The Notary Hotel, Autograph Collection Reviews

35 | Philadelphia, PA
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for The Notary Hotel, Autograph Collection

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

35

4 User photos

Order by:
  • R

    Raina Shivashankar · Married on 01/18/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond our wildest expectations!

    2020 has been a really tough year. Easily the biggest highlight for us was our wedding which just preceded the onset of the COVID pandemic. And we will be eternally thankful to the Notary Hotel for providing an amazing environment for our welcome lunch and most importantly, our ceremony! The lunch was really terrific—Julia, Angela and the whole team walked through everything with us and Chef did a phenomenal job accommodating both our vegetarian and non-vegetarian guests with a delicious spread including a lot of local Philadelphia treats. The ceremony was seamless—the Notary team did a fantastic job interfacing with our event coordinator and vendors so we didn’t need to worry about a thing except walking down the aisle! Our guests were thrilled to stay in a beautiful, historic and newly renovated hotel—it just made things so easy for us.

    Thank you so much for everything and we’d highly recommend the Notary to any couples (or anyone else!) looking for an event venue.

    Raina and Ben

    Sent on 11/30/2020
  • Caitlyn

    Elizabeth · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous City Wedding

    My Husband and I were so happy that we chose The Notary Hotel as our Venue for our Wedding Day!! Not only was the building and surrounding areas so great for pictures but our out of town guests loved all the close attractions that they were able to visit!! Working with Angie Schembs -Smith was such a pleasure! She was incredibly sweet, super responsive and made sure we had everything that we needed to make our day the best day ever! We also have to add that Nicole Trotter who originally showed us the Hotel was wonderful as well!! She made us feel so at home that we immediately knew this was the place for our wedding day!! Thank you so much again Angie and Nicole!! Our day was perfect!! :)

    Sent on 10/16/2019
  • Q

    Qwalyne · Married on 05/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Wedding!

    My husband and I were married here in May 2019, shortly before the property was rebranded as The Notary Hotel. Our wedding day was absolutely perfect. My husband and I are both from Philly, but we currently live in California. It was really important for us to have a "Philly wedding." The location and decor of this hotel couldn't be beat. Angela and Nicole were such a pleasure to work with and our big day went off without a hitch. Also, it was so practical hosting our ceremony, reception, and hotel room block in one venue. We're Bonvoy Gold members and the service we received was everything we've come to expect from Marriott. The food was delicious and our suite was amazing.

    At first we were a little disappointed to have our ceremony and reception in the same ballroom with a gap between the two, due to construction taking place in the hotel at the time, but Angela worked hard to make up for it in other ways and we were so grateful. At the end of the day, our wedding was spectacular and our guests had a great time.

    If you're having your wedding here, or any Marriott property, I advise you to get one of the Bonvoy credit cards and use it for all of your payments to the hotel. The points you'll earn will go along way to covering your honeymoon nights.

    Sent on 07/13/2019
  • N

    Nikkita · Married on 05/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose to have our wedding here in June and we cannot express just how happy we were with this choice. While everything was fantastic and beyond our expectations, the MVP of this event was definitely Angela, our wedding coordinator at the Courtyard. She was the most organized coordinator one could hope for and *always* on top of everything. She emailed us questions when necessary and chased us when we forgot to answer one. She was in 20 places at once and made sure everything went according to plan. If Marvel makes a movie about a super hero whose ability is freakishly on point wedding coordination, Angela will star.

    That said a few other points worth noting:

    1) The chef is phenomenal – the food was delicious far beyond what I expected from a hotel kitchen. He was super fun to work with at the tasting and everyone raved about the food at the wedding. Tip – go for the lamb and sea bass.

    2) This is unlike other Courtyards and feels more like a well renovated historic hotel. The rooms and hallways are elegant and the bridal suite was gorgeous – we hosted a bridal party there with 15 and it easily could have fit more. The room and hallways decorations are REALLY nice and give this hotel a very classy vibe.



