19 Reviews for The Great Room at Top of the Hill

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Indoor (7)
Clean Up (7)
Set Up (7)
Bartender(s) (7)
Chairs (7)
Tables (7)
Flatware (7)
Glassware (7)
Event Planning (6)
Buffet (6)
House Beer (6)
Decor (6)
China (6)
Linens (6)
Hors d'Oeuvres (5)
Server(s) (5)
House Wine (5)
Dance Floor (5)
Barware (5)
In-House Bar (4)
In-House Catering (4)
Cocktail Reception (4)
Tastings (4)
Champagne Toast (4)
Open Bar (4)
House Liquor (4)
Audio Equipment (4)
Wheelchair Access (4)
All Inclusive Packages (3)
Wireless Internet (3)
Dessert (3)
Outside Cake (3)
Cash Bar (3)
Premium Liquor (3)
Signature Drink (3)
Specialty Beer (3)
Lighting (3)
Parking (3)
Lighting/Sound (2)
Liability Insurance (2)
Plated (2)
Stations (2)
Event Rentals (1)
Limited Bar (1)
Liquor License (1)
Specialty Wine (1)
19 The Great Room at Top of the Hill Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Everything was perfect from the first meeting until the last song at the reception! The food was delicious! The service was top notch too. We highly recommend the Great Room at the Top of the Hill!

Profile Picture Danell, 7/14/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: In-House Bar, In-House Catering, Clean Up, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Set Up, Wireless Internet, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Bartender(s), Cash Bar, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Chairs, Dance Floor, Tables, Indoor, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Outside Cake, Plated, Server(s), Tastings, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
5.0

I cannot say enough about how happy we were with The Great Room as our venue for both our ceremony and reception. We looked at basically all the urban indoor venues in the Triangle, and they were *by far* the most accommodating and affordable. As an all-inclusive venue (including a personal wedding coordinator!), you not only get the most bang for your buck, but they also take so much stress out of planning a wedding.

The space is beautiful and functional. The food and drinks were amazing -- so many of our guests told us so. We didn't have to lift a finger on the day of. We dropped off all our various decor items (table runners, photos, etc), and the staff set them up beautifully. Our coordinator, Molly, was the jam. She was so responsive and helpful leading up to the event -- meeting with us, answering all our questions, giving suggestions and recommendations. And on the day of, she ran everything like a boss. The entire day went smoothly, thanks to her prep and management, and the amazing staff.

Profile Picture Lindsey, 4/7/18, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Lighting, Tables, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Indoor, All Inclusive Packages, Clean Up, Event Planning, In-House Bar, In-House Catering, Lighting/Sound, Set Up, Wireless Internet, Bartender(s), House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Parking, Wheelchair Access
5.0

Lauren and her entire team made our Bat Mitzvah party incredible. The responsiveness, quality of service, the space and the food made the night incredible. I highly recommend the Great Room for any special event. You will not be disappointed!!

Profile Picture Caitlin, 1/13/18, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Amazing! Lauren was wonderful with the coordination of all the details of our intimate wedding. The ceremony was beautiful, guests loved the games at cocktail hour, and the food at the reception was soooo good! If we ever need to host another private event, we’re checking here first. I don’t think we could have asked for a smoother, more perfect day. Plus there wasn’t a lot we had to do on our end: we were able to customize the menu, serve the wonderful beers/wines produced there at the venue, and bring in the vendors we wanted. Absolutely perfect!

Profile Picture Erica, 11/12/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Drink, Specialty Wine, All Inclusive Packages, Clean Up, In-House Bar, In-House Catering, Set Up, Wireless Internet, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Indoor, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Outside Cake, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings, Chairs, Decor, Tables, Parking
5.0

molly was so helpful along the way, food was delicious, all of my guests were very happy with service

Profile Picture Malorie, 10/22/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Wheelchair Access, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Server(s), Indoor, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Tables, All Inclusive Packages, Clean Up, Event Planning, In-House Bar, In-House Catering, Set Up, Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast
5.0

We had our wedding (ceremony, cocktail hour and reception) at Top of the Hill and I highly recommend it! Danielle and Molly did an awesome job coordinating everything and they were very responsive and professional throughout the whole process (via email, phone and in-person meetings). The food, drinks and service were all amazing and we didn't have to worry about setting anything up before or cleaning up after the reception. Very happy with how everything turned out!

Profile Picture Ajsela, 8/12/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Planning
4.8

Our wedding ceremony and reception were both held in the Great Room. It was a beautiful setup and the internal wedding coordinators do a fantastic job. Molly did a great job making sure everything went smoothly on our big day so that we could enjoy ourselves. I love the hardwood floors, exposed brick and big windows. Overall, we were very satisfied with the venue and would highly recommend to others.

Profile Picture Stephanie, 6/12/16, 10 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'Oeuvres, Outside Cake, Tastings, Indoor, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Tables, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, Limited Bar, Open Bar, Signature Drink, Specialty Beer, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Clean Up, Event Planning, Liability Insurance, Set Up
5.0

We had our rehearsal dinner at The Great Room at Top of the Hill after seriously considering it for our reception venue. First of all, Danielle is amazing! She is very quick to respond to emails and always willing to go the extra step! After we had booked the room for our rehearsal dinner, I emailed her on a weekend that my parents were in town to see if we could stop by and test the computer hook-up for the photo slideshow. Danielle responded in less than 24 hours and met with us the day she responded! She also helped us figure out a menu that worked for everyone in our party. Our guests loved the food at the rehearsal dinner, and we loved having our event in such an iconic place in Chapel Hill. Plus, our guests loved being within walking distance of the Carolina Inn (where most of them were staying) and of downtown Chapel Hill. The AV set up worked wonderfully for our photo slideshow - even my dad, who is a photo enthusiastic, was impressed with the quality of the images produced by the projector! The use of the Pandora stations is also very convenient for events like rehearsal dinners.

