Is this your business? Claim this listing
• Customize your Storefront with your business info
• Network with and learn from other professionals
• Showcase your work with photos & videos
• Collect reviews from your clients and build more credibility

26 Reviews for The Altamont Theatre

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Indoor (4)
Lighting/Sound (4)
Accommodations (3)
Bartender(s) (3)
House Beer (3)
House Wine (3)
Liquor License (3)
Open Bar (3)
Premium Liquor (3)
Specialty Beer (3)
Specialty Wine (3)
Barware (3)
Bridal Suite (2)
House Liquor (2)
Event Planning (1)
Cash Bar (1)
24 The Altamont Theatre Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

To begin, The Altamont staff are unrivaled in their courteousness, professionalism, and all-around customer service. When my fiancée and I first approached this venue, we were nervous about choosing such an intimate and highly sought-after space; the booking liaisons could not have been kinder and more honest. They immediately put together a plan based on our needs—and dreams—ensuring each detail (and cost) be transparent and fluid.
The venue itself is obviously stunning—if you're going to get married in a theatre in Downtown Asheville (and don't want to break the bank), this is perfection. The stage, the lofts, the location; it seems unattainable, right?
Which brings me to the most important part: they worked with us. The Altamont staff bent over backwards to not only update the invoice (which, as any couple knows, is a constant issue), but they were willing to evolve the space. I can't think of another establishment that has treated a customer with such patience and attention to detail.
A heartfelt thank you to everyone at The Altamont Theatre, and we'll see you again, soon.

Profile Picture Christian, 10/21/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

The Altamont was the first venue that my husband and I visited when we were planning our destination wedding in Asheville, NC. From the get go we had made up our minds. After visiting a few other venues, we kept finding ourselves saying what a great vibe we got when we visited the space, and how welcomed we felt by Richard Barrett (co-owner). In addition, the prices were very reasonable, and the sound in the venue is AMAZING, which was very important to us as we are very into live music. Richard went out of his way to accommodate many visits by our families, and helping us find other vendors. We decided to go with his band the Greenliner’s who went above and beyond our expectations! The guests loved it. We went with beer and wine for the bar, and it was not your typical selection. There were at least five craft beers and great wine selections (no yellowtail in sight). The space has such a intimate feeling; perfect for a small to mid-sized wedding. We had around 100. I also highly recommend renting the condos above the venue. We had all of the wedding party stay right above and it was so much fun and extremely convenient! Rachel was very helpful nailing down the final details and helping the day run so smoothly. Per Richard’s recommendation we went with Taryn Gentry, Deborah, and her “Geaux Girls” as our day of coordinators. Let me tell you- these ladies are far more than a day of coordinators, they do it all! Unfortunately, before the wedding my mother became very ill, and we were not sure if she would make it to the big day. Both the Geaux Girls and The Altamont staff were extremely responsive to this, and were prepared with plans A,B,and C. I cannot express the gratitude I have for the staff here. Not only is it a beautiful space, but we have found a great friend in Richard. If you are thinking about using this venue, just do it! Our friends and family are still talking about how it was “the best wedding ever”.

Profile Picture Lauren, 10/28/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Bartender(s), Cash Bar, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Event Planning, Lighting/Sound, Barware
5.0

If you are having a wedding in Asheville, NC my wife and I HIGHLY recommend the Altamonte theatre for your rehearsal dinner! The owners are extremely professional and bent over backwards to make the event spectacular! The Altamonte is in the perfect location in the heart of downtown and has been voted the number one listening room in Western NC. We had The Greenliners ( One of the owners Richards band) play while our guests ate and mingled and their music was nothing short of a five star rating as well! the beer was local, the wine was excellent, and it was served to nearly 100 guests by a friendly staff in their awesome downstairs bar. If we were to do it again we wouldn't change a thing!

Profile Picture Preston, 8/13/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

WOW!! We could not have been happier with choosing The Altamont for our wedding ceremony and reception. The venue was amazing! The main room with the stage and lighting was a wonderful backdrop for the ceremony. The two-story lobby with bar is beautifully decorated and was perfect for guest gathering during the cocktail hour and reception. The main room was transformed in no time from "ceremony" into the most magnificent reception. All of our guest could not stop talking about what a lovely venue The Altamont was. It's right in the heart of downtown Asheville which all of our guest loved. We rented the 6 condo units above The Altamont for the weekend for the bridal party and some family. Beautiful and spacious. Richard and the team at the Altamont were nothing short of amazing! We worked closely with Richard throughout planning and preparing our wedding. He was always there to help in any and every way imaginable. His attention to the detail and working with the other vendors made everything run so smoothly. Things could not have been more perfect. They went above and beyond to make everything that weekend spectacular!! Thank you for making our wedding a very special and incredible day!!

