Special Moments Catering Reviews

24 | Streetsboro, OH
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Special Moments Catering

Recommended by 81%

24

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 3.9
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 3.9

3 User photos

Special Moments Catering 1
Special Moments Catering 2
Special Moments Catering 3
Sort by:
  • C

    Cheryl Breedlove · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Help to make her special day wonderful

    Thank you so much for helping to make my daughters receptions so wonderful. The tables were set beautifully, the food was delicious and the potato bar was the rave of the party. Their team did a great job and were in stealth mode during the party.

    Sent on 10/01/2019
  • Jackson

    Jackson · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Moments - 2 thumbs up

    We made the right choice with special moments catering. We mostly picked them originally because they had great food for like half the price of other caterers we met with. They were very responsive before and during the wedding. Were readily available for complementary tastings in deciding the menu. Very flexible in changing a few things up for our menu to make it our own. I am vegan and they made me a special dish that night which I appreciated. They showed up early and got everything set up in plenty of time for our ceremony and reception. I would choose them again in a heart beat. Food was great, was very affordable, and service was excellent. 2 thumbs way up!

    Sent on 04/01/2019

    Special Moments Catering's reply:

    Thank you Jackson, it was a pleasure working with you and serving you. Your words are greatly appreciated! Steve and Kelley
  • Y

    Yolanda · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Moments Catering was so supportive starting with them! They were very professional! We went to several different possible places! Special moments was affordable and the food was delicious! I loved it that they came dressed up in their chef attire and catered very well to my guests! Special Moments... AMAZING!!

    Sent on 06/20/2018
  • J

    Joanna · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special moments catering was amazing! I really enjoyed having them as my caterer. The food was marvelous and I got so many compliments on the food. They even offered to send all the leftovers home with us but we were leaving for our honeymoon straight away-we had them plate up a pan for our house sitter and then they donated the rest to a homeless shelter. The staff couldn't have been more efficient and friendly. Every time i needed something or had a question prior to the wedding I did not have a hard time getting a hold of them. They always got back to me in a timely and orderly fashion. Check them out for your special day- you won't regret it!

    Sent on 09/13/2017
  • B

    B · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Moments did a great job both with the quality and the value of their service. Many guests commented on how good the food was. I was assertive to get what I really wanted in the wedding, but I was very pleased with the end result and would unhesitatingly recommend them.

    Sent on 04/12/2017
  • D

    DeLorne · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was amazing and I would recommend them to all. They provided linen and more! Great venue

    Sent on 08/26/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious and Professional!!! We highly recommend Special Moments Catering - working with Kelly was a breeze!!! They helped us to find our venue, Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Aurora, OH, and all of our expectations were exceeded!!!

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • M

    Mary · Married on 12/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Moments Catering provided a great menu selection for a very reasonable price. The staff at the event were cordial and professional. They were very accommodating and worked hard to ensure that our event ran smoothly. The food was delicious and guests were very pleased with the buffet.

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were very patient with us, helping us make decisions that we weren't sure about by giving us information on what people normally do. The food was delicious and we were complimented on it throughout the night. The people that worked there for us were nice too. Everything was very professional.

    Sent on 11/18/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was really good, and a great value ($13.25 per person, as compared to at least $25 for anyone else). The owner, Steve, was really friendly, helpful, and responsive to questions. The staff was professional and friendly - they helped to bring a birthday cake to one of my bridesmaids. I highly recommend them!

    Sent on 08/07/2012
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/10/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were amazing. Although I only ate bread at my wedding (my dress was gorgeous and I'm a messy eater), the reviews were great. Before we got married they gave us huge samples to take home and try. The food really was delectable. The owner knew we were on a budget and he offered to loan us their centerpeices for free! They also said they would donate any uneaten food to the haven of rest in our area (a homeless shelter). Very good, kind people at a reasonable price. We had 210 people and I think we paid like 21 dollars a plate! Kids were half and younger children were free!

    Sent on 05/11/2008
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 07/16/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Moments did a great job catering our wedding. The food was delicious and the prices were very reasonable.

    Sent on 08/30/2011
  • Sydney

    Sydney Kuhn · Married on 05/25/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend

    Our wedding was in May, 2019. From the initial tasting to the day of, I cannot express my gratitude for this company! I was looking for good quality BBQ buffet food. We had red roasted potatoes, BBQ ribs, chicken with sauce on the side, salad and corn bread. The food was excellent! The quality paired to the original tasting was exactly the same and phenomenal. Kelly was so helpful with any and everything I asked for. The entire staff was extremely professional, on time, willing to go above and beyond for any request. Down to the curtains behind my sweetheart table. I requested navy blue curtains the week before with burlap and lace to tie them, not the diamond strands they had on display. Kelly made some calls and found exactly what I wanted at no extra charge! I am a savvy shopper, very aware of where my money is going. After calling around for other companies, SMC proved to have the best quality for your money. I was disappointed for being charged under 100 people, yet every company I called said they would charge the same. I will always recommend this company to anyone looking for any event planning!!

    Sent on 07/31/2019
    Special Moments Catering 4
    Special Moments Catering 5
    Special Moments Catering 6
  • E

    Emma · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Moments Catering was by far the most professional and most reasonably priced caterer we found in the Akron/Cleveland area. They were extremely well organized and flexible with our set-up schedule. We were very impressed with how everything was presented on the day of the wedding. The staff was professional and friendly and we received many compliments on the food! The BBQ menu is a great option for couples seeking to save a little bit of money!

