The Rhinecliff Reviews

12 | Rhinecliff, NY
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for The Rhinecliff

Recommended by 93%

12

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.1

10 User photos

The Rhinecliff 1
The Rhinecliff 2
The Rhinecliff 3
The Rhinecliff 4
The Rhinecliff 5
The Rhinecliff 6
The Rhinecliff 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Rhinecliff made our wedding perfect!

    The Rhinecliff is not only an exceptional value but also incredible to work with. Their banquet manager Nicole was responsive, and cooperative (and indulged several probably annoying requests!) and Sharon, our event captain, went above and beyond at every possible opportunity. The view, the food, the service were all impeccable.

    Sent on 10/27/2018
  • A.

    A. · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at The Rhinecliff and it was spectacular.

    Amy was amazing and accommodated every visit, both from us and vendors, in our planning of the ceremony and reception. She helped us plan aspects of the whole day and her advice and expertise were invaluable throughout. On the day of, she was amazing and was helping to keep everything moving along and made sure everything and everybody was where they should be. She and her staff helped make it a carefree day, and we were able to enjoy our wedding thoroughly! The rooms we all stayed in were awesome and all had balconies and other amenities making them worth every penny.

    The site and building is beautiful and the view of the river and the train platform for pictures make it an interesting and fun venue. Even though you are close to train tracks, we enjoyed that aspect of the venue (and so did our guests, since those traveling from NYC arrive only a short walk to the venue) and it only added to the uniqueness and fun. There is ample parking around as well.

    We couldn't be happier with how everything turned out! The view of the river and the mountains combined with the great service provided by Amy and her staff really makes for a perfect wedding.

    Sent on 10/16/2017
    The Rhinecliff 8
    The Rhinecliff 9
    The Rhinecliff 10
    The Rhinecliff 11
    The Rhinecliff 12
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner at the Rhinecliff and had a WONDERFUL experience. Working with Amy was a true pleasure and she made the experience effortless. She always answered our questions quickly and we were able to rely on her expertise for how to make the evening special for our guests. The food was amazing -- very fresh and light -- and the location being right on the Hudson River was a huge WOW factor. Additionally, the venue itself is absolutely beautiful (specifically, the downstairs bar is AMAZING). Our bridal party, friends and family still rave about the venue and we will DEFINITELY be hosting future events at the Rhinecliff! My husband and I have VERY high standards, and the Rhinecliff far surpassed our expectations! Thank you again for a wonderful evening.

    Sent on 06/19/2017
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an outdoor ceremony in the lovely garden by the river. then a wonderful reception inside as the weather got a bit chilly and windy. James was very attentive to details and presented a scrumptious and affordable menu for appetizers thru dinner and desserts. Amy was excellent and flexible with the venue and the needs of us and our guests on our wedding day. I would highly recommend the Rhinecliff as a place both for ceremony and reception. The food was excellent and praised by all who attended.

    Sent on 04/12/2012
  • S

    Sheri · Married on 06/30/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely, positively consider The Rhinecliff for your reception. I could NOT have been happier with my reception. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate every need (of which I had many), and I had an experience that was totally unique, gorgeous, and in the end, effortless. James is a true professional and knows exactly how to make your vision come true. He made sure every one of my requests was met and beyond. The setting is stunning and you can combine the rooms to have exactly the look and feel you envision. James is super flexible and very helpful. The food was AMAZING - chef is from the Culinary Institute; they serve family style which guests loved, some ordered seconds it was so good! Drinks were great too; my dad is a big wine guy and they went out of their way to find the exact wine he requested. James even had staff available to cater my outdoor ceremony with water & lemonade, which was at a different location altogether! It was like having multiple wedding planners for free (LOVE Erica & Amy). I felt completely taken care of, and my guests could not stop talking about how wonderful the ceremony & reception were. They don't shut down your party either, so don't worry about getting kicked out at 11pm (or ever, we were dancing until 3am with their free busboy turned DJ Max). The bridal suite is beautiful and they bring up wonderful snacks while you're getting ready and an amazing little breakfast the next morning. If you are looking for something unique, really fun, and hassle-free, look here. Just know that this place is getting really popular for weddings, so book your weekend early and expect some delays in response during the pre-planning stage. Once they start gearing up for your day, you are priority #1 and will be treated like royalty.

    Sent on 08/19/2012
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 08/20/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here on a Sunday in August, 12-5pm. There were 100 guests. The ceremony and cocktail hour were on the lawn and the reception was in the banquet room. Let me start by saying that Amy is an absolutely amazing event coordinator, who will guide you through the day without worry. The service here is outstanding and our guests loved the location with easy train access to NYC. SO nice that people didn't need to drive up! The hotel was very accommodating and let our guests hang out downstairs in the hotel bar long after the reception. Our guests were big partiers, and honestly, not the most thoughtful when it came to being tidy (one guest sleeping in a chair, another guest belligerent), but The Rhinecliff staff handled everything with professionalism. We tipped more for this! The banquet room is VERY pretty. The food was outstanding. There was enough space for 100 people but the dance floor was a bit tight...an ideal guest list is up to 90 in my opinion. This venue will work with you on price and do not charge a fee for extras like cake cutting. We had some issues keeping the reception room cool. Something was up with the a/c and we also just had a ton of people in a smaller space, drinking a lot. Our guests were sweaty but still dancing up a storm! If we had covered the cocktail hour area outside with a tent, guests wouldn't have been so hot Also, AUGUST. We could've ordered fans. People opened balcony doors making it worse. This is something to keep in mind when having a summer wedding here. The bridal suite was gorgeous and breakfast the following day was fantastic. Overall we had an amazing time and we wouldn't of had our wedding at any other venue! We look forward to wedding anniversaries here on the Hudson River for many years to come!

