The Venue at Crooked Willow Farms Reviews

40 | Larkspur, CO
See photos, pricing and details

40 Reviews for The Venue at Crooked Willow Farms

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

40

17 User photos

Order by:
  • A

    Addysen · Married on 09/06/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was truly a pleasure to build our perfect day at Crooked Willow Farms. As we started the planning process, Crooked Willow was the first component of our day that we committed to a year and a half before our wedding. There are many romantic aspects to this property. As you drive from Denver, the anticipation to get there builds as the rolling hills and tight roads draw you in. You know you are going somewhere far from the beaten path to watch two people say “I do”. As you turn onto the property, you are greeted by two Camels and travel down the tree lined road to the farm. This venue feels authentic, personal and special. It was important to me to feel like we were getting married somewhere that our families would understand and cherish... it has a rustic farm component with a polished and sophisticated attitude. This is not one of those venues that cranks out wedding after wedding and you just feel like the next bride in line. When we first signed on with them I was a little confused about why they required you to have a wedding planner. They suggested a few people and we made our decision on our planner from their suggestion. Well, that was one of the best decisions we made as our planner understood our concept and drove our vision at Crooked Willow (Dana Dunphy with Revel and Bloom). It is not possible to have a cookie cutter wedding at this venue as you need to bring in your own components to make it YOU... this is one of the reasons having a planner at this venue is so important. We did things a little different at Crooked Willow. We married in the ballroom, turned it in to an Italian feeling church with pews, doves at the entrance and a beautiful alter at the front. Our "social hour" was in the courtyard as Spinphony entertained guests while they enjoyed snacks and a cocktail (we were off taking photos for golden hour). A clear topped tent was set in the pasture where we dinned and danced the night away.

    Sent on 01/15/2016
  • J

    Jonathan · Married on 04/04/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was one of 50 venues that I researched online. It was the first we visited, and the only one. The pictures do not do the venue justice, it has to be seen in person. If you want a rustic but sophisticated venue, this is your spot. The amazing view doesn't hurt either. ;-)

    We worked with Patti and Amy, both were amazing and extremely responsive to us. I had a ton of questions, and they put up with all of them. Great venue, great staff. Very happy with our decision for our wedding venue!

    Sent on 04/23/2015
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 09/12/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Crooked Willow Farms was an amazing place for our wedding. We worked with Amy as our event coordinator, and she was extremely professional, and did a great job of keeping our event on schedule. She and all of the staff was flexible with the cool weather, and seamlessly transitioned the cocktail hour indoors, instead of the outdoor one that was planned. We would do it all over again if we could. We loved Crooked Willow!

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/12/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love, love, love the farm! And so did our guests!

    Sent on 09/01/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/02/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is beautiful. The events staff is amazing. We wanted to get married in a barn and we got our wish with Crooked Willow Farms. Also the pictures turn out wonderful because of the backdrop at the venue. Thank you for making our wedding day so special.

    Sent on 11/05/2015
  • User4218941 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible, best venue! Strict rules but worth it.

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • User2767266 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Crooked Willow was and amazing venue! Our friends and family couldn't believe how beautiful and unique it was. Although it was rather expensive to rent, it seemed to be in line with other venues and was well worth the expense. The staff was wonderful to work with and very helpful. We worked with Amy for our event and she was on top of it. She was very attentive leading up to the big day and especially on the day of. She made us feel very special and was willing to go above and beyond!
    Overall we had a wonderful experience with this venue!

    Sent on 09/25/2013
  • MrsD

    Delaney · Married on 07/20/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Would choose CWF again in a heartbeat!

    We had our wedding on July 20, 2019.
    PROS:
    -We worked with Brandi the month of our wedding, who did an awesome job. We did our tour & alcohol order with Christina, also awesome! Kim was super responsive & helpful throughout our entire engagement. I can't say enough about the staff, they really are great. The night of the wedding, the bartenders were all super nice too and we really appreciated that.
    -On our wedding day, it POURED. Not like, light sprinkle. Like heavens opened torrential downpour. The staff stayed super positive & were helpful the entire evening. We had to move our ceremony inside and I was so thankful we picked a venue with such a beautiful backup space. The loft was stunning.
    -Shaggy the Beer Donkey was a HUGE hit and I'm so happy we added him! The reception space is stunning.
    -The bathrooms are super clean & beautiful (which is random, but we have been to some weddings that didn't have that and it was a let down).
    -The bridal suite & groom's suite are STUNNING and we were so happy to have those to get ready in.
    -The photo booth was a huge hit too, having the digital copies of the pictures were great and we posted them to social media & everyone loved it.
    -The required caterers all are great, we had a ton of choices and didn't feel restricted at all.
    -The bar was super quick & efficient, drinks were great. We really appreciated that!

    CONS:
    -The loft wasn't ideal for our photographer taking pictures (the beams are large and in the way for some guests and she wasn't able to get up & down the aisles on the side to get a ton of angles) but it is a smaller space and it's way better than a lot of backup plans at venues. The indoor cocktail hour wasn't ideal, I felt like our stationary food was shoved towards the back & people didn't see it, but that's just because of the layout of the barn and I'm not sure there was any better place to put it.
    -They also closed the barn door at 10 PM so guests couldn't go in & out for sound control (even though that was the door used all night) but didn't put up a sign or anything that said "please go around" so they just kept basically holding it shut while guests tried to open it and got super confused. I'm totally fine with it being closed, but I think having a sign up that says "Must stay closed past 10 PM for sound ordinances, please walk around" would be a pretty easy thing to add and be less confusing for guests. We hired our own personal security and they ended up doing that job of closing the door rather than the venue staff having a sign or just positioning two people on either side to keep the door shut & explain to guests to go around.
    -Since it rained so much, it did get pretty cold in our reception space. During dinner, I noticed a lot of the female guests wearing jackets from male guests or rubbing their shoulders. I asked the staff to turn on the heat and was basically told no because it would get too hot. So if they could come up with a good "in the middle" option to help with that, that would have been awesome. I'm not really sure how to do that, but just a note!
    -They also have a wireless router (I think) mounted above the barn and it showed up in our pictures so that wasn't super pretty, I wish it was somewhere else at the venue and not in front of such a pretty picture location.
    -The cigar bar in the groom's lounge is a great place for the men getting ready, but not great for a guest cigar bar since there really aren't any signs and guests have no idea they should go in there. I originally wanted to set it up outside and looking back, I probably should have to people could see it & use it.

