Weddings

That Takes the Cake Reviews

That Takes the Cake View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

2 User photos

Sort by:
  • Christina
    Christina M. Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect and delicious

    My wedding cake and cupcakes where amazing. Everything was perfect and she did what I wanted to a T.

    That Takes the Cake's reply:

    Thank you so much Christina!! It was so fun being a part of your big day!! We loved your pink theme! Congratulations to you both!!
  • J
    Joseph Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    That takes the Cake is hands down the best place to get cupcakes and a wedding cake. We drove around everywhere looking for the right vendor for our wedding cake and ultimately chose them even though they were 1.5 hours away. Susan is an excellent partner who is very respectful and flexible. We had about 150 guests and ordered 200 cupcakes (4 flavors 50 each) and all of it was cleaned out by the end of the wedding. The red velvet and champagne flavors were cleared almost instantaneously. Our cake was so visually pleasing and tasty. That Takes The Cake has won several awards and it truly shows in the quality of their work. I wouldn’t change a thing with them! Thank you Susan and Team!
  • K
    Krisie Married on 11/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sue and Paul make such delicious and beautiful cupcakes!!! The cupcakes were more gorgeous than I ever imagined. Sue came and set them up for us. This company is reliable, inexpensive, and just awesome. Thank you so much!!!

    That Takes the Cake's reply:

    Thank you Krisie! We had so much fun making your cupcakes with all the fun seashells on each! Thank you!!!
  • V
    Veronica Married on 07/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sue at That Takes The Cake was seriously wonderful to work with! We showed her pictures of what we wanted, and she gave suggestions on flavors while we were doing our cake tasting. She was extremely friendly and our cake was everything we dreamed it would be!

    That Takes the Cake's reply:

    Thank you so much Veronica! We loved your cake!!! 5 tiers is a pretty large cake to make and we had so much fun with yours!! We posted it on our facebook page if you want to check it out and see what our other customers are saying about it!!
  • M
    Mags Married on 12/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Give as much detail as you can and give lots of sample photos for the cake you want. Sue and her team are so accommodating; they really go out of their way to make the cake exactly how you want it to look. Very professional! :)
  • S
    Sarah Married on 11/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sue at That Takes the Cake was absolutely wonderful to work with. I planned our wedding in Port Ludlow from London (where I currently live) for the day after Thanksgiving. Sue had no problem working with us via email to make sure we had the perfect cake, or with taking the order even though it was during a long holiday weekend. She was very responsive and full of suggestions, and created the coolest Lego-themed wedding cake for us (my new husband is a huge Lego fan) - which was also delicious (and one layer was gluten free, so I could eat it!). Sue delivered the cake on time (so no stress about where it was!) and we were so pleased with the results!

    I highly recommend That Takes the Cake, and I am looking forward to being back on the Peninsula so we can pop up to their bakery for an afternoon of cupcakes :)
  • User2704249 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Purchased a 2-tier dairy-free wedding cake in Lemon-Lavender and a seperate half-sheet cake with regular preparation in the same flavor (asked for ~80 servings, easily could have fed 100) . That Takes the Cake was awesome! They took the weather, time frame and all other details into account to make the custom designed decorations look fantastic. They even covered our DF cake with fondant and then decorated it with regular buttercream frosting so we could have the look we desired and then the fondant was peeled off for an allergy-free experience. It was great for all of the vegans in the room as well and tasted bold and delicious. Received many compliments from very excited guests regarding the perfect balance of not-too-sweet and the unique flavor.
  • M
    Marionette Married on 04/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Presentation at the wedding expo was on point! When it came to driving up for our little trip lets just say,..oh my goodness!!! Cutest little cake shop! Loved our consultation! So did our daughter! It was wonderful that they allowed her to be apart of this special time with us in deciding our wedding cake! Design turned out really well came the big day and everyone loved it! So yummy!

    That Takes the Cake's reply:

    Thank you very much!! Your little one was so cute at our consultation!! Wishes for a very happy new year!!!
  • Kara
    Kara Married on 12/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We love Sue and Paul from That Takes the Cake! They made the whole cake process simple, fun, and delicious! We knew after tasting the cupcakes that we wanted to use them for our wedding cake. We ended up with a beautiful 4 tier wedding cake with a gorgeous winter theme that was almost too pretty to cut! Our guests loved the cake and the flavors of the cake, especially the almond poppyseed! So delicious!
    We also used That Takes the Cake for our grooms cake at the rehearsal, which was cupcakes made to look like Luigi wearing a tux from Mario Brothers. We couldn't believe how awsome the cupcakes turned out and it looked just like Luigi! We also requested a birthday cake to celebrate the 5 December birthdays in our families and Sue made a beautiful chocolate cake with peppermint frosting that was to die for. It was the hit of the rehearsal!
    Sue was easily accessible via email and phone and was a pleasure to work with! We can't thank That Takes the Cake enough for giving us such wonderful service and cake! We highly recommend them!

    That Takes the Cake's reply:

    Thank you so much Kara and Paul!! We LOVED working with you both to create your wedding cakes that you would be proud to serve! We appreciate your kind words and hope to make cake for you both again soon!! Your parents came up and bought cupcakes after the wedding with such nice things to say about your wedding cake as well! Blessings for a wonderful marriage!
  • D
    Destiny Married on 08/30/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I absolutely loved our cake and cupcakes! We had a barn wedding and I felt the cake went very well with the theme! Everyone was asking about the champagne flavor and the almond poppy seed! They were so good!