    3) You really get your money’s worth here – it’s Courtyard prices (lower than the high end Marriott brands) but because of the nature of this specific Courtyard, you get quality a lot closer to the J.W. Marriott brand in quality and décor.

    4) The staff that supported our wedding behind the scenes were all extremely competent and pleasant. Whenever we needed anything, from a suggestion of where to get a cheese platter to some muscle to move boxes around, they were immediately on hand to help out, with a smile. Frankly I don’t know if I’ve ever dealt with a more friendly hotel staff. City of Brotherly Love!

    Sent on 06/10/2018
  • S

    Sonia · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about this venue was fantastic! The location has all the old charm of Philadelphia, the feel of a boutique hotel, and a beautiful modern event space. It's right across the street from City Hall too, which is great for photos. The value is incredible for being right in the heart of the city and being the only wedding at the hotel for your specific date.

    From start to finish, my experience with the event team was fantastic. I booked with Nicole, and she made sure to answer all my questions prior to booking the event and even arranged for multiple visits so that my parents could see the space before we booked. I had multiple events for my wedding weekend, and our event coordinator Angela, and the Maitre D', George, made sure everything went perfectly! Angela worked with me and my mom to coordinate every last detail of the weekend, and she made sure she was available to me the entire weekend in case there were any last minute problems that popped up. She was incredibly organized and thought of everything we would possibly need for the big day. We couldn't have planned everything without her! George was also fantastic! He made sure the ceremony space was exactly what I wanted, including building out a larger stage for our ceremony, and made sure to check-in with me throughout the weekend to make sure I was happy with everything. The team at the Courtyard Marriott made me feel truly special and I could not have asked for a better weekend!

    Sent on 03/22/2018
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 03/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding is 10.10.15 and thus far working with Angie has been great! Whenever I have question she is very quick to respond and keep me updated! The location is BEAUTIFUL and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I am sure the Wedding will be great!

    Sent on 04/20/2015
  • M

    MIGDALIA · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with the team at the Courtyard Marriot was nothing short of fantastic! From the very beginning they were attentive, accommodating and willing to work with you in order to make your special day that much more amazing. Our Wedding Coordinator Christopher Welch was very responsive and attentive to my consistent questions and he made it his priority that everything was perfect the day of. His efforts leading up the wedding is something will always be grateful for. On top of that our food was absolutely amazing and the chef Ricky was fantastic to work with. Everyone raved about the food and are attendant for the night Darren was fantastic as well. The hotel itself is beautiful with a nice mix of modern and historic that makes the venue truly unique and all at a very decent price. My wedding was everything I could have dreamed of and more thanks to everyone at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown!

    Sent on 09/06/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew we wanted to have a reception in Center City but were worried about finding a place that would fit in our budget. We were also leaning towards doing a hotel wedding because of the number of out of town guests who were invited. After meeting with Lisa, we knew that the Courtyard was a perfect fit for us. There are two ballrooms, and we chose the smaller of the two because of the view of City Hall and the Philadelphia Skyline. Chris was wonderful to work with as we started the planning process. He was very flexible and accommodating when we made some last minute changes days before the wedding. The meals that Chef Ricky prepared were wonderful and the service was great. Also, they were able to offer an amazing hotel room rate for our out of town guests. We're so happy we chose to have our reception at the Courtyard!

    Sent on 07/03/2016
  • S

    Sara · Married on 01/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a large wedding block at the Courtyard Marriott in Philly for our 1.2.16 wedding and the experience was excellent. We worked with Tricia who was so extremely helpful and very responsive. This was by far THE nicest Marriott I have ever been to. Great amenities and such an awesome location for a stellar price! Wedding or just a weekend away, I'd recommend this spot!

    Sent on 01/25/2016
  • User5437175 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did not get married here, but we hosted our wedding hotel block at the Courtyard and they were amazing to work with!

