Weddings

The Old Church Reviews

The Old Church View more information

15 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.3 out of 5

Awards

  • 15
Sort by:
  • K
    Kate Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got married at the Old Church in July 2018, and we were so pleased with our experience there. The space is beautiful: stained glass, old wood pews, a nice little area for the bridal party to get ready in. Our photos turned out great. They let us bring in our own musicians to play their beautiful grand piano and organ, and were flexible when our rehearsal ran overtime. The men in the bridal party got ready in the basement, but they didn't mind—it was just nice to have space with everyone. We had several meetings throughout the year, and Amanda in the front office was great at showing us around and coordinating schedules with us.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 09/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We really loved having our wedding here. The venue is absolutely gorgeous, and the docent was very helpful with all aspects, from our first tour to the day of. Parking is a minor issue, as their are a number of lots near the venue, and the venue itself is very inexpensive for how beautiful it is and for it being in downtown. I would definitely recommend this place to others looking for a really photogenic indoor wedding venue.
  • S
    Stacey Married on 11/10/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I were married here and couldn't be more happy! Its a gorgeous church and the staff is so friendly! We had originally planned on just doing the ceremony at the church but then three weeks before the wedding we changed our minds and wanted to have the reception there as well. The staff was so accommodating and was more than happy to send us a new contract.

    Please take a look at this beautiful venue! We got married when the weather was unpredictable but wanted beautiful pictures of our wedding... This place is more beautiful than I ever imaged!
  • Renate
    Renate Married on 08/25/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What an awesome, historical and gorgeous place to have a ceremony! We wanted an exquisite backdrop for our big day and this fit the bill. We worked with several ladies at the front desk to make our day perfect and they didn't disappoint.

    They have the wedding routine down pat. They gave us a folder of information relating to wedding planning, including a list of vendors, musicians, etc. that they recommend. They also gave us a template to fill out for our reception area and it was set up exactly how we requested.

    They had a flexible payment plan where you pay half to reserve your time slot and the remainder a month before your wedding. Also, they were flexible to work with us regarding our rental time. They have 3 time slots on Saturdays and with our wedding taking place around noon, we needed to rent one and a half of those time slots. They worked with us and gave us a prorated price for the portion of the second slot we needed.

    The only drawback to a wedding at the Old Church is no reserved parking. All of the parking is on the street (metered) or in the adjoining parking lot (for a fee). We didn't have an issue with any guests not finding parking. However, we had to cheat and use one of our cars to straddle two parking slots in order to move later so one of our guests with limited mobility had a place to park close to the church entrance.

    We brought our own wedding coordinator, but Gayle Love, who we worked with the most, was there for the rehearsal and the day of the wedding (before we even got there) offering to help with anything we needed. She was even around for cleanup, helping my cleaning crew haul out bags of trash.

    As for pictures, the organ on the stage makes an awesome backdrop for photos and the couch in the annex, as well as the old furniture makes great photos. The stained glass windows and the light streaming through them lend to awesome shadows and colors in photos.

    I highly recommend considering the Old Church for your wedding.
  • Alex
    Alex Married on 06/24/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Always there to help out plus provided a wedding planner. The venue was beautiful!
  • M
    Megan Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We had our ceremony here at The Old Church. It was beautiful and the staff there is easy to work with. The aisle is a little narrow, but my dad and I fit fine with my poofy dress. However, I don't recommend large decorations on the pews. The church is beautiful and really doesn't need many decorations.
  • K
    Kelly W. Married on 11/28/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We absolutely LOVED the Old Church! It's so stunning, so unique and perfect for couples who like the traditional feel of a church wedding but aren't themselves religious (the venue is completely secular).

    I'll confess that I first came across it on a Reddit thread of affordable Portland venues, and this was close to the top. We had a winter wedding, and it was just perfection.

    The space itself is so beautiful that you don't need to do too much decorating, and being able to spread out through the entire building provides a great multi-space feeling for the reception. For example, in addition to the main reception hall, where people were mingling and dancing, some folks would sit in the sanctuary pews and chat in groups, while others hung out downstairs in the basement, which we transformed into the tacky Christmas room.

