Spence Photographics Reviews

69 | Frederick, MD
See photos, pricing and details

69 Reviews for Spence Photographics

Recommended by 100%

69
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • M

    Marisa · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having David as our photographer! Our outdoor wedding day weather was anything but perfect (record rainfall), but from our sneak peek of our pictures, the farm where the wedding was held looks amazing! When David arrived on site, there was so much rain we weren't sure if we could even have the wedding that day-the tables were sinking into the ground and the grounds were flooding! But David was smiling and looking for good spots for pictures while all of this was happening! He was great to work with and fun. We even got the sneak peek of pictures just a few days after the wedding.
    David and Molly are easy to work with and answer questions right away. We will definitely call David next time we need any photos. THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!

    Sent on 07/05/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I met David and Molly last year. They were photographing my brother and sister-in-law's wedding. We were very impressed with the work that we saw them doing. They interacted well with our families and all of their guests. I told my husband (fiancé at the time) that we needed to get their information and book them for our wedding. We booked them not too long after my brother's wedding. From the time we were planning on meeting to book our photography package until wedding day, David and Molly were there for us every step of the way. Answers to questions we had were done very quickly and they were both very flexible in any changes we made. Our wedding day was perfect! David did an amazing job capturing everything from our wedding. We also had the Silly Station which was a big hit! We loved all of the special gifts from Spence that we got in the mail!! When we saw our photos, we were so happy. They were beautiful! I am still constantly looking at our photos. I highly recommend Spence!!! They were AMAZING!!!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that we had Spence Photographics for our reception! They were extremely flexible (it poured for the first half of the reception) and were such great sports. We also used their photo booth and our guests had a blast. Everyone is still talking about it! Very pleased with their work and service!

    Sent on 06/06/2015
  • S

    Sabrina · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Spence Photographics for our wedding photographer. Not only were they very friendly and easy to work with but our photos came out great!! They made us feel very special on our wedding day and we would recommend this team of photographers to our friends for their wedding day too! Time after time, they over delivered on everything they said they would do and more. Couldn't be happier with the outcome of the photos. Thank you Spence Photographics!

    Sent on 10/20/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Spence Photographics was easily one of the best decision we made in the wedding planning process. David and Molly are some of the nicest people I have ever met and they run a great business that really makes you feel valued as a client (and human). We love all of the pictures from both of engagement session and wedding day-- people can't get over how wonderful David was at the wedding and adore the beautiful pictures online. We would absolutely recommend Spence Photographics to anyone and look forward to being able to work with them sometime in the future.

    Sent on 07/08/2015
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I chose a vendor for my wedding photography - I wanted to make sure the pictures would be AMAZING. The Spences delivered. David is so friendly and great at making you feel comfortable in front of the camera. For our engagement shoot we went to Sugar Loaf mountain and a couple surrounding locations. David knew some great spots and the photos came out wonderfully. For our wedding, he and Molly worked together and the photos were again fantastic. There are some shots that I do not know how they got because I did not see them taking them - if you want photographers who will not look like conspicuous paparazzi ninjas in the middle of your wedding, this husband and wife team is who you need. I loved that they requested all the portrait line-ups before the wedding so no one was missed on our big day. They were also open to constructing our package exactly how we wanted it. A MAJOR BONUS is that you get all the rights to your photos so you can use them pretty much however you'd like without paying extra. Also they send super sweet customer appreciation gifts which we loved. Molly runs most of the back-end business and is super helpful and responsive. Overall, working with the Spences was a great decision and a fabulous value. I am so happy we found them and am looking forward to working with them again in the future!