    Sent on 11/08/2017
    The Rhinecliff 13
    The Rhinecliff 14
    The Rhinecliff 15
    The Rhinecliff 16
    The Rhinecliff 17
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/24/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired James and his team to cater our wedding and it was hands down the best decision. James is wonderfully talented and really took care of us throughout the process. We had an amazing tasting at the Hotel, where we sampled what they had to offer. We created a menu together and they accommodated multiple dietary restrictions. We did a final tasting a week before the wedding to make any last minute changes, and then the actual day went off without a hitch! We chose to do a family-style dinner, and it was a huge hit. The food was amazing, and the staff was so professional - they managed to get the whole dinner served to our outdoor tables, before an incoming rain storm hit, without making us feel rushed! If you're seeking a caterer, I highly recommend the Rhinecliff Catering team. The food is delicious and it's a great value for your money. You won't regret it!

    Sent on 07/26/2017
  • J

    Jason · Married on 08/25/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome. They could have been more responsive in the months/weeks/days leading up to the wedding but the ceremony and reception was beautiful so all is forgiven.

    Sent on 10/06/2012
  • B

    Brooklyn, · Married on 09/02/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Rhinecliff Sept 2010 was incredible!

    The Rhinecliff is a beautiful venue that is well maintained, the scale and furnishing are perfect for an intimate event for family and friends. It is exactly what we wanted for our wedding. The views of the Hudson River, Mountains, and Roundout Lighthouse are stunning.

    The food was delicious (made from local NY ingredients). The Rhinecliff has a great restaurant that we've ate at many times and loved, we were happy to find that our wedding event had the same quality of food and service! Our guests have said that the wait staff was extremely attentive, the family style meal worked perfectly; the staff made sure that no one ran out of food. Wine, which was included in our package, was always being poured, glasses were never empty. The bar tenders were professional and personable as well. Our guests had an amazing time, we are still hearing about how great the event was.

    During our planning stages prior to the wedding, there had been a turn over of event coordinators, but the owner himself, James, made sure that we received "The Rhinecliff experience" as he put it himself. He kept everyone in good spirits, and seemed personally invested in the success of our wedding event. At times, we felt as if he were a part of the family!

    Sent on 09/19/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/06/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding here and everything was absolutely perfect. It was what we were looking for: accomodating and friendly staff, a pretty space that needed very little decoration, a place to have the ceremony, space to get ready, very very amazing food, available bar downstairs for our extensive afterparty, close to public transportation (Amtrak from Albany and NYC), and at a reasonable price point. It was perfect for our reception of about 65 people, this left just the right amount of room for a dancing area and we weren't crowded, but it didn't feel empty at all.

    The bridal suite is included complimentary for the night of the wedding, so we had a huge space to get ready in, spend the night, and have breakfast the next morning. The staff was always super helpful, bringing us prosecco while getting ready, making sure we were fed, helping with setup and breakdown, etc... There is also on on-site day of coordinator that helps with making sure things go smoothly during the ceremony and reception.

    Trying to get in touch with questions in the months leading up to the wedding was difficult, and often took several tries to get an answer. But in the couple weeks before, they were more responsive and everything went smoothly the day of, including when the dessert didn't arrive on time and there was some scrambling to figure things out-I only found out 2 weeks later from my mom because they didn't want to "stress out the bride" They are pros and made everything happen successfully.

    From the garden ceremony to the family style dinner service, everything was perfect, especially the food (people raved about it for a week afterwards). I highly recommend the Rhinecliff if you are looking for a less formal, more intimate wedding, that does not feel like a standard banquet hall. The pictures on their website don't do it justice, you have to go in person to see for yourself!

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/30/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Rhinecliff Hotel for our June wedding. The venue was beautiful. The guests had jaw-dropping views of the Hudson River from the ceremony through the reception. Plus, the proprietor (James) helped us arrange fireworks over the Hudson just as we cut the cake!!! James and his team were so helpful and so flexible. They supported our every need. Only down side was that we took photos during dinner, and our food got cold. But the team was very responsive to help us and we had an absolutely fabulous day. I'd recommend the Rhinecliff Hotel for any bride who is looking for an upscale, low key, personalized experience in a beautiful location.

    Sent on 08/06/2012
  • User3903830 · 2+ years ago

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    My bridal shower was held here in Dec of 2013. The space was beautiful and the food was delicious! Our only complaint is Nicole. Leading up to the event we would call, wrote numerous emails and never heard anything back for weeks! Then when she would finally respond it was with the wrong information. Thus taking a few more weeks to come up with the correct information. She has an assistant I'm not sure what for as it seemed as though with two people we should have got a response back very soon. The lack of communication made us very uneasy about whether we had made the right decision in having the shower here. Luckily on the day of the shower everything was beautiful. But Nicole was very rude never said a single work to anyone, no congratulation or asked how everything was. If you are a bride looking to have your wedding here I would really think about it. Is the beauty of the space more important than the lack of communication. As if planning a wedding isn't stressful enough then you have to deal with your venue not responding to you.

    Sent on 02/14/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review