St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 Reviews

80 | Red Wing, MN
See photos, pricing and details

80 Reviews for St. James Hotel, Est. 1875

Recommended by 96%

80
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

15 User photos

St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 1
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 2
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 3
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 4
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 5
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 6
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875 7
+ 9
Sort by:
  • User3432316 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Victoria and the staff at the St. James were absolutely wonderful. We had a wonderful wedding. The site was beautiful. The rooms were comfortable. The food was delicious. The service was great even days after the event!

    Sent on 07/31/2013
  • H

    Heather · Married on 12/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had absolutely the BEST experience at the St. James Hotel! Victoria, the wedding coordinator was extremely helpful and took care of everything for us. We couldn't have made everything work without her help. Everything was lined up before the big day, and the whole wedding day went perfectly! Victoria contacted the vendors that we hired and coordinated timing and set up which was very helpful. The food the St. James catered was extremely delicious (the pot roast was my favorite), and we are still getting compliments from our guests at how much they enjoyed the entire evening. My husband and I spent the night at the hotel which was probably one of the nicest hotels I've been to. The history of the hotel was so beautiful, and it made our wedding event that much more special. St. James Hotel is worth every penny!

    Sent on 06/24/2013
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue and staff at the St. James Hotel were top-notch! Victoria did an amazing job making sure that every detail of our day went perfect! I always dreamed as a little girl of having my wedding there and it did not disappoint!

    Sent on 06/19/2013
  • B

    Becky · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planned our entire wedding weekend at the St James. We had the rehearsal dinner in The Port, our ceremony and receiption in the Summit Room overlooking the river and then we hosted brunch on Sunday morning in the Historic Lobby area. Everything was perfect! The staff was very professional and accomodating. Jessica, the event coordinator, is great to work with.
    Make sure you check out the Iron Works Suite! It's a large one-bedroom apartment with full kitchen and giant bathroom. It worked great for all the girls getting ready before the wedding - tons of room and natural light!

    Sent on 11/13/2011
  • B

    Don · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The whole staff of the St. James went above and beyond to make our day memorable and flawless. I appreciate all of their hard work.

    Sent on 07/01/2010
  • A

    Amelia · Married on 06/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The St. James provided the perfect venue for our reception. All the guests ate and drank like kings and queens. When I asked for a candy table at the last minute, they were happy to follow through with my request. Jessica Hazelton was a delight to work with. Three cheers for the St. James team. You helped create amazing memories for all.

    Sent on 06/22/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 12/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very please by the service everyone at the St. James gave us. We didn't have to worry about anything on our big day! Jessica was very willing to help us out wherever she was needed.

    Sent on 01/06/2010
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/07/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue and Staff

    I can't praise the St.James enough, venue was breathtaking, Abby was always available for whatever questions I had. we still get compliments months later on the venue and how many couples would be visiting just to stay at the hotel again.

    Sent on 12/10/2018
  • User7376300 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing experience at St. James Hotel for our wedding reception! Marissa was incredibly helpful, responsive, and accommodating. The hotel is so unique and the 4th floor summit room is beautiful! We got so many compliments about our reception! Plus the prices are affordable.

    Sent on 11/02/2016
  • J

    Julee · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marissa was extremely helpful. She made sure everything was ready to go and went above and beyond setting up for the wedding when one of our people was unable to help due to a family emergency. She made sure everything went smoothly for us. I would definitely recommend working with her and the rest of the people at St. James. Also, one of the ladies at the front desk was exceptionally helpful. She went above and beyond helping us get some wedding details figured out. We were very impressed with her and very grateful for her help.

    Sent on 07/16/2015
  • User4546321 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went as planned and we were very pleased with the venue, food and service.

    Sent on 11/13/2014
  • User3429503 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was well organized. Victoria was so helpful and easy to deal with and she offered suggestions for our consideration. We received so many compliments on the food and venue. One tip I would offer is to have better directions to the ready room. It was difficult to find.

    Sent on 07/30/2013
  • S

    Steph · Married on 05/31/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience with the St. James. Victoria really did her job well and made sure everything ran smoothly. We had both our ceremony and reception in the Summit Room and it was a gorgeous view. We had compliments all day about how unique and beautiful the venue was.

