Weddings

Southport Community Building Reviews

Southport Community Building

Southport Community Building

Southport, NC
Rating 4.4 out of 5, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 89% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 19

11 User photos

Sort by:
  • Hannah
    Hannah P. Married on 10/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    RARE view, unbelievable price, PERFECT!

    Southport is our spot, but this venue has so many perks aside from how incredibly beautiful the view and trees are. We really want to get married under the massive trees with the water behind us, but this venue is truly a hidden gem. The price of the spot is hard to beat AND it comes with chairs and tables for inside. Which is a plus. We served liquor and getting the liquor permit was pretty easy with help from the building manager who was AMAZING. Allayna Dail was incredible. She was not the original person who helped us, but as soon as she started things got easier. I noticed the website was updated with more info and a video and that was a very nice touch. I can't say enough about Allayna. As soon as she took over managing the building, everything became a lot easier and less stressful. She was easy to get a hold of, always answered our questions or helped us with things we didn't know. She was accommodating and knowledgeable. She made our experience great. The only downfall is that you rent the building for 12 hours so depending on your time frame, you can't get in early enough for the bridesmaids to get ready unless you want to pay extra. It was not a deal breaker for us and Allayna was still accommodating when we asked about getting more time. Our day was absolutely perfect. This venue is a GEM.
  • Mark
    Mark D. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best View for a wedding in Southport

    We knew right when we got engaged that we wanted to get married at the community building. Us being local, we knew the view is the best in town for a wedding. We booked it 18 months before our wedding and it was closed up until 2 weeks before our wedding. We are so glad we didn't have to postpone and it was reopened just in time for our September wedding.

    The weather was perfect, the guests loved the view, the deck, the area, everything about our little town of Southport, plus the old homes/water front is a photographers dream come true. The large kitchen is great for any caterer. Our DJ brought his own lights to make the reception look more like a party, one thing the community building doesn't have is dimming lights so if you book a DJ, make sure he brings his own strobe lights because if he doesn't, the lights will stay on and it will be bright, look like you are dancing under the lights of a Walmart lol. Overall, the Community Building is a perfect place to host your wedding.

    If you are planning a wedding here in Southport, call Allayna to book it. You will not be disappointed.
  • C
    Cameron Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Vicki was absolutely fantastic to work with! We got married in July at Southport Presbyterian Church and then had our reception at the Community Building. The reservation process was very easy and then we were provided with a vendor list with exceptional vendors. During our reception the liason from the Community Building noticed that we were beginning to get low on beer and left to pick up more for our reception. The communication was awesome and we would recommend this venue to anyone who loves a beautiful beach atmosphere without being on the beach!
  • C
    Charles Married on 01/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Vicki was great! The Southport Community Building was the perfect location for our wedding and we could not have asked for more!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 04/30/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Southport Community building was perfect for our wedding and reception in Southport, NC! The staff were very helpful and let us see the building several times before the wedding and also let us hold our rehearsal there. The weekend manager of the building (Mike) is one of the nicest people I have ever met and he and his wife did everything possible to make our day absolutely perfect! I would definitely recommend this location to anyone interested in getting married in the area!
  • S
    Elizabeth Married on 07/21/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful space with a beautiful view. It was the perfect site for our reception -- I didn't want to have it anywhere else.
  • D
    Deb (. Married on 06/13/2020
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Destination Wedding

    Beautiful place for a wedding. Awesome views!
  • J
    Juanmary Married on 08/09/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Southport is a beautiful building! I love the gorgeous outdoor deck overlooking cape fear, and the inside of the building is just a beautiful. The building manager has been nothing but helpful and flexible. Would highly recommend this venue!
  • M
    Mike Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great venue for a wedding. We loved the deck, views and venue. Since it's a City owned property, the service was slightly lower than a private venue but that's to be expected. Overall we were thrilled and very satisfied. The guests all loved it too.
  • A
    Allison Married on 08/03/2013
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We LOVED this venue. Our guests raved about the wedding's location, and you seriously cannot beat getting married on the deck. While it sometimes takes a while for the staff to get back to you (understandable since they are all part-time city employees), they are always accommodating and kind. I truly feel like I made the perfect choice.
  • L
    Niki Married on 08/09/2009
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The SouthPort Community building turned out to be a beautiful, well maintained historic building with a georgous view.
    The facilitator made it quite clear what the building and conduct standards were as soon as we looked into the rental of the space. During the ceremony and reception the staff was helpful and hardworking and nearly invisible. A truly memorable facility that felt very appropriate for the beautiful and intimate event we planned.
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 05/20/2011
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    The most beautiful venue on the water for the money! It is an ideal, picturesque place. I spent lots of time researching venues and couldn't be more pleased with how things turned out. It is important to note that someone from the Center will be in the building the entire time of your wedding/reception/event. They are there to ensure that noise levels are not too high and the party doesn't get out of hand. I thought they were very helpful and easy to work with.
  • Rachel
    Rachel Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful location

