The Raging Skillet Reviews

51 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

51 Reviews for The Raging Skillet

Recommended by 99%

51
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

3 User photos

The Raging Skillet 1
The Raging Skillet 2
The Raging Skillet 3
Sort by:
  • B

    beverly · Married on 06/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There was a tasting event at the picnic house with a half dozen vendors. I got to chat with the chef and the party planner as well as taste the yummy food. My husband and I also went to the kitchen to sample some of the food and discuss menu.
    The wedding was multiracial and multi cultural and we were delighted that Chef Rossi was so versatile.

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Raging Skillet catered our wedding on 6/11/16 - we initially found then when we saw one of their menus at what ended up being our venue. Working with Chef Rossi was fantastic...she gave us plenty of personal attention, was a ton of fun to work with when figuring out the menu, and in the end the food was absolutely amazing. All of our guests were stuffed and happy, which was our goal from the beginning!

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • A

    Adam · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi was outstanding! Easy to work with, professional, and most importantly her food was delicious. The guests only had good things to say about the catering. The cocktail hour was top notch, very creative delicious foods that didnt stop coming. Highly recommend The Raging Skillet!

    Sent on 08/19/2016
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not give Chef Rossi and her team enough praise for what they were able to accomplish at my wedding! My friends and family are still raving about the food! She was extremely accommodating to my schedule and budget, so I highly recommend booking The Raging Skillet for an event!

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mere hours after our tasting with Chef Rossi and we signed the contract—she was the easiest choice among all of our wedding vendors, hands down. Her inspiration and creativity are boundless. Boring chicken cutlets tremble at the sight of Chef Rossi. Our menu dipped into Southern, Asian, New American, and Italian influences, to name but a few, yet gelled into a deliciously coherent whole. Our guests are still raving about the food and service, and our planner admitted she had never seen such a long line for the dessert table. Everything was perfect—if we could, we'd hold a second wedding to work with Chef Rossi on another theme so we could taste her awesome cooking once again.

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • P

    Peter · Married on 10/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Chef Rossi and her team! My wife and I wanted a menu that caters to both of our Asian and Jewish families and Chef Rossi did just that and more. Our wedding was in October and our guests are still talking about how wonderful the food was and how great the staff were. Our venue had only a small prep area so it must have been magic that each dish came out fresh and delicious as if it was cooked on site. We had a short time frame with which to plan our wedding and Chef Rossi was great -from the first visit with her suggestions and keeping us on track, all the way up to the wedding in making sure we had enough mixers for all our guests. On our wedding day, the staff (Karl and his team) made everyone feel welcome and ensured we had a smooth event. It allowed my wife and I to focus on each other and our family. We couldn't have chosen a better caterer for our wedding. Big thank you to the Raging Skillet, you guys are the best!

    Sent on 12/17/2015
  • S

    Shaye · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZZZZINNNGG!!! Chef Rossi is AMAZING. We came across the Raging Skillet almost four years ago at a wedding we attended and couldn't stop raving about it. 4 years after that, when we were getting married, we went to one tasting at Chef Rossi's and not only fell in love with her food all over again but fell in love with her. She's the most warm, caring, and genuine person ever - which is SO rare in a wedding vendor. Our guests have been texting us non stop about how amazing the food is and we couldn't be happier with everything. Incredible!

    Sent on 10/23/2015
  • J

    Josh · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Raging Skillet, and in particular their founder & head chef, Chef Rossi are an absolutely incredible team of caterers. They are extremely talented, creative, professional, warm, sweet and friendly. My wife and I had the pleasure of working with Chef Rossi and Raging Skillet for our recent wedding in October 2015 in Brooklyn, NY and were beyond thrilled with her food and service from our big day. Everything Chef Rossi cooked was delicious – from the scrumptious passed appetizers during cocktail hour, to the mouth-watering entrees and sides during dinner, to the fun and playful desserts (everyone must try her infamous “Oreo Crack”) to the tasty drinks served up by their passionate bar staff. They made sure that nobody left hungry; quite the contrary everyone left completely satisfied and raving about the food. But being billed as the “Non-Caterer” does come with its rightful niche. Chef Rossi embraces her distinctive style and wears her heart on her chef’s coat sleeve. She is fun-loving and boldly imaginative with the dishes she devises, but not in an uninviting manner. Quite the opposite, she is extremely sincere, heartfelt and genuine in the way she conducts herself and her business. But for those who are planning a less “cookie-cutter” wedding event, Raging Skillet is perfect for you. If you’re bringing in a caterer a la carte to a venue space, Rossi has all the tools necessary to turn that blank canvas into an appealing bistro. Along with her Head of Staff, Charmaine, who is equally delightful and pleasant to work with, Chef Rossi helped us plan the perfect menu for our foodie-loving crowd. Raging Skillet and Chef Rossi are an incredible caterer for your wedding or special event. We were beyond floored by their talent in the kitchen and equally impressed with their professionalism and business acumen outside of the kitchen. We highly recommend Raging Skillet and we promise you won’t be disappointed with what they have to offer.