    That Takes the Cake's reply:

    Thank you so much Destiny!! Your wedding was so beautiful! It was such a pleasure to be a part of your big day!

    Sue and Paul
  • K
    Keleofa Married on 05/17/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I wish I could give 100 stars! We contacted Sue at That Takes the Cake less than 2 weeks before our wedding and were so thrilled that she was able to help us on such short notice. My husband and I met with Sue for a tasting/consultation and it was, by far, the most fun we had during our entire "wedding planning" process! I wish I could do it again! Sue has been doing cakes for over 29 years and she was SUPER helpful and not pushy. We didn't have a specific vision so we trusted her expertise and advice to come up with a design. We felt extremely confident in her because, even meeting her briefly, you can tell she is very passionate about cake! Every single flavor we tasted was outstanding. I'm not a huge fan of cupcakes but I wish I lived close enough to eat there every day!

    Sue delivered and setup our dessert table and it looked amazing. We ended up picking 5 different flavors (cake and cupcakes) and everything was TO DIE FOR delicious!!! Best part of the night for sure. Guests were RAVING about the flavors. I only wish we would have bought MORE!
  • M
    Mary Married on 11/05/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They made our wedding cake a few months ago. Our guests are still letting us know how much they loved the Cake design but the flavor was the best they ever had in a wedding cake! Thank you so much for the best experience!! We'll always order our special cakes through you!!
    John and Mary
  • M
    Melissa Married on 03/11/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    That Takes the Cake out of Sequim, WA was amazing! Sue was an absolute dream to work with and had vast amount of cake examples for me to look at. I found my dream cake and she made any changes necessary that I wanted. Not only did the cake look amazing at the wedding but it tasted so delicious. I was able to have 2 flavors and the guests were so happy with the choices and enjoyed the cake just as much as we did. I highly recommend for a dream looking cake and taste!
  • M
    Michael Married on 08/28/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I met with the owner and she was very helpful. We scheduled a tasting and I brought my now wife along to discuss options and flavors, etc. She lives far-is away but was so helpful and responsive via phone. In the end she delivered an amazing cake and even met me halfway the day before the wedding! Absolutely recommend!
  • D
    Jamie Married on 07/10/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Fantastic cupcakes....yummy flavors and lots and lots of rave reviews from our wedding guests!!!
  • A
    Andrew Married on 03/15/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This cake lady turned out great. Alot cheaper than other places in the area. Ours was 2.75 a person. Also great fresh raspberry filling.
  • 7
    Brittany Married on 07/10/2009
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The cake was absolutely delicious and couldn't have been more worth it! The price is VERY reasonable and no other vendor holds a candle to this one! Very easy to work with and makes your vision a reality!
  • User1085409 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The cake was delicious, and beautiful.
    We loved the owner, she was funny and friendly. She did a great job helping us design the cake. She does great work without even having to use fondant, her icing tastes so good. She is very talented and did I mention that the cake tasted amazing? If you can go to Sequim for a cake tasting, I guarantee you will choose this business to do your wedding cake.
  • T
    Tara Married on 08/28/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The best tasting wedding cake you will ever have!!! Our favorite flavor fillings were raspberry, lemon and grand marnier orange.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 10/10/2009
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sue did everything I wanted on my cake. It looked amazing and she did exactly what i envisioned. They only thing is i wish i would have tired exactly what i signed up to serve because i think that i had to many flavors going on and made it to rich. I should have had it a little simplier.
  • cindybindy
    Cindy Married on 09/05/2009
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great cake, very easy to work with.
  • M
    Maggie Married on 06/28/2008
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sue operates this business out of her home, but is very experienced and does a beautiful job. She has many example cakes decorated when you go for a consultation, and does a good tasting with a wide variety of flavors. Her cakes taste good and she is great to work with. Her prices are unbeatable too. I would definitely recommend her.
  • User1530366 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    When we went in, they were awesome. Sue helped us look through a BUNCH of different cakes, and she fed us free coffee and cake samples. De-lish! We ended up with peach schnapps and almond poppy seed as our layered flavors. Wow, so good. And folks at our wedding gushed over it. One thing mention is it got a little unclear as to when the cake would be getting dropped off at the venue--the window they gave was really large, maybe 4 hours--so that made the day-of a tad stressful. Nothing much, really, and it all worked out wonderfully!
  • User1072356 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We truly loved our cake! That takes the cake was able to really capture what we were looking for. However, we ordered a sheet cake along with our 4 tier cake because we had many guests. We never received the sheet cake! Good thing we had enough to go around but it was still disappointing. I would recomend That takes the cake but make sure you have someone get in touch with them to make sure that they have all they need before they make it to your venue.
  • C
    Cheryl Married on 05/18/2013
    Rating 2.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    The cake was absolutely beautiful. HOWEVER we ordered a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing and got what appeared to be an attempt at a red velvet cake. The cake was even brown, tasted more like chocolate cake. Even the guests were asking me if it was chocolate cake. Very disappointing because we were looking so forward to it. For the price we were very disappointed. The only piece I eat was the bite we took together. :( I highly recommend doing a taste test before ordering from this vendor..