Stone Mill Inn Reviews

111 | York, PA
See photos, pricing and details

111 Reviews for Stone Mill Inn

Recommended by 97%

111
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

45 User photos

Stone Mill Inn 1
Stone Mill Inn 2
Stone Mill Inn 3
Stone Mill Inn 4
Stone Mill Inn 5
Stone Mill Inn 6
Stone Mill Inn 7
+ 39
Sort by:
  • K

    Kris · Married on 09/30/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Stone Mill Inn is a MUST for any York Brides! The staff and owners of the Mill will take care of you and make sure your big day is stress-free. Nicole was out point person throughout our planning and on the day-of, she made everyone feel welcomed and heard. Mr. Painter and Mrs. Painter, owners, especially wowed us with the personal care and attention given to our 93-year old grandmother. They made her feel like a queen and helped her to take part in the ceremony with access to a golf cart. The day was flawless and seamless -- I (the bride) didn't lift a finger on our wedding day and felt very taken care of. Chef Joe's food is beyond words. Every single person at our wedding (136) enjoyed their duel plate of flank steak and crab cakes saying things like "this is not your normal wedding food..." and "best wedding food I've ever had." The bride and groom especially loved the cocktail hour goodies!! We looked at several venues in York and the main reason we went with the Stone Mill was they had the best weather plan B....the flexibility of the many ceremony "zones" made us feel that our wedding would beautiful no matter what Mother Nature threw at us!! We could not be happier with the wedding that the Stone Mill helped us create! It was literally the best day of our lives!!!

    Sent on 10/09/2017
    Stone Mill Inn 8
    Stone Mill Inn 9
    Stone Mill Inn 10
    Stone Mill Inn 11

    Stone Mill Inn's reply:

    Kris, Thank you for the pleasure of hosting your wedding. We had been looking forward to your day with great anticipation. It was such a great time to work with you and your family in the planning process. Your kind and generous sentiments are so appreciated and we are thankful for you taking the time to share. We loved your grandmother and we were so glad that she could be a part of your day. Kris please stop back and visit us at The Stone Mill Inn. You are now part of the Stone Mill Inn Family!
  • B

    Brittney · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Stone Mill Inn was a very charming venue, with a great rustic appeal. We chose this venue for it's natural look and beautiful location. When booking with the venue, there wedding planner Nichole was super helpful and accommodating. She helped with all the planning and timeline of events and any other questions about decor and layout. The wedding turned out beautiful and everything went as planned, we couldn't have been happier.

    Sent on 09/26/2017
    Stone Mill Inn 12
    Stone Mill Inn 13
    Stone Mill Inn 14
    Stone Mill Inn 15

    Stone Mill Inn's reply:

    Brittney,
    With gratitude we thank you for your kind words and for the opportunity to host your wedding. You were a stunning bride! Your personal touches were so evident in the decor, flowers and that amazing cake. Nichole does indeed do a great job with our brides. Please be sure to return to celebrate an anniversary or simply to reminisce.

    Thank you!

    The Stone Mill Inn Team
  • User1729966 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Stone Mill was the perfect place to have our wedding - it was a traditional setting that incorporated both indoor and outdoor elements. We have had guests time and again telling us that our wedding was one of the most elegant events they have ever been to. The only qualm we had with Stone Mill is some cost expenditures weren't shared up front. We thought we were getting a beautiful place with a phenomenal value, however, the closer we got to the wedding, the more we had to spend that we weren't anticipating... table covers were quite expensive, chairs, table settings, etc. Just wished we had factored everything into our initial budget. All in all however, I wouldn't change a thing. The price was worth every penny... just go in with an open mind!

    Sent on 08/16/2012
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/28/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Stone Mill Inn is a beautiful venue and I fell in love with it the first time I saw it! Amanda is awesome! So professional and she genuinely cares about your wedding day and making it amazing! I would highly recommend Stone Mill Inn!!!

    Sent on 10/30/2012
  • A

    Arianna Gouzouasis · Married on 07/20/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    When my husband and I first saw the Stone Mill Inn, we were absolutely in love - and we saw it on a dreary, March day! Leading up to the wedding, we were in touch with Ken and Nichole many times through email, as we lived out of town and could not visit in person as much as we wanted. Sometimes our emails were not responded to as quickly as we would have liked, so just something to keep in mind.

    The day of our wedding was one of the hottest ever! Ken and Nichole were wonderful in coming up with ways to keep our guests comfortable and we really did appreciate that. We had 160 guests, much more than we expected, and even though they tried to keep it cool, it was definitely hot inside the reception area. Be aware of that in case you choose a summer wedding and have a large guest count. The grounds were stunning and our incredible photographer was able to snap beautiful shots all around the venue. The wait staff were wonderful and checked in with us regularly to make sure we had whatever food and drink we wanted throughout the day. Ken came up with a way to have our ice cream bar still be successful even with the heat, which was great! When the end of the night rolled around, the staff helped clean up and load everything into cars. It was a great help!

