The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina Reviews

70 | Manteo, NC
See photos, pricing and details

70 Reviews for The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina

Recommended by 98%

70
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

21 User photos

The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina 1
The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina 2
The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina 3
The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina 4
The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina 5
The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina 6
The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina 7
+ 15
Sort by:
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina is the perfect location for a wedding reception. The setting can't be beat, and it made for some beautiful photographs. The Pavilion was spacious enough to hold our large wedding party. It has a great bar area and large stage for the band. Tammy is wonderful to work with. She was always there to answer any and all questions we had. We wouldn't change a thing! We had the best reception we could have ever hoped for! Amazing venue!

    Sent on 08/24/2014
  • A

    Abby · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy, Nikki, and staff were absolutely wonderful to work with! All emails were responded to quickly, and they were professional and friendly. The Pavilion can be dressed up or is beautiful as is. We are so happy we chose the Pavilion as our venue!

    Sent on 06/29/2014
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Pavilion at Pirates Cove was an outstanding venue. We had the ability to make the wedding our own with our own accents and ideas, which is hard to do in a ballroom type setting. We had beautiful pictures taken on the marina with the boats as well as had our cocktail hour outside with lawn games. People loved the idea of the outdoor/indoor feel of the Pavilion. The staff, especially Tammy, was very helpful and we would recommend this venue to anyone!

    Sent on 12/15/2014
  • V

    Valarie · Married on 09/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held my sons wedding at Pirates Cove and it was wonderful. We wanted a relaxed ceremony and reception venue and we found it. We enjoyed the flexibility of decorating ourselves and choosing our own caterer. The possibilities are endless with such a great venue.

    Thanks again Tammy and everyone at Pirates Cove!!!

    Sent on 12/10/2013
  • Gayle

    Gayle · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy and her staff are the BEST!!! We were very lucky to find such a helpful group of people in the perfect spot for our daughter's wedding reception. It is a gorgeous location to host a reception. The new floor is so pretty, we didn't even rent a dance floor. The new windows are much nicer than the old plastic curtains. Kudos to Tammy and her staff. They helped make our daughter's day everything she'd dreamed it would be.

    Sent on 05/20/2013
  • A

    amy · Married on 07/09/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pirate's Cove is such a beautiful location! I used them for my wedding reception in July. It was perfect! They are so flexible with how long you can use the facility and helping with setup and breakdown. I couldn't have asked for more!!! Heather is so helpful with coordination services she made our day go smoothly!

    Sent on 07/20/2011
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 09/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We stayed at Pirate's cove for our pre-wedding honeymoon and it was an AMAZING place to stay! beautiful condos with a beautiful view! I can't wait to go back to the outer banks!

    Sent on 06/01/2011
  • A

    Angie · event on: 03/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very accommodating on every level. Great electrical outlets, bar, ice machine, assistance with trash cans, set-up, flexible with hours during set-up and break down. Only complaint at all was the draftiness of the building which damaged some of the exhibitors' displays. Wondering if there is any way to block wind, even with a temporary outside sign as it was unbearable at times, blew things over, etc.

    Sent on 04/14/2015
  • C

    Carole Dawn · event on: 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with and very responsive. Ready to answer questions and help work out any "glitches" in plans. Friendly and wanted to make sure our Gala for our non-profit was successful and fun! Thanks so much for all of your help!

    Sent on 04/27/2015
  • M

    MaryKate · Married on 07/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pirates Cove Pavilion truly made our special day come true. It was the perfect for a larger group of people but covered since it was in the middle of July. Tammy was always there to assist in anything and always responded quickly. We were overwhelming pleased with our choice for our wedding day.

    Sent on 08/07/2017
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 04/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tammy was so easy to work with! The venue turned out perfect, even though it was our backup plan for the ceremony because of rain! It could not have been any better!

    Sent on 04/25/2016
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 04/09/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the pavilion was a great venue for the actual location we stayed at houses across the street which was awesome for our wedding party.

    Sent on 05/07/2016
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 03/15/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Tammy to use the pavilion as our wedding location. Everything was set up exactly as the layout I requested, well ahead of schedule. Tammy kept great communication with me throughout the whole process and answered all of my many questions.

    Why we chose Pirates Cove:

    - beautiful location...honestly, my pictures are amazing with the boats in the background, our ceremony right in front of the water, absolutely beautiful.

