Weddings

The Surf Room Reviews

The Surf Room View more information

80 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 80
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

36 User photos

Sort by:
  • L
    Lisa Getting married on 03/09/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A perfect evening.

    We held our rehearsal dinner at Surf. The space was perfect for our group. The staff were very friendly and attentive to all. The food was exceptional!
    I worked with Kris and she kept me informed from the first time we spoke, a full year in advance of our event. She answered all my questions, replied to all emails in timely fashion and kept us on time as the evening progressed. It was the perfect way to kick off our wedding festivities! I highly recommend Surf for any event. If need be, I would hold another event there without hesitation.
  • S
    Stephanie F. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Five Star Service

    Kris and her staff were truly professionals and a pleasure to work with! Our event was a great success!
  • L
    Lynn Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great rehearsal evening!

    I gave Kris a list of things I wanted for our son and future daughter in law’s rehearsal dinner, and she said she would take care of it. I have had others say the same , but Kris gave me full confidence that we made the perfect choice in venue. I am very particular in how I want a room to feel when guests walk in. Kris took my ideas and transformed them into the full vision of what we wanted the evening to look like. I even gave Kris some flower arrangements to arrange, and somehow I knew she would make them look spectacular. She did! The service was great and everyone simply raved about the food! Very accommodating and easy to work with.
    Quality as always expected of the Surf, was there! I was so pleased to host our guests at this venue! Thank you for a very memorable and inviting evening!
  • Nicole
    Nicole S. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great place for an intimate wedding

    The Surf Room is a great place if you are looking for a small, intimate wedding. Kris was so helpful during the all the planning, especially with changes related to covid. The food is phenomenal and the view cannot be beat.
  • B
    Brenda M. Married on 08/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Portsmouth weekend

    We love Portsmouth and couldn’t have picked a greater place to celebrate. Food was amazing, Kris was quick to respond and flexible, especially during this crazy pandemic. We were married on the water and having the balcony and view of the ocean made it so special.
  • J
    John B. Married on 07/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Perfect wedding day thanks to Kris and The Surf

    Kris went above and beyond to make our special day amazing. And during such a crazy time as this. I would highly recommend the Surf and Kris for your special day or any event.
  • S
    Suzanne H. Married on 05/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rehearsal dinner

    Most memorable evening, Kris and staff made our night perfect.
  • Married on 09/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Surf Event Room

    We held our rehearsal dinner and cocktail reception here. It was fabulous! The staff and manager Kris were top notch. The food, the drinks and the atmosphere were all worth it. Wish we could do it all over again 👰🏻🤵🏼🥂
  • Linda
    Linda J. Married on 08/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous! There are not enough superlatives to describe Kris and the Surf!

    From start to finish this was a fabulous experience. Kris, the function manager, was fabulous to work with. She was so honest in giving us guidance when choosing what our guest would be enjoying. It was not what was best for the bottom line, it was what would work best for what we wanted to do.
  • David
    David P. Married on 08/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rehearsal dinner in the Surf Room

    The Surf Room was perfect for our rehearsal dinner. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food and presentation were excellent. We would recommend Surf to anyone.
  • C
    Cassie M. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Experience!

    We are so happy with the outcome of our anniversary party! Everything exceeded expectations! The venue is beautiful and the staff is extremely attentive. Kris is the icing on the cake though... she was always available if we had any questions... it really felt like our party was the only one that she was planning... thank you again!
  • Jillian
    Jillian L. Married on 08/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The views, food and service were all equally spectacular!

    Kris and her team put on such an amazing rehearsal dinner for us, our family and friends. The views, food and service were all equally spectacular. Everyone truly enjoyed themselves. Plus I wish I had Kris help manage our whole wedding! She made everything so easy. Excellent organization and communication. I'd recommend Surf Room to anyone looking for a beautiful, intimate and relaxing location for their event.
  • Michael
    Michael T. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Rehersal Dinner at the Surf Room

    I had a fantastic experience having my son's rehearsal dinner at the Surf Room. Kris, the events manager was very helpful in every decision we made and couldn't make. The menu choices were very good. You could mix and match. Kris' help with this was genuine and on point. The food was excellent and I received many compliments. Having the chef and the kitchen for the function room was a plus. The entire staff service was excellent and they all went out of their way to do please everyone who attended. Having the private deck on the water was a hit and help alleviate it being too crowded inside. Kris helped us accommodate almost 75 people fro dinner - 60-65 was the suggested high amount for dinner. We were able to special order our brand of beer and they provided a video screen where we continuously ran our 282 picture slide show all night. Everyone who attended was impressed with the room, staff and food.
  • J
    Jim N. Married on 06/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely awesome in every way!

    Surf is an amazing location but its beauty was outdone by the food and service. So helpful, so congenial! Made us feel at home!
  • D
    Denis C. Married on 06/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Cronin Rehearsal Dinner.

