The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art Reviews

13 | Amherst, MA
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

13
Order by:
  • Meghan

    Meghan · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and Unique Venue

    We had a fantastic experience at the Eric Carle Museum, working with with Siobhan. The space itself is really fun and unique, but still elegant. Everyone loved both the indoor and outdoor space. We added on the art room, and it was a great addition--people were way more into it than I expected, and we got some beautiful and unique art from guests rather than a basic guest book. It's a little more work than an all-inclusive venue to coordinate bringing everything in to the Carle, but they were super flexible and willing to work with us, and their staff and suggested vendors were a huge help.

    Sent on 06/18/2019
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 07/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect for your storybook weding

    I can't rave enough about the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art! My husband and I immediately fell in love with the venue for our 10/27/2018 wedding, and as we only had a 5-month engagement, the museum's incredible staff were so vital to helping us pull off the wedding of our dreams! Siobhan was such a professional and made the entire process of planning (from recommending vendors to helping us choose a layout for the reception) as stress free as possible. On the day-of the wedding both Siobhan and Anne were a much needed calming presence, were so organized, and really went above and beyond the call of duty (i.e. literally zipping me into my dress and helping me get ready, and clearing the great hall before the ceremony so I could move around without being seen by my husband or early guests). Our guests all loved the venue, and so enjoyed the galleries during cocktail hour. The Carle is the perfect venue for any fun couple who wants their wedding to be creative, sweet, and a little out of the ordinary.

    Sent on 12/05/2018
  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We actually had an event last June but I wanted to get this done. My son had a out of town wedding and we wanted to have some type of event for the family and friends around here to celebrate their marriage. I can't say enough about this venue. Siobhan was fantastic to work with and everything went smoothly. She did everything possible to make the day special and have everything exactly the way we planned it.

    Sent on 02/17/2018
  • Z

    Zevidah · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Things I really appreciated about the Carle staff: willingness to help assure I could use a kosher caterer who was not previously approved which required a lot of back and forth on their part, quick responses via email or phone when I had questions or concerns, early access to the place to set up for the reception and use of the place later than any other venue we looked at. It's a gorgeous and unique setting which made for lots of fun and great pictures and it was affordable. Perfect!

    Sent on 09/01/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and reception was absolutely beautiful at the Eric Carle Museum. We had our ceremony facing the Japanese maple trees in the back of the museum and we were allowed to hang some simple paper lanterns to make for a nice backdrop. Our rain contingency plan was to get married in the great hall behind the large caterpillar bench since the theater wasn't our style.

    Perfect for kids- we opted to have the museum store, art galleries, library, and art studio open for the whole night and people had so much do (in addition to the dance floor and bar!). Instead of a traditional guest book, we choose to have each of our guests design/collage their own personal message on a page of a blank storybook-- it's so personal and allowed kids and adults to tap into their creative side! There were plenty of materials to work with for some amazing art turn-outs. You also have the option of renting the grand piano, which we did, in order to have my sister play a few songs at the reception.

    Finally, both Anne and SIobhan (the main coordinators at the museum) were very laid back, organized, and more than accommodating for all of our ideas, making the whole evening very personal. We planned the wedding ourselves from out-of-state and Siobhan was always able to hop on the phone, arrange centerpiece options and send the photos over, etc. or provide ideas from other great weddings. The staff the night-of were very professional and as the bride, I had nothing to worry about.

    Overall, a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 12/20/2016
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our wedding at the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art! We knew we wanted a unique venue and fell in love with it the first time we visited! It was great to be able to have a beautiful ceremony in the orchard outside and a fun colorful reception inside. Everyone had a blast at our wedding and loved being able to check out the art work in the galleries during cocktail hour. We definitely felt as though we had a lot of freedom to make the space personalized and look and feel just how we wanted it. Everything looked great! We even had a couple "best wedding I've ever been to" comments as people were leaving. Would absolutely recommend The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art to anyone looking for a fun and unique venue to hold their wedding!

    Sent on 09/21/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I were looking at wedding venues, we knew we wanted something a little different than the typical hotel/event space. We wanted a laid back, fun, and child friendly wedding, where dinner and dancing weren't the only activities. The Eric Carle Museum was perfect for us! The guests could use the art studio (we had them work on a mobile/sculpture for our house), visit the galleries, visit the children's library, along with the more traditional dancing and photo booth. Our guests seemed to love it. Some even said it was the best wedding they've been to, and a huge part of that was because of the venue.

    There is a lot of flexibility to personalize and customize the feel of your wedding at the museum. The only downside to that is that we had to hire a separate caterer, rent the tables and chairs, lead the rehearsal, etc. while many traditional venues have all that included. It meant a little more work for us, but it was well worth it! The Carle has a preferred list of vendors, so the ones we chose were already familiar with the staff and space. Our caterer (The Log Cabin/Delaney House) handled the table/chair rentals, setting up of favors, place cards, etc. which made it very easy since the museum doesn't do that. The museum staff is great and very easy to work with. I can't recommend The Eric Carle Museum enough!