    1. Logistics: The Courtyard was much better organized than our other hotel block (the Ritz). They have an automated system to take block reservations, so guests don't have to remember to use a code, and they automatically send you a list every week of all the people who have booked, so you don't have to constantly pester the coordinator to get updates.

    2. Coordinator: Our coordinator, Tricia, was awesome. She always replied promptly to my emails and constantly checked in to make sure I had everything I needed.

    3. Rooms & Hotel: The rooms are beautiful. They're spacious, recently renovated, and nicely sound-proofed. I couldn't hear a thing from the other rooms. The hotel is also in the perfect location downtown. It's an amazing deal for the price. Our suite was gorgeous and had ample room for our friends to hang out with us.

    4. Hotel Staff: Many of my guests commented on how NICE and helpful all the staff members were. The front office was amazing, they did everything they could do accommodate early check-ins and late check-outs, getting rooms on the same floor, providing reasonably priced upgrades, etc.

    I would highly recommend staying here or doing a room block here!

    Sent on 09/14/2015
  • User3524290 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a hotel wedding in the city, look no further. The space was beautiful, the staff was amazing, and the chef was out of this world. We had the most amazing day because of the Courtyard. A special thanks to Lisa the sales manager, Angie the event manager, and the executive Chef. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • E

    Evan · Married on 02/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Courtyard Marriott was absolutely amazing! Their professional and courteous staff made our wedding headache-free and and exciting. They are true experts and over delivered on all levels.
    Our wedding planner Dana was perfectly accommodating and helpful while providing top notch advice on all aspects of the event. The rehearsal dinner restaurant ended up closing the day of due to weather and she worked with her team to cater it themselves and provide the location in the hotel (a total miracle!).
    The venue itself was beautiful, elegant, and downright magical. A great location right downtown. All of our guests could not stop praising the food and atmosphere of the ballroom.
    Overall we were totally ecstatic at how perfect the night turned out and can not thank the Marriott enough! We can guarantee they will provide an amazing experience and would recommend them 100%!!!
    Evan and Christine

    Sent on 02/25/2014
  • C

    Carol · Married on 02/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm a mom writing about my son's wedding at this beautiful venue. We could not have asked for a more beautiful center city location. The entire bridal party stayed here and it is a first class hotel. The cocktail hour and reception couldn't have been more perfect. The food was excellent, the room was lit beautifully and the bartenders and wait staff couldn't have made things easier.
    Dana and the entire team bent over backwards making this process so easy. I loved her ideas. Chef and company cooked the delicious dinner and the selections satisfied everyone. Maureen, the front desk manager handled all of the room requests and made sure that we were all super happy with our accommodations. This wedding took place in between 2 major snowstorms but we felt confident that nothing would be compromised and were reassured by Dana every step of the way. Our rehearsal dinner was cancelled by a nearby restaurant due to the storm. When I called Dana she set up a rehearsal dinner in a private room that night right in the hotel- and it was perfect! I would recommend this venue to anyone who dreams of a center city wedding.

    Sent on 03/19/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My reception was held at the downtown Marriott Courtyard. Dana and her staff were really helpful with all of the preparations leading up to the wedding. The ballroom was perfect for our size wedding and our guests absolutely loved when they pulled the curtains and could see city hall and the surrounding skyline!!! It was a memorable day! The food was unbelievable and the service was prompt and friendly. The wedding cake from Classic Cakes was better the day of the wedding than at the tasting...I couldn't believe it!!! The downtown courtyard was the best price for a luxurious venue in center city.

    Sent on 10/27/2013
  • T

    Tracie · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a center city wedding in a historic, beautiful location, then this is the place for you. Every little detail and request was met by the events staff and we could not have been happier with our venue choice. Everything leading up to the day of the event was handled amazingly by the staff at the Marriott and my vision was met on every level. The food was fantastic and it was an ideal location for our many out of town guests. I can't say enough amazing things about this venue, except book it!!

