The Lodges at Gettysburg Reviews

110 | Gettysburg, PA
See photos, pricing and details

110 Reviews for The Lodges at Gettysburg

Recommended by 97%

110
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

46 User photos

The Lodges at Gettysburg 1
The Lodges at Gettysburg 2
The Lodges at Gettysburg 3
The Lodges at Gettysburg 4
The Lodges at Gettysburg 5
The Lodges at Gettysburg 6
The Lodges at Gettysburg 7
+ 40
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 10/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got engaged in June 2011. He is active military so we quickly found that we needed to plan our wedding for the near future. We were absolutely blessed to randomly find The Lodges in our search for a reception venue. At the time, they hadn't had their first wedding yet and the ballroom wasn't even complete. Despite that, you could tell that the location would be gorgeous. So we scheduled our wedding for October 29, 2011. We were very lucky to be able to book so close to the date, I'm sure once the word continues to get out on this venue dates will book up fast! It has great views and is unique. The building has beautiful hard wood floors, high ceilings, and a mezzanine. The event coordinator was easy to get a hold of and was flexible with changes along the way. She did her best to work within our budget and to make the wedding what we wanted. Our wedding ended up being the weekend that our area had a freak snow storm, despite the 6 inches of snow, the staff of the lodges and the caters were able to make the event go as scheduled and worked quickly and well with circumstances that were out of everyone's control. They even offered discounted accommodations for guests who hadnt booked a room and didnt want to try to drive home. The cabins there are very nice and come in a variety of sizes. The Lodges looked beautiful in all of the white and everyone had a wonderful time! People raved about the location and continue to as they look at our photos.

    Sent on 02/05/2012
  • K

    KIm · Married on 08/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    kemf78
    Wedding: 8/20/2011
    Member Since: 12/9/2011 Our Daughter's Weddingposted 12/9/2011 (updated 12/9/2011) Our daughter's wedding was the first wedding held at The Lodges at Gettysburg. We were very pleased with the personal service Beth gave us. She was very helpful in making sure all of our ideas for the wedding were fulfilled. The venue was beautiful. Our daughter and her fiance" chose to have an outdoor wedding. The setting that The Lodges at Gettysburg offers is outstanding. The wedding took place on the dock with the pond in the background. It was absolutely beautiful. The highlight of the event and one of the most memorable moments was the bride arriving in a horse drawn carriage with her father and then leaving with her new husband. The reception area was beautiful as well. Beth was able to make many personal touches because she had taken the time to get to know us. Many of our guests made compliments on the food and the beautiful decor of the room. Both ours and the grooms immediate famlies chose to book a cabin the night of the wedding. We were all very pleased with our accommodations. The cabins are so beautifully decorated. To conclude our review we highly reccomend having a wedding at The Lodges at Gettysburg....

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Sent on 12/30/2011
  • G

    Gayle · Married on 03/17/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughters wedding was at the Lodges followed by a breakfast the next morning. We worked with Beth and she did a phenomenal job. She was very attentive and helpful. The food was great, the venue gorgeous and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. The Lodges needs to advertise more though bc alot of people had never heard about it. I referred to it as Adams County's best kept secret. We thoroughly enjoyed the wedding, the cabins and the breakfast. We would highly recommend it as a wedding venue for anyone looking for a venue with the best of everything. Our granddaughter wants to come back and stay at the cabins this summer. Thank you Beth and the staff at the Lodges.

    Sent on 03/26/2018
  • K

    Karen · Married on 11/11/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had my daughter's wedding and reception here on 11/11/17- ceremony was outdoors, gorgeous beyond words. Cold, but sunny. Beth was right there every step of the way, never had to ask her anything twice. The front desk staff was very helpful,as well. The food was delicious. We received many compliments that evening. The bartender made great drinks!! The ballroom is a great place to have a reception-the lights are so beautiful. Many of us stayed in the cabins, which made it even more fun. The bonfire that night was a great ending to a wonderful day We are so happy we chose The Lodges.

    Sent on 11/17/2017
    The Lodges at Gettysburg 8
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 04/17/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I live in Alaska, but but I'm from PA originally. We had friends and family from all over meet us at The Lodges, and I can't tell you how many of our friends/family are STILL talking about our wedding and how it was their favorite. They all loved the lodges, loved having everything being right on site, great places to eat and things to do are close by, and the staff was terrific. Beth was amazing and so flexible/helpful with my planning, changes, questions, etc... I highly recommend The Lodges to host your special day... You won't regret it!!

    Sent on 10/19/2016
  • S

    Sharnell · Married on 10/10/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely love the lodges! Not only do they have a beautiful setting, they are extremely helpful through every step! The list of vendors that they supply are exceptional! I am very excited to see how everything comes together for our big day!!!