    - We were allowed to bring in any vendor we chose, which was somewhat difficult with a lot of the other venues around

    - We had the place for a full 24 hours, so we didn't have any specific time to kick our guests out.

    - Plenty of options for people to rent condos or houses right on location, this was great for us since so many of our guests came from out of town

    - The venue price included tables and chairs (set up as well)

    - It had its own backup plan should it have rained...the venue space is very large, so if it had of rained, we would've moved the ceremony inside to where we had our cocktail hour. Wouldn't have been ideal, but rain on a wedding never is!

    A few things to consider...

    - The weather. The pavilion is not heated or air conditioned, and there are two big side doors and one front door that is open. I feel in dead Summer, it might get too hot.

    - The space is HUGE! We only had 70 people, but I think it could fit a couple hundred. It was nice for us to have all the space though...we had corn hole boards, and games all over the place.

    - Not much of a kitchen available for your caterer. We had one caterer not take the job because there is only a sink and ice maker in the back. I guess this is a problem for some.

    Overall, the place is amazing!

    Sent on 04/01/2014
  • T

    Tim · Married on 10/26/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a great venue for a large function. Tammy was most helpful in ensuring a wonderful and memorable event. The wedding along the dock was beautiful and the Pavillion was stunning when decorated.
    There is expense associated with hiring an embellisher to downsize the Pavillion and to decorate for the wedding.
    Tammy couldn't have been more helpful in working to make the wedding a great success.

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • B

    Breanna · Married on 09/16/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    What a beautiful venue and reasonable price. Tammy was very professional and easy to work with. We're glad to choose to have our reception at Pirates Cove. We did have a pirate wedding and were a little shocked there wasn't any pirate decor already in tact though. Our event was 9/16/16 and it was quite warm in there and we didn't recall there being mentioned of renting large fans. Luckily my new in laws got there early and were able to rent two fans for our reception, a bit pricey and wish it had been included in our package. So be aware of this in case its a warmer day. hehe. All in all, yes you get what you pay for, but we went with the most basic package due to our budget. Still highly recommended and we love our stemless wine glasses given to us as well.

    Thank you!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/28/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a beautiful wedding at the Pavilion. Although it seemed a bit pricey the views were amazing.

    Sent on 12/10/2013
  • A

    Alicea · Married on 06/29/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We showed up the day before our wedding at the time our contract said we were allowed to start setting up, but they had just started cleaning up from the day before so we couldn't do much until they were done, which didn't leave us with much time for set up. We ended up having to come back late that night after our rehearsal dinner to finish everything. Other than that the facility was great and staff were very helpful.

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 09/21/2013

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We loved our wedding at Pirates Cove, The scenery is beautiful and not much more is needed to make it a perfect wedding venue. My only reccomendation is that you prepare for such a large space, it is hard to fill it if you are having a small wedding.

    Sent on 02/01/2014
  • User3253002 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The venue is beautiful but they are not very helpful with giving you information.

    Sent on 05/13/2013
  • A

    Anna · Married on 04/18/2015

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I would not recommend this venue for wedding. The area is too big and unless you are planning wedding for 300-350 people, it will look too big. They recommended to hang a wall of balloons to separate areas. The wall of balloons will cost you extra 850$ via their provided vendor. If you decide to have a wall of balloons, I would not recommend to try to hang it yourself , the ceiling is too high.
    In general , the area that you are going to rent is a barn. It's not enough lights in there , so you will have to put extra lights on the ceiling or use candles.
    Also, the area requires a lot of decorations , otherwise the venue will look too empty and too boring. Via their recommended vendor it will cost you another 3000-150000. On the positive side you can made anything you want out of that place.
    During the warm weather , there is no central AC and they will provide fans ( for additional cost) that you can put on the floor.
    During our communication process the main manager who is responsible for rent of the venue acted professional but at times not very nice and didn't take a personal approach to the issues that developed during the process of renting the venue.

    Sent on 05/06/2015

    The Pavilion at Pirate's Cove Marina's reply:

    We are sorry that you found our venue to be too big for event. We do pride ourselves on being the largest venue on the Outer Banks, however our average wedding is about 125-150 guests. We believe the space is an excellent value for any size wedding and gives many options to utilize the space for other activities such as corn hole, a cigar bar, or an optional indoor ceremony in case of bad weather. Many couples do their own decorating and find that with the use of the provided ladders the ceilings at 14' are manageable. We do appreciate your feedback and wish you continued happiness.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review