Profile Picture Amie, 4/22/16, 14 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens, Buffet, Dessert, Server(s), Audio Equipment, Chairs, Decor, Lighting, Tables, Clean Up, Event Planning, Liability Insurance, Lighting/Sound, Set Up, Wheelchair Access, Indoor, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Specialty Beer
5.0

We recently had our wedding (ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception) at Top of the Hill - Great Room and would highly recommend this venue to everyone. Danielle and the staff worked very close with us to make the event better than we had ever hoped. The space was plenty of room for our 120 people wedding. The on site - kitchen and chef was amazing. The chef personally greeted us and made sure we were feed. Everyone at our wedding continues to compliment how delicious our food was. We loved the fact that we had local craft TOPO beer for our wedding! The venue was extremely accommodating with our plans, timeline, and of course the last minute changes. The photographs from the venue look amazing. We loved having our pictures taken in the tank room. Danielle was so wonderful! She took the time to really know us and then help create a wedding that reflected us. We can not thank Top of the Hill and especially Danielle enough for helping make our wedding beyond perfect! Highly recommend them for all events!

Profile Picture Claire, 12/18/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

The perfect venue for the perfect price. Danielle is amazing and made our weekend perfect!

Profile Picture User4396683, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Clean Up, Event Planning, Set Up, Buffet, Hors d'Oeuvres, Server(s), Stations, Tastings, Bartender(s), House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Specialty Beer, Audio Equipment, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Lighting, Tables, Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
5.0

We had our rehearsal dinner at TOPO for about 100 people. We dropped off our decorations a few days before and they decorated the Great Room absolutely beautifully! I was so impressed with the way the room turned out. The food was great and our out of town guests really enjoyed the southern food. They were flexible with a few changes that we wanted to make and the dinner was perfect! I would definitely recommend the Great Room for your rehearsal dinner or wedding reception!

Profile Picture Lori, 8/15/15, 7 Reviews
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Top of the Hill - The Great Room was a fantastic find. The staff there was excellent and they made my wedding day stress free. Our wedding day was the same day as the UNC-Duke game (in Chapel Hill) . . . . . so given the craziness of Chapel Hill on that day, to have a stress free wedding was nothing short of a miracle. I HIGHLY recommend this venue. It is a great price for what you get and everyone told me that my wedding was amazing.

Profile Picture Erin, 3/7/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9

We worked with Danielle to coordinate our wedding reception at Top of the Hill's Great Room and were thrilled with all aspects. She was very attentive to our details and put everything together for us on the day of the wedding. She was very happy to work with our budget and to make many little adjustments to the menu and drinks. We would absolutely recommend this location to anyone looking for an urban venue in downtown Chapel Hill for a reasonable price.

Profile Picture User3328713, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2

We absolutely loved having our reception at The Great Room. The staff was wonderful, met every need, and was able to provide all the unique touches that made the space ours.

Profile Picture User2936151, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Wow, how I love The Great Room. As two UNC grads living in Chicago, we knew we wanted to get married in Chapel Hill. As soon as I found out about The Great Room, I was sold. Perfect environment, location, size, and VERY reasonably priced.

From beginning to end, Danielle served as the perfecting organizer and day-of coordinator. She handled every detail professionally and made sure we didn't have any unanswered questions and got everything we wanted out of the day. The day went really perfectly and we definitely have Danielle and The Great Room staff to thank for it all. We had lots of handmade decorations that the staff willingly set up for us. They handled all of our incoming vendors, including a five-piece band, took care of flipping the space between the ceremony and reception, did all the audio, the list goes on!

The space is quintessential Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street, and is perfect for an intimate, smaller wedding. We ended up with around 70 people, which I think worked really well with the space. The space is beautiful, but allows you to be really creative with the decor.

It's great, too, that all the food and drinks are included, so you don't have to worry about bringing in a separate caterer. I knew the food would be great, and it was! Our guests also loved the beer. The waitstaff did a great job as well. Couldn't ask for a better venue and staff. I'd highly recommend it!

Profile Picture Amy, 10/19/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9

We loved our reception at The Great Room! Danielle took all the worry and guess work out of throwing a successful celebration, and tables, chairs, linens, food, and service is all included. The room itself has class and ambiance, but Danielle made some savvy suggestions about decor and finishing touches that I loved. A number of our guests told us Chef Matt Butler served up was the best wedding food they had ever had. For the price, the quality and portion size was exceptional; the menu choices are sure to please a wide variety of guests without being mundane. We were also able to make some personalized changes to the bar and food menu without much fuss or expense. In short, I didn't have to worry if or how the wedding reception would come together, and I was extremely satisfied with the overall experience and with the attention to fine details (like making sure a piece of wedding cake was saved for me!)

Profile Picture Kate, 8/24/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The event coordinator Danielle was wonderful to work with and was very organized and prompt!

Profile Picture Erika, 11/3/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our wedding ceremony was in the Great Room. They are great to work with and very helpful. It was a beautiful space and so convenient since our reception was at the Carolina Inn.

Profile Picture Elizabeth, 6/30/12, 8 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Our wedding/reception was perfect!! Thanks to Hallie and her team for everything! The food, the organization, EVERYTHING was spot on!!

Profile Picture Suzanne, 6/12/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue