Smokin Willy Reviews

127 | Leesburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

127 Reviews for Smokin Willy

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

127

15 User photos

Smokin Willy 1
Smokin Willy 2
Smokin Willy 3
Smokin Willy 4
Smokin Willy 5
+ 11
Order by:
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and the crew at Smokin Willy were beyond what we had expected and hoped for. From the minute we met them it felt like we were hanging out with friends. From the beginning they showed generous hospitality and expertise in the entire planning process. The best part was that they were just plain fun to plan our perfect wedding day. They made our reception a hit by not only their professional and unique display but the food was absolutely delicious! My husband and I highly recommend Smokin Willy to any couple that wants to have a fun and exciting wedding day with delicious food all the guests will remember.

    Sent on 04/27/2016
  • J

    Jim · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Holy cow! If you are looking for a great catering experience, contact Chris and his crew at Smokin' Willy. From the time we started the planning, through the event and into the cleanup I can honestly say I have never worked with a more professional staff. Chris first listened to all that we thought we wanted. Chris helped guide us to a great plan with few minor changes we had not considered. Chris then met us at our venue to walk through all of the details. Finally, Chris and his team showed up to manage a wedding reception that everyone loved. Do not hesitate to ask questions and for guidance - you will benefit well from their experience. All of his staff was courteous, friendly, clean cut and helpful when needed. We had outstanding appetizers to start and a mix of BBQ pork, beef brisket and chicken (grilled on site!) along with an array of sides and other goodies for dinner (the corn bread was to die for). When it was all done, his crew returned our venue to its original state and it looked like we had never been there. I cannot recommend these folks enough - thank you Chris for a job well done and loved by everyone. There was one comment from a guest which sticks out in my mind... "Where did you find these guys? They are genius!"

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • J

    Justin · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent catering for our wedding! Chris was great to work with, his staff was very professional and kept the event running smoothly. We didn't have to worry about a thing. He was even able to handle a special request for us (corn in our cornbread) and take care of a last minute change by providing coffee for the reception, all without \any problems whatsoever. And the food was absolutely delicious and by far the best value we could find in any catering company we looked at. Provided great insight into what works well for groups of our size, including the appetizers during the cocktail hour and food and drink quantities for the reception. Can't recommend this company enough!

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • User5403154 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Smokin' Willy for our son and daughter in laws wedding, and it was absolutely perfect! I have never had better food at a wedding,, and the staff was super as well. Everyone attending the wedding raved about how delicious the food was! The appetizers were just perfect too, and the staff walked around and served those to our guests. I am so happy that we chose Smokin' Willy, and I would definitely use them again!

    Sent on 09/02/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and his team at Smokin' WIllys exceeded our expectations in every way!
    We served a BBQ buffet at our wedding reception, the presentation was unique and impressive and most importantly, the food was delicious - most of our guests went back for seconds and even asked for recipes.

    We were quite budget conscious while wedding planning and Chris respected that and advised us where it made sense to spend extra and what expenditures weren't worth it.
    And an added bonus: I dreamed of having farm tables, and he made it happen! :)

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • E

    Erinn · Married on 04/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smokin Willy is the BEST option if you want great food at your wedding! My husband is from Kansas City (where BBQ is king) and wanted our wedding food to be delicious and memorable….well Chris and his team delivered!!

    Chris was highly professional, responsive and a pleasure to work with. We were undecided about the a few of our menu options and # of hors d'oeuvres but he worked with us leading up to the big day. On the day of our wedding, he and his staff were prompt and did a great job of serving our guests. The BBQ was delicious and we had many guests going back for 2nds and 3rds. We still have guests mentioning how much they enjoyed the food and that it was the best wedding food they have ever had.

    Additionally, Chris supplied all of our rentals including the chairs, linens and farm tables. His farm tables are affordable and beautifully complemented our rustic chic decor.

    We highly recommend Chris and Smokin Willy!

    Sent on 05/10/2015
  • K

    Kylie · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smokin Willy catered my 10/4/2014 VA Vineyard wedding. They brought grills on site to serve chicken and steak. My wedding guests had nothing but great things to say about the food served, and enjoyed the experience of walking out to the grills to get their dinner. Chris Scharrer was a pleasure to work with. He was very familiar with our venue and offered great input, his staff was also extremely friendly and provided excellent service at the wedding. I would highly recommend Smokin Willy to cater a wedding or any upcoming event you may have!