    Sent on 08/08/2015
  • A

    allegra · Married on 09/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful backdrop for our special day. The staff were so helpful and the venue was amazing.

    Sent on 09/12/2013
  • L

    Lucy · Married on 10/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was an amazing venue for my son's wedding. He is quite young so the playfulness of the environment suited him and his fiance perfectly. Bonuses were having the galleries open during the cocktail hour so that guests could experience the museum, having the art studio open for guests to create remembrances for the couple and having the library open so the many younger children would have a place to sit and enjoy the extensive collection of picture books while the grown ups were dancing. I was able to create the flower arrangements on site the day before and they were stored in the fridge which made the day of the wedding much more relaxed for me. The excellent caterers (Esselon) were able to do everything they needed to do to present a perfect dinner. Siobhan did everything we asked of her. The wedding was an absolute delight.

    Sent on 11/12/2017
  • J

    Julianne · Married on 10/01/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are beyond thrilled that we decided to host our wedding reception at the Carle; it was such a fun and unique venue, and our guests really enjoyed that we did something a little different. The space is so gorgeous and colorful that we hardly needed to do any decorating at all, which was great for this DIY bride. Siobhan, the coordinator at the museum, was amazing to work with and extremely accommodating from the very beginning, as we sent dozens of emails back and worth to work out all of the little details. She provided us with a list of recommended vendors that they successfully worked with in the past; their only solid restriction is with the caterers, but they are flexible with that too if you have a specific request that the companies on their list can’t provide. The museum can only host events in their off hours, so we had to have an evening wedding, which was fine with us.
    When we originally booked the Carle, we were planning to have both our ceremony (outside) and reception (inside) on site, but a few months after we signed the contract, the museum decided that they were going to build a memorial garden for Eric Carle’s wife and construction was going to overlap with our wedding date. This meant that we wouldn’t be able to have our ceremony in the orchard as planned. We were disappointed at first, but Siobhan offered us a significant discount and helped us find another place to host that part of our day, which worked out perfectly!
    I seriously cannot say enough good things about our experience at the Eric Carle Museum! Everyone had such a great and completely stress-free time during our reception, and I would recommend this venue to everyone looking for something a little less traditional.

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/25/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a modern, but warm and inviting space for our wedding. This isn't easy to achieve in Western MA, but the Eric Carle Museum delivered exactly that and we are so thrilled we picked it for our wedding! It is clean and modern without being cold or sterile and our guests loved being able to visit the galleries. It was a truly unique and fun space to have a wedding, but still elegant enough to feel appropriate for such a special occasion.

    Our only minor regret is that we didn't opt to have the ceremony on site. I think that says it all. The outdoor space is so stunning and romantic and would have been perfect, but we decided we wanted a church. The cocktail hour outside was amazing though and the rest of the evening was beautiful and exactly what we envisioned. The staff at the Carle were extremely friendly, professional, flexible and helpful throughout the whole process. We had 140 people and it was the perfect size space for that group. It felt intimate, but spacious due to the tall ceilings and expansive glass wall. Not only was the event fantastic, but the space photographs so well. We have some absolutely amazing shots with the murals and the architecture is a beautiful backdrop.

    Our only advice to future couples considering the space is to carefully evaluate the lighting. We found the lowest lighting setting to be great for dinner and speeches, but too bright for dancing. In the end, we opted to turn off the lights altogether which left the space a little too dark. If we had realized this would be the case, we would have rented a few uplights as well as provided some kind of lighting for the bars because they ended up being quite dark. That said, this is an easily surmountable issue if you know to address it upfront.

    We can't recommend this venue highly enough and are so thankful to everyone at the Carle (especially the Events Coordinator Siobhan) for making our night so very special!



    Sent on 08/18/2016
  • M

    Maura · Married on 09/07/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Venue!!

    What a perfect place for a wedding! It's whimsical, elegant, fun, and even a bit nostalgic. The galleries were open during cocktail hour for our guests to explore, and everyone loved the indoor/outdoor experience with the patio and garden. The events manager, Siobhan, was extremely responsive and very helpful down to the last detail. We always felt that we were in terrific and capable hands during the whole process. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a great place to hold a fun, somewhat nontraditional wedding!

    Sent on 10/17/2018
  • R

    R · Married on 06/05/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't imagine having our wedding reception anywhere but the Carle - for so many reasons - and are thrilled to have made the decision to do so. We loved the space, loved working with everyone there to get ready, and loved being surrounded by children's picture book art on our big day. It was absolutely perfect for us!

    Sent on 08/11/2016