Steeple Hall at Mission Oak Grill Reviews

41 | Newburyport, MA
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for Steeple Hall at Mission Oak Grill

Recommended by 98%

41
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

3 User photos

Steeple Hall at Mission Oak Grill 1
Steeple Hall at Mission Oak Grill 2
Steeple Hall at Mission Oak Grill 3
Sort by:
  • Amanda D

    Amanda · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place not only is amazing, but they know exactly how to run events and keep their couples happy. Even though there were changes of position and people there, I never doubted them for a second. Everything was so simple and amazing, and the food was simply great. People are still talking about it three weeks after! The price was great as well, completely reasonable, for what you were getting, even a little cheaper it seemed. No room fee, just food. I would definitely choose them again.

    Sent on 06/01/2012
  • N

    caclancy · Married on 05/17/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking at several different venues for our small, second wedding - we found the Mission Oak Grill in Newburyport. We wanted our reception to be less like a wedding and more like a large dinner party with our family and friends, so this restaurant was perfect. The restaurant is located in an old baptist church and their function room is beautiful ... there are floor to ceiling stained glass windows, beautiful moldings and light fixtures. It is a very unique space, not like all of the standard wedding function rooms in the area. One complaint is that the current colors in the room are pretty bold (deep mauve and pale green) so your choices for linens and flowers are somewhat limited. However, we decided to work within that palette and the room looked truly lovely the evening of our reception. We had our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all in this one room. The assistant manager assured us that they could transition the room seamlessly for each of these things, and she was right. The staff has this down to a science!

    We worked with the MOG to customize our wedding menu; they were extremely flexible about that. The food for our reception was absolutely outstanding ... our guests are still raving about their wonderful meals and the terrific service they received from the wait staff and bartenders. In addition, the prices for everything were extremely reasonable compared to other locations on the North Shore, and there were no hidden costs. We were able to treat our guests to great restaurant food at prices that didn't break the bank. I would highly recommend this venue to any couple who want to treat their wedding guests to a great meal in unique place with an excellent staff and service.

    Even if you don't hold your function here - make sure to try the restaurant sometime!

    Sent on 06/20/2008
  • User4584340 · event on: 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best venue ever
    It is beautiful

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • E

    EMILY · Married on 08/27/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the best service and quality in the beautiful and historic Downtown Newburyport, MA. The venue is unique with tall ceilings, great for acoustics. The venue itself is intimate but can fit a large number of guests without feeling cramped. Ashleigh, the wedding event coordinator and her assistant Meghann were incredibly helpful throughout the entire planning process. Our wedding party had several food allergies and they provided additional appetizers for our guests that did not contain these allergens. The food is delicious. The bar staff was able to develop our signature drink which was delicious. There was never a line for the bar, the food service was timely and professional. Ashleigh worked behind the scenes by personally calling all of our vendors to plan timing of arrival and set up. We are so happy we chose Steeple Hall for our wedding venue.

    Sent on 09/15/2016
  • E

    Elaine · Married on 09/20/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashleigh was absolutely wonderful to work with. The food was delicious, the hall was elegant and modern, and the staff were very professional.

    The only thing that keeps me from giving 5 stars all around was that they did not have specific pre-planned vegetarian options to choose from on the menu, and when we asked for the chef to create a vegetarian option to suit our needs, we had to prod several times for the chef to get back to us. He actually never did come up with an option for us--we ended up just having to tell him what to make (I'm not a chef, so that was a bit stressful.)

    Overall though, we had a fantastic night! Ashleigh and her team were so warm, professional, and accommodating. The tables were beautifully set. All of the other vendors also complimented Ashleigh and the Steeple Hall staff on how easy they were to work with. I would have no trouble recommending this venue to a friend.

    Sent on 09/26/2014
  • A

    Anna · Married on 07/05/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashleigh and Meghann were amazing! The food was so delicious and the staff was so attentive and helpful! In addition, the whole team was very fun and easy to work with and helped me realize my vision for an exceptional event. They made my wedding day very magical and low stress for me, my family, and my guests! Steeple Hall is beautiful and in a very convenient and central location. I highly recommend the location and the entire team for any special even! :)

    Sent on 07/18/2014
  • K

    Karen · Married on 12/27/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We held our wedding at the Mission Oak - and they did a wonderful job. We've eaten dinner in the restaurant (street level) and always were very pleased. We weren't sure how they would do mass producing food at the same level for a group but they exceeded our expectations with the food for our reception of approx. 100 people. We heard from many of our guests that the food was some of the best ever experienced at a wedding.

    The wait and bar staff were great - very service-oriented.

    Would recommend the Mission Oak for a wedding or party!

