The Original Moonlighters Reviews

60 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

60 Reviews for The Original Moonlighters

Recommended by 96%

60
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

8 User photos

The Original Moonlighters 1
The Original Moonlighters 2
The Original Moonlighters 3
The Original Moonlighters 4
The Original Moonlighters 5
The Original Moonlighters 6
The Original Moonlighters 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Moonlighters absolutely made our wedding the most amazing night of our lives. ALL of our guests were dancing the entire night, and they all raved about how amazing the band sang/played/danced. Not a single person was sitting once the music got started. The band had the most incredible energy, and as the bride, made me feel like they were singing all of their songs just for me. Literally ... they played every song I requested, kept the music on schedule, and most importantly, kept everyone dancing. They ended the night with such a great energy, no one wanted to leave! We are SO HAPPY they were available for our wedding ... thank you Vance and the Moonlighters for making our wedding so much fun. We wish you the best, and please don't ever stop playing!

    Sent on 04/17/2016
  • M

    Michael · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cannot say enough about how amazing The Original Moonlighters were at my wedding! We had 190 people at the wedding and as soon as dinner was over everyone was up and dancing for the entire reception. We had the 9-piece band and highly recommend them. We were thrilled with how many genres they could cover from oldies to Motown, pop, funk, rock, etc. Their musicians handled cocktail hour with a solo keyboardist and a dinner jazz trio as well. It could not have been easier working with the band as they were always accessible by phone and email. My wife and I could not be happier with the band, don’t hesitate to book them! Thanks to The Original Moonlighters for making our day that much more special.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • User5566359 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The "Original" Moonlighters made our wedding 'party' come alive!!! D.J.'s can be great, but you can't beat a LIVE band to
    keep your guests on the dance floor. The "Original" Moonlighters have a massive playlist- from oldies to UpTown Funk!!
    Your guests of all ages will be WOW'd. They also handle all of your D.J. needs and are very flexible.
    Thanks from a VERY satisfied M.O.B.

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Trust me, you want to book this band! We were a bit nervous about the band for our wedding just because we had booked them without ever having heard them play - always a bit of a risk. We had absolutely NOTHING to worry about. The Original Moonlighters had everyone on the dance floor all night long! They were engaging, fun, not to mention they sound incredible. If you're looking for a classic wedding band that plays all the best songs, this is absolutely the place to go. We would do it all again in a heartbeat! It was the perfect vibe for our reception - book them now!

    Sent on 11/04/2015
  • User4154799 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The original moonlighters played at my wedding in September and they were amazing. I was a little nervous as I never heard them in person and picked them based on wedding wire reviews but I was not disappointed. They got everyone on the dance floor and made the wedding so fun. Will their manager was also really great to coordinate with, being extremely responsive prior to the date. Highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • D

    Dan · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The agent and all band members showed the highest degree of professionalism. Our guests were totally in love with this group and the variety of music they could play. But most important, my daughter--"THE BRIDE"--could not have been happier after it was all over that we had selected "The Original Moonlighters" for her wedding. We are still getting comments from our guest on how much they loved this band. Thanks to all the band members who helped make my daughter's wedding a remarkable day.

    Sent on 08/03/2015
  • User5214592 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The "Original" Moonlighters were fabulous. The music during dinner was very elegant and did not compete with the conversation. Then they revved it up with the dancing - the floor was full all night. Great fun!!

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • D

    Dee · Married on 01/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Original Moonlighters provided an amazing performance for our wedding reception at Ceresville Mansion. Vance and his band were exceptional and performed a wide variety of selections. Every guest was out on the dance floor and days later talked about the wonderful performance by the band. We would highly recommend the Original Moonlighters for a wedding reception or any event. They were extremely professional and a lot of fun!

    Sent on 01/18/2015
  • User3742126 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the original moonlighters were fantastic. All the members of the band were enthusiastic with excellent voices. We have received rave reviews from our wedding guests on how great the band was!

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely the best band! Fantastic music! They made the wedding.

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • P

    Peggy · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can stop your search for a professional, rocking, get-'em-up-and-dancing band right now.
    The Moonlighters were sensational. They exceeded our expectations and kept the party going until the absolute end. Nearly everyone stayed until the final note. I can't say enough!

    Sent on 06/24/2014
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! We were beyond thrilled with the quality and sound of the Moonlighters at our wedding. They were professional, extremely talented, and had everyone raving about what a great band they were. We are so glad that we hired them as our band and have great memories of our evening and they were a big part of it!

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! We were beyond thrilled with the quality and sound of the Moonlighters at our wedding. They were professional, extremely talented, and had everyone raving about what a great band they were. We are so glad that we hired them as our band and have great memories of our evening and they were a big part of it!

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • L

    LaShawn · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Who is that band??? That's what all my guests kept asking. We hired all 12 pieces. And their performance just gave me goosebumps from beginning to end!

