The Grove Redfield Estate Reviews

171 | Glenview, IL
See photos, pricing and details

171 Reviews for The Grove Redfield Estate

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

171

63 User photos

Order by:
  • P

    Patti · Married on 09/05/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful! We booked the Grove from 9 till 4 on Saturday. The weather was perfect and so was the setting. We had the ceremony in front of the large Oak tree with the house as the backdrop. This worked better than one of the gazebos since I have a few elderly family members that could not walk very far. Carol and Mary were very helpful and very responsive to all of our inquires. My guests loved the place. We only had 55 guests and the perfect weather allowed our guests to sit inside or outside. This is the perfect place for small ceremonies. If you have a lot of guests and the weather is not perfect it will be tight. The Grove only allows certain caterers to work in their kitchen. They do have tastings which are very helpful in selecting a caterer.

    Sent on 10/06/2009
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/11/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful location and wonderful staff! It is a great wedding venue no matter what time of year you get married! We got married in August so we were lucky enough to be able to have our ceremony outside under an old rustic tree which made for gorgeous photos! It was very unique and the perfect place for those couples looking to go beyond the banquet halls and kind of be "out of the box"!

    Sent on 07/22/2008
  • D

    Dylan · Married on 09/01/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish I could give The Grove Redfield Estate 12 out of 5 for responsiveness and flexibility. They were FANTASTIC at working with the caterers on the day of the wedding when we had to make a quick rain plan! The venue was absolutely beautiful, rain or shine, and so well landscaped and cared for. A great value for the money and I would highly recommend it for any indoor/outdoor event. (Photos courtesy Callie Wisdom, Wisdom Photography)

    Sent on 09/23/2018

    The Grove Redfield Estate's reply:

    Thank you Dylan for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We wish you and Judy years of happiness and love. Congratulations and Thank You again!
    The Grove Redfield Estate staff
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 06/23/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Redfield Estate was the perfect venue for our wedding. It’s a beautiful property and an incredible deal. You get the entire grounds of the estate as well as the house for your use during the time of your rental. The grounds managers were very helpful leading up to our wedding and during the wedding itself. It seemed as though no one was there until you needed them and they would magically appear. The staff of the Redfield Estate were happy to plan the logistics and time the drop off of items at the venue ahead of the event and were responsive to email and phone calls. The space at the estate really speaks for itself and is adaptable to your vision. We got married under the gazebo, had our cocktail hour on the patio and the reception under the pavilion. The set-up is such that you’re able to have a magical outdoor wedding with all of the comforts of being indoors. We highly recommend this venue to anyone who loves nature, a unique and cost-effective venue with lots of romance.

    Sent on 07/08/2018

    The Grove Redfield Estate's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We wish you years of happiness and love. Congratulations and Thank you again!
    The Grove Redfield Estate staff
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/02/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Having our wedding at the Grove was perfect. It was so beautiful and the staff was very helpful in getting everything set up and helping us enjoy our day. The venue and surrounding grounds are so beautiful you will think you are spending significantly more than what you are.

    Sent on 06/26/2017
  • J

    Jeremy · Married on 06/17/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a gorgeous place. It worth a visit no matter you are going to have your wedding here or not.
    We booked it on 50% discount which is 1000. I would say it worth the price even its the original one as they will lease you 1.the whole house which is really spacious and it is with bride's room and groom's room for you to change clothes here; 2.the lawn in front of the house which you can play games on; 3. a gazebo for ceremony surrounded by bushes for ceremony 4. a pavilion with fireplace and you can have your reception there!
    Manager Shelley and Carol are super nice and friendly. We change our schedule several times and they were really flexible and helpful!
    They have 6 caterers on the list, if you pick some one else you have to pay an extra $1000.
    We chose the Hel's Kitchen out of them. We had some problems during dinner because we had too many highchairs which made the seating really crowd(We had 32 adults with 5 babies and 2 kids) but they fixed it quickly. Food was fine(All my friends are pretty picky about food and they were actually expecting Chinese food so I would say for typical American food they are above average.) service was good, they have a professional team for all the decoration and arrangement. Julie from Hel's Kitchen was the coordinator and did wonderful job. We start planning several weeks before the wedding so it was really a hurry but everything was set perfectly.