    Sent on 05/01/2015
  • Jamie

    Jamie · Married on 05/10/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Beth and Suzie who are both amazing! We had a ton of decorations that we brought in for our vintage chic themed wedding, but you really don't need any at all with The Lodges! They have it covered and think of things you may not even have thought about yourself. Beautiful landscaping and indoor areas alike, and all of our guests loved the homey feeling of staying in the cabins instead of a hotel. They are cozy and have all the amenities you could ask for!

    Sent on 05/23/2013
  • A

    Alex · Married on 07/28/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I absolutely loved our experience with The Lodges at Gettysburg. Beth was extremely on top of everything and our meetings were always wonderful and informative. The Lodges hosted a 'Date Night' which was definitely a highlight of our wedding planning experience. The Lodges food was delicious (The Carriage House) and ALL OF OUR GUESTS literally raved about the cabins! Couldn't have had a more beautiful day.

    Sent on 09/10/2018
    The Lodges at Gettysburg 9
    The Lodges at Gettysburg 10
    The Lodges at Gettysburg 11
    The Lodges at Gettysburg 12
    The Lodges at Gettysburg 13
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/28/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a wedding venue where we could have our ceremony, reception and guests stay overnight all at one location, and the Lodges at Gettysburg did just that and more! The Lodges have an exclusive caterer for food and alcohol, so it makes the decision process minimal, which is something we wanted. The food was delicious, so much so our guests were getting seconds! The Lodges also have preferred vendors, some of which we used and loved! Beth, the Director of Events, is AMAZING!!!! She helped us from the very beginning to the very end. She has the patience of a saint and is very responsive and knowledgeable. She always made me feel like I was the only bride she was working with, even though I knew I was one of the many brides sending her email after email! The Lodges have weddings down to a science and operate like a well-oiled machine, as it should be because it is the most important day of your life! Sarah, our day of wedding coordinator, and the entire Lodges' staff was so accommodating and helpful on our wedding day to us and our guests, I cannot thank them enough. At the end of the night Sarah took us on a golf cart to our Lodge. The staff put rose petals on the floor and bed, champagne on ice, and there were leftovers from our reception in the fridge. The little details made all the difference to us! Our parents hosted a brunch at the Lodges the morning after our wedding, of which Beth coordinated and managed for us. It was the perfect farewell to our family and friends who attended our wedding weekend. We highly recommend The Lodges at Gettysburg for a wedding venue!

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 08/19/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our first meeting with Beth (the wedding planner) to the end of our reception, The team at the Lodges at Gettysburg were professional, accommodating, flexible with the brides schedule and always one step ahead of us. They eased the stress of all the details I thought wouldn't come together on the day of! Their quality of service was well worth the money -not to mention the small touches they added to our day; left-over dinner and dessert delivered to the newlywed lodge following the reception and the saved rainwater from the day. The Lodges at Gettysburg truly outdid themselves!

    Sent on 11/21/2017
  • D

    debbie · Married on 10/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As parents of a bride, we were very happy our daughter and son-in-law chose The Lodges at Gettysburg for their wedding and reception. The Lodges is far from our home but having the venue there was well-worth the drive. The beauty of the pond, fields, Lodge, and view on the outdoor decks are amazing. The staff is first-class. The manager made it a point throughout the day (and night) to make sure everything was going as we wished, keeping everyone on track and accommodating all needs.

    We very much suggest the Lodges as a top- choice for you!

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 10/14/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do it. They were fantastic! Our daughter got married in October 2016 at The Lodges at Gettysburg. I have to say it was an amazing experience. Beth, the wedding coordinator, is a consummate professional. She knows exactly what to do and say to keep things running smoothly. It was the perfect wedding from the venue, which is rustic chic to the location which is rural with gorgeous scenery, a small lake and the main lodge overlooking Eisenhower Farm. The venue is perfect, the food is fantastic and the lodges are quaint. We used the vendors from their 'recommended' list and they were all just as professional with the same commitment to excellence. Look no further for a wedding to remember!

    Sent on 10/18/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/22/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked at five different venues but as soon as we saw the Lodges at Gettysburg we knew this was our venue. The Lodges at Gettysburg provides a great Gettysburg feel with all of the modern day amenities. Their space is large with beautiful wood paneling, while it can fit up to 300, it did not feel empty with our small wedding of less than fifty. Great for a daytime wedding (like ours) or for a night time one. The lodges themselves are really unique and give your guests a special experience if they stay before or after the wedding. I really appreciated how flexible the staff was helping us our make our brunch wedding dreams a reality. They know all the important questions to ask but are more than willing to work with whatever unique wedding elements you want to incorporate. Through the planning process we worked with Beth who was quick to respond and very friendly. Our day of coordinator was Susie and she was very attentive and helped make things go smoothly - even with last minute changes!

