The Gala - Lincoln Reviews

5 | Lincoln, NE
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for The Gala - Lincoln

Recommended by 63% of couples

3.2 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.2
  • Professionalism 3.2
  • Flexibility 3.2
  • Value 3.2
  • Average response time 3.0

Awards

5
Order by:
  • B

    becca · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely love then venue!! Jeff and his staff were amazing!! I will recommend the gala to anyone with an upcoming event!!

    Sent on 08/13/2016

    The Gala - Lincoln's reply:

    Thank you, Becca. We appreciate you taking the time to such nice things about us.
  • Shelley

    Shelley · Married on 04/30/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeff was great to work with!! He provided our music for the ceremony and reception, I had some different picks for ceremony music but he was able to get those songs for us. Jeff did everything we asked and more, it was a great reception and dance!

    Sent on 05/31/2011

    The Gala - Lincoln's reply:

    Hi Shelley, I really do want to thank you for taking the time to write this review and give the Gala a 5 star rating. We take a lot of pride in making sure our bride & groom along with their families and friends have a great time. This really does mean a lot to us.
  • Haley

    Haley Gray · Getting married on 12/12/2020

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booked elsewhere but Jeff is AMAZING!

    In the end we decided to book elsewhere but after several tours with Jeff @ The Gala I will forever be grateful for him! He is truly the nicest guy to work with. They offer A TON of options to customize the space and make it super easy to work within your budget!

    If you are looking for a place to tour in Lincoln, check out The Gala!

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • B

    Britany · Married on 09/30/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We attended a wedding here and the staff members were very disorganized and rude. We asked the bar staff to change the channel on the television and they rudely said "We are too busy for that." However, there were only three people at the bar at the time. At one point, the wedding stopped hosting wine, but we did not know that, so when we went to ask for a glass, they rudely said, "We will have to charge you for that." The temperate was way too cold in the building and everyone was freezing, but the staff would not adjust the thermostat.

    Sent on 10/01/2017

    The Gala - Lincoln's reply:

    We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience at The Gala. We take a lot of pride in great service and have had many compliments on our staff on how professional they are and how hard they work to make our guest happy. I will be sure to bring this to their attention on getting the TV channel changed as quick as possible during a wedding reception.

    Many times when guest first show up it will be cold in The Gala. Like many halls it is important to get it cool because 100s of guest can really heat up any building quickly and then it is too hard to get it to a comfortable temperature. If you sit right by the bar it is usually colder in that area because there is a vent right above the bar.
  • H

    Haley · Married on 05/21/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    There were so many issues with our reception it makes me want to cry thinking about them. The phone was never answered, in fact if I would not have had Jeff's personal number I would not have had my walk through before the wedding. He called to try and change the walk through 2 hours before we finally had it scheduled. They only had one bartender set to staff when the reception started and someone from the wedding party helped serve the WARM beer because they "forgot" to put it on ice. We also paid for unlimited pop for our guests and they were charging. The bar staff was so rude they actually made me cry. They kept threatening to shut the bar down because people were taking drinks outside on the patio. Mind you they only had two people working the whole event. One of the bar tenders slammed the door in my face when I went to get people to come back inside, The DJ lost our CD with the slide show and we had to send someone across town to get the other copy. Jeff never responded to get things picked up and when he finally did he changed the time 20 minutes before we were set to arrive.

    Sent on 10/09/2015

    The Gala - Lincoln's reply:

    Hi Haley, I am really sorry that I did not notice this review sooner but I am just now learning about Wedding Wire and am trying to respond the best I can. I am very sorry that you were not happy and I wish I had known about any issues as they came up because I would have worked hard to resolve for you.

    We have never had a situation where we forgot to put the beer on ice. We have a very large walk in cooler and all beer goes in there. What did happen on the date of your wedding was the walk in cooler that was less than 1 year old broke down. It is very hard to get a tech on location at 6pm on a Saturday so I instructed 1 of the bartenders to put the kegs into trash cans and fill them with ice and to put the can beer in a reach in cooler that we had behind the bar. This did take 1 of the 2 bartenders away from the front of the bar for a period of time. We did have a situation when a guest who had been drinking kept trying to come behind the bar. This is a violation of Nebraska liquor laws to have a guest drinking and trying to serve beer so I hope you understand why we could not have that. Also, another violation of Nebraska liquor laws is to have guest bring their own drinks in to a bar and to also take drinks outside the bar. Our policy is very simple, if you guest bring in their own drinks we will shut the bar down until we get them all out. We have to protect Gala's liquor license so that the bride's coming in after you are assured of being able to have liquor served at their receptions. We are very sorry that this may have inconvenienced some of your guest but we hope you understand that we must follow the laws that are given to us.

    At all times we had 4 employees on location during the whole event

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review