    Sent on 07/01/2016
  • C

    Christy · Married on 09/12/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony at the Grove Redfield Estate on 9/12/2015 and it was gorgeous in every way! The staff was easy to work with during the planning process (though there was a bit of confusion over numbers, which ended up not being an issue). We lucked out on our wedding day and had beautiful weather for most of the day but, since it rained during the night, we got married in the Pavilion instead of at the Gazebo as we originally planned. I am so glad we ended up with the Pavilion! We faced the beautiful estate during the ceremony and it made for a wonderful entrance. Even better, the staff of the Grove lit a fire for us in the Pavilion fireplace. It added the perfect touch of warmth to our lovely fall day. I can't wait to see the pictures! The Grove made the perfect backdrop for us to make our vows to each other - it is a BEAUTIFUL venue!

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • W

    wendy · Married on 08/29/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very helpful staff per planning. Very nice, helpful grounds person during event.
    Beautiful space, inside and out. Perfect setting.

    Only feedback: expensive but lovely setting.
    Bathrooms weren't tended to well during reception, not kept as clean as would have expected/needed.

    If ceremony is outside, recommend officiate use a mic. Our Rabbi did not; people could not hear well.

    Otherwise, perfect!!
    My vendors were wonderful.
    Nic Gourguechon, photography.
    Flowerville, Anna, florist.
    Everyday Gourmet, Sparvim, catererer.
    Classical musician/voice: Kurt Hansen.
    Ecelectic pianist/singer: Brian Dansey.
    Doris' Bridal, Annette, wedding dress/veil/tiara.
    Natalia Koroziv, Bloomingdales, make up.

    Sent on 10/07/2010
  • C

    Christine L · Married on 08/17/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful outdoor venue close to Chicago

    Deborah and Carol made sure our wedding was exactly what we wanted it to be. The venue is lush and green with fantastic facilities to keep everyone comfortable. We were able to do our wedding entirely outside, but had access to the estate to gather everyone before the ceremony and for guests to explore during our cocktail hour and reception. The green space and the historic buildings looked great in photos. We would highly recommend it!

    Sent on 10/20/2019

    The Grove Redfield Estate's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you and your guests enjoyed the ALL parts of our grounds,
    We wish you years of happiness and love. Stop back anytime - we'd love to see you.
    Congratulations and Thank You again!
    The Grove Redfield Estate staff
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 08/10/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Forest Wedding

    We had a gorgeous September wedding at The Grove Redfield Estate. The staff was incredibly helpful from the beginning of the planning process - responsive, friendly, insightful, and helpful. Our day was simply magical and far surpassed anything we could've hoped for. We got married at the gazebo and had our reception in the pavilion, we had about 110 guests on a Friday night.

    The grove offers so many beautiful spots to sneak away for portraits, our guests absolutely loved the caterer and DJ (from the Grove's preferred vendor list - which is a little small, but high quality selections, we found). There are no words to describe how beautiful the evening became once the tree line was lit up by the DJ lights, and the lighting Redfield Estate provides was turned on -- I wish it could've been captured in a photograph.

    We had the night of our lives and the wedding of our dreams, and we wouldn't change a thing.

    Sent on 11/13/2019
  • CAITLIN

    CAITLIN · Married on 07/06/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lush Dream Wedding

    My husband and I got married here last July and we could not have planned a more perfect day! Almost every single guest came to tell us it was the most beautiful wedding they had seen. It helped that we had amazing weather (partly sunny and 78), but we were so pleased. The atmosphere was perfect for our dream wedding, it was lush and beautiful and gave us the privacy we desired. We would highly recommend this venue, we feel so lucky to have shared our big day with all our friends and family in such a beautiful location!

    Sent on 01/02/2020
  • Brigette

    Brigette · Married on 04/27/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning, unique venue

    My husband and I just had our wedding at the Grove. I've known of the location for years, and we absolutely couldn't be happier with our experience. They have some very specific requirements and rules regarding events, but that's partly because it's Park District property. The weather was absolutely insane (snow in April?!), but the staff were so immensely helpful. They turned on the fireplace outside at no extra charge and worked tirelessly shoveling outside all night. I had multiple comments from guests that it looked like a fairy tale. This location is stunning in any season and any weather.