    Sent on 01/09/2016
  • S

    Star-Lena · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we were looking for venues, we walked into this place and absolutely fell in love. We didn't use the lodges for the ceremony (we were married in a church) but we loved the space for our reception. Beth was very helpful and just amazing the day of! Everything ran so smoothly and we couldn't have been happier with how the night went. The venue, food, and bonfire were a huge hit with all of our guests! We received many compliments about the night and it just cemented that we chose the perfect place.

    Sent on 09/17/2015
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/30/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our ceremony & reception at the Lodges this May & would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a place with lots of natural beauty & a slightly rustic feel. Beth was so helpful & flexible throughout the process. All of our guests had a great time & LOVED the views from the main building. The majority of our guests stayed on site in the cabins & everyone thought they were great. The food at the reception was awesome. The staff replenished the buffet very quickly & everyone loved the hors d'oeuvres earlier in the night. We did the beer/wine package & there were so many choices for guests. We had 100 guests & everyone comfortably fit at 14 tables on the main floor. We also had a photo booth in the area near the groom room. No need for many decorations due to the beauty of the room/location.

    The entire staff from checking in to those who helped clean up after the reception had ended was incredibly helpful. You can tell that they all really want you to have a great experience. They even boxed up meals for us to put in our room to eat after the reception. It was beyond convenient to have lodging on site. We had such a wonderful time & wish we could go back!

    Cons: A lot of the cabins had bugs (to be expected since everything is basically in the middle of the woods). Early on in the planning process, roughly 9 to 12 mo’s out, we felt like some of the people we were working with weren't fully informed about what was offered, such as what cake flavors are included in the package & it was difficult to get a clear answer on the discount rates for guests who reserved cabins on site. However, I assume that's because they have a small staff & this was during one of the most busy points in the year. In the last 6 mo’s, Beth was very responsive & helpful, answering any questions or concerns quickly. We also dropped by unannounced twice & they weren't phased, letting us go into the ballroom & up to the bridal suite. We loved our wedding & wouldn't change a thing!

    Sent on 06/06/2015
  • J

    J · Married on 04/25/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I’m not sure I can find the words to truly express how perfect The Lodges at Gettysburg is for your wedding day. The surroundings are gorgeous, the main lodge is beautiful and can easily be “customized” to fit your needs, and the lodges themselves are perfect. Our coordinator, Beth, was a pleasure to work with and walked us through every step of the process. She was courteous, accommodating, and professional. She arranged our dinner tastings, multiple visits for planning, answered all of our questions quickly, and did everything she could to accommodate what we wanted for our day.

    Our actual wedding weekend was perfection. About 35 of us showed up Friday afternoon (we had a Saturday wedding) for our rehearsal and rehearsal dinner (off-site). The scene was a little chaotic when we arrived because of a Friday wedding. Although the staff was a little overwhelmed, they were pleasant, professional, friendly, and very quick to address any concerns. We held our late afternoon ceremony on the main hill by the flagpole overlooking the gorgeous Gettysburg country-side. The reception went off without a glitch and I’ve never heard so many rave reviews about the venue, the food (Carriage House for dinner & Karen Rodkey Cakes for cupcakes), and how everything went so smoothly. We were able to finish off the night down by the lake for a bonfire, and held a farewell brunch Sunday morning in the bar area of the main lodge (delicious food again from Carriage House)...a nice way to wrap up the weekend.

    My only criticism of The Lodges would be the lodge reservation process. Some of our guests had difficulty getting someone on the phone to reserve their cabin (the online system didn’t work for us), but that’s about it.

    Overall, we’d do it all over again if we could. It was a perfect weekend that just went WAY too fast. If you are looking for a place that’s convenient, budget-friendly, professional, and beautiful for your wedding day, you’d be remiss to not visit The Lodges.

    Sent on 06/03/2015
  • User4501828 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the Mother of the Bride and doing the majority of the planning I found The staff at The Lodges of Gettysburg to be wonderful to work with. Their flexibility to adjust things to meet our needs for the day was helpful. Their advice and insight on how to do the wedding was helpful in so many ways sense they now what works the best for the site.
    They went above and beyond to assist my daughter the day of the wedding, since she was ill they got her soup, crackers, and ginger ale for the reception. Then they packed up her meal and one for the groom to enjoy together the next day. There empathy and support of my daughter touched my heart.
    Our guest and family enjoyed The Lodges of Gettysburg during their stay, the cabin where very nice and comfortable. They said it was one of the prettiest weddings they had been to.
    We also did a brunch the next morning that was very good and allowed for extra family time together. I would recommend them as event location to anyone who asks.