    Sent on 01/10/2016
  • E

    Erica · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so thankful to have David and Spence Photographics as our photographer on our wedding day! We actually met him at another friend's wedding and we knew the moment we saw the pictures from her wedding that we couldn't imagine working with anyone else. We were so incredibly impressed with how easy going and professional David and Molly have been through the whole process. They were willing and happy to work with a slightly camera shy groom! Many people after the wedding commented on how wonderful David and the second photographer, Alison were (including a family member who is actually a wedding photographer!). As you can imagine we have worked with many people during this planning process and on the day of the wedding and they were by far the most amazing and professional. We have loved looking at all of the wonderful moments from our wedding that they were able to capture. These pictures will be treasured for many years to come. Hands down, we would HIGHLY recommend Spence!

    Sent on 10/20/2015
  • M

    Matt · Married on 01/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spence Photographics are outstanding to say the least. First, the product is amazing. They captured our wedding day in incredible detail and style. It is rare to find a company that provides both extraordinary customer service that is infused with a genuine desire to provide the client with exactly what they envision and a professional talent that exceeds even the most lofty expectations. Spence Photographics accomplishes that. From the meeting and correspondence prior to the wedding, to the wedding day, and finally the communication after the wedding itself, we felt like the most important clients in the world. Everything is of highest quality and wrapped in attentive care. They rock. We will use them again for future family celebrations!

    Sent on 03/23/2015
  • A

    Allison · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Molly Spence are a wonderful photography team! We found them through a friend who had Spence photograph their wedding. I remember we were sitting at our table during the reception and I noticed how David was capturing so many great moments, yet he did it so discreetly and gracefully. I nudged my fiancee (at the time!) and said, we should get his card. So we did and the next thing we knew, we were booking our photography package for our big day. David also took care of our engagement shoot, which was easy to schedule and coordinate. Our pictures turned out great too! Leading up to the big day, David and Molly were always available to answer our questions to help ease some of our planning stress. They were very accommodating as they allowed us to add the Silly Station to our package just weeks before the wedding. The Silly Station is a must! Another little perk was receiving surprise cards and small gifts in the mail :) David and Molly are absolutely the best in the business- our wedding photos were absolutely stunning and perfect. They have a secure link that leads you to view all of your photos at once, which makes it easy to select your favorites and ones you wish to purchase. We look forward to seeing them again at my sister-in-law's wedding in June! If you are looking for a photographer for any occasion, I highly recommend Spence Photographics!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • H

    Hillary · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are thrilled that we chose Spence Photographics for our wedding. David and Molly are extremely warm, kind, professional, talented, and dedicated! David really tries to get to know and capture your style as a couple. During the planning phase, they are quick to respond and very flexible; they really want you to be happy. They also offer great suggestions and guidance for the indecisive bride (that's me!). Throughout, communication with them is always clear and personal. At the wedding itself, David is everywhere and yet never intrusive. His work ethic is impressive- he doesn't stop for one minute! Many of our guests commented on how impressed they were with his dedication and overall presence. The Silly Station was a fabulous addition and produced some truly hilarious pictures we will treasure forever (worth every penny- trust me!). We have only seen the "sneak peek" photos of our wedding, and they are stunning. We can't wait to see the rest!!! We are so grateful to David and Molly for helping preserve so many memories of our wedding day. We would highly recommend Spence Photographics for their outstanding quality, value, and overall awesomeness.

    Sent on 08/07/2014
  • Jenna

    Jenna · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVE working with Spence Photo. Not only do they do fantastic work and beautiful photos, but they are wonderful people with very fun personalities. We kept saying throughout our engagement and even right after our wedding how much we love Spence Photo and that they are one of our favorite wedding vendors. Well worth the cost as they give you a ton of value for the price!

    Sent on 06/20/2014
  • A

    Athena · Married on 06/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Molly were great!! We absolutely loved our engagement pictures and our wedding pictures turned out gorgeous!! They are super easy to work with and responded quickly to any questions we had. We also used their Silly Station which was a big hit at our wedding - definitely recommend this!

