The Historic Post Office Reviews

34 | Hampton, VA
See photos, pricing and details

34 Reviews for The Historic Post Office

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

34

31 User photos

Order by:
  • A

    Amber R. · Married on 08/09/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Wedding Venue on the Peninsula

    Beautiful wedding venue with gorgeous bridal and groom suites! Ellie was personable and took great care of us on our wedding day. If you're looking for a lovely wedding venue, we'd highly recommend the Historic Post Office!

    Sent on 08/21/2019
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 10/14/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Venue perfectly fit our style

    The HPO was an amazing venue for our wedding. The look was exactly our style and it was difficult to take bad pictures in and around HPO. Having special areas for the wedding party to get ready was much appreciated. The staff was very responsive, helpful and easy to work with. The only negative I would say is that most things are a'la carte so be sure to factor in that you will likely want most of the extras when booking. At the end of the day, well worth it and would recommend to any couple looking for a venue!

    Sent on 12/05/2018
  • DC

    Deaunna · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I fell in love with the venue the first time I saw it. There was no other option for me or my husband. The onsite staff was great. The security guard was great. Kelsey was great to work with for the past year. She answered all of my questions and kept me informed. If I could choose all over again, I would still choose The Historic Post Office!

    Sent on 05/24/2018
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/01/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When looking for wedding venues, we started our search at the Historic Post Office and quickly ended our search after visiting. The space is just beautiful, with a modern, industrial aesthetic that was both trendy yet classic in appeal. If offers plenty of space to layout your wedding in the best way for you, with options like a back patio or balcony area for cocktail hour, different areas for a bar or food layout, and all sorts of options for dinner. Not to mention a helpful staff on hand to help you with all of your needs.

    The real kicker, however, is the bridal and groomsman suites, which are out of this world. They offer private bathrooms and dressing rooms, a pool table, foosball table, and kitchen area. It is insane. We had almost as fun in there getting ready for the wedding as we did at the wedding. You can not find a better place to have your wedding in all of Hampton Roads.

    Sent on 09/29/2018
  • H

    Heather · Married on 12/09/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved having our wedding at the Historic Post Office in Hampton! The staff is experienced in the event and wedding industry. They were very helpful during preparation for our wedding and offered lots of suggestions of different vendors and locations in the area. The day of our wedding, they helped make sure that everything was going well.
    The actual venue is a blank slate that can be dressed up as much or as little as you deem necessary for your event. The black iron railings, dark wood floors, and white textured walls offer a lovely backdrop for any wedding. One of the major selling points for us were the bridal suite and grooms lounge. They are wonderful places to get ready before your event. The bridal suite has a TON of mirrors and outlets, The grooms lounge has a foosball table, slot machine, pool table, leather couch, and kitchenette.
    My understanding is that options and offerings are changing rapidly but when we booked our wedding this is what was included in our rental price: 5 hour event, access to the venue starting at 9am, 1 hour rehearsal before the event, tables, and uplighting. Chaffari chairs located at the venue are actually owned by Waterford events so you have to rent them. They also recently got 2 bars that are available for rent. Because of the limited offerings, we had to rent linens, cups, plates, and silverware through a rental company.
    We were a bit disappointed in what wasn't included for the rental price as all of the extra costs on top of the price for the venue put us a bit over budget. The minimal offerings make the venue maximally customizable for your wedding but isn't necessarily best for a bride who is on a budget or doesn't have lots of time to research vendors and rentals. Another monetary item to consider is that the HPO requires you to have a day-of coordinator which is another expense but was helpful the day of. One other minor complaint was that the wifi was spotty.

    Sent on 01/14/2018

    The Historic Post Office's reply:

    Heather, thank you for the kind review and we're so glad you enjoyed your experience at the HPO overall. We appreciate the feedback and we'll continue to improve the HPO to offer the best to our clients. Thank you and we wish you the best!
  • Amber

    Amber N. · Married on 10/17/2020

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Spot!

    Was upset Our date wasn't available but It was a beautiful place where he proposed! I would recommend this venue to my friends!!

    Sent on 07/09/2019

    The Historic Post Office's reply:

    Hi Amber,
    We're sorry we're not available on the date you prefer, but we're glad you were still able to make a happy memory near our venue. We wish you the best!
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 04/22/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Post Office was a beautiful place to have our wedding! I loved the unique architecture and the white brick on the inside of the building. It is an open space and is a "Create-your-own" venue space allowing you to really do whatever you have envisioned. The staff at the HPO were so professional and sweet to work with. We had about 140 people at our wedding and it seemed like the right number without using all of the upstairs. The bridal suite is gorgeous!

    Sent on 05/23/2018
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 07/07/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Still new and growing

    We had our reception at the HPO for our July 2018 wedding. We booked it in May of 2017 and took the next available Saturday for summer of 2018, which was luckily in my top 2 dates. Everything was pretty smooth. I'm glad they've changed from having to call to make deposits to an online system. In the time since we booked until our wedding, they added a lot more add-on options, such as backdrops, linens, bars, etc.

    While scheduling hair and makeup with one of their preferred vendors, the preferred vendor was not up-to-date on their policies, thinking they were able to begin at 8am because they did that for another client. I hope they have been more communicating with their preferred vendors to make sure they are all on the same page. It was frustrating having to be in the middle of that and essentially being blamed for them not communicating. That incident made me almost regret having having our reception at the HPO.

    Overall, the HPO is a beautiful venue. They are still growing and adding so many more things. It was a beautiful place for our reception. However, during the planning process it felt like we were just spending more and more money there with the add-ons. It would be a much better experience if there was more included in the already pricey shell of the building.

    Sent on 12/20/2018

    The Historic Post Office's reply:

    Hi Jenna,
    Thank you for your feedback. You are correct, as a new venue we are growing and learning as we go. We have made many changes since you initially booked with us and are continuing to update our packages as we receive feedback like yours. We hope your overall experience at the HPO was positive and we wish you the best!
  • Linea

    Linea J. · Married on 04/20/2019

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful Venue - Overpriced

    The HPO is a beautiful venue. However, they're overpriced. We chose a few of their add-ons and they were extremely pricey. They nickle and dime you for many things. It felt really cheesy to be honest. For the price, more things should definitely be included. If I could do it all over again, I probably would have chosen a different venue.

    Sent on 06/01/2019

    The Historic Post Office's reply:

    Thank you so much for your insight, Linea. We take all client feedback very seriously. Here at the HPO we operate on a base rental fee and then we have an A-La Carte menu full of additional (and completely optional) rental items you can choose from. We do this so that every client can customize their contract with us based on their individual event needs and budget. If we included all of these items, we would be forced to raise the base rental fee and, thus, charge more for the facility. We have found that the A-La Carte options work best for our clients because this ensures that they do not have to pay for items that they do not want/need.
    We hope you enjoyed your day at the HPO, we certainly loved having you!