    Superb in every way! The staff was outstanding , friendly and professional. The coordinator Kris was totally great and responsive in every way.
    We had a spectacular event due in large part to the great food, wonderful venue and terrific staff at Surf.
    Thank you!!

    The Surf Room's reply:

    Thank you so much Denis and Lucie. It was our pleasure to make this a special event for Brittany and Joe! Please give our best wishes to the newlyweds!
  • N
    N Barnhardt Married on 04/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect spot for our celebration

    We held a birthday/going away party in the private room at Surf and couldn’t have been happier. Surf is one of our favorite restaurants so we knew the food, service, professionalism would be excellent. Put all that in a room with the best view of the river and it’s a home run. We had a gluten free diet restriction and it was easy to work around that on the menu, including the delicious lemon/blueberry cake we had for dessert. We couldn’t have been happier and it will leave us with many happy memories.
  • N
    Nancy S. Married on 01/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent Post Holiday Party

    We planned a company post holiday party for a Saturday night in January. Kris was terrific with making I hadn't forgotten any details such as music, centerpieces and table arrangements and provided advise based on her experience. The room was beautiful, the food was great and the servers could not have been more friendly and attentive. Kris checked in with me throughout the evening so we could make little changes like the timing of the meal or adding in a champagne toast. Everyone had a wonderful time. Nancy
  • Lisa
    Lisa K. Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue, scrumptious food, excellent service.

    We chose the Surf Room for our wedding rehearsal dinner for several reasons. The room itself was beautifully set up to reflect the theme of the surf/water colors. The food was raved about all night long from our guests. The wait staff had a smile on their faces all night long. Kris who worked with us to set up the venue was excellent at communicating with us and was so accommodating when I had to make some last minute changes/additions. I felt like she really worked hard to make our evening special. It was everything we could have hoped for!

    The Surf Room's reply:

    Thanks Lisa. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience at The Surf Room! Thank you for sharing your feedback!!
  • D
    Denis A. Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Surf Room should definately be on your venue short-list

    First of all - the venue is first-rate. The food and desserts were phenomenal; as one might expect from Surf. Kris's (Surf Room's event coordinator) performance far exceeded our expectations. She provided us with great ideas during the planning, she easily accommodated late changes, and provided exactly the right amount of operational management that our wedding needed. She seamlessly coordinated with our outside vendors and was very communicative throughout the entire process. She made the planning of the event extremely easy and was a pleasure to work with.

    During the setup and the event itself, Surf Room's service team members (bar tender, servers, and kitchen staff) were enthusiastic about providing a great experience, very professional in going about their duties, and forward-thinking. Questions and requests were responded to immediately and correctly. It was clear that they enjoyed working with Kris and each other.

    The Surf Room's reply:

    We love getting these great reviews!!! Thank you so much Denis and Kim. It was a pleasure working with the both of you. The staff and I are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations! We thank you for choosing our venue to host your most important day!!! Best wishes from us all!!!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Perfect in every way! Thank you, Kris, Ian and Sarah for making this special night so wonderful!
  • F
    Frank Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held a welcome celebration for about 90 guests at the Surf Room. As we live about 500 miles from Portsmouth, we only had one face-to-face meeting with the staff of the Surf Room to plan the event. Everything else was done by e-mail or phone which worked out fine. The entire event was a great success. The food and drink was excellent and the venue was everything we could have hoped for. All in all, the Surf Room and its events manager Kris Gaudreau exceeded our expectations.

    The Surf Room's reply:

    Thank you so much for the great review!! We hope you enjoyed your stay in New England, and hope you will visit us again soon!!
  • C
    Cora Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food

    Kris was wonderful she always called me back right away we just loved her The food was amazing we had such a great time I would recommend the surf to my friends
  • P
    Phyllis Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Just amazing!!! Best to work with. Food was fantastic.

    The Surf Room's reply:

    Thank you very much Phyllis!! So happy to hear all enjoyed!!
  • D
    Deb Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue was beautiful - from the pressed linens that layered the tables and high tops to the spectacular harbor view through the floor to ceiling glass windows. Spectacular!

    Thank you, Kris, for your help making the rehearsal dinner such a great success. The guests were raving about the food well into the next day. Please tell Chef we said, “thank you” for accommodating our menu choices.

    Kris, you made sure that the cocktail hour, dinner and dessert ran seamlessly; so much so that I was able to fully enjoy the guests; I felt like a guest and not a host thanks to you.

    Please thank the 4 servers/bartenders, 3 of which I can remember by name: Sara, Charlie and Sampson. I can’t remeber the 4th but I remember him weaving between the guests serving drinks and appetizers.

    We couldn’t have asked for a better start to a wonderful wedding weekend.

    The Surf Room's reply:

    Deb, it is people like you that make us successful! Thank you so much for taking the time to write an awesome, detailed review. The staff, chef and I are are pleased that you were able to enjoy yourself like a guest! Let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future!!