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so extremely pleased with David and Spence Photographics. From the first meeting to seeing our engagement and wedding photos we couldn't have been happier with our experience. We were planning the wedding out of state making things a little difficult but David was amazing communicating with us! We went through Spence Photographics for our Save the Dates and our Wedding invitations-both came out beautifully! David was great working with us through the entire process he really cares about his clients. Due to being out of state we had to take our engagement photos just 2 days before our wedding but David was great to accommodate us and our schedules. During the day of the wedding David and his crew we're fantastic. He was able to capture all the joy and happiness experienced on that day. We were so extremely pleased with all the photos. The hardest part of this entire process is deciding which photos we like best! I would absolutely recommend David and Spence Photographics to anyone in search of a great photographer!

    Sent on 10/18/2014
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave and Molly are out of this world.
    Leading up to the wedding, they couldn't have been more flexible with our timing. Coming from across the country, we didn't have time for a separate engagement shoot, so they worked around our schedule to make sure that we had some extra and very special pictures.
    On the day of the wedding, we were floored with the energy, dedication, and professionalism that they both exuded. Every time we turned the corner, Dave was there, getting the best shot. Somehow he managed to shoot our ceremony from 360 degrees and up close without anyone noticing. I've never seen a photographer with that energy. They also knew the exact moments when to pull us away for special moments and when to let us just be the couple with our friends and family.
    After the wedding, we we've been able to see the outcomes and have been thrilled with the results. The photos paint a picture, capture all the right moments, and are just aesthetically beautiful.
    In addition, Dave and Molly have perfected the art of letting you know that they're thinking about you. Before the wedding, we received a "welcome" gift with some goodies and information about all that they offer. Since the wedding, we've received numerous packages with sneak peaks of photos while they were still being edited, cute little photo books, etc. They care about their couples and they show it through and through. We could not recommend them more :)

    Sent on 08/29/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Molly were the best! They worked with our crazy schedule to meet with us and the package we got was such a great value! We are having a hard time deciding which picture we was for our coffee table book because there are too many amazing photos! We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful day and David captured all of it, including the beautiful clouds in the sky and our awesome venue! We hope to work with David and Molly again for more photos in the future!

    Sent on 08/30/2014
  • User3216185 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED David! Talk about a man who loves his job! Our wedding party was young and wild ! Lets just say he knew how to capture all of us in the moment. It was fabulous working with him on our rainy wedding day. The silly station is a MUST! I heard it was busy from the moment the reception started to the very end :) We are so excited to see all the photos from our special day and we have every bit of confidence in him that they will be absolutely perfect. Plus who doesn't love a man who wears chucks?!

    Sent on 05/13/2014
  • J

    Joyce · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Molly were great to work with! Very prompt with all communications, timely regarding proof previews for my daughters engagement pictures and wedding pictures! Just super friendly, and professional! We have had so many compliments on the pictures! We just love them; will make for great memories for years to come.

    Sent on 09/01/2014
  • B

    Barbry · Married on 04/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David (and Molly) were incredible. We were not only blown away by the photos, but they kept surprising us along the planning and after - with little mementos and gifts - that were not part of our contract - but were so incredibly sweet and thoughtful! We would recommend them to anyone looking for a photographer!

    Sent on 08/12/2014
  • K

    Kellie · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had David Photograph my wedding and reception and Molly ran the Silly Station Photo Booth at the party. They were both so wonderful to work with! David was very attentive and really good with directing us to creative shots! All of my guests loved Molly and the Silly Station! Overall they were both an absolute pleasure to work with and far exceeded all my expectations!

