Smokin Willy Reviews

138 | Purcellville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

138 Reviews for Smokin Willy

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

138

23 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Krystal · Married on 04/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Team of Smokin Willy,

    Jose and I thank you for the wonderful food and great service at our wedding! Guests had debates on which the salmon and chicken was the best! Of course, they were both so yummy! Jose and I also noticed that your team checked up on each table if they needed anything else. Your team also made sure if Jose and I ate. We are so glad that we had time and were able to taste your food. We heard it was rare for the wed couple to finish their plate and we surely ate it all! Once again, thank you for everything! You are the best!

    Thank you
    Jose and Krystal del Mundo

    Sent on 04/18/2016
  • User4562078 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and his team were amazing! We loved working with them and our guests are STILL raving about the food. We knew from our first meeting with Chris that he would be a good fit. He was friendly, laid back, offered great advice but was never pushy. He listened to what our thoughts and needs and worked with us to come up with a great menu. He was incredibly helpful and gracious, offering his time to do a walk through of the venue, help us determine how much food and drinks would need, and allowed us to store the alcohol we purchased at his deli before and after the wedding. I’m sure he had a ton of other weddings going on, but he always remembered us and treated us like friends rather than clients. Day of, his team was fantastic! Our guests loved seeing them grill up our food and raved over how fresh and flavorful everything was. The service was incredible. We can’t recommend Smoking Willy enough!

    Sent on 05/22/2016
  • User5480778 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Chris and his team was the best decision we made for our wedding! From the moment we met with Chris for our tasting, he was responsive, knowledgeable, flexible, and fun to work with - and the food was amazing! Our guests went out of their way both on our wedding day and after to compliment the food and presentation. The brisket and cornbread stole the show! Chris was also very patient with us as we went through revisions of our menu - he is a true professional and I felt like I was in great hands. He has a lot of experience and talked us through everything. He helped us cultivate the perfect event, from the rehearsal dinner on. Also, Chris' team set up all of our table decorations and dessert buffet and they did an incredible job. When we walked into our reception area for the first time, we were blown away by how perfect it looked. We were blown away again when the food was served - the food was cooked perfectly, the presentation was lovely, and everything tasted incredible. I highly, highly recommend Chris and his team. We could not have asked for anything better!

    Sent on 09/29/2015
  • D

    Ginny · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are thrilled with everything about how our wedding food was - from the inquiry process, to the tasting, to the day of, everything was great. So many people were raving about the food, particularly the garlic mashed potatoes and carne asada. I have dreams about that carne asada. Also their green beans with bacon are fantastic, plus they bring the grills and cook the meat on-site so it smells aweseme too. It's all top notch! I thought it was the best wedding food I'd ever had but then I knew I was biased - except we had lots of other people say the same thing!! So not only was the food fantastic, but they provide ALL the rentals too - tables, chairs, linens, dinnerware, even the tent, and that was a HUGE help. It really simplified the process AND saved us money. We found out we had to get a tent permit because of our venue location and Chris took care of that really annoying process, including a visit from the fire marshal, so that we didn't have to. Chris was our point of contact all throughout the process and was managing everything on-site the day of. We couldn't have been happier with his laid back yet professional and on-top-of-things demeanor. The food was the one thing we knew would be a huge hit and it was! Highly recommended.

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • User5427147 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Smokin Willy to cater our wedding and it was a huge hit! Chris was awesome to work with and really goes above and beyond to meet your expectations. Everyone was raving about how good the food was. Everyone loved the smoker and he and his staff were just amazing. I would highly recommend their services.

    Sent on 09/11/2015
  • A

    Anneliese · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After searching the Shenandoah Valley for a good BBQ that came with a reliable catering service we were lucky enough to find Chris Scharrer and his Smokin Willy team. From the moment we met Chris at the tasting until the night of the event we felt we were in capable hands. We opted for family style meal and took Chris' suggestions on food selection. Our guests were piling up plates for seconds and thirds. Chris was a planner and a problem solver as well as the chef. Our wedding was a huge success and Smokin Willly played an enormous role in that success.

    Sent on 10/31/2015
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at our wedding loved the food!! They are still talking about how great it was (even our relatives from Texas... And they know good BBQ!). The prices were fair and the quality was great! The staff was easy to work with and they did a great job on our wedding day. They helped the event run smoothly! Our bellies and hearts are grateful!! I would highly recommend Smokin Willy to anyone looking for a yummy BBQ wedding meal!

