The Ward Eights Reviews

55 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

55 Reviews for The Ward Eights

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

55

2 User photos

Order by:
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So good omg

    The Ward Eights were incredible! Truly among the best decisions we made for our wedding. Our guests danced all night and everyone raved about how much fun they were. We had the benefit of hearing them play the year before our wedding and knew that they would be incredible performers, but I was also so grateful for the professionalism of their process, their flexibility both on set choices and venue constraints, and Dave’s incredible talent as an MC! He handled everything so gracefully and easily that people thought he was a close family friend. I cannot recommend them highly enough — hire them!!! Do it!!!!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • Patrick

    Patrick Maury · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best! Highly recommend

    Absolutely the best! Professional, talented, and so incredibly fun. An excellent band really does make the party, and I am so glad we went with the Ward Eights for our big day. My dad, who played used to play in a wedding band back in the 70s and 80s, described the Ward Eights as "masterful, superbly professional, organized, excellent judgment, well played". The band's song list covers so many different genres and it left all our guests blown away. Many of them said the Ward Eights were the best wedding band they had ever seen. Dave is super responsive, easy to communicate with, and very thorough. We were in great hands and I would recommend the Ward Eights 1000%.

    Sent on 08/15/2019
  • Estephen

    Estephen · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rocked the House!

    The Ward Eights were truly spectacular and everything we could ask for in a wedding band. Professional, helpful in making sure we thought of everything for the big day, and most importantly - put on an amazing performance! So many guests came up to us afterwards and told us they were the best band they’ve seen at a wedding. They managed to get nearly everyone on the dance floor.

    We are so happy we picked them for our special day. They made sure the entire reception went perfectly from cocktail hour to send off. Can’t recommend enough!

    Sent on 07/22/2019
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights are AMAZING.

    The Ward Eights were seriously amazing. They were far and away one of the best parts of our wedding day and made it so incredibly fun! Dave was great to work with and he, and all the rest of the members of the band, are incredible. If I ever need a band again, they are the only ones I will hire. I would recommend them to anyone! People were raving about them all night and after the wedding!

    Sent on 05/05/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVE The Ward Eights! They played our wedding on 9/22/18 and we have been getting compliments on how good they were since then. They were initially recommended through a friend and we could not have been happier. They are both an amazing band a group of people, but also run a great business. Dave, the manager, is super easy to work with. In the planning, he checked in regularly with us, and helped guide us where we had questions. On the day of the wedding, he helped us stay on schedule, checked in, and was flexible with us when other things ran late to adjust their timeline. They come with their own sound engineer, equipment, and lots of style. We wanted a huge dance party for our wedding and The Ward Eights made *sure* everyone got on the dance floor and never left! We cannot recommend them enough.

    Sent on 09/28/2018
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring the Ward Eights was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. The band is phenomenal. Two months after the wedding, and we still have guests talking about how good they were. The dance floor was packed all night, and the band did a great job of keeping everyone entertained.

    Besides having a great sound, the band was super easy to work with and all around great people.

    I would recommend this band to anyone willing to listen to me. I cannot say enough positive things about them!

    Sent on 09/19/2018
  • C

    Claire · Married on 06/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hire them. These guys are incredibly talented and put everything they have into their performances. Everyone was dancing the entire time. Their music selections are unbelievable, they're easy to work with at every stage of the planning, and they were more fun than we could have ever even hoped. The only time I sat down was to take a five minute break so that I didn't pass out from dancing so hard. They're great at MC'ing (toasts etc.) and keep the atmosphere light and fun. Everyone kept telling us they were the best wedding band they'd ever heard and we completely agree. We got so many compliments on the music. Honestly, I cannot recommend them enough.
    Book them. They will blow your mind. An easy 5 stars.

    Sent on 08/31/2018
  • M

    Maria · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough amazing things about The Ward Eights! We actually found them at a friends wedding in Rockport, MA and found that their music was so absolutely unbelievable that we took their business card right after the reception. They were the reason why we decided to not have destination wedding. We worked with Dave to coordinate all the details. He was incredibly responsive and very accomodating. We asked them to learn My Type by Saint Motel, they could not have done a better job. It was beyond perfect, they totally crushed it!! They had everyone dancing the whole night, even guests that said they don't dance. They are such a fun, upbeat, incredibly talented and down-to-earth group of musicians. All of our guests were raving about how awesome the band was, they made our wedding! They completely fulfilled and exceeded our expectations!! I highly recommend The Ward Eights to anyone looking!

