Skip to main content
Weddings

The Newport Marriott and Spa Reviews

The Newport Marriott and Spa

The Newport Marriott and Spa

Newport, RI
4.9 out of 5 rating, 41 Reviews
View more information

41 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

41
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

9 User photos

  • Marina
    Marina Married on 07/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful hair and make up!

    I went there along with my bridal party to get our hair and make up done. They did such an amazing job! Elena did my hair and she really made it perfect! My hair stayed for the whole day despite the hot weather! Thank you! Also, Katie did my make up and she did a fantastic job! She made it look beautiful and natural at the same time! I can’t thank the hair stylists and make up artists there enough! They made everyone look amazing! Everyone left happy!
  • Sarah
    Sarah N. Married on 03/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience

    If you want to have a dream wedding in Newport, the Marriott is the place for you! We got an amazing package with everything included. Rachel is absolutely wonderful to work with!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect in every imaginable way!

    My husband and I had our wedding at the Newport Marriott this August and we could not have imagined a more perfect day! For starters, the venue is beautiful, so we were already off to a great start. The service and the staff here are unmatched. From the front desk team to our events team, each person went above and beyond to make our day incredibly special. We had the pleasure of working with Chelsea on our big day and we so thankful for everything she did! Chelsea is warm, professional, detail oriented, organized and so calm and collected! She made the entire planning process an absolute breeze. From customizing our package to ensuring that not a single detail was overlooked, she really helped us pull together our vision. The execution of this day was beyond anything I could have ever expected. Chelsea and our bridal attendant Celio were incredible the day of. We did not worry about a single thing the entire day. Chelsea was with me for every big moment to make sure things were going perfectly. Even when my hair fell out after my first look, she was right there perfectly calm, helping me over to the salon to have it pinned back up. Her easy-going demeanor relieved so much stress for my husband and I, we can’t thank her enough! Celio was also a godsend! He was the nicest guy and put so much care into our night, from helping us gather the troops for the entrances, to fluffing my dress and calming my nerves before I walked down the aisle, to making sure that my husband and I ate. He didn’t skip a beat. Celio is truly a gem, the exact person every couple needs on their wedding day. Both Celio and Chelsea are everything you look for when you are booking your wedding. Invested in every single moment from the second you walk in the door to the moment you check out. I could quite literally go on for paragraphs about every other detail, the food, the rooms, the service, the flawless flow of events. All of these making our day the BEST wedding we could have imagined. Most importantly, the staff at this hotel didn’t just make my husband and I feel special and appreciated on this amazing weekend, they made all our guests feel this way. Our friends and family have not stopped raving about the entire weekend, and we can’t thank everyone at the Newport Marriott enough for making this an unforgettable experience.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Sankarsh
    Sankarsh R. Married on 07/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Extremely professional and elegant venue for a wedding! Would highly recommend!

    Details about our wedding:
    - 120 guests
    - Held our indian wedding at the Marriott
    - Held Ceremony in atrium
    - Held luncheon in banquet halls on second floor.

    I worked with Chelsea Clouse, the in-house event coordinator through my planning process here at the Marriott. She was professional and prompt in her responses. She knew exactly what she was looking for in terms of things we needed to accomplish based off a pre-wedding timeline which really helped us plan better. She was a great point of contact for the outside caterers we hired to cater the indian food for the indian wedding.

    On the day itself, one of our main vendors for the setup of the stage and other decorations came short on some of the decor. The Marriott was able to help us through the stressful last minute task of decorating our sweetheart table in the banquet and the actual stage area for the ceremony. I was blown away with the efficiency and professionalism of the whole team. The sound service that we procured through the Marriott was also top notch.

    Overall, would totally recommend this venue to couples looking for a professionally managed, beautiful wedding ceremony.

