11 Reviews for Susan Lane Events

4.9
out of 5.0
Sort by:

5.0

Susan is wonderful to work with. I am the Mother of the Bride and hired her for a wedding hosted at my home. She is so flexible and experienced that she can work well with any one. She can take your vision and make it a better reality than you could imagine. I am very glad that she helped make this experience a truly wonderful one.

Profile Picture Judy, 7/3/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

Susan,

Anne and I are both back in Boston for the first time since the wedding, so we wanted to sit down together immediately and tell you what a fabulous job you did for all of us.

We now fully recognize how unrealistic our initial expectations were for what would be required to produce the kind of destination wedding that we wanted. But you helped us through the process, you listened to what we wanted, and you corralled an enormous group of vendors from all corners of New England to work together seamlessly. Who would have thought that a "barn" wedding would be so much more complicated than one in a more typical venue? Every detail, every piece of equipment, every service, every element of decor had to be planned and procured as if it had never been done before, and yet you found people to take care of everything. From the rehearsal dinner, to the Saturday activities, to the wedding ceremony (the "Chapel in the Woods" looked absolutely spectacular!), to the cocktail tent & hors oeuvres, to the reception (with the gorgeous table decorations, delicious food, and totally rockin' band), not to speak of the wildly dramatic fireworks - the entire weekend was completely magical. We could not possibly be more thrilled or more appreciative of your help in making it all possible. We have received dozens of cards and emails from family and friends saying how much fun it was, how much they felt a part of our family, and how clearly this wedding reflected Kendra and Jenny's love for each other and for their guests. Their marriage is off to a fabulous start, with their first hours overflowing with joy.

Thank you, we will forever be grateful.

Anne and Marc

Profile Picture Marc, 9/20/14, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

We hired Susan to advise along the way with the wedding planning with special attention to the month before and the weekend of. She did an excellent job of connecting with all of our many vendors (it was a home wedding in Maine with lots of moving parts!), suggesting ways to make the day be just what we hoped it would be, and filling in details that might have been over looked. She ran the show on the day of and came to our rescue when the caterer fell down on the job. She and her assistant literally saved the day! Neither the bride and groom or any of our guests knew of any issues with the food and service because Susan was able to jump in to get everything back on track. I have used Susan for catering many times over the years and have highly recommended her to many people, but she out-did herself on this event. Highly recommend!

Profile Picture User4205172, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

I hired Susan Lane Events to provide weekend-of coordination for my backyard wedding in Maine (a bit our of their normal service area but my parents had used Susan for catering in MA and knew she would be great for the wedding.)

My wedding weekend went incredibly smoothly, and I found out (weeks later!) this was largely thanks to Susan and her staff. The day of my wedding, our head caterer emailed us to say she wasn't coming due to a family emergency. Susan and co stepped in and managed the kitchen staff and servers in addition to the overseeing they had originally been assigned. The highest praise I can give them is that I wasn't aware at all of the chaos going on behind the scenes. Everything went very smoothly - on time and effortless. The best part was that my parents, parents-in-law, and my husband and I got to thoroughly enjoy the day and literally had nothing to worry about.

Susan's attention to detail is impeccable and I would highly recommend her for event planning and (unobtrusive) very effective event management.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Erin, 6/14/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Planning
5.0

A great pleasure working with Susan and her team. All event details were taken care of seamlessly. Perfect night!

Profile Picture User3442060, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Catering, DJ, Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Party Supplies, Photography, Wedding Planning
5.0

We had used Susan Lane events for other smaller parties at our home and always been so pleased with every last detail of her work and the work of her staff. Whenever had Susan and her people "do" a party we knew it would be perfect.
Therefore it was only natural that we would turn to her to help us plan a very large event at our home. Our son had gotten married with a small family only ceremony but he and his wife wanted to be able to celebrate with friends and extended family as well. I called Susan and booked her services as soon as I had a date as she is very popular and does get booked well in advance. I needed her to plan and execute all details of a party for 150 plus outdoors and under a tent. I wanted it to be primarily a party and secondarily a celebration for the newly weds. I needed her advice on everything; the tent size, the DJ, the food, the beverage, the parking, restroom facilities, the lighting and ambiance, the furniture and decor, the signage and more.
She is so much fun to work with. She made making hundreds of decisions easy for me. She would arrange meetings with other vendors and not even need me at home and yet I was always kept informed. So I was always comfortable that the planning was moving along and it was all under control.
The result was the most wonderful party. Every last minute detail was completely taken care of and I literally had to do nothing but attend and have fun. Susan and her assistant orchestrated this huge undertaking and coordinated effort which all came together perfectly.

Profile Picture Susan, 6/29/13, 1 Review
Category: Catering, DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Party Supplies, Photography, Transportation, Wedding Cake, Wedding Planning
5.0

We had a complicated venue at a farm. Also our wedding was large-240 people. Susan was instrumental in helping us figure out how to make the two venues at the farm beautiful and workable. Susan found items on line i.e., farm tables, barrels,and lanterns(among other items) to add to the overall ambience of our wedding. Susan also had our dinners served in a very short time, had her staff pay special attention to the wedding party, and followed our time line to a T. We had a flawless evening.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture joanne , 7/16/12, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services (Other), Wedding Planning
4.8

Susan was an absolute pleasure to work with! She is extremely detail-oriented and was very responsive to all of our needs. It was very easy to put our full trust in her and know that everything would go very smoothly. She also brought great ideas to the table that fit with the theme of our wedding, making it a truly beautiful event. At the same time, she was very accommodating to our preferences and wasn't pushing her ideas on us. I would definitely recommend using Susan for any large or complicated event, as she handled our 250 person wedding really well. The food quality and service was impeccable!

Profile Picture Ashley, 7/14/12, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Susan and her team did a wonderful job with my wedding. The food was exactly what we wanted and was very delicious (I still get compliments about it to this day). She really listened to what we wanted and offered great suggestions. It was perfect and flawless and I would recemmond her to anyone. It was definitely one thing I didn't have to worry about on my wedding day.

Profile Picture Molly, 10/22/11, 1 Review
Category: Catering
4.5

I am so glad I chose this caterer as my vendor, in the end I was very satisfied with our final product, and many of our guests raved about how fantastic the food was. The food itself was certainly excellent value for the money, but the overall catering cost was higher than I originally budgeted for since it include rentals of tables, chairs, etc - beware of hidden costs like that, depending on your venue, and also don't forget to budget for tax and tip!

Profile Picture Timna, 9/10/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

My daughter's wedding was perfect. She said, "Mom, this was my dream wedding". It's all a mom needs to hear, that statement would not have been possible if Susan Lane Events had not been the spectacular caterer and event planner that they are. I will be forever grateful for the quality of everything they. It really makes all the difference in the world.

Profile Picture Joyce, 9/10/10, 1 Review
Category: Catering