    Sent on 11/02/2015

    The Raging Skillet's reply:

    awww JOSH
    thank you so much for your kind words... It was such a pleasure to work with you and your sweet bride** sending you a huge mazel tov on your awesome love together!!!
  • User6137901 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi from the first minute we met her was welcoming and open. We had a fully vegan wedding and were nervous to trust a non-vegan chef with the task. But after discussing ideas with her and eating her samples we knew she was the one. She has many years of experience and that made a huge difference in our book. Cher Rossi knew the venue well, had done vegan weddings before and her food spoke for itself. We felt that when the day came all would go smoothly in her brilliant hands. And, we were right.

    Almost none of our guests were vegans but so many asked us who our caterer was and told us how much they liked her food. They said they couldn't believe a vegan wedding could have such delicious food. Most guests wanted not to like the food but ended up really happy.

    We highly recommend Chef Rossi and her team for any event that needs catering. Her food is craveable and once you book her, you only need to focus on whatever else is on your list.

    Your guests will forget your flowers, colors and table designs but not your food. If you can, put a nice portion of your budget into feeding them well. If you choose Chef Rossi, you definitely will.

    Sent on 01/03/2016
  • K

    Kei and Mark · Married on 06/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and her staff were amazing at our wedding. Everyone at the event had nothing but good things to say about the food and presentation. What we really loved about Chef Rossi was her ability and talent to cater to different ethnicities. This was important to us, and we have to say that she nailed it!! We can honestly say that she surpassed our expectations. We would highly recommend Chef Rossi to anyone.

    Sent on 07/06/2015

    The Raging Skillet's reply:

    thank you so much love birds! **
  • S

    sheryl · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi is absolutely amazing. She's an innovator & artist; this is NOT your typical caterer. So, if you're looking for boring, bland dishes seen at every wedding, this is not the caterer for you. Her dishes are colorful, flavorful, bold & fresh. And they meet each couples unique needs.

    Chef Rossi is a pleasure to work with; she's compassionate, hilarious & responsive. She works closely with you to create a truly unique & personalized menu within your budget. She doesn't push expensive items & she still manages to create a spectacular menu with each dish presented artistically.

    For our passed hors d'oeuvres, we wanted to incorporate our favorite international flavors. It was important to us that we include a paneer dish, which was not on Chef Rossi's vast menu. When we spoke with her about it, she was excited & said she loves when couples challenge her to create something new. Don't be afraid to ask for something you want. Our final hors d'oeuvres menu included flavors of Italy, Ireland, Greece, China, India, etc. In addition, my husband & I are self-proclaimed foodies, but our relatives are not. Somehow, Chef Rossi managed to wow our foodie friends & also satisfy our picky relatives. Some of our guests favorite appetizers included: the paneer, pork buns, shepard's pie, & mushroom wontons. To keep our costs down, we opted for a buffet. Honestly, I was wary. Buffets are usually terrible & annoy guests. Man, was I wrong. Our guests loved the buffet & the food was glorious, especially the filet, which melted in your mouth, & the salmon.

    Chef Rossi's team is amazing from the bartenders to her maitre d', Charmaine who joined us for our final walk through. She helped us determine how to best utilize our space & worked patiently with us to create our table arrangements. She also worked closely with our wedding planner to ensure the day ran seamlessly. Our wedding was perfect & much of this is thanks to Chef Rossi & her team. I highly recommend her.