    Overall, we got so many compliments on our venue and we knew we would. We would choose it again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 05/02/2018
  • S

    Shelby T. · Married on 07/20/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best venue for our Perfect day

    This venue was an absolutely perfect fit for what we wanted. Beautiful landscape, beautiful views, well kept, and clean! Would never have wanted to get married anywhere else looking back. Crooked willow farms made our dream day happen!

    Sent on 01/22/2019
  • Peggy

    Peggy · Married on 09/24/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Wedding Day!!

    We had a breathtakingly beautiful backdrop at The Venue at Crooked Willow Farms. The beautiful setting, staff, coordination & professionalism were all outstanding. The spaces for the bride and groom suites, cocktail hour courtyard, bar set ups, formal ballroom, dance floor parking and access were excellent!

    Sent on 06/11/2019
  • User4245302 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is truly AMAZING! If you are getting married in the Colorado Springs or Denver area and don't mind driving just a little bit, this place is definitely worth the few extra minutes!! From the meticulously kept grounds to the beautifully built and decorated interior Crooked Willow Farms will stand out from all other venues in the area. Every space within this venue is beautiful and well maintained. The staff are extremely friendly and want your day to run smoothly.
    My husband and I were very lucky to have a 70 degrees and sunny day in late October so we were able to get married on the events lawn. The views of the Colorado mountain from here are truly amazing! But as a side note, since the venue only does one event each day, we could have moved the ceremony to Lola's loft that morning had it been too cold or windy. Since every inch of this property is breathtaking, we would have been just as excited to get married in this beautiful and quaint loft.
    Then we had the cocktail hour in the courtyard. This space is great as long as the weather holds up, which again we were super fortunate to have a warm night! The ambiance of the courtyard is great with the fun overhead bulb string lighting and the ability to open the ballrooms barn door so the DJ can play music out into the courtyard as well.
    Our caterer set up the buffet in the wine barrel room so that our guests could enjoy this space as well, and again how beautiful the whole property is.
    Finally we had the reception in the ballroom. As the rest of the property, this space is beautiful and really did not require much decor. The room is just right for the ability to fit all of your guests, DJ, cake table, ect comfortably but also feel warm and inviting. We had a blast dancing the night away with our friends and family also in the ballroom after dinner was over.
    Crooked Willow Farms is truly a wonderful venue that you will not regret spending the money on!

    Sent on 11/08/2014
  • K

    Kay · Married on 09/07/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an amazing venue with multiple areas to use for your event. We used each one of the separate areas- lawn for ceremony, courtyard for cocktail reception, banquet hall for dinner, Wine cask room for setting up buffet, and the loft for dancing after dinner.
    It is a gorgeous venue and the landscaping and upkeep are immaculate.
    You pay a great deal of money for it, but get 12 hours of continuous use and are the only event there during that time.
    The staff is accessible, professional, and responsive.
    If you can afford it, it is a fairy tale come true kind of place.
    And all the pictures of the venue are simply breathtaking.

    Sent on 10/23/2014
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/12/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue

    We were the first wedding of the season before they planted flowers, and the wedding and venue were still so stunning. You don't need to bring in a lot of decor because the barn and mountains as a backdrop are beautiful enough. There's plenty of areas for photography options, and the quarters to get ready in for both the groom and bride were spacious enough for our 20 person wedding party. The venue also flows really nice from the ceremony to cocktail hour to reception. And if weather is a concern, their backup loft is beautiful (which is hard to find at most venues). Because we booked before the florals were planted and were the first wedding of the season, they gave us a great rate for a Saturday. I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 01/16/2019
  • Conor

    Conor · Married on 09/04/2016

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Very nice venue, great locations for all aspects of the wedding. They are very interested in getting your money and then not doing anything extra to help. No lighting from the venue to the parking lot, lots of guests had trouble with this. They were quite responsive in questions but no supper flexible on many details unless you had them set up on the contract. Staff did a nice job and day of neither of us had to do almost anything.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • G

    Gabrielle · Married on 08/06/2015

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Crooked Willow Farms was beautiful, It had the perfect balance of elegance and rustic and is perfect for a CO wedding. That being said, after having my wedding there, I'm not sure if the beauty of the venue was worth the horrible customer service, unprofessionalism, and flat out disrespect my husband and I received through the wedding planning process. Wedding wire will cut the full review short, but to read all of our experiences feel free to read my review on the Knot or Yelp.

    What it boils down to is that Crooked Willow Farm's employees do not genuinely care for the brides and grooms they work with. They make it very obvious that their first and main priority is money and their second is getting your wedding over and done with. They have no regard for follow through, honesty, or a brides vision of her wedding day. Patty Moser and Amy Lugowski were the two people I worked with and both were difficult to work with and rude. My wedding day was still lovely, and as I have stated the venue was gorgeous, but the way we were treated during the wedding planning process as well as on the wedding day makes it hard to give more than 2 stars. When you are spending between 5000-10000 $ on the venue alone, you expect a certain amount of professionalism as well as respect, neither of which we received and it was a huge disappointment.

    Sent on 09/22/2015