    The Newport Marriott and Spa's reply:

    Dear Sankarsh,
    Thank you for sharing your wedding planning experience. It's wonderful to read that Chelsea's detailed oriented style help you plan your special day more efficiently, and that the hotel team was able to help with decor in a pinch. We appreciate your recommendation and wish you a lifetime of happiness. Thank you for including the Newport Marriott in your special day.
  • Danielle
    Danielle Married on 11/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding

    We had a lovely wedding at the Newport Marriott. We felt the package options were great and the level of service was wonderful. The provided a very detailed order of events that was helpful to me and all of our vendors. The food was very good. Also, it was terrible weather the day of our wedding, which ended up working out just fine because there are so many nice spots to get photos throughout the hotel.
  • Laura
    Laura Married on 09/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The best experience we could have ever asked for. Everyone was wonderful in making sure our day was special and memorable.
  • K
    Kaitlyn Married on 12/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved every aspect of having our wedding ceremony and reception at the Newport Marriott!! Our wedding was on New Year’s Eve and it was great having everything happen in one place, as well as having so many of our friends and family staying there with us for the weekend. We loved the location of this hotel, being right downtown and walking distance to all that Newport has to offer. We knew pretty much as soon as we walked in, after looking at other venues all weekend, that this was the place for us. The newly remodeled interior and subtle nautical vibes had us hooked. Katherine Bastien, the sales representative, was wonderful to work with and thoroughly answered all the questions we had about the venue. Although most venues in Newport are pricey, we found that the Newport Marriott was less expensive but just as classy, if not classier, when compared to the other places we looked into for a ceremony and reception site. The event coordinator, Chelsea Clouse, made everything about planning our wedding so much easier. She was always very responsive to our (at times, constant) emails, was super accommodating and flexible when it came to what we could do with the centerpieces and what we could bring in for décor for the ceremony and reception, and did an amazing job decorating those areas for us the day of. Our ceremony was in the atrium and was absolutely beautiful! Our reception was in the newly renovated ballroom, which was beautiful and had a modern but nautical theme to it. The food at our reception was delicious, people seemed very happy with the open bar and service, and overall our guests were definitely impressed with this venue. The service provided to us here was fantastic and made the day of as well as the days and weeks before our wedding so much less stressful than I had anticipated. If you are looking to have your wedding in Newport but don’t want to break the bank, we highly recommend the Newport Marriott!!
  • V
    Victoria Married on 04/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We are so glad that we choose the Newport Marriott for our wedding. I have visited several vendors in the Newport, Rhode Island, and Mass area. We needed a place that could fit anywhere from 215-300 ppl and still be affordable. The Newport Marriott was the place. They wowed me from the first visit to see the hotel. The Sales rep, Katherine Bastien was fantastic to work with. She was patient and very responsive to all my emails and inquiries. When we met in person she made me feel comfortable during a very exciting, but overwhelming process.
    After we sign with them I started to work with Mary Lynn who was great during our tasting. She made sure to make notes of allergies and concerns. About 2 months before the big day Mary Lynn was promoted to another role. Normally this would be very stressful change but Chelsea Clouse took charge right away. She was extremely responsive to all of me emails. Even the night of the rehearsal dinner she responded at 9:30pm when I sent a last minute issue to her. Then during the wedding Celio’s was in charge of making sure the reception and cocktail hour moved seamlessly. He was attentive and fantastic with any question my husband and I had. And most importantly he was on top of us to make sure we ate! If you’d been married then you know the reception flies by, and you get caught up talking to everyone that was able to join you for the special day. It’s easy to forget to eat! From start to finish this team was fantastic to work with. They are professional, attentive, accommodating and truly helped make the process less stressful.
    It couldn’t have been more perfect! I would definitely hire the Newport Marriott again. They are a beautiful venue in downtown Newport and will not break your bank!
  • User2493560 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Spa at Newport Marriott was excellent! My bridal party and I had our hair done, and I had my makeup and mani/pedi done as well. I had Jen for all, and she was amazing and patient for both my trial and on my big day. The space is beautiful and calming. They ordered breakfast for us from the hotel restaurant (we had to pay, of course, but they brought it to us and took it away, which was very helpful!). The receptionist who I emailed and talked with was very responsive and helpful. They let us get ready there too. The prices are really reasonable, especially compared to others in the area. Parking is free and secure. There are great photo backdrops too, out on the pier in front of the boats, or in the hotel lobby by the fountains and hanging chairs.
  • C
    Colleen Married on 10/18/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing service from the wedding team. Fantastic value for the location (right in downtown Newport on the harbor)! Delicious food. And great organization the day of the wedding. WHAT MORE COULD I SAY?! Besides definitely take a look at the Marriott for your wedding, it will be the best decision you make!
  • L
    Laura Married on 10/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone at the Newport Marriott was extremely helpful! They helped ease the stress of planning a wedding!
  • K
    Kat Married on 06/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This review is a year late but as they say, better late than never. My husband and I had a wonderful time with the events planning team at the Marriott Newport RI. From the time we met with Kate Bastien to book the wedding date to planning the wedding with Mary Lynn and to the actual wedding day with Celio, the experience was nothing but fabulous. This staff was very attentive and responsive. The food was amazing. Our guests loved every minute of it. We had a really great deal for what we paid for. I still think about the day and how everything was flawless. Major shout out to Mary Lynn for accommodating every request and to Celio for making sure everything went well during the day of the wedding (ceremony and reception!).
  • J
    J.p. Married on 04/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a wonderful experience when we had our wedding reception at the Newport Marriott. The catering staff and event planning department were excellent; they were extremely attentive and helpful. They anticipated all of our needs the day of the event and kept our wedding reception running smoothly throughout the night. We have received compliments from all of our guests on the superb quality of the Marriott and its staff.
  • User1498338 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff was very attentive to all our needs. We're so happy with our decision to go with the Newport Marriott.
  • User1494981 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jennifer McHugh was great and thought of everything and managed our details perfectly. We couldn't be happier with our decision to have everything at the Newport Marriott. We've received so many compliments from our guests.
  • A
    Anne Married on 10/05/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When we became engaged just 10 months before we wanted to get married I didn't think we had a chance at our dream venue - I am SO happy I called the Newport Marriott anyway! From the first meeting with Brehan we knew this was the spot. Having worked with Marriott for business functions I knew to expect the utmost professionalism - I didn't expect to work with people who so much value their customers and making the day as perfect as possible.