    Sent on 08/19/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BBQ was amazing!! We got so many compliments from our guests about how delicious the food was! Chris was so nice and always available to answer my questions. Great food and great service!!!

    Sent on 08/20/2015
  • A

    Aubryn · Married on 07/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow. Amazing. That's what we Have to say about Chris Scharrer and smokin Willy's. Wow. Our wedding was entirely outdoors with no on site facilities, so our caterer had to be completely self sufficient. This is what smokin willy's does best and they are AWESOME at it. Chris instilled a great deal of confidence in us from the first day we met, he then delivered on every single promise he made, rolled with a number of last minute changes, and did it all with a smile. A month out when our venue seemed to be dropping the ball on our rentals for tent, chairs, and tables, Chris took all of that on, no problem. His food is awesome, and we are picky. It is all grilled on site-- we had carne asade (exquisite) grilled mesquite chicken (amazing), and grilled portobello mushrooms for the vegetarians--every single person raved about the food. His staff is highly professional--every single one of them was great And Chris himself was on site leading them the day of our wedding. In addition to dinner his team served our cake, hors d'oevres and drinks--even though we brought all our own drinks and alcohol to the wedding. Purchasing our own drinks was great for us and helped us save a lot of money. The thing that most struck me about Chris is his professionalism and integrity. All the way around a pleasure to do business with smokin willy's. If you hire smokin willy you will not worry about a single detail of your reception garaunteed. Thanks Chris!!!!!

    Sent on 07/11/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 07/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris is the man !! He is so patient and understanding of the stresses of a wedding. There was no issue/situation/request that he could not find an answer for. Chris met me for the walk thru and gave me all the time I needed, providing helpful suggestions and input . We did not have nor need a planner with Chris' assistance. He knew his venue and how to make the reception flow smoothly.
    All of his equipment and supplies were delivered and in place the day before the wedding and he was available to us the entire day thru until the end of the evening. His crew set up not only the reception area but also set up the ceremony space. They served the food (lots of compliments !) on time and hot. they cut and served the cake for us and then stayed until everything was cleaned and the venue returned to its original shape. I truly would have been lost without Chris and his crew.
    We highly recommend that you try Smokin Willy for dinner and for your event catering needs. Ask for Chris---he will make your event a success ! Have to add, Chris is just a really nice person to deal with also. He is easy to talk to and does not try and "nickel and dime" you over every little thing. Much appreciated !

    Sent on 08/11/2015
  • User3730607 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING! The food was absolutely delicious; we went with a buffet of pulled pork, grilled mesquite chicken, brisket, as well as some great sides (their cornbread is out of this world good!) I love that everything was prepared there; the food tasted fresh, was just the right temperature - I heard that many of our guests went back for seconds and thirds! Chris was great to work with - very responsive and flexible. I 100% recommend this company if you are looking for great food and excellent service!

    Sent on 06/18/2015
  • C

    Christine · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and the crew at Smokin Willy were beyond what we had expected and hoped for. From the minute we met them it felt like we were hanging out with friends. From the beginning they showed generous hospitality and expertise in the entire planning process. The best part was that they were just plain fun to plan our perfect wedding day. They made our reception a hit by not only their professional and unique display but the food was absolutely delicious! My husband and I highly recommend Smokin Willy to any couple that wants to have a fun and exciting wedding day with delicious food all the guests will remember.

    Sent on 04/27/2016
  • J

    Jim · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Holy cow! If you are looking for a great catering experience, contact Chris and his crew at Smokin' Willy. From the time we started the planning, through the event and into the cleanup I can honestly say I have never worked with a more professional staff. Chris first listened to all that we thought we wanted. Chris helped guide us to a great plan with few minor changes we had not considered. Chris then met us at our venue to walk through all of the details. Finally, Chris and his team showed up to manage a wedding reception that everyone loved. Do not hesitate to ask questions and for guidance - you will benefit well from their experience. All of his staff was courteous, friendly, clean cut and helpful when needed. We had outstanding appetizers to start and a mix of BBQ pork, beef brisket and chicken (grilled on site!) along with an array of sides and other goodies for dinner (the corn bread was to die for). When it was all done, his crew returned our venue to its original state and it looked like we had never been there. I cannot recommend these folks enough - thank you Chris for a job well done and loved by everyone. There was one comment from a guest which sticks out in my mind... "Where did you find these guys? They are genius!"

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • J

    Justin · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent catering for our wedding! Chris was great to work with, his staff was very professional and kept the event running smoothly. We didn't have to worry about a thing. He was even able to handle a special request for us (corn in our cornbread) and take care of a last minute change by providing coffee for the reception, all without \any problems whatsoever. And the food was absolutely delicious and by far the best value we could find in any catering company we looked at. Provided great insight into what works well for groups of our size, including the appetizers during the cocktail hour and food and drink quantities for the reception. Can't recommend this company enough!

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • User5403154 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Smokin' Willy for our son and daughter in laws wedding, and it was absolutely perfect! I have never had better food at a wedding,, and the staff was super as well. Everyone attending the wedding raved about how delicious the food was! The appetizers were just perfect too, and the staff walked around and served those to our guests. I am so happy that we chose Smokin' Willy, and I would definitely use them again!

    Sent on 09/02/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and his team at Smokin' WIllys exceeded our expectations in every way!
    We served a BBQ buffet at our wedding reception, the presentation was unique and impressive and most importantly, the food was delicious - most of our guests went back for seconds and even asked for recipes.

    We were quite budget conscious while wedding planning and Chris respected that and advised us where it made sense to spend extra and what expenditures weren't worth it.
    And an added bonus: I dreamed of having farm tables, and he made it happen! :)

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • E

    Erinn · Married on 04/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smokin Willy is the BEST option if you want great food at your wedding! My husband is from Kansas City (where BBQ is king) and wanted our wedding food to be delicious and memorable….well Chris and his team delivered!!

    Chris was highly professional, responsive and a pleasure to work with. We were undecided about the a few of our menu options and # of hors d'oeuvres but he worked with us leading up to the big day. On the day of our wedding, he and his staff were prompt and did a great job of serving our guests. The BBQ was delicious and we had many guests going back for 2nds and 3rds. We still have guests mentioning how much they enjoyed the food and that it was the best wedding food they have ever had.

    Additionally, Chris supplied all of our rentals including the chairs, linens and farm tables. His farm tables are affordable and beautifully complemented our rustic chic decor.

    We highly recommend Chris and Smokin Willy!

    Sent on 05/10/2015
  • K

    Kylie · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smokin Willy catered my 10/4/2014 VA Vineyard wedding. They brought grills on site to serve chicken and steak. My wedding guests had nothing but great things to say about the food served, and enjoyed the experience of walking out to the grills to get their dinner. Chris Scharrer was a pleasure to work with. He was very familiar with our venue and offered great input, his staff was also extremely friendly and provided excellent service at the wedding. I would highly recommend Smokin Willy to cater a wedding or any upcoming event you may have!

    Sent on 10/17/2014
  • User4456198 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone absolutely raved about the food and we couldn't have been more pleased with the service of Chris and his team. Funny thing is that Chris called me a week before our wedding to relay that Tracey (whom we had worked with in the planning process) was no longer available to run the event BUT reassured us that it would be amazing and gave us his personal guarantee. He followed through on that!! Te food was amazing, his team set up the reception site wonderfully and they knocked it out of the park. They have this catering business down to a science. I HIGHLY recommend Chris and his team to anyone and have gladly relayed his contact to others that commented at our wedding. ?

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tracey and her team were fabulous! She was easy to contact, answered all of our questions, and was extremely flexible with our menu options. Our guests repeatedly told us how great the food was and kept going back for more! Her and her team went above and beyond our expectations for the set-up and clean-up. Our event could not have been successful without them!

    Sent on 09/02/2014
  • User4407237 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an absolute pleasure to work with Smokin Willy for our wedding. We were looking to have bbq/picnic style food for our reception, and Tracey Giffith completely understood our vision and helped us put together a fabulous menu for the cocktail hour and dinner. Right when we went in for our tasting, we knew we had found our caterer! Throughout the whole process, Tracey was very responsive and even came out for a site visit to get an idea of our venue and where the food prep and serve stations would be set up. She made everything so easy that we didn't need to worry about a single thing when it came to the food. The staff and cooks were wonderful as well! All food was prepared in a timely manner and they cleaned up everything so quickly and discretely.