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • User3624086 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I agree with one of the other reviewers, who said, “I don’t think you can find a better venue to host your Philadelphia wedding reception!”

    I am still in shock that we were able to afford to host our wedding at such a beautiful, grand, Center-City location. The Marriott was excellent from the very beginning of the sales process. They were flexible with the packages so that we could pay for the things that were important to us and eliminate the things that were not.

    The planning leading up to the event went smoothly even despite some staffing transitions. Dana and Darrin (Event Planner and Event Host) were very consultative during our planning discussions, especially when it came to day-of logistics. Dana was also very attentive in the two weeks leading up to the event. Ultimately, all of our detailed requests were noted on the Event Order and then executed perfectly by the Marriott team on the wedding day.

    I thought that the food was delicious, and the bartenders and catering staff were wonderful! I heard sooo many comments from my guests about how great the bartenders were! The bartenders were even good sports when some members of the bridal party wanted to involve the bartenders in their “entrance” skit! I would definitely recommend that you look into hosting your event here!

    Sent on 10/22/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh gosh- where do I even begin? This was by far the wedding of my dreams thanks to all of the amazing staff at the Courtyard. The value of having a wedding here was fantastic- so much was included- the bridal suite (which is HUGE), a room for the parents the night of the wedding, a private holding room with food and drinks for the bridal party, amazing food, great service.

    We planned this wedding from Denver and Angie was truly a god send. She answered all of my questions- no matter how silly or how small of a detail- within in hours and most of the time within minutes of emailing her. She coordinated with all of my other vendors to make sure things flowed as smooth as possible. She was there during the rehearsal and during the actual wedding making sure everything was going just as planned.

    I received so many compliments on how easy this wedding was for the guests- we had the ceremony in the Grand Ballroom, the cocktail reception in the foyer of the floor below, and the reception in the Junipers Ballroom. The food is outstanding- the chef came out to make sure everyone was enjoying their meals. The bartenders were fast and efficient and hilarious to boot!

    The Courtyard went above and beyond all expectations I had for a wedding vendor. I have not one single complain or suggestion on how our wedding day could have been any better. It was absolutely perfect.

    Sent on 08/14/2013
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When choosing a wedding venue in Philadelphia, make sure you check out the Marriott Courtyard Downtown on 21 Juniper Street! Honestly, my wedding was everything I dreamed it could be and more! The staff is outstanding, especially Dana, the wedding planner and Darrin, the even host. Dana was so amazing to work with. She is so flexible and really cares about creating your vision. I never worried about things getting done because I knew Dana had everything under control which is so important when there are so many details to worry about the day of. I really just enjoyed the evening! Darrin was also outstanding. His attention to detail amazed me, attending to us all night- even making sure that all of our belongings got back to our room at the end of the night (even wrapped our cake, collected all of our centerpieces and kept our cards safe).
    We were able to hold an after party at their downstairs bar which was a perfect way to end the night.They also offer a buffet breakfast in the am which was convenient for our out of town guests and it felt like we having another party in the am!
    For the location and price, I don't think you can find a better venue to host your Philadelphia wedding reception. Everyone said it was the best wedding they have ever been to: great food, awesome location and exceptional service!!

    Sent on 08/20/2013
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just had my daughter, Kelly Mcstravock & A.J Weckenman wedding on 7/13/13.
    Ceremony and reception there. What a great job everyone there did. The event planners Kellie and Angie ( great job), the chef, served the newlyweds himself and personally came to ask how our meals were ( they could not have been more delicious), the wait staff and bartenders thumbs up to all of you.
    The bridal suite wonderful for getting ready. There was enough room for
    hair, makeup, dressing, eating and celebrating.
    Check in was very efficient.
    I would highly recommend and hope to stay again to tour more of our
    Lovely city.
    Again thank you all for your attentiveness and professionalism and caring.