    Sent on 06/07/2016
  • User4518132 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi is warm, friendly, funny, and professional. She's part bubbe, part wise-craker, and part heavenly cook. Every step of the way she was thoughtful, extremely flexible, with input and knowledge that really created an incredible experience. We had such a wide variety of ideas and she really helped us narrow them down and curate a meal that people wouldn't forget. People who didn't normally eat fish, loved the bass she prepared, people who couldn't handle vegetables, ate her's with glee! We got so many compliments! Half family-style, half served, every guest felt comfortable and left COMPLETELY full. There's so many caterers that serve a passable and bland meal, but Chef Rossi served a meal that was epic: delicious, beautiful served, and heavily consumed. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Chef Rossi IS the best. You will not regret working with her. I cannot wait to throw another party!

    Sent on 07/29/2015
  • J

    Jesse · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow!!! Chef Rossi and the entire Raging Skillet team provided not only a top notch food experience but an unforgettable memory that our guests are still giving compliments on months later! Chef's approach is incredibly laid back and she has an unbelievably warm personality that makes you feel welcome from the first time you meet her. There is no push into a preferred style of catering...Chef Rossi listens to you and your partner to get an understanding of who you are as people and what type of service would best suit you. Once that is squared away, food is discussed! And what options the talented Chef has!! I started a list of appetizers for the cocktail hour that Chef Rossi recommended, however I had to quit after about the 14th outrageous idea came to the table! After we selected a few probables for the wedding, we were invited back for one of Chef's famous tasting courses. Of course each selection was a knockout, only making our decision that much harder. In the end, we paired down our menu and Chef came through with world class service. Not to be forgotten one bit, Charmaine and her staff executed flawlessly without a single hiccup to be found. Me and my wife were taken care of from the first minute of cocktail hour (they set aside generous plates for us while we took our photos) until the last weary partier had left for the night. The food was fantastic, the service was tremendous and the people were hospitable to the nth degree. 10 stars out of 5!!

    Sent on 08/10/2015
  • User6053014 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi was amazing. She was the only caterer that really got our vision. The food was amazing. Often wedding food can be a bit forgettable but people still talk to us about her food over a year later.

    Sent on 12/14/2015
  • A

    Abram · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and her team (especially Charmaine!) were absolutely phenomenal. Extremely easy to work with, completely professional, but also amazingly fun and personable. Her team ran like a well-oiled machine on the day of the event, which is invaluable. That’s all apart from the food, however, which is truly in a different league from that of any other caterer. Incredibly creative, perfectly executed and utterly delicious. The number of compliments we received on the food was exceeded only by the number of people asking for Chef Rossi’s contact information. If food is important to you, The Raging Skillet is the unquestionably the go-to caterer. Simply perfect.

    Sent on 07/29/2013
  • D

    David · Married on 01/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before I even tasted her food, I knew Chef Rossi of the Raging Skillet was going to cater our wedding. She put my wife and I at ease with her very relaxed professionalism and her genuine interest in US and who we were and what we wanted.

    Chef went over everything having to do with money up front. Even things to think about, financially speaking, that didn't have anything to do with paying the caterer. It if wasn't for her I would have had many unwanted surprises just before the wedding. She worked with our budget and helped us save money along the way.

    Then came the amazing food!!! Chef invited us to not one, but two tastings and we loved everything put in front of us. Her first sample menu for us was so spot on that we only ever changed one item.

    The day of the event, her staff was amazing and we received compliments about the food all day during the event. Recently, almost a month after the event, a friend of mine commented, unsolicited, "That was the best food I have ever had at a wedding."

    Chef Rossi is an amazing person who loves what she does and cares about her clients. BOOK HER!!!

    Sent on 01/18/2013
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For weeks after the wedding, all we kept hearing from our friends and family was how FABULOUS the food was! This was gratifying to us, because my husband and I are foodies and normally don't enjoy "wedding food," but the credit all goes to Chef Rossi, who provided us not only with incredible, original, memorable food, but first rate service. Chef Rossi was instrumental in helping us plan within our budget. We had a cocktail reception with passed hors d'eurves and an artisanal meat and cheese table. The presentation was amazing - unlike anything I've ever seen. Chef Rossi's bartender did an amazing job on our specialty cocktail. Her entire staff was incredibly accommodating to all of our guests. Our experience with The Raging Skillet was outstanding and I highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for the most delicious food around and the best service.