    Sent on 03/15/2018
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but overwhelmingly positive things to say about The Ward Eights! First of all, quality is top notch - they are insanely talented and play so well together. It was clear that this was not their first rodeo and they are incredibly professional while still being really fun and personable (not at all show-boaty, which was a HUGE turn off when we were trying to select a wedding band). They have a great selection of songs that is diverse and appealed to both my husband and me who have very different musical preferences. They do offer the option to learn 2 new songs, which we actually didn't even do because we were really satisfied with their offerings. All I wanted for my reception was to be on that dance floor from start to finish and they made that very easy. They really read the vibe of the room and made great songs selections, in addition to our 5 must-play songs. Not exaggerating when I say that every guest I spoke to commented on how awesome they were, many saying they were the best wedding band they've seen. They were also really flexible and accommodating - we had a traditional Armenian dance that we wanted to do and they made sure the song was queued up and ready to go during one of the breaks. Lastly, also just super easy to work with -- friendly, easy going, professional, responsive.. If a wedding band is a top priority for you, as it was for us, you really can't go wrong with these guys! They made the night!

    Sent on 09/11/2017
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 09/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights literally made my wedding! They were absolutely amazing. The one thing my husband wanted was a live band and boy did he get it. Every guest is still raving about how fantastic they were. As soon as they started playing the first song the dance floor was packed. Dave P. the band leader is awesome, he's so organized, calm and level headed, but also really sweat. And has an amazing voice! Their repertoire is huge and has a lot of different genres. They are just so on point and their price is very fair! I really couldn't be any happier with them. They really made our night perfect. THE BEST!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are hardly words to describe the awesomeness that is the Ward Eights. After our wedding, everyone could not stop talking about "how amazing our band was" - how the night flowed smoothly thanks to them, without a dull moment. Their music is top notch. The Ward Eights will learn a new song for your first dance if it is not within their expansive repertoire. We asked them to learn Weathered by Jack Garatt- a song that was not exactly easy to learn. Not only did they accept my request without blinking, but hearing them play it at my wedding- electric! They absolutely crushed it! Literally my only regret from the night was not recording their live performance/rendition of our first dance song. Also, my friends think I now have great dance moves, but it was just the Ward Eights' incredible talent that had me- and EVERY single person at my wedding dancing. If somehow this band is free for your wedding, go ahead and book with glee. You will have the best wedding ever. Also, forgot to mention- the MC (Dave)- is absolutely hilarious.

    Sent on 08/28/2017
  • L

    Lena · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights are everything we wanted in a wedding band - they play classics and some newer alternative tunes, they will learn additional songs for you if you want, they are responsive and responsible to work with, and they will go the extra mile if you have a random idea like asking the band to line up marching band style to parade your entire party from the dinner tent to the dance floor. They aren't afraid to try new things and they also really love what they do. Dave was great to work with on the day of the wedding as well - when timelines changed, they adjusted the way they needed to and still played everything they knew we'd love. They made sure we didn't miss the song they learned for us and they came up with solutions to potential space problems (where do you do a hora if the ceiling is too low??). They were never pushy and just made all the right suggestions at the right time and got sh*t taken care of so we never had to worry about it. They were super engaged with the crowd and threw an awesome dance party that we are still hearing about a month later. Our dance floor was full all night. Hopefully someone else we know hires them so we get to go to another Ward Eights wedding!

    Sent on 09/19/2017
  • Elissa

    Elissa · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights played at our June 2017 wedding at The Estate at Moraine Farm. In a word, they were UNBELIEVABLE. We had never seen them play live before our wedding day, and we were completely blown away by their talent. They sounded more amazing in person than we could have ever imagined! They learned our first dance song ("Something" by The Beatles) and it was nothing short of perfection - I had tears in my eyes when I heard it. Both Dave, the lead singer, and Brandi, the lead female singer, have two of the most incredible voices I have heard - I couldn't believe how amazing they sounded song after song. My husband and I were on the dance floor ALL night and so were our guests - I might be biased, but I have never been to a more fun dance party in my whole life. The energy they had was infectious! In addition to their day-of performance, Dave was a dream to work with leading up to the wedding. He was incredibly responsive via email and was so accommodating with song requests we had. We truly appreciated his flexibility and desire to make our wedding music dreams come true. I will ALWAYS recommend The Ward Eights to anyone looking for a wedding band and will no doubt be going to their live shows in the future just so I can hear them again!!

    Sent on 06/20/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you appreciate awesome music and awesome people then you should book The Ward Eights to play your wedding. I cannot stress enough the quality of the music they perform - but beyond that how easy going, reassuring, flexible, and just plain fun this group is. They were willing to accommodate special requests and took the reigns the night of the wedding to make sure everything flowed smoothly. Leading up to the big day I kept telling our guests that the best part of the night was going to be the band - and they did not disappoint. Could not recommend more highly.

