Weddings

The Hotel Hershey Reviews

The Hotel Hershey View more information

26 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 26
Sort by:
  • Jillian
    Jillian Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Originally, my wedding was scheduled to be in South Carolina. But Hurricane Matthew had other plans, and our wedding was cancelled. Not wanting to wait another 6 months to get married, my fiance and I looked for other options closer to home. The Hotel Hershey seemed like the perfect option, and amazingly, they had an opening. Heather, the event planner, did an amazing job and helped me plan my new wedding in under 2 weeks. She listened to my concerns and offered suggestions that can only come from years of experience as a wedding planner. We had the most perfect wedding day, and the Hotel Hershey made us feel so special. From putting little "treats" into our room to the spa treatments and amazing hotel amenities, our wedding weekend was absolutely perfect. Our wedding was at the Mountain Laurel Cottage, our cocktail hour was in the Circular Fountain room, and our ceremony was in the Rock Gardens Grotto. The staff was so helpful and accommodating, and the beauty of the hotel and Hershey made for the most amazing day. Our wedding came in under-budget and was more than we ever could have hoped for. I 100% recommend this venue!
  • A
    Alicia Married on 09/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I stayed at The Hotel Hershey the night of our wedding, we had an amazing experience and highly recommend! They even picked us up from our reception!
  • C
    Cara Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hotel Hershey is simply a magical place! We had multiple events at this property over our wedding weekend (welcome reception, wedding day ceremony/reception and farewell brunch). Every event went perfectly as planned. I didn't have to worry about a thing and actually got to enjoy every minute my wedding weekend! This team at the hotel is unbelievable! Our coordinator was Heather....there is simply not enough time to explain how fabulous she is. She is so detail oriented and covered things I never even thought of. She is always prompt with a response. She simply made my job so easy and I can't thank her enough! All of our guests were so impressed with the resort and the different venues we used throughout the weekend. The area also really has something for everyone to enjoy and participate in if traveling for a wedding. You will not be disappointed with this venue. It will forever hold a special place in our hearts and we can't wait to return in the future!
  • Danielle
    Danielle Married on 08/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue and gardens. We were treated like royalty. They also made planning very easy!
  • User1849850 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a perfect day. A few things weren't set up as planned, but nothing major. I would definitely recommend this beautiful venue!
  • G
    Gina Married on 08/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough good things about Heather and her staff. The first time we met her,I was a little stressed because I didn't think I had enough planning done for the wedding. After the meeting, I went home feeling completely at ease. You could tell right away that Heather knew her stuff and was in total control of how everything went. She made everything so stress-free it was amazing. Also, she was very available to answer any questions you may have (at any time). I would email her and get responses back within minutes most times (even when she had an "out of office reply" she still got back to me ASAP). As for the venue- wow, gorgeous. We had our ceremony in the Formal Gardens behind the hotel and the Reception upstairs in the Castillian Room. Everything went on without a hitch and it was just the best experience ever. The view of the sunset from the Castillian Room balcony was unreal and our guests raved about the food, desserts, and service. Overall, things can get a little pricey if you don't keep an eye on it, which is to be expected with how awesome the venue is- but it was honestly worth every penny. We couldn't have asked for a better day. A big thanks to Heather and her team!!!!!!
  • M
    Marja Married on 08/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our ceremony in the Hershey Gardens (which also deserves a 5 star rating!) and then our reception at the Hotel Hershey (Blue Mountain Room). I chose these venues sight unseen from across the country (Seattle). I never visited until the week of our wedding. I made the right decision - and I was so lucky to have done so! Heather at the Hotel made our day perfect. Her advice and expertise was invaluable. She is a class act and I couldn't have done it without her! The venue was gorgeous, the perfect location, the service was impeccable and the ease of working with the Hotel was appreciated more than I can say! I would highly recommend any couple seriously consider the Hotel Hershey for their big day!!!
  • D
    Deanna Married on 07/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can't say enough about my experience at the Hotel Hershey. My wedding was absolutely perfect. Everything was taken care of with such attention to detail. My guests left saying it was the best wedding they had ever attended. I should mention that I'm a perfectionist and had so many ideas for what I wanted for my big day. Heather, the coordinator at the hotel, made everything I wanted become a reality. From the front desk staff, bell men, concierge...everyone had a warm welcome and friendly attitude. They truly made my wedding day the most special day of my life. I can't thank everyone enough.
  • J
    Jenna Married on 07/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Top notch service, professionalism, and overall friendliness. Heather Hoffman and the staff at The Hotel a Hershey was awesome. It was first class treatment from the time we arrived at the hotel and continued the whole weekend. Spectacular day and experience.
  • User1677088 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The team at Hotel Hershey was an absolute gift! They helped us plan our wedding from afar and reassured us every step of the way. The personal touches and special details they included really helped make our day unique and our guests feel comfortable. We will definitely be back for future celebrations and are so thankful to have had our big day at such a beautiful place!
  • User1640932 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    WOW! Could not be more thrilled and satisfied with our wedding experience at The Hotel Hershey. It was one of the first venues we explored and we thought nothing we saw afterward lived up to it, so we went with our gut. We are so happy we did... What an absolutely beautiful setting. The staff was just a joy to work with--from the planning stage to the room blocks to the reception and bell staff on the wedding weekend. Everyone was just so friendly and accommodative! The atmosphere at the cocktail hour and reception was perfect. So happy we chose this venue! We will be coming back for years to come to relive all the great moments!
  • S
    Sara Married on 09/21/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hotel Hershey was our dream location, and we couldn't be happier with our decision to have our wedding there. They did everything right!
  • User1332393 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding at The Hotel Hershey was absolutely perfect.