    Sent on 01/07/2009
  • User6897103 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashleigh, Meghan and the entire Steeple Hall team were outstanding and such a pleasure to work with. First off, the food at Steeple Hall is delicious. My guests enjoyed their dinners, the appetizers were such a hit, and the bar staff kept everyone in a great mood. The venue itself is excellent if you want to reduce your stress. It is classy without being overbearing. We had our ceremony there, along with the coctail hour and the reception. Our out of town guests really appreciated being at one location for the whole wedding. The team, led by Ashleigh is top notch. We had guests from age 5 months to 85 years and the staff were excellent in accomodating our needs. The kid's table server made sure to check with a mom when one of the kid's said they had an allergy. Several of our guests commented on how nice and professional the servers were. All of the meals came out at once. It was not like those weddings when you watch other tables recieving their meals and you wonder when you'll be fed. Meghan checked on us but was never intrusive. Ashleigh is so good at what she does. She's as competant as they come, can handle any question or situation and really made the process stress free. We had zero stress when it came to our venue and the reception. Not only that, Ashleigh is nice and she makes the planning fun. We're so happy we went with Steeple Hall.

    Sent on 06/28/2016
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 06/13/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Steeple Hall at Mission Oak Grille. Ashleigh, the wedding coordinator, was such a pleasure to work with. She was friendly, easy to work with and her attention to detail was just what I was looking for. From our first meeting she was low pressure and assured me that she would help me to achieve the reception I was looking for. The day of the reception everything went perfectly. Ashleigh made sure the evening flowed smoothly so the groom and I could really enjoy the day. So many guests remarked on the venue, the service and the quality of the food. Numerous people told us that it was the best wedding meal they had ever had. There were several options for food, beverages and extra touches and the pricing is very equivalent to the value you receive. Truly an excellent choice for ann important ant function or event.

    Sent on 08/20/2015
  • M

    Min · Married on 08/23/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so so happy with the services we received at Steeple Hall and how our wedding turned out. Ashleigh and her team were very helpful, and a pleasure to work with. She really eased the burden during the planning process and also the days leading up to and the day of the wedding. All our guests raved about the delicious food and the great service they received throughout the night. Our other vendors also raved about their experiences with working with Ashleigh and Steeple Hall.

    We also had our rehearsal dinner downstairs at Mission Oak and the food and service were amazing. We plan on going back soon to dine there again!

    Sent on 01/13/2015
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashleigh Currier is the easiest person to work with. She was quick to respond to any and all questions that we had. We did the coastal route package, you get so much for what you pay for! The food was great. It does not have the biggest dance floor if that is important to you, although it was fine for us.

    Sent on 01/03/2017
  • User3778988 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    First off, the FOOD was AMAZING!! That's the number one reason we picked it. Secondly, the site was absolutely beautiful. Lastly, Ashleigh (our wedding coordinator) was SO helpful and accommodating. Our day is still being talked about amongst our family and friends!

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • User4940859 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We went on a tour of this venue and though it wasn't our favorite venue we ended up booking with them based on their location, flexibility with decorations/hours and their Event Manager Ashleigh who was super helpful and responsive.

    Sent on 05/01/2015
  • User4566116 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our wedding reception is one of the most memorable parts of our wedding day!! The staff made things less stressful and a pleasure to work with. The food was beyond delicious.

    Sent on 11/23/2014
  • User2707662 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Our wedding at Steeple Hall at Mission Oak Grill really was beautiful. The new renovations are SO elegant and made our wedding look so classy. The food was great as well, everyone who attended our wedding said how awesome the food was. The only problems we had were with the event coordinator, although she was very helpful, she did make a few mistakes with our bill. However, she did fix those problems at the end. Also people noted how she did not smile throughout our reception as she was walking around. The servers also apparently had to come back to the tables a few times to re-check what meals people had ordered. The smiling factor and the servers multiple visits did not negatively effect me directly, but they were noticed by my guests. The price was also on the higher side, but it is a beautiful location which is what I wanted and worth the price. Overall, I am still very happy with my service at Steeple Hall and would do it all again at the same location if I could.

    Sent on 10/11/2012
  • K

    Kerry · Married on 10/04/2008

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    For our wedding day, the Mission Oak was great. Very attentive and friendly staff. Some small things were out of place like missing the table number for our sweetheart table and missing a chair or two at a guest table. But those were small things.

    The food at the Mission Oak is fantastic, we had more than one guest say it's the best wedding food they've ever had. And the atmosphere of the function room was great too. It's an old church, so the second floor function room has high vaulted ceilings with the original pendant lamps and large cathedral windows.

    One minor problem we had with the Mission Oak was with the pricing. We booked out wedding over a year in advance and after a few months I noticed the prices on the website were different than when we had booked them. The Mission Oak tried telling us we had to pay the higher prices, that they were subject to change. We ended up negotiating out most of the difference. But if you book here, make sure you get firm pricing up front and that it's locked in when you sign the contract.

    Sent on 11/19/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review