barn, ample parking, great rainy day option for ceremony inside. Price seems a little steep, but is comparable to other venues, so I can't complain too much. Loses stars for communication (the only time I heard from the venue coordinator was to report that I needed to pay for a broken elevator button). Other than that, nice facility that photographs beautifully.

    Sent on 10/31/2014

    The West Monitor Barn's reply:

    The barn's wedding coordinator worked directly with this wedding's planner-- next we'll be sure to ask what the client would prefer :)

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review