    Vickie was great to work with and was very flexible in receiving our payment as a hurricane came through one month before our wedding, when our balance was due. The view is beautiful and the space hardly needs to be decorated at all because it is so breathtaking by itself. I didn't catch the name of the woman at the building day-of, but she was a little rude when we arrived only 20 minutes early to set up. She also was sluggish in taking care of a wasp nest that was on the porch ceiling, but it was taken care of before the ceremony began. Overall, we were so glad we used this space for our wedding!
  • Allie
    Allie Married on 05/25/2014
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The Southport Community Building is gorgeous. I love the location, and the weather for my wedding was perfect, so I couldn't have been happier with that. They have tables and chairs for your use, but you have to bring in everything else yourself. There is a kitchen on site for the catering staff. The large windows show off the scenery nicely, but the real reason I got married there is the back deck overlooking the Cape Fear River, with the large Oak trees framing everything. A very pretty spot to get married. My only gripe is the cost for out of towners - it is very expensive! And I hear that they are raising the rates... if it had rained, I would have been really annoyed to have paid that much to get married inside the building. It is a nice building, but the special factor is the deck/view.
  • User916185 2+ years ago
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    From the day we were engaged, we knew we wanted to have our wedding at the Southport Community Building. It was absolutely beautiful and the capacity was perfect for our headcount. Everytime we called to inquire about a date, they were always booked up; so make sure you're quick to grab it while it's available! The scenery of the water and garden areas made for amazing pictures.

    The building had just transferred management when we called to reserve our date; so their information wasn't always easy to come by, and their rates went up from the previous contract we had received. Also, one of the managers moved her office to the building itself, to the room that was distinguished as the "bar area" during our tour just a few months before our wedding. They made arrangements to have the area available to us, however seemed "inconvenient" to do so. Also, the morning of our rehearsal was not "on the calendar" even though it was in our contract (we were in the way of another event setting up).

    Overall, the venue was amazing and everything I imagined for our wedding, but management wasn't always willing to work with us.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 10/02/2010
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    The Southport Community Building is a really beautiful clean space. The location is gorgeous and overlooks the Cape Fear River with tons of Live Oak trees all around. The people who work there are really nice and accommodating. One of the down sides is that there are a lot of restrictions regarding use of the space. Nothing can be hung from the walls, doors or ceilings, no sparklers and no tents may be set up on the propery. The lighting in the space could be much better as there was no dimmer system on the overhead lights. it was either way too bright or way too dark. Also, there is no parking on site and catering/bar services must be brought in from outside vendors.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/13/2013
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved the location we had our ceremony and reception. Because it is a community building it was very difficult to get into contact with the people that run the center to plan.
  • L
    Leslie Married on 04/05/2013
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Southport Community Building is such an amazingly beautiful spot to get married. We loved our pictures, they came out great with the water and oak trees during the ceremony. Unfortunately the lady who runs it is slow in returning messages/calls, it took me about 2 months to get my date booked. We were using a laptop for our reception music, but she failed to mention there was no cord to connect the laptop to the sound system. One of our family members had to run to the store to buy us a cord after the ceremony. However, they do set up the tables and chairs for you inside the building, that was very useful. You cant get in early to set up, only the time you have paid for, so the tables being ready was a huge help. So overall it was a fantastic location and your wedding will be beautiful there as long as you don't mind the potential headache of getting it booked.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/25/2015
    Rating 3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    Beautiful venue, however if it wasn't for the nature beauty of it I probably would have looked elsewhere. When I was trying to set up appointment to see the inside, it was difficult to get ahold of director , even if I was there when they were opened. I had originally booked it for the evening and to have reception predominantly outside. However, in June ( after invitations had been ordered) I was made aware the board had voted to have no outside music after 8. This significantly altered my plans, and the center did not intend to honor the contract I had signed with them back in February. When I contacted them regarding this, I was initially told I was welcome to a full refund or to change my wedding time. After letting them know neither option was satisfactory, I was refunded 50% of the two hours that would have been outside. I don't believe that was sufficient for them not honoring the contract I had based my entire wedding plans on, but I took it and carried on. I don't regret using thr center as it was exactly the surrounding I wanted for wedding, but if it weren't for that, I wouldn't have used them