The Penn Club of New York Reviews

6 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for The Penn Club of New York

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

6
Sort by:
  • Vicky

    Vicky · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married just over a year ago and I still have family and friends telling how much they enjoyed our event! The Penn Club was the perfect place for us to host 125 people at a 'dinner party for our friends'. It was an elegant yet relaxed affair. We danced the night away, ate wonderful food and laughed and visited with our nearest and dearest. Wesson and Alex made the planning very easy (the hardest part was selecting the menu as all of the options were wonderful. We have picky, foody friends and they were impressed too. Wesson is a pro at this and his suggestions were all spot on! He is a great partner in the planning process.
    Of particular note was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. To a person the spirit of hospitality and genuineness was felt by our guests. It really did come through - our guests, were the Penn Club's guests.
    The venue itself is lovely, the library is a wonderful spot for the cocktail hour (I still hold our photographer responsible for my not getting to spend enough time there). The dining room is a nice size with great decor. We had our own centerpieces but the china and table settings were beautiful. The dance floor is great and in the center of the room. I t made for easy access and good flow.
    Such a fun night and such a great venue. Worth the price - which is very reasonable for a Manhattan location!

    Sent on 09/20/2017
  • J

    June · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Penn Club was excellent. Wesson and Alex were very professional and responsive. They were instrumental in helping to coordinate our ceremony and reception. The library for our cocktail hour was gorgeous. It has that old American charm, which was the main reason that attracted us to this venue. The decor of the club house was so nice that we barely needed to add any decorations of our own. The similarly stunning dining room comfortably seated our 120 guests. It may be too crowded for a bigger guest list. The dance floor is situated in the center of the hall and divides the room into two sides. The dining hall is shaped kind of like a dumbbell, which was somewhat awkward for certain guests seated in the corners to see the center dance floor. But the staff tried to position tables so that no one felt too tucked in to the sides. All of our guests raved about the delicious food at cocktail hour and for dinner. The waitstaff provided exceptional service. The Penn Club helped to make our special day beautifully elegant and wonderful.

    Sent on 09/25/2016
  • S

    Stafford · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a second wedding for both of us, but our first experience planning a formal wedding. Wesson Anderson, Director of Catering; Alex Torres, Catering Maitre d'; Florimond Smoor, Executive Chef; Monica Dorin, Assistant Director of Rooms; and their staffs consistently provided first-rate service from planning through execution. All our guests commented on the quality and presentation of the food, from cocktail hour through wedding cake. The rooms for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception dinner were spacious and comfortable for our guests.

    Sent on 10/30/2014
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Penn Club did an amazing job for our wedding. The venue was beautiful, the food was delicious (and plentiful), and the service was great! Everything went so smoothly. They were wonderful to work with!

    Sent on 08/29/2014
  • D

    David · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had our "unexpected dream wedding" at the Penn Club!

    What does this mean? Well, notice the date of our ceremony... just a few days after Hurricane Sandy hit the region. We had planned for MONTHS, everything "just so" for our BIG DAY to be located at a fine hotel in Northern New Jersey. Invites, rooms booked, etc. Well, we plan and God laughs... 4 days out from our date, our venue cancels our event! What to do?

    The Penn Club SAVED THE DAY! Not only could they accommodate 100% of our guests, plans, and meals, the venue itself is GORGEOUS and represented a very fortunate upgrade in a time of mass struggle. We continue to thank our lucky stars.

    The space has wonderful "old America" detail throughout, truly gives the impression of class and sophistication that you just won't get at 99.5% of rentable rooms. It's location in Midtown Manhattan lent itself to some unbelievable/iconic NYC photo staging points (Grand Central, 5th Ave, etc). It's also super close to all major transportation hubs.

    The service was unbelievably excellent, especially considering that much of the staff must have had to make special arrangements to support our party - most trains were inoperable and gas was simply not available for cars!

    The catering far exceeded our expectations of even the initial order that we would have had in NJ. Seriously, awesome, fantastic, remarkable.

    In recap, The Penn Club was fantastic and I can not recommend it highly enough. If they handled our crazy situation with such grace, I can only imagine that a "normal" wedding would be top class. Without a doubt, you'll be in good hands at The Penn Club.

    Sent on 04/23/2015
  • User5005999 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding was absolute perfection in every possible way, and all credit goes to the Penn Club of NY's top notch professional staff. They are total experts in food, beverage, decor.. There is an over the top level if personal service and a true love of their work. They helped create a totally unique floor plan customized for us that accommodated dining & dancing and more. 5 star food, 10 star service, there's nothing to criticize. On top of this we found all the costs to be very reasonable.

    Sent on 04/23/2015