The Shine Band Reviews

96 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

96 Reviews for The Shine Band

Recommended by 100%

96
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

1 User photo

The Shine Band 1
Sort by:
  • M

    Mark Levitt · Married on 12/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above and Beyond!

    The Shine Band went WAY beyond our expectations! We really wouldn't have had such an amazing wedding without them, December 2018. My wife and I have very different families who don't dance much. Not only did pretty much everyone dance –they didn't want to stop! The incredible variety and the way they moved from song to song was truly spectacular. Great musicianship! The band members were also approachable, and friendly all guests -including some cousins who kind of got "a little much" with requests :- ) They also knew when to keep things low key when needed, without forcing anything. All questions were answered promptly, John the bandleader was easy to communicate with –and they were far more reasonably priced than others we contacted.

  • M

    Michael Mansfield · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stellar Performance by The Shine Band @ The Mansfield Wedding 11-3-18

    My wife and I from day 1 wanted a band. We did extensive research and read many reviews and settled on The Shine Band. They are absolutely fabulous. We worked with John Harris who always responded in a timely manner. We asked them to learn a play an Ed Sheeran first dance song. They learned "How would you feel (Paean)" and played it flawlessly. I swear Ed Sheeran was at our wedding! We used the jazz ensemble to play during the 1st hour open bar and then the band came and played for the rest of the night. All our family and friends are still talking about how awesome the band was. We have recommended them to at least six other couples. They truly engaged the crowd from our 20 year old children and there friends to our 50 something friend to our 85+ aunts and uncles. You cannot go wrong picking this band for your wedding. Thank you John and the band for making our wedding fabulous. Very Sincerely Michael & Susan Mansfield

  • C

    Chao · Married on 06/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Shine Band was simply awesome! We are so happy we booked a live band for our wedding. Each interaction with them was friendly, thorough, and they were considerate to our preferences. They made the process of understanding our music taste and the flow of the evening effortless. With their many years of experience, the band made excellent recommendations about points we had not considered that helped our reception flow smoothly. The Shine Band offers a wide range of music styles which helps them present a nice dynamic between dinner music and dance/party music. The band is fun and energetic and I’d strongly recommend them to anyone! If given the opportunity, I will definitely book this band again in the future.

    Nothing beats live music.

    The Shine Band 2
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Shine Band was a pleasure to work with, and they kept everyone on the dance floor all night! Our venue offered us an hour of piano music during our cocktail hour, and Shine agreed to incorporate the piano into their playing (which was so flexible on their part, and really sounded incredible)! John is a true professional who will guide you through the planning process. He told us when he was going to be on vacation while we were planning, and answered every email and call within a few hours. We can't thank them enough!

  • D

    Dan · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired the Shine Band for our daughter's New Year's Eve wedding in NH. Dealing with John Harris was a terrific experience. he was so pleasant and professional. He even offered to have the band play a new song for them for our father daughter dance purchasing the sheet music and creating an arrangement that fit our desired time frame. The level of the music was perfect allowing guests to talk if not dancing. the band played music that got everyone up dancing. Would highly recommend them without reservation.

  • J

    Jenna · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with John and the Shine Band for our wedding last month, and are so glad we did. During the planning process John was so thorough and quick to respond which was so appreciated. They even learned a new song for our first dance! Our dance floor was packed all night and we couldnt have been happier. Would definitely recommend!

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Shine Band exceeded our expectations 100 times over. Hands down one of the best wedding decisions we made! We had them for 6 hours at our wedding on August 19, 2017 in Newport, playing nice, light music during dinner to fun, party music post-dinner. John was so great to work with. He was super responsive and flexible with our schedule, making sure all of our needs were met (even our special request for Blues Brothers songs for my dad who LOVED it)! The instrumentalists are amazing, and the singers voices are incredible! Our guests could not stop talking about how amazing they were all night long (and still can't stop talking about it!). Their flow of music was amazing and kept people on the dance floor all night. We truly could not have been happier, and would hire them again in a heartbeat!

  • K

    Kristi · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SHINE was incredible...the entire band did everything they could from start to finish for our wedding, including some funny impromptu drum input during the speeches! :) John was so accommodating, even when our venue made a few challenging last minute changes...he was always calm cool and collected! THANK YOU!!