    The Old Church did a wonderful job of working with all our vendors, and we could not have asked for more. Not only was it incredibly affordable, it's so iconic that whenever we drive by it, we can smile and remember our amazing wedding.

    Finally, we love that they are a nonprofit dedicated to music performances, and are supported in large part by the weddings they host. So just by having this rad, beautiful, affordable venue, we are also helping the Portland music scene.

    A+++++++ Would get married in again!
  • A
    Tiffany Married on 09/09/2011
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Many thanks to the Old Church for providing the perfect venue for our charming Wedding Day. They were professional, a pleasure to work with, and very helpful in getting us ready & set up for the wedding.

    One nice sidenote: at the time, the Old Church did not have air conditioning (they do now)... our wedding day was on the 9th of September. We expected it to be nice, and then the weather reports started predicting 90+ temperatures!

    The ladies at the Old Church immediately started trying to figure out a way to keep the church cool, opening it up in the evenings to cool the interior, provided many fans for the day of the wedding, and offered us a discount once it became apparent that fans might not be enough. We really appreciate their concern & the work they did to make our day cool as well as special!

    By the way, this church has so much charm, you need very little decoration to make it utterly romantic & charming!
  • Jennifer S.
    Jennifer Married on 09/22/2013
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Absolutely beautiful church. One of the most affordable places in Portland to get married. Especially if you are on a budget. The only thing I didn't like was the wedding coordinator we had for our rehersal. She didn't really listen to what we envisioned and basically tried to tell us what to do. But once she started seeing that we had a specific way of doing things she was great!
  • B
    Brittney Married on 11/11/2011
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    The Old Church is a lovely little historic site in downtown Portland and made a perfect setting for our wedding. The cost is incredibly reasonable for a downtown wedding and we were able to have both the ceremony and reception all at one place. The church also allows you to bring in your own food or caterer and only asks that if you serve alcohol that it be catered by a licensed professional. We were able to significantly reduce our food costs by buying food from Costco and bringing it in ourselves. Although they allow alcohol they do not allow red drinks of any kind, including red wine.

    Throughout the planning process, the ladies who care for the church were very helpful and quick to answer any questions that came up. Although not a wedding coordinator, there is a staff member present to answer questions during the rehearsal as well as the actual wedding.

    Future brides need to be aware that for an evening wedding at this church the music must be turned down or off completely by 10pm due to the church's close proximity to apartments nearby. This was not clearly stated in our paperwork and caused a moment of frusteration for us. Otherwise, everything was very well organized and went smoothly. The church looks especially gorgeous in the low lights of winter :)
  • S
    Sara Married on 02/29/2004
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Absolutely gorgeous site! The church is beautiful and seats enough guests for a medium-sized wedding, which I liked because large sanctuaries can detract from the wedding if it's not adequately full. The contacts for The Old Church are wonderful. The beautiful pipe organ in the Old Church is gorgeous and a wonderful asset to the ceremony. I didn't like that we only had a 3 hour time slot. It made for a very difficult photo session before the wedding. And we didn't have the reception here because the area for the reception had only enough room for a more casual, standing, cake and punch reception.
  • N
    Holly Married on 06/14/2003
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    I had my ceremony here. I have always loved The Old Church and knew I wanted to get married there. They book up quick, so you have to be flexible with your date or book way in advance.
  • L
    Amy Married on 02/20/2004
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The church is a beautiful old church in downtown Portland. It has a lovely steeple and the stained glass windows are pretty too. The church is big enough for a mid-moderate sized wedding and there is an adjoining room (lovely!) that is large enough for a reception as well. We had over 150 people at ours and there was plenty of room. I liked that we could do the wedding and reception in one place so our older guests wouldn't have to drive all over downtown from place to place. The church also provided a beautiful backdrop for photos!
  • G
    Kate Married on 10/11/2008
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    The atmosphere of our evening wedding was amazing. Barry the wedding coordiator was excellent.
  • User1615228 2+ years ago
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    This is a stunningly beautiful venue, but because it is a historical building, you won't have as much control over how the space is used as you might have at other venues. The staff is friendly and accommodating.