    We signed the contract the very day that we met with Bre and toured the venue and from there we began working with our Event Manager, Jennifer. She is another superstar! We had a very clear vision
    of how we wanted our day to look and feel and she completely delivered! Also (and this is huge) she was a great help to our outside vendors.

    The location obviously speaks for itself. Aside from that the food was incredible and I truly felt that we got a lot for our money. I wouldn't change a thing if I had to do it all again!
  • User1354838 Event on: 09/08/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I along with friends and family celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in Newport and stayed at the Newport Marriott! The staff, especially, Meredith the concierge, were so helpful getting us shuttle buses, making reservations, etc. She made us feel like family and we and our guests enjoyed every part of our 5 day long celebration. The hotel was in the perfect spot and was clean, modern and a joy to stay!
  • T
    Tara Married on 09/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There are not enough words to convey my overall happiness with this venue. From start to finish Jennifer and her team oversaw every minor detail to pull off my vision. It was so much more than I could have imagined.

    The venue itself is gorgeous. There are tons of great photo spots on and near the property, and the suite where my girls and I got ready was fantastic.

    The food was amazing. My guests had nothing but compliments for the entrees (the filet mignon was served with a regular dinner knife because it was cooked so perfectly). The service was impeccable! Celio was absolutely terrific, and took care of my husband and I and our families. He made sure each course was running smooth and periodically checked in with us to make sure things were going as planned.

    What really sets the Marriott apart from the rest is that at the end of the night, after all of the guests were gone and we retreated upstairs to our suite, all of wedding items were neatly packed and organized upstairs for us. They even took the liberty of leaving two plates full of cake in the kitchen for us. They also set up our Mr&Mrs signs with shells and sea glass on our TV stand. It was such a sweet touch at the end of a beautiful day.