    Sent on 10/17/2014
  • User4456198 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone absolutely raved about the food and we couldn't have been more pleased with the service of Chris and his team. Funny thing is that Chris called me a week before our wedding to relay that Tracey (whom we had worked with in the planning process) was no longer available to run the event BUT reassured us that it would be amazing and gave us his personal guarantee. He followed through on that!! Te food was amazing, his team set up the reception site wonderfully and they knocked it out of the park. They have this catering business down to a science. I HIGHLY recommend Chris and his team to anyone and have gladly relayed his contact to others that commented at our wedding. ?

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tracey and her team were fabulous! She was easy to contact, answered all of our questions, and was extremely flexible with our menu options. Our guests repeatedly told us how great the food was and kept going back for more! Her and her team went above and beyond our expectations for the set-up and clean-up. Our event could not have been successful without them!

    Sent on 09/02/2014
  • User4407237 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an absolute pleasure to work with Smokin Willy for our wedding. We were looking to have bbq/picnic style food for our reception, and Tracey Giffith completely understood our vision and helped us put together a fabulous menu for the cocktail hour and dinner. Right when we went in for our tasting, we knew we had found our caterer! Throughout the whole process, Tracey was very responsive and even came out for a site visit to get an idea of our venue and where the food prep and serve stations would be set up. She made everything so easy that we didn't need to worry about a single thing when it came to the food. The staff and cooks were wonderful as well! All food was prepared in a timely manner and they cleaned up everything so quickly and discretely.

    The food was DELICIOUS! I highly recommend getting the pigs-in-a-blanket for an appetizer. They are divine! We also had burgers and grilled chicken, which were out of this world! All of our guests were raving about how delicious the food was.

    We are so glad that we chose Smokin Willy for our wedding. I really believe that we couldn't have found a better caterer. They have the perfect combination of value, quality, professionalism, and delicious food. Thank you!!!

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • User2816588 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our guests are still raving about the amazing food that Smokin' Willy served at our reception! Tracey and her team are AMAZING to work with - we couldn't have asked for a better caterer. Tracey answered all of our questions leading up to the big day, and helped my mom feel at ease and calm (not an easy feat!). The food was absolutely scrumptious. 110% recommend Smokin' Willy!!!!

    Sent on 08/27/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Smokin Willy enough. Our guests raved about our food! So often wedding food isn't very memorable, but 7 months later, we still have people telling us how great our food was.

    We knew we wanted BBQ, and we wanted a more casual wedding, but not TOO casual. Smokin' Willy was perfect! Not only was the food memorable because it was different, but it was so good. We had just over 200 guests, but no complaints. That means success!

    Additionally, the owner of our venue, who used to be a caterer herself, recommended Smokin' Willy. That says something to me.

    Tracey, the event coordinator, was great to work with. She was very flexible in setting up a tasting, and I was sold immediately after the tasting. She gave us such a reasonable price that we simply couldn't pass it up. She was always very responsive and helpful. She put up with all my crazy questions and requests.

    Smokin' Willy also provided tables and chairs for our reception since our venue didn't, and they were able to come the Thursday before our Saturday wedding to set them up. It worked so well for us! The crew set up all the tables and chairs for us, which was a huge help. We could then decorate for the entire reception two days before it, which really helped our stress levels.

    Another cool thing they provided were these wine barrel tables for our cocktail hour. Such a cool touch.

    As with any wedding, the day of ours was a whirlwind, but Tracey and her crew knew exactly what we wanted and did such an amazing job. From being great bartenders, to serving hors d'oeuvres, to making sure there was always plenty of food during dinner, and so on...we couldn't have been happier. The food was so amazing that our guests went back for second and third helpings...even I stopped talking to guests for just a bit to get a second plate of food! (What bride does that?)

    I can't say this enough--if you want good food and a reception done right, go with Smokin' Willy.


    Sent on 12/31/2014
  • T

    Tim · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We want to express our appreciation to the Smokin' Willy's team for the outstanding job catering our event.

    From the start, they worked with us to plan a great menu and even accommodated our special requests. They maintained contact with us from the tasting through service of the food at the event. Their thorough communication with us made the party planning process much easier because we had no worries about the food.

    When party day came, the Smokin' Willy's team was on time and organized with set up and food preparation. Appetizers and drinks were politely served and perfectly mixed to make a wonderful introduction to the evening. The end result was a buffet that was beautifully decorated and nicely presented to our guests.

    However, the most important factor is always taste. Again, Smokin' Willy's came through with flying colors. Everyone commented on the deliciousness of the food. Confirmation on the quality of the food was that our guests were competing to take the leftovers home.

    The party turned out to be a gigantic success and much of the credit goes to the Smokin' Willy's team for delicious food planned, prepared and served in a professional manner.

    Thanks for everything and, rest assured, we will recommend Smokin' Willy's to anyone planning to cater an event.

    Sent on 05/05/2014
  • Audrey

    Audrey · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, the most delicious food we have EVER had. We approached multiple caterers about our vision for our wedding - hearty comfort food done well (totally wanted to embrace the fact our wedding was in the middle of winter). We gave Tracey a list of our favorite comfort foods (chicken pot pie, mac&cheese, grilled cheese, VA BBQ, cornbread, sweet potato fries etc) and the result was unbelievable. To this day, many of our guests are contacting me saying that it was hands down the most delicious wedding meal they have ever had! So much so, that they went back for thirds, fourths, even FIFTHS! I also had a vision to host a "bubbly bar" and a "whiskey bar" at the wedding. Tracey helped us figure out exactly how much of everything drink related we needed to purchase, and made sure that each bar was a slamming success!

    Aside from the outstanding food, Tracey was an absolute delight to work with. She was so accommodating to our needs and proved to be someone we could really trust throughout the wedding process. She pays great attention to detail and has a knack for taking people's visions and making them a reality - you will not regret working with her!

    Sent on 02/06/2014
  • User2873305 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at the wedding loved the food! Most people ended up getting a second plate. The employees were on the ball and Tracy would always get back to me in 30 minutes or less when I sent her an email. She went above and beyond by making a schedule for the night so everything went smooth! We will be visiting the store so we can grab a bite to eat and remember the phenomenal food that we got to share with family and friends

    Sent on 11/19/2013
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about Smokin' Willy's! Tracey went out of her way to make sure that everything was just like we wanted it, she and her staff were so professional, helpful and did the most amazing job setting up; tearing down and cleaning up! They even left the kitchen in better condition than when they got there. It was so nice to know that we didn't have to worry about anything because Tracey and her staff had it all handled!
    The food was more than amazing! We are getting calls asking us who our caterer was and we are not shy about telling them! We had brisket, chicken, pulled pork, mashed potatoes, grilled veggies, mac n cheese, cornbread and salad. Even one of our close friends who is extremely picky about his BBQ said it was the best that he has had in years!
    Tracey was so helpful and responsive when it came to all the silly and last minute questions that we had, we couldn't have asked for a better person! Her staff did such a great job, they looked and acted professional, the bartender was perfect and they went out of their way for us and our guests!
    I would definitely recommend Smokin' Willy's/Deli South to anyone having an event, not just a wedding. Working with Tracey made everything so easy and stress free!

    Sent on 10/06/2013
  • L

    L.A. · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I met in Texas, and so we wanted to have a Texas vibe at our wedding, complete with live music, a keg of Shiner beer, and of course, awesome BBQ! Smokin Willy's did an amazing job catering our wedding. Tracey was so accommodating and pleasant to work with, from the beginning til the end. The staff was extremely professional and helpful. Our guests loved the food, especially the brisket, which was very authentic. We would definitely recommend Smokin Willy's for any couple's wedding reception. And until we move back to Texas someday, we'll be going out to eat at Smokin Willy's often to get our BBQ fix!

    -B and L

    Sent on 07/22/2013
  • User3363314 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for a BBQ joint in Loudon County, VA to cater our wedding--I'm a BBQ nut--and Smokin' Willy was the first--and the last place we tried. Their catering operates out of DeliSouth in Leesburg, and they absolutely blew me away. Their brisket was the absolute star of the show--the owner's wife is from Texas-- but the pulled pork, BBQ chicked, collards and mac and cheese were also spectacular. I've travelled all over the country eating BBQ and this was easily the best I've had in Virginia.

    So that takes care of the food, but how was the service? First rate!!! Tracey the catering manager is a wonderful person and a true pro. She met with us five or six times, came out to our site twice and had everything under control at all times. On the actual wedding day she was working another event (a possibility we had known about) so Chris the owner ran the show and he was every bit as good. Their waitstaff and bartenders were friendly and professional, and were so good that we didn't need to think about catering for even a second on the wedding day.

    We give Smokin' Willy's our enthusiatic, excited, thumbs up, absolutely no reservations recommendation.

    Sent on 07/01/2013
  • Ryan Marie

    Ryan · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend Smokin Willy for your wedding. Our wedding was low-key and we did bbq style food. The cost was very reasonable. Tracey was amazing to work with and made our day stress-free by having everything in order. Our guests raved about the food - especially the mac & cheese! We highly recommend working with Smokin Willies for your wedding.

    Sent on 07/09/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently worked with Chris and Tracey at Smokin Willy for a wedding I was planning. I honestly don't know what I would have done without the two of them! When it came to coordinating the details together, Tracey was sure to help out in any way possible and was more than happy to give my clients exactly what they asked for. Prior to the event and on the day of, Chris was a phenomenal right hand man! I was also in the wedding, so it was such a relief to have someone I can trust to finish prepping and overseeing the set up. I really look forward to working with Smokin Willy again. I would very highly recommend them to anyone planning an event, no matter the casualty!

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smokin' Willy's catering is INCREDIBLE. I can't say enough positive things about them and we absolutely give them our strongest recommendation. We were very fortunate to have excellent vendors for our wedding, but Tracey at Smokin' Willy's takes the cake.

    We had our wedding June 2013 at my husband's parents farm with approx 140 people on a 90 degree hot Virginia day.

    The food was absolutely delicious. Pulled pork, Mac n' Cheese, sausage stuffed mushrooms just to name a few. . . did I mention the pulled pork??? We received so many compliments from our guests on the food!

    They were so easy to work with and very flexible. Tracey was responsive by email and phone, helped us think of every last detail to ensure a smooth catering experience. Working with Tracey felt more like working with a family friend than a vendor. She even visited the property a few months before and the week before the wedding to ensure they understood the lay of the land and would be completely prepared. We really wanted to add many personal touches to our wedding including specific selections for beer/wine. They provided bartenders, set up, break down and everything we needed --- they moved quickly and guests never had to wait in a long line to get a drink. On that note, they set up 4 lines for the buffet and strategically called tables so the lines moved at lightening speed (there's nothing worse than waiting in line for your meal at a wedding!)

    BOTTOM LINE: IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR DELICIOUS, AFFORDABLE BBQ WITH A VARIETY OF OPTIONS FROM A VENDOR THAT IS A PLEASURE TO WORK WITH. . . . . YOU'VE FOUND YOUR CATERER!

    THANK YOU SMOKIN' WILLY!

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • B

    Becca · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I were first engaged, we were initially overwhelmed by the idea of finding a caterer. We simply could not find a caterer in Northern VA to fit our small budget. I exhausted every option. It's crazy how many people are unwilling to work within a budget less than $10,000. ;) We had a 2pm wedding, so we just wanted light food, not a huge meal. After much frustration, we stumbled upon Smokin' Willy and decided to contact them. Tracey contacted us right away and assured us it would be possible to work within our budget....in fact she went UNDER our budget of $3,000 for about 200 guests! Tracey really found a way to magically make everything work. We received constant compliments on the food during the reception...honestly, you would never know that we spent so little.

    In addition to all this awesome food, is Tracey's knowledge and willingness to work with special diets. My husband was diagnosed with celiac disease during our engagement, and Tracey was one of the first people I contacted. She provided me with so much valuable information on the disease and created THE best gluten free food we have ever had for the wedding, specifically for my husband and me!

    I would absolutely recommend this company to anyone!

    Sent on 07/24/2013
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely LOVED working with Tracey at Smokin Willy BBQ. She was patient with our endless questions and last minute requests and very flexible with our limited budget. We recently moved to Colorado and had to plan our wedding from a distance. Tracey made our lives easy and took care of everything!

    And the food...was AMAZING! Definitely not your average wedding fare. We stuffed our selves silly at the tasting and were super excited to share this experience with our guests. There was an overwhelming positive response from everyone. Our guests raved about the flank steak and went back for thirds! I highly recommend Smokin Willy catering!

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tracey and Chris did an excellent job with helping us prepare for our daughter's wedding. With less than seven months for planning, Tracey and Chris were easy to work with, patient and gave us great advice on all aspects of the wedding. I really felt that they were invested in making her wedding very special and our lives stress free. The catering and food that Smokin Willy's provided was flawless. Our family and friends are still letting us know how tasty the food was especially for an outdoor wedding. So many were impressed that the meat was cooked right on site and to perfection. The staff stayed on top of everything and were very professional and well organized. We will definitely keep Smokin Willy's on the top of our list for future events and will visit them at both Deli South and Smokin Willy's. THANKS AGAIN Michelle and Tom

    Sent on 11/12/2012
  • D

    Dave · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING food! We are so pleased with Smokin' Willy! The food was delicious! They cooked onsite and served pulled pork (overall fav), ribs, grilled chicken and a variety of yummy sides. Everyone raved about the bbq and numerous said, "best wedding food ever!" Tracey was super helpful and was on top of her game- she helped us from the beginning starting with a long email train and an awesome tasting!
    Highly recommended from us!

    Sent on 10/15/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review