Weddings

The Cottages on Charleston Harbor Reviews

The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

The Cottages on Charleston Harbor

Mount Pleasant, SC
Rating 4.1 out of 5, 6 Reviews
View more information

6 Reviews

Rated
4.1
out of 5.0
Recommended by 82% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4 out of 5

Awards

  • 6

12 User photos

Sort by:
  • J
    Jamie J. Married on 04/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautifully unique hotel and wedding venue!

    We stayed at the Cottages for our intimate wedding ceremony and dinner and don’t regret a thing!

    The venue is gorgeous – you have views of both the marsh and harbor, and sometimes have a small beach when the tide is out! Lisa and her team did a phenomenal job prepping the lawn area to make sure our day was picture perfect. The cottages themselves are timelessly homey while still providing that elevated “hotel” experience (I would absolutely recommending stay here over a beach house if I were visiting Charleston!). Being able to stay at our wedding venue location made our entire wedding party more relaxed and turned the wedding from just a one-day-event into a vacation.

    Note – they have two separate cottage lawns, so this venue can absolutely support bigger weddings if necessary, but we opted for the smaller of the two!

    Speaking as a local - this is truly a unique venue that provides an ambiance that you cannot get anywhere else in Charleston, and we’re so happy we had our wedding here.
  • L
    Liz Married on 10/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter's wedding was held at The Cottages of Charleston Harbor. It was just beautiful! We have had so many compliments on the wedding, and the staff was extremely helpful. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting.
  • A
    Alicia Married on 05/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose the Cottages for our wedding venue because of the beautiful views and the adorable cottages. It was important to have our family all in one area so we rented out all 10 cottages to make our wedding a private event. We did the ceremony outside in front of Cottages 4,5,&6 and then the reception beside Cottage 1. The locations was perfect, the staff felt like family, and my dream wedding became a reality thanks to this venue!
  • User2186770 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Cottages were a spectacular venue for both our wedding/reception and rehearsal. I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting. It was the perfect place for our wedding. We did an informal rehearsal which had a warm family style feel. We didn't know how wonderful the experience was going to be until we started the day of prep. To be able to get ready in a house, on the same property as the event, made the day a breeze!! The ceremony along the waterfront and the reception at sunset was everything a bride could dream of.
    The only thing; as wonderful a venue as it is, it is very difficult to rent the space, due to the rules about also renting a certain number of cottages. However, if you look at it like we did, you can have your friends and family help you partially pay for the venue space. And you have to make sure they are not already booked for the weekend you want. However, if you get as lucky as we did, you will have one of the most special spaces in the Charleston area!!
  • User1521750 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Beautiful locate and extremely private. Once there quality of service and attention to detail and us were impeccable. The only dilemma is the planning process - at times the event planner there was not flexible and comes across harsh.
  • Kristen
    Kristen Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    We booked our September 29, 2018 wedding at the Cottages on Charleston Harbor in February 2018. We contracted with the venue for more than $8,000 worth of accommodations, including the event space fee. We also signed a room block contract with the neighboring resort for our guests of $4,000.

    In August 2018, I asked the Cottages to confirm if the dock between our reception space and the neighboring resort had been fully repaired and if we could use it for our photos. I was told that we could use the dock for photos before 4 p.m. because a concert would be taking place on the beach… That’s how we discovered a national touring indie rock concert had been booked, a double-header, at the exact same time and 10 feet away from our wedding.

    The neighboring resort booked Moon Taxi with Ripe as an opener in July 2018 with Ears for Music (a concert promoter) and did not consult our wedding venue prior to booking.

    The Cottages and the neighboring resort are two separate companies. They had no written agreement in place, we had no legal opportunity to fight back. The “partnership” is extremely irresponsible.

    We were told that they would surely solve the situation and waited a full week before being informed that they would not move or cancel the concert. Both properties offered to release us from our contract and we left. Forty days from our wedding and the amazing staff at another venue took us in. When I asked Lisa, general manager of the Cottages, to reimburse us for new wedding invitations and for the time spent moving 11 vendors, she directed me to the the neighboring resort as it was “completely their fault.”

    We were not reimbursed by the neighboring resort.

    The Cottages on Charleston Harbor's reply:

    While it is true The Charleston Harbor Resort did book a concert over your dates - I immediately started dialog with the general manager at the resort to see how this could have happened. There is an approval process for all of the events held at the resort, and events have to be permitted by the Town of Mt Pleasant and our property approving is part of the process. I contacted the town and no permit had been approved; and they were willing to deny the permit. I called you from my vacation and shared this information with you-This was ten days after we both found out about the event. Prior to me leaving you pushed that you wanted to cancel, I told you I was also working with the town and I asked you to wait a few more days. I called you from my vacation and told you the town would deny the permit. You did not want your wedding with us. We thoughtfully allowed you out of your contract . You still used our exclusive caterer. It did take longer than a week to get information from the town. But you did not have to move this event, you chose to move this event. In good faith, and so your wedding would be wonderful, we allowed you out of your contract and refunded all monies paid to us.