Walker Art Center | Walker On-Site Events + Catering Reviews

8 | Minneapolis, MN
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Walker Art Center | Walker On-Site Events + Catering

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

8
Order by:
  • stevenrthai

    Steven · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at the Walker Art Center on 10/21/2017, Joel and the entire catering and events team executed a flawless event - we were so impressed!

    We are still receiving comments back from guests about how amazing our food was and how the staff was absolutely amazing. Our day was truly memorable!

    Sent on 11/20/2017
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/30/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our reception at the Japanese Rock Garden, or Peace Garden at Lake Harriet. The Three Rivers Park District have many twin cities locations available for beautiful outdoor weddings, including the rose garden at lake Harriet, the sculpture garden at the Walker Art Center and the conservatory on site at the Walker. They always allow for you to book a back up site in case of rain (the conservatory at the Walker.) Reservations are inexpensive, and are offered on a first come first serve basis, beginning on the first business day of the calendar year. If you go the first business day of the year- arrive early, and expect a line. It's worth the wait- online reservations do not begin until late morning.

    Sent on 01/21/2008
  • A

    Alexis & John · Married on 09/15/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our choice to host our wedding at the Walker Art Center! We looked at a lot of venues in the Twin Cities immediately fell in love with the downtown Minneapolis views, the outdoor ceremony space and the simple, but beautiful indoor spaces. We held our ceremony outside on the upper Garden Terrace with cocktails on the terrace below that and then moved everyone up to the Skyline room for dinner and dancing. So many of our guests are still raving about how beautiful it all was.

    My first piece of advice to anyone looking for a wedding venue is to not only pay attention to what you want in the space, but also the person you'll be working with there, as they will play a huge role in your planning as well as the day itself. For us, having Brenda as our contact at the Walker was another major selling point! She was knowledgeable, responsive, fun, and provided great advice along the way, making us feel like she was truly invested in giving us the experience we wanted vs. just making a sale.

    Since the Walker requires you to use Culinaire for all food and beverage (other than cake/desert), I'm also including this in my review. The food was pricey, but outstanding (and we have high standards when it comes to food)! We had passed appetizers during our cocktail hour as well as a full plated dinner and then pizza for a late night snack. Everything was delicious and the staff was even considerate enough to bring me a plate of two of each of our appetizers to make sure I had a chance to try them all during all of the craziness of the cocktail hour.

    If you are looking for a fun/elegant/iconic venue with great spaces both inside and out, I would highly recommend the Walker Art Center!

    Sent on 10/07/2018
  • J

    Jan · Married on 07/18/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the most beautiful space in the Twin Cities to host a wedding in my opinion! Most weddings are characterized by a sense of claustrophobia as you are by necessity of space locked into a single room. The Walker offers the exception of moving throughout their light filled architecturally stunning spaces fom inside to outside with magnificent views of the Minneapolis skyline to a lovely view of the sculpture garden from their tiered balconies. It was my daughters first choice and I feel along with their attached catering from D'Amico greatly contributed to making this wedding exceptional.

    Sent on 08/15/2015
  • J

    J · Married on 02/21/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend the Walker Art Center highly enough as a venue for a reception! I recently had my reception in their Skyline Room, which overlooks downtown Minneapolis. The room with its huge at night sparkles in the light of the city. That, the fact that this is my favorite museum, and the food, catered by Wolfgang Puck, were the three reasons why we chose this venue. The food was incredible!! The staff at both The Walker and Wolfgang Puck were fantastic -- both leading up to the date and the day of our wedding. If you're looking for an urban, modern venue in Minneapolis, you can't beat The Walker!

    Sent on 03/10/2009
  • B

    Bernadette · Married on 08/23/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic location for our wedding. We LOVED the venue- we were married on the terraces with downtown Minneapolis as our backdrop. I walked down the stairs arm in arm with my father with the afternoon sun behind me (it also helped that it was a beautiful day)... The Skyline Room was amazing especially with sun setting and the city lighting up. It was everything I had wanted for my wedding. A little spency but worth every penny.

    Sent on 09/03/2008
  • P

    Paula · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Really nice venue for your event

    Sent on 09/12/2018
  • B

    Bryan · Married on 08/03/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful Venue, Incredible Food

    We fell in love with the Walker Art Center as soon as we took our first tour. The spaces they have to offer simply cannot be beat. We were looking for a venue that was unique, timeless, and fully-integrated into the city of Minneapolis, to accommodate both our ceremony and reception. The Walker checked all those boxes. They helped us create a unique wedding plan that utilized multiple spaces, including a large outdoor terrace. Our spaces offered views of the sculpture garden and downtown that were stunning. They have an incredible in-house catering team that exceeded our expectations. Our tasting was easy to set up, and the chef was incredibly kind and accommodating. They were able to accommodate numerous dietary restrictions to create appetizers, salads, and dinners that got rave reviews from our guests. We cannot imagine having had our wedding anywhere else!

    Sent on 08/08/2019