    When you think about having your wedding at The Hotel Hershey, your expectations are probably pretty high. You know that the grounds are beautiful and you expect the food to be delicious and the service to be superb. I'm sure that some people worry (like I did toward the end of the planning process) that it might not quite live up to these expectations.

    I can honestly say that it was so much better than I even thought it could be. The service was incredible and the staff helped to make everything run perfectly. I didn't have to think about anything but my husband and my loved ones on the day of the wedding.

    One thing that stands out is how they really make you feel special. I had to stop in a few times on the days around the wedding (to make payments, drop off wedding stuff, etc.). I was really treated like a queen not only on my wedding day but on the other visits. One thing that stood out to me is that the valet who I spoke with a few days before the wedding saw me on my wedding day and congratulated me by name. They really know what they are doing at The Hotel Hershey.

    The planning process had a couple of little hiccups, but nothing major and it was so worth the planning in the end. I'm just so thankful that we were lucky enough to be able to have our wedding there.
  • K
    Katie Married on 07/06/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hotel Hershey is beyond the most breathtaking, exquisite and regal place to hold your wedding. My rehearsal dinner was at the Hershey Country Club, my ceremony was in the Grand Lobby of the Hershey Theater and my reception was in the Garden Terrace Ballroom at The Hotel Hershey. As you can see, I utilized all of Hershey's amenities and was more than satisfied with each location's quality of service and professionalism. In addition to being visually appealing, The Hotel Hershey employs a highly qualified and experienced event staff (including Heather Hoffman, Tyler Debella and Erika Runkel) that helped me every step of the way while planning my wedding. Heather's calm and collective demeanor throughout the entire planning process and on the day of my wedding, allowed me to relax and truly enjoy myself during my 15 months of planning and most importantly, on my wedding day! Heather responded to each and every email and phone call I contacted her about concerning questions, ideas and information regarding the details of my special day.

    In addition to the high quality of service at The Hotel Hershey, I also need to comment on how delicious the food was at both cocktail hour and my reception. The Hotel hosts a Bridal Open House each February that allows ONLY booked brides and their families to taste test food and drinks, as well as get decorative ideas from local vendors. I thoroughly enjoyed this event and found it extremely helpful during the planning process for my wedding.