  • D

    Deborah · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great fun! Played a variety of music that got all age groups on the dance floor. Can't thank them enough for helping to make this a truly memorable day.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had The Shine Band play at our wedding on May 20, 2017 in Maine. They played for our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. I spoke to John many times directly (VERY easy to get ahold of and communicate with!) He made me feel like the band truly understood our taste in music. They were extremely accommodating and willing to learn new music. (Which made my processional and the first dance meaningful).

    Now, their music was incredible. Each of the members had their strengths, when combined, created a full, vibrant sound. They gauged our guests perfectly, and played music to fit the vibe. Our wedding had many professional musicians (professors and performers) attending and they were VERY impressed in the quality of this band. We wholeheartedly recommend The Shine Band to anyone who wants superior musicians for their event/wedding!

  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 05/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best band ever!!!!! They delivered exactly the music that I was looking for. The dance floor was filled with my guests all night long!! I couldn't have been more happy with The Shine Band!

  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married this past weekend and chose Shine as our wedding band. We seriously have NOT stopped getting compliments from guests about how awesome the music was. From the very first email to the day of the ceremony, John was extremely responsive and easy to talk to. The ceremony music was beautiful, and the reception was absolutely awesome- the dance floor was completely packed the entire night- they sure knew how to read a crowd! I can't overstate how happy we are that we went with Shine, and I would highly recommend this band to anyone! Thank you so much, Shine, for making our day so awesome!

  • M

    MaryEllen · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The shine band rocked our wedding! They played a great combination of music. They really identified that our wedding guests were there to have fun. And the shine band played music for that! We've received so many compliments that our wedding was such a blast and that is thanks to the music! The band also played our guests' requests! Lastly, when spinning a beer bottle on the floor for a guest to dance next in the circle, the band played continuous music to enhance such dancing fun! Overall we would highly recommend them!

  • A

    Alexis · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and the Shine Band were perfect from start to finish. John was so easy to work with and provided great feedback on all of our plans. On the night of our wedding, they did a fantastic job and sounded just like the recordings that they have online. I know some brides like to see a band perform before picking but honestly, they provided so many samples online and the other reviews were so great that I didn't think it was necessary and I am glad that I went with that instinct. There are so many things to worry about when planning a wedding that the band sounding great shouldn't be one of them - and with the Shine Band, no worry is necessary. They did a seriously great job.

  • M

    Mat · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John is really easy to work with and very thorough. The Shine Band served as a great MC and made the transitions in the evening seamless. We live in DC and weren't able to hear the band live before our reception night-- it turned out to not matter. The Shine Band sounded fantastic! We are still getting compliments on how great the band was that evening. They made every effort to accommodate our requests and I felt like John offered a lot of valuable advice on timing and music selection. We mixed eastern and western traditions and cultures at our reception and the Shine Band was very flexible with our requests. In sum, this is a great band at a really reasonable rate. We are thoroughly satisfied-- both with the quality of music and showmanship as well as with the customer service and responsiveness. A wedding can be stressful but choosing a band shouldn't be at all. The Shine Band knows this and really excels at being top notch entertainment.

  • R

    Rob · Married on 08/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We picked the Shine Band for our wedding after hearing them at a wedding we attended, and we're so glad we did. John was super easy to work with in the stressful pre-wedding period; he did a great job working with us to get lists of important songs and to better understand the vibe we wanted for our wedding. On the day of, the band was more or less perfect. They were the model of professionalism in person - On time, friendly, and on point throughout the day. The dance floor was packed all night long, and we received lots of compliments from both people who loved the music, and people who were thankful for a wedding band that could strike the right balance between a rocking party and people still being able to hear each other.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best decisions that we made for our wedding! The Shine Band is amazing. They were so professional and easy to communicate with during the planning process. The dance floor was packed the entire night. All of our guests are still raving about how great they sounded. My husband and I were worried because we couldn't see then perform ahead of time, but believe me....they are even better in person than they are in their videos! Choose the Shine Band, you wont regret it!

  • S

    Shelagh · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding communication and service leading up to the wedding! And they had everyone dancing all afternoon long - yes, during an afternoon reception. Great, fun, interactive band!!!

  • A

    Alex · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were awesome! They were super flexible with scheduling and very professional. Most importantly, a bunch of guests came and told us they were awesome and everyone was dancing until the end!!!! I'd definitely recommend them again!!!