    Sent on 07/28/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/03/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special moments catering was very affordable and the food was enjoyed by all of our guests! There servers did their jobs without being intrusive. They all looked neat and tidy. They had a lot to choose from on the menu! Sometimes it was a bit difficult to get a hold of them, but other than that, we were very satisfied with them!

    Sent on 06/14/2017
  • A

    Angela · Married on 05/25/2002

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Special Moments Catering provided us with wonderful food that was fast for our guests and very tasty. All of the workers were professional and I didn't even notice they were there. Everything was done the way I wanted it done. They have plenty of items to choose from in terms of rentals. I was able to do all of my linens, etc with them. They even cut my cake that was from another place!

    Sent on 11/21/2007
  • User5536356 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Food quality was good day of the wedding, heard from multiple guests that they loved their meal. However, dealing with the owner throughout the process was not always fun. There were a few details that could have been way less stressful by not having to interact with him. Overall outcome was fine.

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • User4195592 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    The food was excellent for the price. They did a wonderful job decorating the hall. The owner can be hard to get along with. We ran into problems with communication. We found that we were chasing after them to give them payment. They claimed that it was our fault. We think they were extremely busy and overwhelmed. Several guests commented on how good the food was, and the price was very competitive.

    Sent on 06/23/2014
  • User3641616 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Food was excellent. They packed up all of the left over food for us at the end of the night. Reasonable prices.

    Sent on 10/29/2013
  • User3428809 · 2+ years ago

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    It was a good price, but we did have some issues.

    Sent on 06/08/2014
  • J

    Joyce · Married on 08/31/2013

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This review is difficult to write because I know how expensive weddings can be. We had a very small outdoor wedding at a park in Suffield with the reception (about 80 ppl) in a picnic shelter. I was so excited about Special Moments because they had the best price. You really can't beat their prices. However, where they are great for cost and food (it tasted good), they lack in business ettiquette. The owner is NOT friendly at all. They had done receptions in that venue before, so the owner thought he could do what he wanted there. He did give me a recommendation about how to set up the venue, and I took that into consideration. But the day of...he changed everything we already had setup. He was rude to his employees and our groomsmen. Then he has his employees trained so strictly (just like him) that before the reception technically started, they DENIED MY 2 YEAR OLD SON-WATER!!!!!!! My MIL tried to get him some water and they refused. She told them it was for a 2 yr old, and she said no. That woman is lucky I wasn't there (we were getting pics taken). I'm so disappointed in them. I would not recommend them to anyone, but that's why it's so hard, because they do have great prices, good food, and they pack everything up and take care of it all. Such a shame they don't have good business ettiquette.

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • A

    Alan · Married on 08/18/2018

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Our wedding was on 8-18-18 let me start by saying the wait staff was great but we were charged 90.00 for using a credit card after offering to pay by check. We called Kelly multiple times and was ignored then called Steve the owner and he couldn’t even find the time to call and attempt solve the issue. WARNING the food is much better at the tasting. Do not recommend

    Sent on 09/19/2018

    Special Moments Catering's reply:

    We appreciate all feedback, so we can correct our mistakes in the future and better serve all our current and future clients. However, your remarks are not entirely honest. The week following your wedding, we received a telephone call thanking us on our excellent service and tasty food, as well as questioning the additional $90.00 credit card processing charge. It is told to our clients in advance there is a processing charge to use a credit or debit card. We accept checks as well with no additional charges. The choice was made to make your final payment by credit card during our final meeting. The same day this phone call was made to us, after our discussion we refunded that processing charge as a matter of courtesy, to your original credit card. Although during our phone conversation we were thanked for attentive and helpful staff, wonderful guidance in planning your reception, and delicious food, I am curious as to why your opinion has drastically changed. Thank you for your valuable input. Best wishes to you and Heather.
  • User3117182 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I just had them do my wedding a few weeks ago. Food was good. Service by the owner and a couple of their employees was TERRIBLE!! I had my reception hall set up the way that my now husband and I wanted. The next morning I came in to finish setting things up and they had moved and changed things around with out consulting with me first. When I asked why they changed it and explained to them why I wanted things where they were they gave me HUGE attitude about it. This not only happened when I first arrived but through out the set up process. They stated to me that "this is not their first time doing this." I understand that they have done this time and time before but you can give me your opinion or idea without having an attitude or causing a huge ordeal because its how I, the paying customer, wanted it and not their way. Also, reception started at 5:30pm they did not arrive until 5:15pm. They did not inform us of many details until it was too late to change them. VERY unhappy with their service.

    Sent on 08/30/2013
  • User3500493 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I just had them do my wedding a few weeks ago. Food was good. Service by the owner and a couple of their employees was TERRIBLE!! I had my reception hall set up the way that my now husband and I wanted. The next morning I came in to finish setting things up and they had moved and changed things around with out consulting with me first. When I asked why they changed it and explained to them why I wanted things where they were they gave me HUGE attitude about it. This not only happened when I first arrived but through out the set up process. They stated to me that "this is not their first time doing this." I understand that they have done this time and time before but you can give me your opinion or idea without having an attitude or causing a huge ordeal because its how I, the paying customer, wanted it and not their way. Also, reception started at 5:30pm they did not arrive until 5:15pm. They did not inform us of many details until it was too late to change them. VERY unhappy with their service.

    Sent on 08/30/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review