    One of the biggest concerns we had regarding the Stone Mill Inn was the way in which they handle their food costs. We went to the tasting that was offered and the food was fantastic so we knew we wanted to go with their catering, but be aware that they do not itemize their food options. For example, you do not know how much one added item would cost per person, so we ended up asking them for multiple quotes, which felt like a long process that could have been easily resolved with an itemized cost menu. As we were trying to be cost efficient, this process made that near impossible. That being said, the food was truly amazing and we had rave reviews from our guests the entire wedding.

    While there were times that we were frustrated with communication, we would still recommend the Stone Mill Inn to our friends and family. The beauty of the venue really speaks for itself and you will get some of the most beautiful pictures in your life on your wedding day there. Have a wonderful wedding!

    Sent on 08/18/2019
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 08/15/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The space at the Stone Mill Inn is absolutely beautiful. It was the perfect backdrop to our wedding. The responsiveness is the one area that they struggle a bit, but in the end it all works out. We had some trouble getting the correct menu contract with the caterer and often had to email and call multiple times to get a response. The end result was worth it.

    Sent on 09/23/2015
  • A

    Andi · Married on 09/08/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Judy, Amanda, and Jamie went above and beyond to make our day perfect!

    Sent on 09/20/2013
  • D

    Devon · Married on 11/10/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service the week before and day of coordinator. Response time for inquiries was a bit lacking during the whole year before but may be due to ownership changing hands. Otherwise I would recommend this venue to anyone wanting a beautiful and relaxing setting for ceremony or reception. Loved that they set up and tore down the entire reception.

    Sent on 11/24/2017
  • M

    Marcus · Married on 09/07/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    From my perspective as Father of the Bride it was almost perfect.

    The venue was wonderful. The outside wedding was magical in a beautiful setting. The grounds are lovely, spacious and inviting. The use of the house and private patio before and just after the ceremony was special. The reception venue was great with the ability to move inside and outside. The inside was a little cramped with about 150 people but it was only an issue during dinner as there was ample room to spread out before and after dinner. They also provided the food and we wanted to do a farm-to-table dinner and they were very accommodating with our very specific requests. There were a couple small hiccups with the dinner - coffee pots blew a breaker and was therefore served too late and a menu item which was not supposed to be served showed up. Station table service took longer than I thought it would. Overall the food was fantastic and the service pretty good.

    It was certainly not inexpensive which reduced the value for me but part of that was our fault as we did not cut any corners. To get a 5 star rating from me it has to be perfect. It was very close. Overall we were very pleased with the venue, service and food. I think my little girl was happy and that is what mattered most. A memorable and wonderful time was had by all.

    Sent on 09/27/2013
  • T

    Tom · Married on 04/09/2008

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    A very impressive venue. My guests loved the place . It's traditional but fabulous.

    Sent on 06/19/2009
  • User2687929 · 2+ years ago

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    My husband and I were married at the Stone Mill Inn in early September 2012. Let me begin by saying that we had a wonderful wedding, and the grounds and the Mill are beautiful. Our interactions with the management, however, were consistently difficult. We got push-back from the management at almost every turn when we wanted to do something differently than they ‘usually’ do things (we simply wanted our wedding to be a reflection of us -- we asked for very basic things, like penciling in more time for our ceremony). Additionally, the prices we were quoted were very misleading, so it was impossible to avoid spending more than we were originally told things would cost. This might have been forgivable if we had received good service, but we ended up feeling taken advantage of in this regard, too. Little things started to add up, like the fact that there were no towels in the men’s room, and that they asked the bridal party to vacate the bridal suite before the ceremony.

    Our biggest disappointment was with the catering. We went with Stone Mill Inn’s house caterer, Unique Presentations (I am reviewing them here because there is not a separate place to review them). When we went for the food tasting, Chef Joe only made part of our menu -- he told us it was because he was doing a large group tasting he couldn’t make everything for everyone. Fair enough. The food we tasted was pretty good, so we decided to trust him on the things we were not able to taste. That was a mistake. On the day of the wedding, the food that we had tasted was what we expected. However, one of the major staples of our meal, a risotto station, was just white rice with a bit of parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. It was such a huge disappointment. Additionally, the appetizers (especially the cheese and antipasti) and one of the salads were also sub-par. I was embarrassed that this was what we served to our guests. Overall, our day was lovely, but it was despite of Stone Mill Inn.

    Sent on 10/01/2012

    Stone Mill Inn's reply:

    Alyssa,
    Our goal at Stone Mill Inn is to provide our brides with not only a beautiful and memorable event, but to give them exceptional service. We strive to do everything in our power to complete this. We feel the management was very accommodating to all of your requests. All prices are given up front, estimates are sent to you months in advance. There are no hidden costs. The food that you did not taste at the group tasting was the food that was limited to your recipes of gluten free and vegetarian. It was risotto, and the stations had exactly what you requested, plain risotto, tomatoes, italian sausage, parmesan cheese, fresh basil, and peas. Guest put on what they wanted. You were given the choice of a private tasting where you could have tasted everything you were having. We are sorry that you feel your experience was not what you expected, and this concerns us very much. We feel we met every request that you asked for, and we wish that we would have been aware of the concerns you have expressed, as we could have addressed them.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review