Skip to main content
Weddings

The Ford Field & River Club Reviews

The Ford Field & River Club

The Ford Field & River Club

Richmond Hill, GA
4.5 out of 5 rating, 9 Reviews
View more information

9 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating

Awards

9
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

8 User photos

  • Bonnie
    Bonnie C. Married on 04/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding at Stunning Location!

    My Husband and I cant say enough positive things about the Ford Field and River Club. We feel so fortunate to have come across this gorgeous venue for our wedding and to have worked with the people we worked with there including Lauren, Makayla and Trey! What an all-star group of professionals who know how to make you feel at home and comfortable while you plan your big day. The landscape is STUNNING. The chef was INCREDIBLE. The Main House is GORGEOUS. This place is out of a movie and once you are there under those breathtaking Spanish moss trees, looking around at the elegance of the estate you'll know you made the right choice. This place is a gem, 10/10.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 04/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There are no words to sum up how much I love this place. I can't say enough good things about it. We got married at The Ford on April 16, 2016 and I am just dying to spend more time here. It's one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen and the staff is seriously incredible. I've never seen better service. We had the most perfect day all because of the lovely people at The Ford. It's absolutely breathtaking and worth every penny. Laura is just the best. We are stopping at nothing to retire here! The most beautiful Savannah area venue there is.
  • User2009437 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow, what a spectacular setting The Ford Plantation provides! The instant you drive into this venue you feel like you've stepped into a magical place. The staff was exceptional, making the wedding day flawless, despite several weather challenges throughout the day. The chef delivered an amazing meal, and was flexible and creative. Laura Johnston was such a pleasure to work with...accessible, always friendly, and truly loves what she does. She helped make the planning process seem so effortless! James is the consummate professional, and exudes southern charm and hospitality, in perfect keeping with such a stately venue. If you should choose to have your wedding at Ford, you will not be disappointed!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Catherine Married on 08/07/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ford Plantation was everything I always wanted in my wedding. The location is stunning, the staff at Ford make planning so easy, made our family feel welcome and comfortable, and on the day of, I felt such peace of mind knowing that everything was handled by true professionals. I wish we could go back and do it all over again - because we wouldn't change one thing. Perfection!

    The Ford Field & River Club's reply:

    Thank you!
  • M
    Mandy Married on 12/05/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our Reception was held at The Ford Plantation on December 5, 2009. It couldn't have been a more perfect experience. The History of the Plantation is evident as soon as you enter the gates. The staff worked hard with us to plan our special event. The Chef met with us prior to the reception date and he came up with wonderful southern menu to taste samples of what would become our final dinner. The night was perfect, every thing was set up perfectly, food was better than we could image, and everyone was very professional and helpful. I couldn't have picked a better place to have our reception, and very thankful for the staff for making our night very special...

    Matthew and Mandy Jones
  • S
    Stefany Married on 10/10/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Erika and the entire team at the Ford Plantation were incredibly professional, helpful and gracious. They truly made our wedding special, and worked very well within our parameters and budget. The setting, food and spirit were perfect...our guests are still talking about it.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 03/29/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Ford Plantation is a truly special place to get married, and the entire planning team is incredibly professional, thorough and beyond helpful -- they went the extra mile(s) to ensure my husband and I had the wedding we had dreamed of.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 04/18/2009
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    This was the most amazing place to have a wedding! It is such a laid back atmosphere with true southern hospitality. All our guests are still talking about their experience at ford.
  • Hope
    Hope T. Getting married on 05/06/2023
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    The worst wedding decision we made

    As a wedding photographer myself, I have never posted a negative review like this, but truly feel that I need to warn other potential couples. My fiance and I toured Ford and fell head-over-heels in love with the beautiful space in June of 2021. Shortly after, management was changed (we had no idea) and our experience rapidly went downhill. Communication was almost non-existent, we had to send dozens of follow-up emails to get a response and tens of thousands of dollars worth of expenses were added to our bill over 6 months AFTER booking. There were endless expenses that were not communicated to us up front (you have to pay to rent everything from trash cans to sheet pans) and our food and beverage estimate was more than 3x the minimum in our contract. Despite all of this, we went into our tasting experience hopeful that it would turn the experience around. We had communicated more than once, both verbally and in writing, that my fiance had celiac disease and would need gluten free food. As a venue that prides itself on it's 5-star fine dining experience (and requires you to use their catering), we expected they would have no problem handling such a common food allergy. Upon arriving, it was clear that the "5-star culinary experience" we were promised (with a $50,000+ price tag) could not even handle a common food allergy and had no interest in paying attention to client details. My fiance was served gluten more than 5 times, and one of those times the chef assured us the dish was gluten free just to come back later and say that it was not... this could have quite literally put my fiance in the hospital. When we asked Ford what they planned to do to repair this situation, they were far from apologetic or understanding. Instead, they were condescending and offered laughable solutions (i.e. $1000 off of a $50,000+ tab). Ultimately, we had to cancel our contract with Ford and change venues over a year into the planning process. As stunning as Ford's views are...nothing is worth the experience we had with them. We had a have 6-figure wedding budget and were made to feel like we were penny pinching just to afford the bare minimum in client experience. I hope changes are made to provide a better experience for future clients.