    The food was DELICIOUS! I highly recommend getting the pigs-in-a-blanket for an appetizer. They are divine! We also had burgers and grilled chicken, which were out of this world! All of our guests were raving about how delicious the food was.

    We are so glad that we chose Smokin Willy for our wedding. I really believe that we couldn't have found a better caterer. They have the perfect combination of value, quality, professionalism, and delicious food. Thank you!!!

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • User2816588 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our guests are still raving about the amazing food that Smokin' Willy served at our reception! Tracey and her team are AMAZING to work with - we couldn't have asked for a better caterer. Tracey answered all of our questions leading up to the big day, and helped my mom feel at ease and calm (not an easy feat!). The food was absolutely scrumptious. 110% recommend Smokin' Willy!!!!

    Sent on 08/27/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Smokin Willy enough. Our guests raved about our food! So often wedding food isn't very memorable, but 7 months later, we still have people telling us how great our food was.

    We knew we wanted BBQ, and we wanted a more casual wedding, but not TOO casual. Smokin' Willy was perfect! Not only was the food memorable because it was different, but it was so good. We had just over 200 guests, but no complaints. That means success!

    Additionally, the owner of our venue, who used to be a caterer herself, recommended Smokin' Willy. That says something to me.

    Tracey, the event coordinator, was great to work with. She was very flexible in setting up a tasting, and I was sold immediately after the tasting. She gave us such a reasonable price that we simply couldn't pass it up. She was always very responsive and helpful. She put up with all my crazy questions and requests.

    Smokin' Willy also provided tables and chairs for our reception since our venue didn't, and they were able to come the Thursday before our Saturday wedding to set them up. It worked so well for us! The crew set up all the tables and chairs for us, which was a huge help. We could then decorate for the entire reception two days before it, which really helped our stress levels.

    Another cool thing they provided were these wine barrel tables for our cocktail hour. Such a cool touch.

    As with any wedding, the day of ours was a whirlwind, but Tracey and her crew knew exactly what we wanted and did such an amazing job. From being great bartenders, to serving hors d'oeuvres, to making sure there was always plenty of food during dinner, and so on...we couldn't have been happier. The food was so amazing that our guests went back for second and third helpings...even I stopped talking to guests for just a bit to get a second plate of food! (What bride does that?)

    I can't say this enough--if you want good food and a reception done right, go with Smokin' Willy.


    Sent on 12/31/2014
  • T

    Tim · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We want to express our appreciation to the Smokin' Willy's team for the outstanding job catering our event.

    From the start, they worked with us to plan a great menu and even accommodated our special requests. They maintained contact with us from the tasting through service of the food at the event. Their thorough communication with us made the party planning process much easier because we had no worries about the food.

    When party day came, the Smokin' Willy's team was on time and organized with set up and food preparation. Appetizers and drinks were politely served and perfectly mixed to make a wonderful introduction to the evening. The end result was a buffet that was beautifully decorated and nicely presented to our guests.

    However, the most important factor is always taste. Again, Smokin' Willy's came through with flying colors. Everyone commented on the deliciousness of the food. Confirmation on the quality of the food was that our guests were competing to take the leftovers home.

    The party turned out to be a gigantic success and much of the credit goes to the Smokin' Willy's team for delicious food planned, prepared and served in a professional manner.

    Thanks for everything and, rest assured, we will recommend Smokin' Willy's to anyone planning to cater an event.

    Sent on 05/05/2014
  • Audrey

    Audrey · Married on 01/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, the most delicious food we have EVER had. We approached multiple caterers about our vision for our wedding - hearty comfort food done well (totally wanted to embrace the fact our wedding was in the middle of winter). We gave Tracey a list of our favorite comfort foods (chicken pot pie, mac&cheese, grilled cheese, VA BBQ, cornbread, sweet potato fries etc) and the result was unbelievable. To this day, many of our guests are contacting me saying that it was hands down the most delicious wedding meal they have ever had! So much so, that they went back for thirds, fourths, even FIFTHS! I also had a vision to host a "bubbly bar" and a "whiskey bar" at the wedding. Tracey helped us figure out exactly how much of everything drink related we needed to purchase, and made sure that each bar was a slamming success!

    Aside from the outstanding food, Tracey was an absolute delight to work with. She was so accommodating to our needs and proved to be someone we could really trust throughout the wedding process. She pays great attention to detail and has a knack for taking people's visions and making them a reality - you will not regret working with her!

    Sent on 02/06/2014