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 01/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Moonlighters were a highlight of our wedding and kept everyone dancing for hours. They did a great job as emcees for the night, and played a variety of music -- perfect for a mix of ages and cultures. Can't say enough good things about the band!!

    Sent on 11/30/2013
  • E

    Elisabeth · Married on 12/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!! Everyone loved them!

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • J

    John · event on 09/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a "Barn Dance" - The Moonlighters ROCKED the house. There were 1,000 people there and they were mostly dancing from beginning to end. Afterwards, half of them asked for the contact inf.
    If you want a party, if you want dancing, if you want classic soul....the is were you go! No Questuion!

    Sent on 11/28/2013
  • K

    KYRA · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They made my wedding. Velvet voices, soothing sounds, dressed in tuxedos. Everyone loved, loved, loved the band. They sung every request we asked, effortlessly. The band was prompt, and professional. After my groom, gave me a toast.....they played a song that reflected the moment perfectly. It was a great time. If you want a stellar Motown band do not hesitant to contact the Moonlighters. I am already planning to hire them for my party next year. Great Band.

    Sent on 07/22/2012
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Many thanks to this band for bringing fun & enthusiasm to our recent wedding! The music was perfect for the mood we were trying to achieve and the band members were all incredibly professional. I would recommend them to anyone. Thank you to the band for your understanding and patience at the end of our reception - I know it got a little wild! Another thank you for providing music during dinner and at the end of your set. We had brought our own but there seemed to be some miscommunication with our wedding planner as to getting it played. We are so grateful you were well prepared!

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • A

    Amos · Married on 10/06/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Moonlighters simply ROCKED. Our crowd was up and dancing BEFORE they served dinner. They met all of our needs and played the songs in the right order and at the correct times. Towards the end of the evening, they played Sweet Home Alabama right on cue. It brought the house down! Our guests were amazed at their performance and we're still receiving great feedback from people weeks later. The Moonlighters took our wedding to the next level. I would suggest them to anyone. William Goldman and the band are top-notch professionals. We'll use them again. Best, Amos and Whitney Snead (Washington, D.C.)

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • U

    Uncle · event on 04/20/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys fit the bill perfectly for our Spring Fraternity Formal. Every suggestion/recommendation we had for them, they followed to a T, and they kept people on the dancefloor constantly. We gave them a direction to go in, as far as the setlist, and they took it from there, and we were not disappointed. These guys were some very talented musicians that played with a lot of soul, and if that is what you are looking for, then by all means book this band right now. The Moonlighters are highly recommended!

    Sent on 11/27/2013
  • S

    Sean · Married on 09/02/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Moonlighters were great. They were very professional, and helped us out with all the wedding announcements as well as playing great music. We received many compliments on how good the band was. If people weren't dancing, they had the reception chairs pulled up concert style to watch the guys play. Thanks fellas.

    Sent on 01/06/2014
  • User6272976 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The moonlighters were a fabulous addition to our wedding. The music was so fun that it really made the night. So many guests raved about the band. They even learned our college fight song and mixed it into a medley of songs. It was awesome. They were also very easy to work with and very professional on the day of. The only negative that I can say is that they did not end up playing all of our requested list (no Shout?!). Perhaps our list was too long, but that would have been good to know so we could have prioritized. You should definitely hire the Moonlighters for your next event, just be sure you get on the same page about the playlist before the event.

    Sent on 01/26/2016
  • O

    Oneida · event on 06/29/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've been working with lots of different bands over the years as a planner, and without hesitation, I always recommend The Original Moonlighters. They're an absolute dream to work with, and all of my clients adore them!!! Reliable, professional, courteous and extremely talented, they're all about A#1 customer service and nobody can keep a crowd on the dance floor quite like them.

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • J

    Jill · Married on 10/04/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DON'T HESITATE! The Original Moonlighters were the BEST wedding band!!! We wanted a good variety of songs that kept everyone dancing all night, and they delivered and then some!

    Their musical talent was awesome, and the playlist couldn't have been better. They were also ready to roll with the punches when unplanned things occurred, like an over-served groomsman jumping on stage and being the lead singer for an entire song, or when they broke into an impromptu version of "The Stars at Night" on the trumpet for our guests, half of whom were from Texas.

    They were absolutely incredible and just MADE our reception. The dinner music they played was classy and made us feel like we were at the most chic of events, and the dance music after dinner was just so much fun. They are laid back, easy to work with and receptive to ideas. They're great at MCing the event, as well, and keeping a good flow throughout the evening for things like the cake cutting, first dance, intros, bouquet toss, send off...and "Shout!" as the last song was the best three minutes of my entire life.

    They're awesome, and a great price for this area. BOOK THEM!!!

    Sent on 06/17/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review