    Sent on 04/04/2012
  • P

    jenn · Married on 11/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi & The Raging Skillet staff are awesome!
    Chef Rossi was so helpful throughout our entire planning of our continuous cocktail reception. The food was amazing, the presentation beautiful, and her staff extremely accommodating to all of our guests. We are still getting rave reviews from our guests about her services. Totally recommend for any catering event!!

    Sent on 02/09/2011
  • F

    felicia · Married on 10/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and The Raging Skillet team are great! They created beautiful and delicious treats for our cocktail hour and our wedding reception. Rossi worked with us throughout the planning process and even recommended other vendors to help us have the event of our dreams. Rossi's food was fresh, creative, and tasty. She made sure that we were all very well fed & our guests loved it! The Raging Skillet team is pleasant and everyone looks great. Her team even took the time to make our specialty cocktails and drinks and seemed to be having a great time. Everyone was very professional. I'd definitely use them again and again.

    Sent on 01/19/2011
  • C

    christina · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and her team are the BEST!!!! Her Maître D' Charmaine was SO helpful with every step of the process! Literally everyone at the wedding was telling us how yummy the food was and how beautiful the space looked!!! Chef Rossi worked with us to create a beautiful menu with a budget and totally saw our vision. They were a dream to work with and made our day even more special!!! Highly recommend Chef Rossi and her team!!!! Not only is her food the best but she is an awesome person too, someone you want to be friends with forever!

    Sent on 07/15/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 10/18/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi was great to work with. I would recommend her especially with this venue. She was flexible as we changed some menu options during the process and was able to help us plan a great meal and cocktail hour within our budget! The guests seemed to really enjoy the food!

    Sent on 11/21/2008
  • C

    colleen · Married on 09/08/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and the Raging Skillet team are truly the best. Not only is Chef Rossi simply fun to be around and keeps you smiling, but she also creates inventive, delicious recipes and always makes the right recommendation. Her expertise in the field is unbeatable and I was so impressed by her attentive, professional team on the day of. Charmaine was a dream to partner with through all of the logistics, which is especially needed at the Boathouse in Prospect Park as not only is the venue hidden in the park, it's comes with no kitchen and a strict set-up and curfew time. She kept both myself and husband fed, kept the timing on point, and made sure everything was running smoothly during the entire affair. The bartender did an excellent job whipping together the signature cocktails we picked out. You can't go wrong with The Raging Skillet!

    Sent on 10/01/2018
  • L

    Leanne · Married on 11/11/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Rossi and the Raging Skillet team were super easy and just plain fun to work with. Chef Rossi helped us curate a Latin flavored menu that was a perfect mix of some of her greatest hits and our favorite things. The Raging Skillet team experience really shows and day of the wedding was super seamless. Charmaine was so attentive during the wedding and made sure we had all of our appetizers and drinks available while we took some post ceremony photos and didn't miss a bite or drink! The service was great and special props to the bartenders who showed some serious skill making our specialty drinks to perfection. Can't say or thank this team enough!

    Sent on 12/28/2017
  • J

    Jackson · Married on 11/30/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Chef Rossi and her team for our wedding and from the beginning, we could tell she was different than all of the typical caterers. She doesn't give you templated menus, she is always so accomodating and flexible and she doesn't get caught up in "traditions" of wedding catering. Whether it was the tasting, the payment schedule, the sample menu - she def. does it with her own style. If you want someone who is very rigid, structured and traditional she is not for you. If you want to have fun while working on your menu and be able to customize it in any way you want - hire her. Her commuication style is not for everyone as she is very informal, but for us, it was perfect. None of the pretentiousness that other caterers clearly came with. On the day of, the food was very good and met expectations. Charmaine, her point at the reception, was spectacular. She was always taking care of us and ensuring that everything went off perfectly. All in all, it was a bit more expensive than we expected but that was on us - not Rossi. We chose to add various elements. From a quality perspective, Rossi doesn't sacrifice a thing. Overall, we were pleased with everything.

    Sent on 01/05/2014
  • User6797638 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Chef Rossi and Charmaime were wonderful! They were incredibly responsive, flexible, and so much fun to work with.

    Sent on 06/06/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review