Profile Picture User4971714, 1+ year ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We hosted our ceremony and reception at the Altamont Theatre, and it was the perfect night for us, in large part due to the efforts of Richard and the Altamont team. They are wonderful to work with - accommodating and helpful throughout the entire planning process and event. And they truly care about making your day special. Richard provided so many useful suggestions that really helped us plan our perfect wedding. The space is amazing, too. It provided for a very intimate and romantic wedding. The entire night exceeded our expectations.

Profile Picture Gabrielle, 4/16/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bartender(s), House Beer, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Indoor, Barware, Accommodations, Lighting/Sound
5.0

We wanted a location near the center of Asheville so that guests could easily walk from hotel to wedding location and then to the reception easily. (Particularly important if guests had been drinking.) This location suited us perfectly for the wedding ceremony when our son Craig got married in March. He is a wedding DJ (Craig Lewis Weddings on Wedding Wire) and knew exactly what he wanted for his own wedding and chose this venue.

An added bonus is a lovely modern condo unit upstairs with two bedrooms and a large lounge where the bride and groom can stay and change into their wedding attire and entertain a few friends. That was perfect!

The staff there were friendly and very helpful in making everything work perfectly for us. It was a great location for our 110 guests and jugglers and the decorations looked great with uplighting along the sides of the theater and stage made up to look like a circus tent to fit our circus theme, with the help of "Forty Fingers and a Missing Tooth" and "Johnson City Circus Arts".

Profile Picture Evan, 3/26/16, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
Services Used: Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Lighting/Sound, Indoor
5.0

My (now) wife and I were incredibly fortunate to discover The Altamont Theater when planning our destination wedding to Asheville. Our original plan was to avoid renting out a single space as it was an intentionally small wedding (under 40 people) however we were running into great difficulties finding restaurants, bars, dance spaces, etc. that were willing to allow us to hold a private event on a Saturday afternoon/evening. We found The Altamont searching spaces online when we were about to give up entirely and from the first conversation with the owner, Richard Barrett, we knew we had found our missing link. Right away Richard was highly energetic and positive about our plans and ideas and we booked with them without having seen the space in person. Richard also recommended and introduced us to our Wedding Planner who was another key contributor to pulling off a magical day. When we first saw the Altamont Theater, and met with Richard we felt right at home and fell in love with the venue. The space has a very warm, inviting feeling with all the infrastructure needed (lights, sound, bar, couches, etc.) while also being optimal for adding your personal touches to make your vision for your wedding venue come alive. In every step of the way Richard was incredibly responsive, enthusiastic, providing suggestions, being flexible, and there was nothing we asked about that he didn’t know or easily worked out for us. All the planning/prep work was seamless and we knew through working with Richard that we were working with a kindred spirit. When it came to the day of the wedding set up was as smooth as could be. The Altamont already has relationships with the major vendors in the area so they know how each other operates. The additional decorations, florist, and other deliveries went off without a hitch. We would highly recommend The Altamont to anyone looking for a special wedding venue in Asheville where your dream of the perfect day can become reality.

Profile Picture Drew, 3/19/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Band, Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Indoor, Bartender(s), House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Lighting/Sound, Barware
5.0

Richard and crew made our authentic wedding glorious. Everything was synchronized, elegant, accommodating, easy, timely, super fun, clean, organized, flexible, and in the perfect location!
Having the rooms upstairs was extremely beneficial and helped with both prep and clean up so everyone could relax and enjoy the incredible sound system. For us as a creative couple, having our wedding in a theater was perfect because we could utilize the intimate but open space as a canvas to bring our own pizazz which saved us a lot of money, who doesn't love that?! We had a 1920s themed celebration and the stage was an incredible backdrop for our sacred ceremony, we had the Emprire Strikes Brass play, which Richard both suggested and organized-a huge hit, set up a projector, a photo both and the bartender served delishious themed cocktails to please any palate. It was unique and memorable, we couldn't be happier with the Altamont and the marvelous team. Sam took excellent care of us, checking in frequently to ensure we had all we needed. The night of. Richard also connected us with our wedding planner Sara Henry who went over and beyond our expectations. We will forever be grateful for the support and memories they provided for us and our extended family and friends.