    Overall, I was beyond pleased with my wedding event at The Hotel Hershey! My husband and I could not have asked for a more perfect wedding day and much of that can be contributed to the helpfulness and high quality service of the staff at The Hotel Hershey.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 10/20/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gorgeous! And the food was amazing too! We had filet of beef, goat cheese, artichoke, and spinach stuffed chicken, and cheese ravioli. The food was absolutely amazing! Kudos to the chef!
  • C
    Colleen Married on 09/02/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED my Hotel Hershey wedding. From start to finish, the staff was more than helpful and accommodated everything we needed. Heather Hoffman is my hero, and her staff is fantastic. They went above and beyond my expectations, and our wedding day was fabulous. The Hotel is a beautiful, unique venue, and I definitely recommend it - not just for the scenery, but for the peace of mind that comes with booking a venue whose staff is truly committed to making your "big day" perfect.
  • Amy
    Amy Married on 08/18/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hotel Hershey's incredible service and attention to detail made our wedding day absolutely perfect. It was a true pleasure working with the entire staff at the hotel over the past year planning our wedding. The wedding planning manager, Heather did a fabulous job helping coordinate our whole wedding weekend. She was so organized and always made time to meet with us. She definitely took some of the stress off our shoulders. We also were so happy with the Hotel Hershey and Hershey Gardens beautiful facilities that gave us so many gorgeous picture options. We would highly recommend the Hotel Hershey for a worry free, elegant wedding.
  • R
    Marissa Married on 06/19/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had both our ceremony and reception at The Hotel Hershey. Everything was amazing and the staff went above and beyond our expectations. We didn't have to worry about a thing.
  • C
    Carly Married on 08/13/2011
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held our Rehearsal Dinner at the Hotel Hershey Mountain Laurel Cottage. The whole evening was fabulous and I could not have been happier! It was great to have the whole cottage/deck to ourselves for the evening. They also allowed us to customize our menu and bar options, which I really appreciated. We even made s'mores at the fire pit for dessert! The staff was great- very attentive and accommodating. Sometimes during the planning process it took a bit to hear back, or the emails were sort of confusing, that is why I didn't give it a perfect 5 stars. Otherwise it really was amazing!
  • Kristina
    Kristina Married on 08/04/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the most beautiful wedding reception... the staff was so amazing and had everything perfect so I wasn't running around setting everything up on the morning of our wedding. This was absolutely the most perfect venue for us!
  • S
    Sara M. Married on 05/05/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    It was wonderful to have our event at The Hotel Hershey. They gave us exactly the type of wedding celebration that we wanted, and we loved staying there the night of the wedding. They were very professional and our guests cannot stop raving about our celebration. What a fantastic place to have your wedding! Top notch, and so very special.
  • A
    Allura Married on 10/29/2016
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Hotel Hershey is already amazing and stunning. The great thing about this venue is that you don't have to add a lot of extra decor and items to dress up the space. Anything you add just adds to its beauty. The Coordinator, Heather, is incredible. She knows literally everything about everything wedding. She gave so much great advice and always answered our questions. She talked us through each step and made our wedding day so painless. The food was excellent. We did a menu tasting, which I highly recommend, because it helps you determine what dishes you love. Everything is essentially a la carte, so you pay per item. That is great because you can customize it to your wants and needs, especially if you are on a strict budget. We had our Rehearsal Dinner, Ceremoney, and Reception there. Each part was perfect and far surpassed our expectations. We also used Chef Cher for our cake. It was amazing!
    It is expensive to have your wedding at the Hotel, but that also depends on what you want. The smaller the wedding, the less it costs. There are several fees we didn't expect, but everything is pretty well explained in the information packets.
    It was so nice and convenient to have everything there including the food, alcohol, and cake. It was a lot less stressful!
  • C
    Colleen Married on 05/25/2014
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I chose The Hotel Hershey as our reception venue. We began planning the wedding approximately 11 months before the date. We were restricted on time due to work and school schedules and were lucky enough to land an opening with the Hotel Hershey that worked with our schedule. This venue was a long-time dream of mine - so I couldn't have been happier to have my wedding here. The wedding/special events team was extremely fast in responding to emails, which was immensely appreciated. The planning/organizing was very low stress - we spent a lot of time discussing what we did and didn't want with the team and everything ran smoothly the weekend of the wedding. The venue location is awesome for photos! The events coordinator set up a time for us to take photos in the gardens at the Hotel - which was really nice. The main entree was not as outstanding as other meals that I've had in the Hotel at their restaurants or that I even had at the tasting, but I still enjoyed the meal; I was happy with the hors d'ouvres and the appetizers that we chose. The pastry chef did a wonderful job with the cake - it looked beautiful and from the bit that I got to enjoy, it tasted delicious. My only other complaint is the method of charging guests. The Hotel Hershey recently re-vamped their website and lot of their planning information is now included on the website. However, when we first booked with Hershey, the website didn't have this information and I don't think we quite understood the extent to which the Hotel tacks on a fee for everything! For example: the menu is selected a la carte; if you choose to offer your guests 2 or 3 entrees (instead of 1), you pay an additional $3 or $5 per person (respectively) for this; the Hotel will charge you for distributing gift bags to your guests at check-in; etc. Overall, it was a great venue and I would recommend it, but watch out for hidden costs!
  • A
    Allison Married on 05/24/2014
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We were initially disappointed to find out that our planner at the Hotel Hershey was leaving two months before our wedding. While this is not the Hotel Hershey's fault (and the planner who took over worked out well), we were glad for our own piece of mind to have a personal planner. There were some small issues (only one bar at cocktail hour created congestion in a tight mezzanine floor, wrong napkins used at cocktail hour, an h'or derv we thought was to be vegetarian was not), but the day overall was wonderful. The staff at the Hotel Hershey want to make your stay wonderful at all times. They switched our room after a mistake in our booking and they held our cake topper for 3 days. The spaces we used were perfect for our vision and wedding size.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 08/08/2008
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Nothing too majorly wrong. There was a misspelling on our food menu (enree instead of entree) and the food menu was made out of white computer paper when I was told it would be card stock. Our cake color was blue instead of purple (which they waived the cost to make up for the mistake). Probably could've been a little more on top of things for the amount of money you have to spend.