The Oaks Grandview Ballroom Reviews

28 | Somersworth, NH
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for The Oaks Grandview Ballroom

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

28

36 User photos

Order by:
  • P

    Peggy · Married on 08/30/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at the Oaks. It was a fantastic time and it is beautiful there. The food was great and the indoor/outdoor bar was wonderful. Leslie, the wedding coordinator, was fabulous and kept everything running on time. She will be as on time and strict as you would like her to be or she will back off if you need a little more time doing something. It was a joy to work with her from the minute we decided on the Oaks up until the end of our wedding night. We recommend this venue for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/03/2014
  • Kaitlin

    Kaitlin · Married on 08/10/2019

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Amazing Venue!

    We can't recommend the Oaks enough! When we first went to visit, I will admit that I was hesitant only based on the "ballroom" in the name. I walked in and all hesitations went out the window. I couldn't wait to discuss the place with my mom, fiancee, and future mother in law! My husband and I loved how bright the inside of the Oaks was. We immediately fell in love with the open space, the huge windows, the perfect dance floor space, the indoor/outdoor bar, the patio, and the beautiful golf course. We were really hoping for a venue that gave us AC (it was August), but a place that also felt very outdoorsy. The Oaks hit a homerun with what we were looking for. We immediately began to plan for cocktail hour and having wildflowers in mason jars outside, we knew we wanted to make a cornhole set, our tables would have wood rounds and wildflowers- all these things I had dreamed of were able to come true at The Oaks. We LOVED how we could be inside but really enjoy the outside space as well! Our guests loved the venue. People were out on the patio throughout the night visiting the photo booth, playing corn hole, drinking, and waiting for the best surprise- the fireworks. Leslie was a dream to work with. She was super responsive to emails, she answered all of my questions (which were a ton), and made sure our dream came true on our wedding day. We were married at a church, but the second we arrived at The Oaks, Leslie was outside and ready to help us. She brought my husband and I a drink immediately, got the bridal party to the bridal suite (this was a great perk), made our vision in the ballroom come true, and stayed the entire evening to make sure all went smoothly. I loved working with her and would gladly work for her anytime! At the end of the night, our cookie bar had TONS of cookies left, and she was helping all of us package them up! Her professionalism and wonderful attitude made me feel at ease through the whole planning process. My husband and I have been married for almost three months and I constantly look at our pictures and think, "we couldn't have chosen a better place." We loved The Oaks and highly recommend it to anyone! What's not to love? An amazing wedding coordinator, a bridal suite, indoor/outdoor bar, a big dance floor, patio space, a fireworks show, and so much more!R

    Sent on 11/11/2019
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 05/16/2020

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Poor Communication, Cancelled On Us, No Refund

    A lot of reviews here will describe their experience with the The Oaks as incredible for their wedding. We probably would have had a similar experience had it not been for the COVID-19 pandemic, however it did unfortunately bring to light that the customer's experience of the emotional aspect of the wedding process aren't really of any value of them and that it's just another business.

    Our wedding was scheduled for mid-May 2020 and we had already deposited half of the estimated total balance due back in the prior November. In March 2020, the COVID-19 situation in NH was becoming increasingly serious and so the wedding coordinator at The Oaks reached out to suggest the possibility of us rescheduling early and offered to work with us on potential new dates. We responded asking for those possible dates, but also wanted clarification on if we would be required to reschedule or if we could still have the date kept so long as we kept our guest count below the given gathering size limit. We explicitly let her know that we were working through various guest lists of counts at under 50, 40, 25, 10, etc. Her response included a list of possible reschedule dates, but it also included her stating that any events with a group size of more than 50 people needed to be cancelled for the next 8 weeks (which barely put us before the wedding date). This response didn't answer the question about whether rescheduling would be required and it also completely ignored the fact that we had already informed her about our efforts to shrink our guest list as needed--even to as low as 10. We responded by letting her know that we were unable to move our wedding date given the options and we re-asked the unanswered question. She then responded saying that if our gathering meets all the considerations outlined by federal and state edicts by the mid-May date, then we could still have it at The Oaks--which is what we had been asking the whole time.

    In our response, we let her know of our intention to keep our date, but also clarified the reason for the inability to postpone as partly due to the fact that the grandmother of the groom was terminally-ill and that when she passes, it would have an impact on the mother of the groom's ability to be emotionally (and maybe even physically) present for the day along with other relatives that were planned guests. We additionally re-informed her that we would actively reach out to guests and family letting them know that we were still going forward with the wedding at The Oaks under any new mandates and guidelines required, including the potential for a reduced headcount. And then we inquired about the possibility of a partial or full refund of our deposits in the worst-case scenario that The Oaks could no longer host our wedding regardless of the guest size--given that this was an "unprecedented and unforeseen" circumstance.