    Sent on 04/29/2019

    The Grove Redfield Estate's reply:

    You were SUCH a trooper in dealing with the crazy weather on your wedding day. Who would have thought it would have snowed at the end of April?!?
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We appreciate your patience with the weather conditions and we wish you countless years of happiness and love.
    Congratulations and Thank you again!
    The Grove Redfield Estate staff
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/27/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent, with only one con, mentioned at the end of this review. This was the wedding venue of my dreams! Picture perfect, friendly and helpful staff.... a cozy place to host a smaller wedding, no matter the weather or time of year. The house, pavilion and gazebo are all beautiful and we made sure to use the entire space. I felt like a queen on my big day. The atmosphere and wooded enclosed scenery automatically takes you off to a far away fairy tale land. Our wedding day was fantastic, I am forever grateful for the Grove and staff there for being a part of it. We were able to rent on a week day for a discounted price which was a tremendous bonus as we had a "smaller" budget by 2018 standards. The only thing that was a little bit of a bummer is we had to stick within their preferred caterer list, unless you pay a large fee, so be warned, if you have food allergies or any dietary restrictions or have any issues with their their preferred caterers this may pose as a challenge as it did for us. We had selected Everyday Gourmet as they were the only ones on the preferred list who claimed to be able to accommodate our dietary needs and they were the biggest headache of our planning process, they were also the only vendor we had any issues with.

    Sent on 10/10/2018

    The Grove Redfield Estate's reply:

    Thank you for sharing your review. Your comments are extremely valuable to us and we take a tremendous amount of pride to ensure your entire event goes off flawlessly. We select our preferred caterers very carefully and will pass along your thoughts to them. Hope you can make it back to The Grove soon.
  • G

    Garrett · Married on 07/21/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had a beautiful wedding ceremony and reception at the Grove recently. Carol & Deborah were super helpful, accommodating, and very responsive to my e-mails. The venue has plenty of scenic outdoor space which is a perfect backdrop for wedding photos and if you're lucky you may even see a couple deer when visiting the grounds. There was a bit of rain on our wedding day, which meant we had to have our ceremony in the covered pavilion instead of at the gazebo. This wasn't too much of a problem. Smaller sized weddings could also potentially fit everyone inside the house for the ceremony. The Grove is a bit strict in some of their rules (i.e. you'll need to work w/ one of their preferred caterers, only certain lawn games are allowed on the grounds, etc.) but I'm guessing the restrictions are mostly in place to protect the venue. Overall we were extremely satisfied with our experience there and would highly recommend this location to anyone.

    Sent on 07/28/2018

    The Grove Redfield Estate's reply:

    Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for taking time to leave us a wonderful review. Your comments are much appreciated! Our policies are meant to protect the venue and make the entire experience for everyone exceptional.
    Thank you again!
    Grove Redfield Estate staff
  • A

    Anton · Married on 07/23/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Redfield Estate is a gorgeous setting to have a smaller-sized wedding ( less than 125 guests) ceremony and reception. The buildings and grounds are the perfect close-to-nature backdrop: well-manicured lawns, great foliage, beautiful fountains and statuary, as well as many seasonal flower containers. At night, the property around the main house and pavilion comes alive with lanterns and string lights that extend the party beyond the pavilion alone. Carol and Shelley (The Rental Coordinators) are wonderful to work with, and they direct you deftly through your contract and their extensive list of preferred vendors, providing open-house type tastings throughout the year.

    A few tips:
    1) For summer weddings, pay close attention to the mosquito season. Our July wedding unfortunately had some very hungry mosquitoes that forced us to move our ceremony from the gazebo area to the pavilion. It was still a gorgeous setting, but the change did cause a little anxiety.
    2) With any outdoor wedding - ALWAYS have a rain plan in place. In the case of The Redfield Estate, you will coordinate this with your catering vendor ahead of time.
    3) Understand how the size of your wedding may affect indoor plans. If your reception is inside The Redfield Estate (as opposed to in the outdoor pavilion), you may have to break up your dinner guests into two floors if the numbers exceed 60 guests.

    Sent on 07/31/2017
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 11/19/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    While this place is already popular, I feel like I found a hidden gem. Their off-season discount is just too good of a deal. I am so happy I was able to have this perfect venue as the background for all of my wedding photos. It's so beautiful, you can almost get away with minimal wedding decor. My guests loved it, too. The fireplaces, nature (we had deer roaming during the outside ceremony), antique architecture and decor - It all added up to one very romantic setting. Shelley and Carol were a pleasure to work with, and they quickly returned my many calls as the day approached. Have your wedding here already!