Profile Picture Ashley, 3/19/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The Altamont: We searched thoroughly for venues in Asheville for an evening cocktail party for over 100 people. Early in the search The Altamont Theatre and owner Richard Barrett surfaced as our strong first choice. The rental was reasonable and Richard proved he was as eager as we were to make the party work out in every way.

Planning our reception remotely from Detroit, good communication skills were essential for all players and a level of trust developed right off. Richard advised on reputable caterers, rental companies and was even able to predict down to 4 remaining bottles of wine our bar needs. Richard has a natural ability to problem solve and work through issues while keeping the clients budget needs foremost. Although I worked hard with the caterer and served up an impressive bar, even with my additions of party decor and personal touches the positive comments were, nearly every one, about the actual space.. “What a fantastic venue.” “How’d you find this awesome place?” “What a perfect spot for a party.” The Altamont Theatre walls are adorned with rotating art exhibitions which compliment the architectural feel of this downtown Asheville storefront. Beautiful double entrance doors, hardwood floors and moldings, high ceilings, and a vintage open staircase that connects three different levels create a remarkable and unique backdrop for any affair. We had one shot at making a lasting impression... and we did, at The Altamont.

Profile Picture User5495378, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

The Altamont: We searched thoroughly for venues in Asheville for an evening cocktail party/rehearsal dinner for over 100 people. Early in the search The Altamont Theatre and owner Richard Barrett surfaced as our strong first choice. The rental was reasonable and Richard proved he was as eager as we were to make the party work out in every way.

Planning our reception remotely from Detroit, good communication skills were essential for all players. A level of trust developed right off. Richard advised on reputable caterers, rental companies and was even able to predict our bar needs down to the 4 remaining bottles of wine. Richard has a natural ability to problem solve and work through issues while keeping the client's budget needs foremost. Although I worked hard with the caterer and we served up an impressive bar, even with my additions of party decor and personal touches the many positive comments, nearly every one, were about the actual space. “What a fantastic venue.” “How’d you find this awesome place?” “What a perfect spot for a party.” The Altamont Theatre walls are adorned with rotating art exhibitions which complement the architectural feel of this downtown Asheville storefront. Beautiful double entrance doors, hardwood floors and moldings, high ceilings, and a vintage open staircase that connects three different levels create a remarkable and unique backdrop for any affair. We had one shot at making a lasting impression... and we did, at The Altamont.

Profile Picture Lad, 9/25/15, 1 Review
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
4.5

The Altamont provided a unique venue for the Rehearsal event planned for my son's wedding. His dearest wish was to have a gathering spot for his out of town friends to enjoy music provided by his favorite band. The Altamont was perfect for such a function. Richard was genuinely interested in the success of the event and was more than flexible in helping us plan a memorable evening. Our guest's ages bridged a wide span, and all felt comfortable in the setting. The location on Church street was wonderful. The abililty to rent the condos above the theater was a great perk to offer guests who needed out of town accomodations.

Profile Picture User5453345, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

Richard, who runs the Altamonte Theatre, is awesome! We are grateful for all his help with our rehearsal dinner!

Profile Picture User5462344, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Band, Catering, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Unique Services (Other), Wedding Planning
5.0

We recently had our wedding reception at the Altamont, and we really enjoyed it. Richard worked with us to make sure that everything went smoothly; it was wonderful to get such a great experience at a fraction of the cost we would have had to pay at comparable venues. Almost everything was taken care of, and where the Altamont could not provide services directly, they gave us great recommendations. If you're looking for a fun, unique downtown venue at a great price, this is the place.

Profile Picture Tabitha, 8/8/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5

Great and affordable venue. The staff was easy to work with and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this venue!

Profile Picture Becky, 7/1/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0

This is the perfect wedding destination for the ceremony, reception, and there are apartments fully furnished and very accommodating for guests or anyone who needs a place to stay. My husband and I used this location for all of these things and found the management very helpful!! Five star service and setup!