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights played at my wedding this past September and they were absolutely amazing! They were great to work with and very accommodating. Everyone had so much fun dancing along with them- the set list turned out perfect! Can't say enough great things about them! We had so much fun! Would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 01/30/2017
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights played at my wedding this past September and they were absolutely amazing! They were great to work with and very accommodating. Everyone had so much fun dancing along with them- the set list turned out perfect! Can't say enough great things about them! We had so much fun! Would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 01/30/2017
  • E

    Elisabeth · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things! The Ward Eights were the highlight of our wedding reception. The dance floor was overflowing from the minute they started. They learned our first dance ('I Found You' by the Alabama Shakes) as well as one of our favorites ('All Night Long' by Lionel Ritchie) and KILLED both! They also led our guests from the ceremony to the reception in a second line style processional which was a total blast! Our guests are still coming up to us, two months after the wedding, raving about the band. Don't think twice - just book them.

    Sent on 11/11/2016
  • User5385094 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights were phenomenal! My only regret is having been the bride, I had to greet and thank my guests instead of staying put on the dance floor! Our wedding venue in Newport even told us it was the best band they had ever hosted, the music was incredible! Our guests had a blast and we were so grateful to the Ward Eights for learning two songs and combining them for our first dance. They were attentive, responsive, professional and very down to earth and easy to work with. We received so many compliments and can't wait to watch our wedding video to relive the day and watch our epic dance party all over again!

    Sent on 01/02/2017
  • H

    Hester · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew we wanted a live band at our wedding versus a DJ, but The Ward Eights completely exceeded our expectations. The communication leading up to the wedding was solid, and Dave paid special attention to our musical preferences to form their playlist. From the first song these guys played during our reception, the dance floor was full! They are just that talented, and that fun, and hip, and diverse, and awesome. Also noteworthy is that they learned how to play a few songs especially for us! One was a keyboard/piano solo during the ceremony that was a surprise for my husband as I walked down the aisle. Another was a song during the reception that the whole band performed, that has special meaning for us. Finally, Dave was a fantastic emcee for the evening. That's something we didn't really think about leading up to the wedding, but he conducted the events of the reception seamlessly. Seriously, look no further. Book The Ward Eights.

    Sent on 09/14/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish I could give more than 5 stars! The Ward Eights made our wedding outstanding! People have not stopped talking about it and we have already recommended them to friends. They rocked the place! I saw people dancing that I have never seen dance before. They even skipped their breaks because the crowd was going so wild. I had no idea how amazing they would be! We were totally blown away by this band! My husband is a huge music buff and likes so many different (and unusual) music types. They were so accommodating to him! They got to know his style and even snuck in some songs that he loves and didn't even request. He was thrilled! They played our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. They really completed our wedding. If you are looking for a band, this is the one! Thank you to Dave and everyone else in The Ward Eights! We wish we could do by again!!

    Sent on 08/08/2016
  • M

    Mike · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights were absolutely amazing. If you are considering a live band for your wedding you need to look into these guys. They absolutely killed it. My wife and I were just saying how we don't even think we left the dance floor at all. The dance floor was jam packed the whole night. Every guest that I spoke to and have spoken to since were completely blown away. They play all genres of music and were even willing to learn a few songs outside of their repertoire, and they were happy to do it. Live bands can be hit or miss sometimes but The Ward Eights are an absolute must have if you want to keep everyone on their feet and dancing all night long.

    Sent on 08/18/2016
  • C

    Chris · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking The Ward Eights was one of, if not, the best decision my wife and I made about our wedding day. Dave was easy to work with via email and made the whole process completely stress-free. Once the big day arrived the band did not disappoint. From ceremony music that was spot-on, a cocktail set that is still getting rave reviews, to a full blown rock show during the reception, The Ward Eights absolutely nailed it. The dancefloor was packed for every song and you could tell that the band was feeding off the crowd and vice versa. I have never been told by so many people that The Ward Eights were THE BEST they’d ever heard. 6 months later I am still told almost weekly about how awesome my wedding was and I chalk a lot of that up to The Ward Eights. You will not regret booking them, they are absolutely top-notch.

    Sent on 12/29/2016
  • A

    Aaron · Married on 07/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Ward Eights are amazing! They brought fantastic energy and musical talent to our wedding which had everyone on the dance floor. Our guests are still telling us how awesome The Ward Eights were at our wedding. They will provide you with a musical experience that will last a lifetime!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough good things about this incredible band! Dave, the frontman, was so easy to work with prior to and the day of our wedding. We worked together to create the perfect set list for our gathering. The band learned three new songs, one of which my husband and I performed together. Our guests were so impressed by the quality and the scope of the band. They were even able to get non-dancers to the dance floor! We highly recommend wedding bands in general to add to the festive atmosphere of a wedding, and The Ward Eights in particular. Thank you for a job well done!

    Sent on 08/03/2016
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This band is amazing and everyone at my wedding raved about them!! Very professional and kept in touch months before the wedding to make sure you got the playlist you wanted. They kept the party going and over all they have a really great sound! Would recommend them to anyone who's looking for a wedding band. They also played beautiful music during the ceremony/cocktail hour as well : )

    Sent on 08/01/2016