Something Special Catering Inc. Reviews

10 | Granby, MA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Something Special Catering Inc.

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

10
Order by:
  • N

    Nicholas K. · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Summer wedding catering

    We used Something Special for our July 2018 wedding and from the moment we met Barry and Laurie it felt as though we were a part of their family. We had a tasting along with my parents and in-laws and were able to taste some appetizers, soups, and meals. We knew from that moment that no matter what food we chose it would be delicious. We had our tasting in the fall, but our wedding was in the summer. When we went back a few weeks before the wedding they noted that one of our selections was more appropriate for the winter weather that we tasted it in and we able to change the meal to fit for the season. We would have never thought about it if it weren't for Barry and Laurie bringing it up and it was absolutely the right call everyone told us how much they loved the raspberry sorbet.

    Sent on 12/31/2018
  • A

    Allison · Married on 08/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were such a pleasure to work with, went above and beyond expectations. Very personable and always on top of things. Our guests and us included were very satisfied with the food, it was beyond delicious! The serving staff were great, no complaints!! Thank you guys so much for making our night wonderful!

    Sent on 08/26/2017

    Something Special Catering Inc.'s reply:

    Thank You Allison. I wish you and Dan the best of luck with all your future endeavors.
  • L

    Leah · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Something Special Catering for our wedding and we were so happy with their service and value. Our guests loved the food (one even said the prime rib was the best they ever had). Their presentation of the buffet was very elegant and their servers were professional and attentive to our needs. Our venue did not have a caterer's kitchen which can be a challenge, however their service was top notch. I would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 06/28/2017

    Something Special Catering Inc.'s reply:

    Thanks Lea for your review. 100% Satisfaction is what we strive for.
  • E

    Elana · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie and Barry from Something Special were WORLD CLASS!!! Food was so excellent that our guests are still raving about it 3 days later! Their menu options were great, services were fantastic and level of professionalism was top-notch! The set-up, took down, served my guests, had the champagne poured for our toast, and everything else in between! We approx 210 guests and there was more than enough food. HIGHLY RECCOMMEND!

    Sent on 08/30/2016

    Something Special Catering Inc.'s reply:

    Thank you Elana it was a pleasure to work with you.
  • User6915688 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barry and Lori are a husband and wife team. They have a HUGE selection on their menu, but also offered to cook anything we wanted! We chose their chicken Saltimbocca and Roast Turkey plus beautiful and creative sides and salads. The food was FANTASTIC! They were a dream to work with! Their staff was so friendly. Beyond all this, they were the best value for money! Their price, unlike other caterers included all dishes and linens. They offered to set up centerpieces for us too! The meal was well presented, delicious and amazing value for money! I can't say enough good about them!!!!

    Sent on 07/03/2016
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great quality. Great price. Several people complimented the food after the wedding. The staff was very friendly, down to earth and very accomidating.

    Sent on 09/06/2016
  • G

    Resident · Married on 10/21/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My guests loved the food. I needed to find a caterer last minute because of problems with my original caterer and Something Special was so responsive, helpful, and professional. I would highly recommed them.

    Sent on 01/26/2009
  • A

    Anna · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie and Berry were great to work with. Once we set up our food tasting and tasted their selection we knew it was meant to be. The food tastes great and their presentation was awesome. They were very accommodating to our selection of food and service. They were flexible and eager to work with us. All the staff that were there for our wedding were a pleasure to work with. We had a couple of hiccups in the process but in the end everything turned out good. Would definitely recommend them to others.

    Sent on 10/05/2017
  • Livingstone-to-be

    Gail · Married on 05/23/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Laurie was great to work with. The food was delicious and she and her staff did an excellent job of serving, clean-up and even set up of the centerpieces, flowers, decorative bows, and favors.

    Sent on 06/17/2008
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/20/2016

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    They were awful to work with! Started out great, I even recommended them to a friend who was getting married before me and she had said they were great. For us they gave us trouble with everything and made my day stressful beyond words! First off they don't take credit payments, not in the contract, so I gave up my whole cocktail hour of food to afford cash payment. They were told up front that our venue was only a prep kitchen and they said don't worry about it, we deal with those issues.. Nope instead I was renting a $277 grill the week before the wedding for them to cook. They never went to see the actual venue until the week before even though they were booked for months and months before that. Our final amount due, was highlighted and confirmed via email and then after I paid it I was given a call saying I owed about $810 because they made a math error and wanted it that day! Then we ordered extra meals for after the wedding and were told they were "given away". When we asked about meals of those who didn't show I was given nothing but attitude and she walked away from me. And to add to the issues my cake was thrown out and I had ordered enough to feed over 160 and had 125-130 actual show at the wedding. Never would have guessed I would have these terrible issues!

    Sent on 08/22/2016

    Something Special Catering Inc.'s reply:

    Hi Rachel,
    Sorry you did not have a great experience with us. I would like to explain our General Conditions that we follow.
    1. We did specify on the day of your booking that we do not accept credit cards, this is also stated on our general conditions page of our menu package.
    2.Every venue is different and unique and so is the kitchen facilities. We do adapt with what we have to work with by using our hot boxes and cold boxes to hold our foods. Every menu is also unique and we have to make adjustments to satisfy your menu choice and to present the food in the best possible manner. The filet mignon and your salmon required us to use a grill and the guest gave us great reviews on the food.
    3. Sorry on the math error, There were two digits mixed up but we did catch that right away so you had ample time to pay the balanced owed.
    4. Sorry we did feed your bartenders that you hired and we do not credit you back for guest that do not show up.
    5.We did cut 143 slices of cake and topped it with a chocolate covered strawberry for all the guest that were there and put it out on the table, buffet style near your coffee station. We did save your cake top and put it out on your gift table. Sorry but the slices that are left on the buffet table we do throw away, we do not save that following our serve-safe standards.