    Sent on 12/10/2016
  • C

    Casey · Married on 07/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is absolutely beautiful. Carol and Shelly are very responsive and helpful throughout the process. We had people on site throughout the night to help if we needed with caterers or if we needed fans/heaters. The one thing I did not like was that at 11:50 pm they were requesting that we shut down our bar. We still had ten min in the night and we were allowed to be on site until 1 am, so it bothered me slightly that they were a bit pushy in that sense. That would be my only knock on them. Everything else was wonderful!

    Sent on 07/16/2016
  • User4232519 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Redfield Grove in June and we were absolutely blown away by the venue. We wanted to make sure we used the house since it is so beautiful, so we set up the ceremony inside and had the reception outdoors in the pavilion. The house was gorgeous (would have booked the venue just for the bridal suite!) and it really felt intimate like a chapel. Also I have heard a lot of complaints that you can never hear when a wedding ceremony is outside so it was cool to flip it and have the ceremony indoors and reception outdoors. We luckily had great weather and all went smoothly. We sprung for the uplighting in the pavilion and lit the fire which really did provide some excellent photos and a great backdrop. Since we had never seen the venue at night before, it was lit up even better than we expected and there are so many photo opportunities around the ground that we could take our photos in less than an hour. Our only item to mention is that if you have the ceremony or reception indoors you really need to have a small wedding, we had 60 people and that was almost too tight. Also, we had the wedding on Friday (was considerably less) and on Friday's renting the venue for a few extra hours is really affordable so I would definitely recommend doing that so you have extra time to get ready and set up. Also you can bring in your own alcohol which is a great cost savings. I would say in general they were very flexible about dropping off everything in the carriage house the day before the wedding, but I felt rushed the day after because we had to pick up our decorations and alcohol by noon. All in all, would definitely recommend the venue!

    Sent on 07/08/2014
  • User4235968 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great site, perfect for a small-medium wedding. Staff was helpful and flexible. Be advised that there were quite a few mosquitoes that attended our wedding. It had just rained for two weeks and this was late spring. We bought candles to keep them out of the pavillion. We also rented two large fans from the grove. Having the ceremony in the woods was impossible this time of year.

    Sent on 07/09/2014
  • A

    amelia · Married on 12/14/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    nd We chose this venue with very short notice, only one month, and they were so sweet and accommodating with all of our questions/needs/requests. We were able to have everything we wanted and the venue was absolutely perfect and beautiful! We had a winter outdoor ceremony and the venue was just magical. I would really recommend The Redfield Estate to anyone, especially if you are looking for something a little unique and intimate, this was even better than we could have pictured, The staff was also fantastic to work with. I just can't say enough good things about this venue :)

    Sent on 03/18/2014
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 10/13/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at the Redfield Estate. I really wanted to get married outdoors, but didn't think I had the option in Chicago. We loved being able to have the ceremony at the gazebo, our dinner under the pavillion and our dancing in the house. I would definitely recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/19/2013
  • User3614829 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location and very responsive staff, much appreciated!

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • User3634458 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had a wonderful experience having my wedding at The Redfield Estate at The Grove. This venue is a hidden gem in the Chicagoland area. It's a gorgeous backdrop--your photos will look stunning whether they are taken inside the Redfield Estate or outside on the property. If you are getting married outside, I highly recommend a time of year when you can enjoy the greenery of the property. The trees, the flowers and the bright green grass were a stunning backdrop. The house lights up at night too--there are lights strung up on the trees all around the house. There are some limitations, i.e. no balloons, no sparklers, etc. because it is a nature preserve and those types of things aren't allowed on the premises. Also, you have to pick from their list of caterers or pay a bunch more to use an outside caterer (I guess this is fairly common). I found Carol and Mary to be very helpful and responsive and answered all of my questions, even when I felt I was being annoying. Thanks for a magical experience!

    Sent on 10/27/2013
  • D

    Diane · Married on 08/18/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Redfield Estate is a beautiful place for any special event. We had a lovely wedding reception there for our daughter and many of our guests have commented on how wonderful everything was and how impressed they were with the Redfield Estate.

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • A

    Angeline · Married on 06/30/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I both liked the environment of The Grove Redfield Estate for our outdoor wedding theme. We were glad that we made the decision as the people working at The Grove Redfield Estate were very supportive and professional. We were also happy with the vendors such as caterer they recommended to us. It was a very nice venue.

    Sent on 10/11/2013