Profile Picture Alya, 7/1/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I was so worried about 'the little things' that I had forgotten about until the last minute, like where to put the guests coats, but I happily discovered that the management had already thought of and taken care of everything! I was able to enjoy the event without worry! Very thankful for the friendly capability of the mangagement and staff.

Profile Picture Melinda, 11/16/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I simply can not say enough to express my satisfaction with our entire weekend of events at the Altamont. From the moment we called and set our date with Richard, until the moment or last bag was packed back into our car the day after our wedding, Richard went far above and beyond our expectations to cover every detail with exemplary attention. If I had it to do again,I would most definitely choose the Altamont, hands down.

Profile Picture Amber, 10/25/14, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Lighting & Decor, Party Supplies, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Travel, Wedding Planning
5.0

I would highly recommend this venue! Richard is a 5 star host, and make your event as special as this actual venue. The space was perfect for our wedding! I highly recommend renting the condos above for easy access to the venue and the amazing downtown attractions. Definitely go to the double decker bus for coffee. Richard also supports local talent and breweries by offering local craft beers on tap for your event (nice touch) and local bands just in case! The transition from wedding to reception was seemless and beautiful. Again, if your thinking of this as an option for any event, it will fit your needs! Also, Richard is definitely a pleasure to work with and will totally cater to your needs and keep you informed on every detail. 5 stars all the way!

Profile Picture Brandelle, 10/25/14, 1 Review
Category: Band, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Favors & Gifts, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Unique Services (Other)
5.0

Richard is an absolute joy to work with. He is sincere, trustworthy, and accommodating. He feels like a part of our family now!
The Altamont was perfect for our celebration of marriage. We had about 150 guests with around 20 kids. There was plenty of room for everyone and the kids had a blast. We are thinking of having an anniversary party at the Altamont every year!!
I highly recommend Richard and the Altamont Theater for any event you might have!

Profile Picture Lisa, 8/31/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This was a beautiful venue which accommodated all of our event needs. The wedding was beautiful, from the ceremony to the pre-reception in the lounge and bar area, to the reception in the main hall. They had everything we needed and for things they didn't offer themselves they were incredibly helpful in meeting our needs and directing us. They were incredibly professional and seemed so happy to be hosting us. We would absolutely have another event here and would gladly recommend this venue to others!

Profile Picture Kathryn, 7/19/14, 1 Review
Category: Band, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Ceremony Music, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Flowers, Lighting & Decor
5.0

We held the rehearsal dinner, wedding and wedding reception at the Altamont Theater and could not have asked for a more enjoyable experience. Richard, Chris, Brian and Tiffany went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect and they were a joy to work with. They went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed or wanted. Being able to stay at the Altamont Condos was an added benefit. The condos were magnificent and very convenient to be right there at the same site. The food that was catered by them was fantastic and reasonable. Without a doubt I would recommend this venue for any event.

Profile Picture Melissia, 6/21/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We recently held our wedding reception at The Altamont Theatre. We also booked the condos above the theatre for my family from out of town to stay in, as well as my husband and I. We were so pleased with the level of professionalism as well as with the accommodations provided. They were so helpful with the planning and offered literally every service we needed. No other vendors were necessary. I would recommend them to absolutely anyone.

Profile Picture Emily, 5/31/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, DJ, Travel, Wedding Planning
5.0

We held the rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding at the Altamont Theatre. It was a great experience from beginning to end. Richard, Brian and Chris went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to have a great event. It's a great space in the heart of beautiful downtown Asheville, and everyone loved it. We had The Green Room Bistro cater a BBQ buffet, which was excellent, as well.I highly recommend this venue for special events!

Profile Picture Lisa, 5/24/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We held my son's wedding rehearsal dinner at the Altamont Theatre and were extremely pleased with the whole experience. I worked with Richard for several months in planning the event, and he was great to work with and very responsive to my calls and emails during the whole process. The event was a huge success, and everyone commented on how nice the venue was. Everyone was so accommodating during the event and obviously wanted to make sure everything was perfect and everyone had a good time. They were willing to do anything necessary to make the evening everything I had envisioned. In addition to the beautiful space and the excellent staff, the food was really great. The Green Room Bistro and Bar catered a BBQ buffet, which was excellent. Everyone raved about the food, especially the hush puppies! I highly recommend the Altamont Theatre as a venue for any special occasion.

Profile Picture Lisa, 5/24/14, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue