Solar Arts by Chowgirls Reviews

22 | Minneapolis, MN
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Solar Arts by Chowgirls

Recommended by 93%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • Katie

    Katie Tucker · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue, Great Staff

    We worked with Jenna at Solar Arts, and she was great - responsive, friendly, and accommodating. The event space was historic, charming, and spacious. The food and dessert were delicious. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 04/23/2019
  • J

    J · Married on 08/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our recent wedding was everything we could've hoped for and more, and that was largely thanks to Chowgirls. The space is obviously beautiful and it's fun having using the second floor for cocktail hour. The whole evening went off without a hitch and we couldn't believe how good the food was - everyone raved about it. The salmon, for example, was actually hot and not at all overcooked! They estimated the perfect amount of food for our number of guests (about 160) and had two buffets so guests got through it very quickly. Their estimation of how much our guests would drink was also spot-on - just barely over the actual amount, which was refunded the next business day. Daria was an absolute dream to work with. We had so many menu changes, special requests, and a very opinionated family, which complicated everything. But Daria was always patient, timely addressed every question we had, and was a pro at working respectfully within our family situation. I really cannot recommend Solar Arts and Chowgirls enough!!

    Sent on 08/19/2018
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best experience working with Chowgirls and having our ceremony and reception at Solar Arts. Throughout the whole planning process, everything was easy to understand and our questions were answered so quickly! The day went perfect and the entire staff was amazing to work with. Everyone complimented us on how smoothly the day ran and how amazing the food and bar was. Definitely not typical wedding food; they are creative and everything tasted amazing! The venue space looks really great, and we could not have asked or expected a more perfect day in a beautiful setting!

    Sent on 08/16/2018
  • G

    Gretchen · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I HIGHLY recommend the Solar Arts building for your special day. Our wedding was PERFECT. Jenna Anderson and her team were so helpful throughout the entire planning process (and extremely organized)! The food, atmosphere and customer service was exceptional. If you're looking for a beautiful, industrial space for your wedding day - the solar arts building is a MUST. Thank you to the Solar Arts & Chowgirls team for making it the most memorable day of our lives. You're awesome! - Gretchen

    Sent on 05/30/2018
  • A

    Ali · Married on 12/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at the Solar Arts building at NYE and it was the best day ever. The space was magical, the food was amazing and every little detail was taken care of. From the first tour of the venue until 12:30am on the night of our wedding - everything was seamless. Jenna was fabulous and made the planning process easy and exciting. Our guests raved about the venue - it was the perfect cozy night in on a very cold MN night! I would highly recommend solar arts to anyone looking for a city wedding with an intimate setting. It was exactly what we were looking for. Better than we could have ever imagined!

    Sent on 01/23/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about Jenna and the people at Solar Arts and Chowgirls. We had both our ceremony and reception at the Solar Arts venue for 200 people. Everything went flawlessly. We had so many positive comments from our guests about the style of the venue, the food ("best wedding food they ever had"), the space, and how smoothly it was run. Throughout the whole process, Jenna was responsive and incredibly helpful. We were particular about our bar and beer choices, and she patiently worked with us to make sure our bar menu was what we wanted. In addition, we got news a few weeks before our wedding that the brewery below would be having a festival on the same day. We were concerned this could affect our vendors and guests, especially parking. Jenna helped us to inform our vendors, got us last minute valet service, and in the end, we couldn't even tell the festival was going on outside. I highly, highly recommend the Solar Arts venue and Chowgirls catering!!

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • User5092419 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our reception was this November at the Solar Arts Building and everything about the space and the catering was incredible - from the planning process, to the food, to the layout - the entire event was amazing! It was the most perfect space for our size group, and working with Jenna to plan everything was smooth sailing! She made sure that we were incorporating as much of "our touch" as possible in everything from the food to the drinks to the decorations. Hands down the best catering I've had at any event... The food was phenomenal! The space itself is beautiful - exposed beams, brick walls, wood floors - so we didn't do much with decorations, but I can see how this space could be transformed into whatever your vision is! I'm so happy we found this space while on the hunt for the perfect venue. It's safe to say we had the best bash of the year here! THANK YOU CHOWGIRLS!

    Sent on 12/06/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was a dream! We absolutely loved the rustic and elegant space, the exposed brick, wooden beams and large windows worked so well with all of our beautiful greenery- eucalyptus and Edison bulbs. Working with Jenna and her team was so smooth, professional and fun. Oh and that food-- our guests were raving about Chow Girls. The day was perfect!

    Sent on 02/24/2017
  • Z

    Zoe · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We already knew we loved the gorgeous space at the Solar Arts building--Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash fans, the amazing, ornately carved wooden bar from their house lives in the space like a shrine!--and knew we dug the Chowgirls' local, sustainable, woman-owned & -run catering business when we went to their grand opening a couple of years ago. There, we got to sample their food and were really impressed by its quality & deliciousness. We also noted the great energy of the staff, and the sumptuous beauty of the space when fully decorated. So Chowgirls was our first choice of location & caterer for our wedding bash earlier this month, and we couldn't be happier with the way it turned out. Meghan and Jenna were wonderful to work with in putting the party together, so pleasant, kind, accommodating, supportive, and communicative; and the staff night-of was fabulous too (as a same-sex couple, we appreciate this all the more). We heard nothing but "Best party ever!" from our guests, and even though Indeed Brewery was having its 10th anniversary blowout on the first floor, we couldn't hear their crowd and none of our 140 or so guests had trouble parking (also thanks to a reserved lot and parking attendant, which was easy to arrange). We're still smiling till our faces hurt about that night, and the fact that our party came off even better than we could possibly have imagined it would. We couldn't recommend Solar Arts by Chowgirls highly enough!

    Sent on 10/19/2016
  • C

    Chris · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for something historic and well done you will like this. Not fancy. We liked how helpful the staff was in spite of the fact that they are a rather new venue. They listened to us.

    Sent on 09/12/2016

    Solar Arts by Chowgirls's reply:

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We enjoyed working with you, Greg, and Lucy & Dave to make their wedding day a memorable occasion! Thank you!
  • L

    Lucy · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding ceremony and reception at Solar Arts and were very impressed! When we first booked, we had 3 different coordinators in about 3 months and were very worried. Once everyone at Solar Arts got settled in, we were very impressed!! Lauren was our main contact and amazing to work with! She was quick to respond, very friendly and willing to help in any way possible! The venue was gorgeous as is, so we didn't need to bring in too many decorations. The food was delicious and all the staff were very helpful day of. There is a really cute area for the bridal party to get ready, and store everything during the day. We highly recommend having your wedding here!

    Sent on 09/22/2016

    Solar Arts by Chowgirls's reply:

    Thank you so much for such kind words! It means a lot that you would take the time to share your thoughts. We loved working with you, and adored all the detail that went into your wedding. The travel theme and the giraffe cake topper were such fun, personal touches! And the fact that you planned it all from afar was really impressive. We wish you and Dave nothing but the best!!
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a historical setting with rustic charm, friendly and professional staff and great food, this is the place. I'm a picky girl and knew what I was looking for. As soon as we toured this space I fell in love with it. The space is a beautiful blank slate that can look amazing without even needing to do much to it. Everything turned out great for our reception, it was wonderful! Large space accommodates large groups comfortably, beautiful structural details are everywhere and the Chowgirls staff is awesome. I never worried about anything, they took care of all of it and did a great job. The food was delicious and everything ran on schedule without any hiccups. Chowgirls is efficient and fabulous!

    Sent on 10/03/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OH MY GOSH. My husband and I just got married at the Solar Arts Building. The space itself is incredibly beautiful and perfect for a wedding, but what put the icing on the cake was the customer service. We worked with two women, Eleni and Lauren. They were exceptional during the planning process. Always answering emails right away and helping us figure out anything and everything. I had only been involved in one wedding beforehand and was totally new to all things planning and they were both always ready to answer questions. One example is when we found our there was an event in the space when we were supposed to have our rehearsal. My mom and I had a quick freak out but their team was able to get us in the 2nd floor to practice and even sneak us upstairs before the event to do a quick run through. When the day came, I had absolutely nothing to worry about. Everything was PERFECT. Sometime during the reception, another woman on the team, Nathanya, took over and she came up to introduce herself and complimented me on the wedding. It made me feel really taken care of. My mom and I developed friendships with our planners and it was a much more personal experience than I expected which made it all the more wonderful. The space is not only beautiful, but the art studios on the 2nd floor make a perfect spot for the cocktail hour. We loved this because no one had to leave the venue at any time! Chowgirls is also the most amazing caterer. I got endless compliments on the food and desserts. I was nervous about having a buffet, but everything came out piping hot, and the staff just dismissed the tables one by one and it went off without a hitch! I would recommend this venue to anyone. It's beautiful and the staff truly cares about making the day special!

    Sent on 06/29/2016

    Solar Arts by Chowgirls's reply:

    Thank you, Katie! Working with you and Zach was such a pleasure, and we couldn't be happier that you were pleased with your experience. It was so amazing watching you and your guests celebrate all night long. Hopefully we'll have the chance to work with you again in the future!
  • M

    Maddie · Married on 05/06/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Solar Arts made our wedding Magical! Our guests gave us so many complements on the space and how beautiful it was. Not to mention the food! Their catering service is top notch and provided high quality delicious food that looked as good as it tasted. Jenna was our coordinator, it was such a pleasure working with her! She provided wonderful advice while we were planning and was always there to answer any questions we had. She was also wonderful to have the day of the wedding, things ran very smoothly. Nathanya was also wonderful to have the day of. She was very thoughtful and pulled aside appetizers and snacks for us the day of so we could enjoy them too. We could not have a better setting for our special day and want to thank all of the Solar Arts Staff for all of the hard work they put into that day!

    Sent on 05/21/2017
  • G

    Geeta · Married on 11/04/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at Solar Arts in November and we are so glad that we chose this location and were able to work with the people at Chowgirls. From planning, to food tasting and the day of our wedding, we couldn't have been happier. Everyone was so helpful, thoughtful and made us feel so special on our big day. The food was amazing and of course the space was beautiful. Thanks for making our day so wonderful Chowgirls Catering!

    Sent on 01/02/2017
  • M

    Maddie · Married on 07/30/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! We cannot say enough positive things about Solar Arts and the wonderful Chowgirls staff. Our July 2016 wedding was absolutely perfect. The space itself is amazing, with so much character, significance, and ability for customization. It's a large space, but has a very intimate feel. We were so at ease knowing what good hands we were in with our coordinators Lauren Carbonneau and Eleni Beloy. We are definitely the planning type, and we loved how much interaction we had with Lauren and Eleni prior to the big day. We knew exactly what to expect - the food, drinks, and space all over-exceeded our expectations. We are so happy we had our wedding at Solar Arts. The whole experience and wedding day was a total dream come true!

    Sent on 08/16/2016

    Solar Arts by Chowgirls's reply:

    Maddie,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Your wedding was a gorgeous affair, from the chandeliers to the gold/soft pinks color scheme, it really made our space come alive. And we couldn't have loved your horah dance any more - such a fun moment, and a first for us!! We wish you and John nothing but the best in marriage and life!
  • M

    Mike · Married on 06/18/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at Solar Arts and we can’t thank them enough for helping to make our wedding day a huge success! All of our guests were crazy about the space and how beautiful everything looked. The bridal suite was great to have for the bride and bridesmaids to get ready in and having the second floor available for cocktail hour was really great! All of the staff we amazing to work with and so helpful!

    I wanted to give an example of how helpful the staff were. The day before the wedding the elevator broke. With the space being up on the third floor we were quite nervous at first. But when they called us to let us know about the issue they already had a plan in place to help with this inconvenience. They had plenty of extra hands on deck to help our vendors bring things up and also to help those guests that really needed the elevator. To be honest we didn’t even notice a difference because of how hard they worked!

    The food was outstanding from Chowgirls and the bar staff was exceptional! Everything they did helped us have an amazing wedding and reception! I have to add one last comment. We had one guest that seemed to party a little too hard and the security and bar staff did an amazing job helping him out and most of our guests didn’t even notice. Their professionalism and courtesy toward our guests was outstanding.
    Thank you to all of Chowgirls and the Solar Arts crew!

    Sent on 06/24/2016

    Solar Arts by Chowgirls's reply:

    Mike,

    Thank you so much for such a glowing review! It means a lot to us that you would take the time to share your thoughts. You & Ashlyn were such a joy to work with! The cute DIY boards and Buffalo Wild Wings for a late night snack were such great personal touches. We are beyond glad that your experience with us met your expectations. We wish you a lifetime of happiness and hope to work with you again in the future!
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/28/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An incredible venue. Gorgeous and roomy. Hands down would recommend the space and Chowgirls to anyone!

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • A

    Angie · Married on 06/25/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely stunning space, big enough for a large group and the food was fantastic! We felt like we didn't need to do much with centerpieces, flowers, lights and decor because the space looks so great. We started out having a hard time getting a response back to our questions but once they passed us onto Lauren and Eleni, they were very prompt. The wedding got more expensive than we planned so be sure to view a full estimate of everything and not just the food.

    Sent on 07/12/2016

    Solar Arts by Chowgirls's reply:

    Angie,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We really enjoyed working with you & John, and loved how you made the wedding your own with details like the ceremony backdrop! We wish you nothing but happiness in your new life together, and hope we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.
  • User6515249 · event on 12/04/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Solar Arts by Chowgirls is an absolutely amazing space that, although it can host a few hundred, made even a small event feel intimate, warm and just has we had imagined. The ease in planning and their flexibility was essential to making this event a smashing success, leaving the attendees gleeful. I would whole heartedly recommend this venue for an event you will never forget.

    Sent on 03/23/2016
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 09/09/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We started out a little shaky with Chowgirls. We booked about a year before our wedding and worked with Jenny first - then Jack, then Eleni. I struggled working with Eleni to be totally honest. I felt like she was very unorganized and didn't refer back to previous correspondence to know what we had already discussed. About 2 months before our wedding we were told that Eleni was leaving and that Lauren and Kari would be taking over. Lauren and Kari were INCREDIBLE!!! They were responsive and very organized. They were so great to work with - I couldn't have asked for better people to execute our wedding. On wedding day everything went exactly as planned. The food was delish, the space looked fantastic, our guests had a great time. I had to mark the value a little low - the rental is expensive and you don't get much with that fee. We did have to get our own screen for a slideshow and provided our own microphone and speaker for the ceremony.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • User6332599 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    My husband and I recently got married at the Solar Arts building. While the history and beauty of the venue were great, the customer service was absolutely horrendous. We originally started speaking with someone named Jack, signed the contract and went through our tasting with him. After not being able to reach him for approximately a month after the tasting, I received an automated email saying that he was no longer with the company. No one called or tried contacting us regarding the wedding what-so-ever. I emailed the contact person, Eleni, and received an apologetic response shortly after. This email was the one and only email I received promptly. She is almost impossible to get in touch with. If you choose to go with this vendor, be prepared to not get your invoices until TWO WEEKS before the event despite empty promises to get them months sooner. Also be prepared to send multiple emails and make numerous calls before receiving a response. I would never recommend this venue or catering company to anyone else planning a wedding or event of any size. There are other similar venues and catering companies in the area that would be more worth your time and effort. This was the most stressful part of the wedding planning process and I honestly didn't know if I could even expect someone to be there on the day of the wedding. The person who was there wasn't even Eleni - she pushed us off to her assistant who we only spoke with briefly in the week or two leading up to the event. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY if you want peace of mind and minimal stress. Wedding planning is stressful enough as it is - no one should be subjected to this treatment by a company regardless of the size or date of their event.

    Sent on 03/07/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review