    Sent on 10/25/2014
  • Alicia

    Alicia · Married on 09/15/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Lodges at Gettysburg is a beautiful property that served as the perfect venue for our wedding. The property and guest accommodations are very well maintained and the Gloryridge ballroom is beautiful. The Lodges created a really unique experience for our guests because we had everything on site. Our family and friends all stayed in the lodges and were impressed by how nice and comfortable they were. It also created a really fun environment for them to hang out and enjoy the property with easy access to get ready and walk to all of the wedding events. The ceremony site and Gloryridge also provided a perfect backdrop for our ceremony and wedding photos. The catering at the Lodges is provided by the Carriage House Inn and was delicious. Our guests raved about the appetizers (you must get the crab cakes and bacon wrapped scallops!!) Not only were they delicious, but they took pride in presentation. We also got a lot of compliments about our dinner. Great presentation and the perfect amount of food. During our tasting, the chef was also very accommodating and helped us create a menu that reflected our tastes. Overall a great experience and Beth and her staff were very friendly and easy to work with. It is a newer venue and they still seem to be figuring some things out, but are flexible and accommodating. The only area we struggled with was helping our guests understand the different lodge configurations and what they should book. We were trying to maximize the number of guests who stayed on site, but since the lodges are available in different configurations, people were confused. The front desk was really helpful is getting everything worked out in the end, but make sure to give your guests a break down of lodges because they are referred to by states, numbers and suite names. Other than that little point of confusion, I would highly recommend the Lodges at Gettysburg. Beautiful, new facilities, great food and unique experience for your guests.

    Sent on 10/29/2012
  • User2625390 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Lodges at Gettysburg are a fabulous choice for a wedding. The location is beautiful. Working with Beth and Denise made the planning and day go very smoothly. They were flexible with changes, accommodating with our own decorations and food requirements, and very pleasant to work with. Having the horse and carriage was quite special. The ballroom is spectacular and a beautiful place to have a reception. The Michigan cabin for newlyweds is lovely and a special cabin to stay in.

    We were quite happy with the quality of the food, but unfortunately it didn't have the carved vegetables/decorations that we were promised and were shown at the tasting. The tasting food was a higher quality than the food that we had at the wedding, but it was still quite delicious. It does seem that the Lodges is still working on an "identity", as some of their staff are quite professional, well dressed, etc. At the same time, some of their staff (e.g., the ones who are mowing the lawn in cut-off t-shirts with cigarettes hanging out of their mouths) give a different impression. Additionally, it would help with the accessibility of the ceremony site if the road was paved, rather than rough gravel. Similarly, some of the paths to and from the cabins were rough and had loose gravel on them. This caused our grandmother to trip and get a black eye. Thus, if you have some elderly people, I'd recommend they stay in the ADA cabin, even if they aren't in a wheelchair and can walk fine. The lighting on the paths near the cabins could be improved.

    Sent on 08/28/2012
  • T

    Tara · Married on 10/28/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The lodges is an absolutely breathtaking venue. Beth is a pleasure to work with and makes everything low stress, which is every bride's dream! The views, the reception hall, the lodges on the property, everything is amazing!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • User5552721 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pros: beautiful location (especially during the fall), beautiful lodging, decent price.

    Cons: Can only use one caterer, cannot bring your own alcohol, minimum number of guests required for weddings during certain months.

    Sent on 10/24/2015
  • User2623964 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I absolutely loved my wedding at the Lodges! i received several compliments on how different my location was. We loved the rustic, but not old, feel. It was like we had our own little destination wedding. I HIGHLY recommend the Lodges!

    Sent on 08/28/2012
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 05/06/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The venue was beautiful. I received many compliments on our choice. Having the lodges attached as well as the on site salon for hair and make up made everything much easier. Everyone was very helpful. I was able to stop by the site (provided there was not an event occuring) to help visualize for other vendors etc. The vendors I used from the preferred vendor list were all very professional and easy to work with.

    Sent on 05/15/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/05/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recomend a wedding here the setup is lovley you cannot go wrong with anything here because its just naturally beautiful and the scenery is unbelivable

    Sent on 05/14/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/01/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our wedding was Oct 1st, 2011. We heard about The Lodges at Gettysburg through word of mouth. It was just being built and we were their 2nd wedding. The building is absolutely beautiful. It has a rustic feel to it, with stone, hard wood and cast-iron chandeliers. It does not take much decorating to make the room beautiful. The Coordinator was extremely helpful and down to earth, she made it very easy to feel comfortable with her. The Lodges do have The Carriage House cater. The food was excellent and the service was very professional. It was a little more than what we wanted to spend for the food/venue, but it was definately worth it all. We actually ran out of white wine early in the night and the catering company ran out and got us more during dinner so it worked out perfectly. All the guest kept complimenting on how pretty the reception room was. After the reception, my husband and I stayed in the bridal lodge. It was very nice and very comfortable. And the next morning, they provided bagles, danish, juice and coffee. Dispite the rainy weather, everything worked out perfectly!

    Sent on 10/20/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review