    If you want to enjoy your day and have it execute exactly according to plan, choose the Newport Marriott. You won't be disappointed! Thanks again!
  • C
    Christine Married on 08/17/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The sales staff at the Newport Marriott are well above the expected service. From the very first phone call to the day after the wedding every staff member of this hotel were top class. The attention to detail and preparing things that I didn't even think of was incredible. This would not have been such a successful and memorable day had it not been for the caring and professionalism of the Newport Marriott Sales & Hotel staff. Jennifer McHugh was amazing. She was beyond helpful, accomodating every need, even when it was inconveinent for her. The bridal attendant and banquet captain were incredible. The food was amazing. I am still getting rave reveiws from guests. I will and do recommend this venue to all my friends, family, and co-workers for anything they are thinking of doing. I will definitely be back. This is now going to be my new husband & I anniversary getaway destination. Thank you all!!
  • J
    Jenn Married on 06/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jennifer at the Marriott was incredible to work with. She had everything done to the very last detail. I know we got such an amazing deal contracting the Marriott. When we ran out of rooms, we were able to get more rooms even though our wedding fell on the weekend before the 4th of July. Our guests could not stop raving about the food. We had 4 different food options and the most popular was the filet. We were nervous that with 80 orders of the filet, they wouldn't be as great as they were on the food tasting. They were perfect - like butter. All of the meals were delicious.

    The room also looked amazing - she set everything up exactly how we wanted. She was so prompt and helpful with everything. The venue itself was perfect - so close to everything. Anyone would be lucky to get married in the Marriott.
  • C
    Chris Married on 04/20/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We were extremely pleased with every phase of the wedding planning. Jennifer McHugh was lovely to work with and I really enjoyed the entire process. The wedding ceremony and reception were awesome! Each Marriott staff member involved in the wedding was delightful. We have had numerous compliments from friends and family that attended.
  • A
    Alison Married on 10/13/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    In the initial stages of planning, we had looked into a lot of venues, most of which charged for every little thing. When we finally found the Newport Marriott, we were pleasantly surprised that everything that we were looking to incorporate into the wedding was included in their packages. Everything was broken down into price per person, which included EVERYTHING that you could possibly think of - cake, champagne toast, appetizers, dinner, cocktail hour, and other additional fees that are usually tacked on at the end for a big surprise. In addition to how reasonably priced it was, the food was AMAZING. We received so many comments from guests about how delicious their meals were and they definitely were right! The staff that assisted us with everything on the day of the reception could not have been more helpful and they were so friendly and accommodating to all of our requests. When meeting with our coordinator, we explained that we wanted the food and all other formalities out of the way quickly so that we could get onto the party and the staff actually made that happen, which we were extremely thrilled about. Plus, guests were able to have fun at the reception and just go right upstairs to their rooms, which was another added bonus. Overall, the Newport Marriott highly exceeded our expectations and I would highly recommend it to anyone!
  • J
    Joely Married on 06/30/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Newport, RI Marriot Hotel was so wonderful to work with for my wedding! I can't say enough about them.They were flexible with my budget and worked with me to get my dream wedding within my budget. They took notice of the details that are important to brides. My whole wedding was executed and planned flawlessly with them. We stopped by a week before my wedding to drop off all the decorations, etc., and I left feeling very confident that they would pull off my vision. The location is also perfect becaue its right in the harbor and within walking distance to most everything. I recommend all brides check the Marriot out! If I could afford another wedding I'd go back!
  • J
    Joely Married on 06/30/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I got married at the Marriott in Newport, RI and they were phenomonal!! I was so happy with my wedding. The coordinator did a great job capturing all of my details and taking care of all my needs. I'm a happy bride!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 11/12/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I couldn't have decided on a better venue than the Newport Marriott. All of the employees were extremely helpful. We ran into a minor snag with the city and a road race which happened to be the same day as our wedding and the Newport Marriott was quick to respond and quick to better the situation. Service was impeccable and the food was delicious. Our day of coordinator made sure everything ran smoothly, timely and most of all stress free! I didn't have to worry about a thing!

    Overall value was exceptional. We received a bridal suite the night prior which fit 8 members of the bridal party and happened to have the perfect amount of space for hair and makeup. The Newport Marriott made sure that we were comfortable and happy!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message