    In her response, there was yet again another unanswered question--this time regarding the refund. So of course, we re-asked the question in our response. And this point, we got back what seemed to be an automated or copy-paste/generic response from her because it once again mentioned discussing a reschedule date (which we already said we couldn't do), announced that rescheduling will come at no additional charge, and then announced that all April and May weddings would likely be affected--as if she was talking to a general population. And of course, there was still no response to the refund question. So in our response, we kindly asked if her latest email to us was sent to us as an error or was automated. We kindly reminded her of our inability of reschedule and the reasons behind it as well as re-asked the refund question. And that ended up being the last communication between us and her directly.

    The response we got back from The Oaks at this point was from the manager. At this point, the NH stay-at-home order had recently just taken effect and wasn't set to expire until early May. He informed us that he was made aware of our inability to reschedule and that we were now the only wedding on the books for May. He said that they would explore options to still be able to make our wedding happen, but needed time and that he would be in touch. There was still no response about the worst-case refund scenario. And then 30 days later, and at this point less than 3 weeks from the wedding date, we still hadn't heard anything from him. We reached out to get an update on things from their end, in which he seemingly-frustatedly responded in one single sentence stating that like everyone else they were waiting on the state governor's update set to come on that Friday with regards to lifting or amending the stay-at-home order. The governor that Friday extended the stay-at-home order until the end of May and then The Oaks manager reached out the following Monday to let us know that we no longer could have our wedding on that day. And of course there was STILL no answer regarding the refund. So we responded with the exact wording from the contract about a refund being due back to us if there is an unforeseen circumstance preventing the event from happening (the pandemic) and that if a reschedule date cannot be agreed upon by both parties. He responded back saying he understands the frustration, but that we'll only be credited towards a future reschedule date.

    So basically they treated our inability to reschedule as stubbornness and a burden to them, even though they were made clear of the personal, emotional reasons tied to not being able to do so. And during the entire 4 weeks that the manager was keeping us in a holding pattern with no response, we spent several hours each day brainstorming contingencies, informing the confirmed guests of the situation, giving them the chance to adjust their RSVPs, and reaching out to our other vendors about their own contractual agreements with us. Our music and photography vendors were very empathetic towards our venue uncertainty situation and were willing to work with us to make something happen regardless, while also letting us know that they would fully refund us if we would no longer be able to use their services in any capacity. The hair and makeup stylist however had limitations on services that she could provide given the pandemic, but the real shock was that she had apparently been in contact with The Oaks about us because when she got to discussing any form of refunding she unprofessionally said something along the lines of "you were asked several times to reschedule and chose not to". We found that incredibly unprofessional and rude for both businesses considering they are two unrelated services.

    With all that, we were happily still able to put together a small wedding ceremony elsewhere with our parents, siblings, and a even couple of groomsmen present all while staying under the group size limit. We decorated the place nicely and still utilized the services of all our other wonderful vendors. We have a beautiful ceremony video to look back on with great music and several wonderful outdoor photos taken at a park overlooking the water. We would have hoped The Oaks would have worked with us and used creativity to create a similar experience, even if it meant having no formal reception. But instead of working with us to scale the event down with a modified contract or at least discussing specifically what the limitations would be, they cared more about trying to get the most money they possibly could out of us by pressuring us to reschedule. And then when we weren't going that route, they hung us out to dry for several weeks with no responses and no answers to any outstanding questions.

    For anyone that made it this far in the review, The Oaks will probably do the best they can for your event if they have nothing encouraging them to cancel it. And to be honest, the food that we tried during the tasting back in late 2019 was very good and the coordinator clearly put together a lot of structured information and worksheets for us during that time. So their staff are obviously talented and competent in what they do. But unfortunately for our experience, the pandemic exposed that they are a business first and that respecting the emotional component of your event will always come secondary to lining their own pockets.

    Sent on 06/06/2020

    The Oaks Grandview Ballroom's reply:

    All of us at The Oaks feel badly for the predicament that the government restrictions, and ultimate shutdowns. Although we understand her
    frustrations, it’s hard for us to read Lyndsey’s review.

    With regard to the above we worked tirelessly with all brides and other event guests (including Lyndsey) whose scheduled event dates appeared to be in a timeframe that could be impacted by the Covid-19 restrictions. We were, and remain prepared to host all events booked at our facility. Unfortunately, the unprecedented edicts of the government have prevented us from so doing.

    Given the restrictions, limitations and temporary closures put in place by the government; we did extend a full credit on ALL deposits for any date negatively impacted by government edict. Moreover, when within the limitations we could do so (this included Lyndsey) we offered no extra charge services such as onsite ceremonies and picture taking.

    Lyndsey wrote in her review:

    “With all that, we were happily still able to put together a small wedding ceremony elsewhere with our parents, siblings, and an even couple of groomsmen present all while staying under the group size limit.”

    If in compliance, we would have been more than happy to have her host her small wedding at The Oaks. We still extend full deposit credit for her to host a proper celebration when the government relaxed the restrictions. This was a message made clear to her; unfortunately, she chose to go elsewhere.

    All of us at The Oaks wish Lyndsey and her husband a great life together. We remain hopeful that they choose to schedule a date to celebrate their marriage with a full guest list.