  • K

    kerrin · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and his band are incredible! They were so kind from the first day we reached out to them. We had the opportunity to go and see the band play locally before our wedding and it was like a mini reception to get us excited for the big day! They were to invested in their music and the crowd, we knew we had picked the right band. They came over and met my family and our friends and made sure to play a few of our favorites that they would be playing at our wedding.

    Before the reception John and I had a few phone calls back and fourth for planning and he was not only helpful in helping me decide on music but the general timeline of the evening. I didn't have a wedding planner, so hearing his experiences from past weddings helped make our night perfect!

    Our family and friends were glued to the dance floor the entire night. I wish it could have never ended!! John and the Shine Band will be the only band you ever hire for an event again!

  • User6884380 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Shine Band was fabulous. They were easy to communicate with and very responsive. Would definitely book them again.

  • M

    Molly · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision we made was having The Shine Band play at our wedding at the Scituate Harbor Yacht Club on May 14, 2016. They were absolutely fabulous! We HIGHLY recommend them! John was so accommodating to us from the first email we sent to the day of the wedding. So many guests commented to us how much fun they had dancing. Even friends and family who don't like to dance were out on the dance floor with us. We are so happy we chose to have a live band. The Shine Band really made our wedding a huge hit. Thank you again for making our day so memorable!!

  • D

    Dana · Married on 05/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After months of research, my husband and I independently arrived at choosing the Shine Band for our wedding ceremony and reception music. We both wanted a band that could capture the attention of ALL our guests, a mix of young adults in their 20's and older adults from our parents' generation. Shine really shines with their musical talent and YEARS of experience in the wedding industry. Leading up to the wedding day, we worked mainly with John Harris from the band, and he's PHENOMENAL. He's the most responsive vendor I've ever worked with, and he provided us with very useful tips and feedback on our wedding timeline. He was also very patient and went through many edits of our wedding timeline with us to refine our vision, which was incorporating some my Korean cultural details into the ceremony-- Shine's music was so universal and accessible that they even got my grandmother (in her 80's) visiting from Korea to get up and dance with us! Our dance floor was so packed the entire night that we felt bad for not having a larger dance floor! If you want a band that is pleasant and easy to work with, and is skilled at reading your guests and playing versatile music, the Shine Band is IT!

  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Plain and simple, this was the best decision my husband and I made for our entire wedding –except for getting married of course. The Shine Band not only surpassed all our expectations, but those of our parents and friends as well. People thought they’d be going to yet another DJ wedding, so the fun started the moment the band (flawlessly) played their first song. From that point there was no looking back, every selection perfectly fit the mood of the reception. We even had Shine play an extra hour. We did not hear them play live before the wedding, but came to realize that’s not completely necessary due to the wealth of their online music and info –and also because John the bandleader was so genuine in all our dealings with him. He made some key suggestions regarding timeline and music choice that were incredibly helpful. He really made us feel at ease with the whole process of planning the wedding. One of my favorite comments I got from a couple friends who never dance much was, “Wow, Killer Band!” –you almost had to pry them off the dancefloor…

  • J

    Jim · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose John Harris and The Shine Band to perform at our daughter and son-in-law’s wedding at The Langham – Boston on October 24th. That proved to be an outstanding decision that we will all remember the rest of our lives!

    Initially, our daughter thought she would like a DJ, as that seemed more contemporary. We did check out several DJ’s that were recommended to us, but, we didn’t think the cost differential for a 1 or 2 person DJ with digital music versus the cost for a 5 or 6 person live band was worth it. We found several bands that had a high ratings but The Shine Band stood out on many levels. John Harris was most helpful and responsive to all our questions, via prompt email or phone calls. He offered to do exactly as we wanted, while at the same time, offering his earnest opinion of our choices. He made us feel so confident with his professionalism and friendly guidance, in effect, he became our ‘wedding consultant’. It was a pleasure to work with him at every stage and the cost was, in the end, a real value.

    We wanted a dignified, elegant but fun reception. That is exactly what The Shine Band rendered for us and our guests! They are all high quality individuals and great performers. We had 6 musicians and they all sang and made it seem like a much larger band. We made a few selections but mostly they ‘felt’ the crowd and kept the dance floor full for all ages. Their excellence and dynamism made our reception a “happening”. All our guests had a ball, everyone agreed it was the best band and we are proud to have had The Shine Band perform at “our” wedding!

    This is the first review I have ever done online, but, I felt I had to share my delight. I couldn’t recommend them more highly. If you hire The Shine Band, you won’t feel any differently than I do.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review