    Sent on 07/30/2013
  • J

    John · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better event. The wedding planner Lisa Yau was the most professional and responsive person I have ever meet. From the first meeting she assured me that she took fully responsibility for the day, that ever detail would be addressed and handled. That as the father of the bride I was to kick back and enjoy the day. She fullied that committment and then some. The venue was magnificent, the service was second to none, and the food was delicious. The event host Darrin Winston added a touch of class to every detail, again going above and beyond ever step of the way. My daughter, her husband, my wife and I could not have asked for more. Thank you all for making my daughters day such a beautiful day.

    Sent on 06/26/2013
  • B

    B · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I first walked by the Courtyard Marriott a little more than a year before our wedding and remarked at how nice the building looked and wondered if we should get married there. When it came down to searching for properties we looked at many of the major downtown hotels but ultimately decided on the courtyard for several reasons.

    The architecture is beautiful and faithfully kept in line with City Hall next door, but at the same time all the amenities are modern and up to date. This made for great wedding photos in and around the hotel. The ballrooms were the perfect size for our 130 person wedding (they go up to about 230ish). Other properties offered to put up an airwall for their large ballrooms which diminished the aesthetic, but the courtyard fit perfectly. They allowed outside caterers as well which was very important for an Indian wedding. Other properties we looked at insisted that we use their chef only (who had no experience cooking Indian food) or use only their approved Indian caterers. The banquet captain worked very well with our caterers and got them anything they needed. The location is excellent and allowed out of town guests quick access to Reading Terminal and sight seeing only a short distance away. The people were phenomenal, Lisa our sales manager answered all our questions before we signed the contract. We worked with Veketia, who was great. She left however about two months prior to the wedding for a promotion to the Courtyard at the Philadelphia Airport. We were worried about switching so close to the wedding but all our fears were abated when we met Dana. Dana took excellent care of us, hit the ground running and was always available via phone or email. She helped figure out all the last minute details and helped our wedding go off without any problem. All Of these reasons made the Courtyard excellent and to only make it better it was the best value we found for a hotel.

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 04/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful wedding. Everything was stress-free. A really great place to have your wedding reception.

    Sent on 05/06/2013
  • G

    Grant · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food and service were impeccable.

    Sent on 06/08/2012
  • A

    Ali · Married on 05/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with the Courtyard Marriott was absolutely wonderful! From the very beginning with signing the contract, they were very receptive to my questions, requests and ideas. We live out of state, so planning this from afar was a challenge, but Veketia made sure that I slept easy at night by answering my thousands of emails quickly, offering ideas and suggestions, and fully coming through for us the night of. The place was gorgeous, the set-up was exactly as I had envisioned and the service was impeccable. Jeremy, our maitre'd even took my shoes for me at one point to file the edges of the heels down after I had traipsed through the city in them for photos. Talk about service! Our chef, Ricky, was so sweet and cooked the best food. My husband and I couldn't decide which meal we liked more, so they put together a combo meal for us, and Chef delivered them himself to us at our sweetheart table. I'm so happy we decided to have our reception here. We have heard from so many people, even weeks after the event, that it was the best wedding they have ever been to! And for a bride, let's be honest, that is probably the single best thing anyone could say to you, am I right? Thank you Courtyard, Veketia, Jeremy, Chef and Katie for everything you did to make our day extraordinary!!!!
    Sincerely, Ali & Chris Morris

    Sent on 06/18/2012
  • A

    Ann marie · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff from check-in to housekeeping in the next morning provided such excellent service.
    The event staff especially, Veketia and Jeremy, made our wedding so beautiful with such class from start to finish. Veketia worked so hard on every little detail. We owe her a special thanks for making our night one to remember. The food prepared by the Chef and his culinary team is still talked about today. It was absolutely delicious and he was top notch from the taste testing dinner to the hors d'oeuvres , stations, and each entree that evening. It was so classy the night of our wedding when he personally came out to our head table to serve us himself. You all knocked in out of the Park!
    Sincerely,
    Ann Marie and James Burke

    Sent on 04/30/2012