    Sent on 01/28/2014
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 10/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I truly enjoyed working with David Spence and having him capture amazing pictures from our wedding. He was always professional and seemed to always be available for communication. David captured our engagement session all the way in Ocean City, Md as that location was special to my husband and I as that's where we first met. Then for our wedding at Mt St Mary's in Emmittsburg, Md. The pictures from both events turned out so amazing and we were so happy with all of them. We were referred to David by our reception venue and so happy that we chose him to capture our special day! We would gladly recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 02/19/2014
  • K

    Kyra · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David and Molly Spence of Spence Photographics (SP) were an absolute joy to work with for both our engagement shoot and our wedding. I really cannot say enough about them. Hands down, hiring them was one of the best decisions I made for our wedding. Throughout the entire process SP was helpful, patient, encouraging and friendly. Not long after we booked them for our Fall 2013 wedding we had to change the wedding venue and the date. SP was extremely accommodating and patient with us as we went back and forth about different dates and different venues. We finally landed on October 12th and everything worked out perfectly! Their pricing is reasonable and they give you the flexibility to adjust your photo package to fit you and your day. Our engagement shoot was fun and laid back. David Spence met my fiancé and me in Baltimore City for an afternoon and we had the chance to take pictures in multiple parts of the city. For the wedding we booked the silly station, which was a HUGE hit with all of the guests. Everyone had an amazing time, and the photos were awesome! Molly Spence set up and supervised the photobooth at our venue; it was really nice having both of them there on the day of! Every step of the way, from getting ready in the morning, arriving at the church, the ceremony and the reception, SP captured unbelievable memories for me, my husband and our families and friends. We truly have amazing images from our wedding day, and it wouldn't have been nearly as fun without Spence Photographics! We were able to view all of our images online about two months after our wedding day and we received the final USB images about one month after that. David and Molly answered every question, comment or concern I had in a timely and friendly manner (even when I was pestering them for my final images, I was so impatient/excited to see them)! I would absolutely recommend Spence Photographics to friends and family, and we definitely plan to work with them in the future!

    Sent on 02/21/2014
  • M

    Miranda · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David is awesome to work with. I loved our engagement photos and wedding photos. I liked that David and his assistant (who on our wedding day was Stefanie) got photos from some really neat angles and didn't crowd us or our guests during the ceremony. David gave some little tips when we needed them, but mostly let us go with the flow, which was really nice. He was also very responsive to making some tiny edits that I wanted. Most of all, David is just a really friendly, laid-back guy who made us so comfortable during our engagement session and our wedding day. I also shopped around for photographers a bit and found that Spence Photographics had much better pricing than competitors.

    We love our photos and will cherish them forever!

    Sent on 04/08/2014
  • User3078530 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was wonderful to work with. If you are looking for somebody who is laid back, easy to work with, and artistic, David is your guy. We had some concerns when not everybody on our list (must take pictures) did not show up, but David kindly let us come view the untouched photos to find some relatives we were concerned about missing. The photos of the wedding showed how much fun the day was, not how well we could pose for pictures. I really appreciate that.

    Sent on 02/13/2014
  • B

    Brooke & Neil · Married on 08/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wedding is a one-shot deal and a photographer only gets one chance to get it right. David Spence has a fabulous eye for composition and beautifully memorialized every important moment of the ceremony and the day that surrounded it. He quickly knocked out all the requisite formal shots and unobtrusively documented the joyous preparations as well as the celebrations that followed.

    All three of those components required different skills and David Spence has them all. He could not have been easier to work with or to communicate with before the wedding and in the weeks that followed. His professionalism on all counts is more than we could have hoped for.

    He met with our son and his fiance for a pre-wedding shoot in order to meet them and they could not have found it any more relaxed or enjoyable.

    Thank you, David and Molly, for giving us exactly what we need to remember that very happy day in our family’s story. We will recommend you without reservation whenever we have the opportunity.

    Sent on 10/06/2013
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience working with Spence Photo. They made it easy on us during the wedding prep time and David traveled all the way from Frederick to Annapolis on both Friday and Saturday of our wedding weekend and he was pleasure to have around with family and friends. Very easy-going - we were really able to enjoy the day without feeling like we spent a huge amount of time posing for photos. We also had the Silly Station booth which the guests really enjoyed. In the end we ended up with great photos for a nice value compared to the handful of other photographers we inquired with.

    Sent on 10/06/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review