    The St. James was so helpful with everything they did. We brought our own cake from a vendor in my hometown and they let us use their coolers, set up the room the night before and really anything we asked. I would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 07/30/2013
  • User6263193 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The St. James was a beautiful venue and the staff were very nice and helpful.

    Sent on 01/24/2016
  • C

    Christianna · Married on 04/17/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marissa was awesome! Very helpful with all our questions, flexible when we needed something. We were from North Dakota and she was able to make all our visits work with our schedule. The hotel staff was willing to help where needed. We only had an hour to set up our reception and they asked us what they can do to help... That was great! Overall an amazing experience at the St. James!

    Sent on 04/26/2015
  • M

    Maria · Married on 10/25/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The St. James Hotel in entirety was wonderful! They worked with us on everything that we wanted in order to make our dream wedding come true. They have fantastic recommendations for vendors that are familiar with the Hotel staff and location. The staff all work together before the day and on the day to ensure everything runs smoothly. We personally had a minor hiccup with the band we had hired and Nicole was on top of everything keeping my husband and myself informed on what was happening and suggestions on what to do with the issue in the meantime to keep the party going. Overall, the day could not have gone any better!

    Sent on 11/18/2014
  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/24/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a perfect setting for a romantic reception! The food was to die for and the wedding coordinator was very patient with any and all questions!! I highly recommend the St. James Hotel!!

    Sent on 07/29/2013
  • Colleen

    Colleen · Married on 09/16/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food and service at this facility - I would recommend it to any couple looking for a classy traditional venue along the Mississippi River. I loved the wedding coordinators and they did everything they could to make our day flawless!

    Sent on 10/11/2011
  • R

    Rachael · Married on 06/12/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    great event!

    Sent on 07/24/2010
  • M

    Melinda · Married on 10/19/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our day was great!! Our guests had a wonderful time and talked about how great and beautiful everything was.

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • Trish

    Trish · Married on 08/25/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The reception site was amazing and the wedding coordinator, Victoria was great to work with. She really helped make our day come together. Also, the banquet manager, Valery was so nice! She really went the extra mile to make sure we were having the time of our lives and didn't have to worry about anything!

    Sent on 09/10/2012
  • C

    Cathryn · Married on 09/22/2017

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We loved our venue. I couldn't start by saying anything differently. We used 2 spaces at the St. James and loved both of them for what we used them for. The historic area is were we held our cocktail hour and actual ceremony and we held our reception on the newer side of the hotel. It fit us perfectly. We did have some miscues and whatnot as they had a new wedding coordinator transition in to the position in the middle of our wedding planning, and I am not super sure how much info got handed off, so that was a little hard but overall, amazing. Every guest commented on the space in some way. The staff was super sweet about all of the details that we included and if we mentioned something was off, not working, or not happening as we mapped out, for the most part, they were super awesome and willing to help out!! The St James means a lot in my family so it was amazing to have our special day down there and we really enjoyed our wedding day there.

    Sent on 09/30/2017
  • User2538667 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Loved the venue! So beautiful and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. Victoria was excellent the entire time and always had an answer to our questions. They give you engraved toast glasses, a framed photo of you on your wedding day , bottle of champagne and a free anniversary night stay at the hotel as a thank you, what a nice surprise! They work very well with the florist down the road and help you coordinate all the details for the day of, huge help for a person working full time and planning a wedding. Fridays you can get the venues half off which helps tons with cost. Or only problem was with a server who yelled ata guest and literally stared them down the whole night. She old them she new they were under 21 and drinking and that she would get them kicked out of the wedding. They did this in front of the other guests veryloudly. However the guest yelled at was 23 and confused as to why she pinpoint them to yell at as they had ID showing their age.

    Sent on 07/06/2013
  • G

    Lindsay · Married on 10/04/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a beautiful venue in Red Wing, MN. Our reception was in the Summit Room, with its spectacular view looking over the Mississippi River and the bluffs through its many windows. The St. James Hotel provided dinner, drinks, and wedding cake and many of our guests stayed in the historic hotel. The pricing was pretty fair considering other big-city costs. The quality of service was superb. I planned my wedding from across the country, and at times I had trouble getting in touch with the event manager. However, I was persistent and everthing turned out amazing!! Better than I ever could have imagined :)

    Sent on 10/23/2008
  • User4551296 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    .Marissa did a great job, very flexible and approachable. It was frustrating during the in between process where we didn't have an event coordinator.

    Sent on 11/16/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review