Smiling Vows Reviews

32 | San Luis Obispo, CA
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for Smiling Vows

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

32

5 User photos

Order by:
  • R

    Allyson · Getting married on 11/20/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve is awesome! We absolutely loved him. He took the time to get to know us and our story and incorporated that into the ceremony. He kept it light and comedic just as we asked him to. We felt so comfortable and as if he were apart of the family. We got compliments all night about how unique and amazing our ceremony was. We love you Steve!!! Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 03/29/2017
  • E

    Ellie I. · Married on 03/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Person

    Steve is such a fun person to be around that has a contagious positivity. He made us feel comfortable from the start and helped walk us through everything we needed to know. The ceremony was perfect, romantic with a touch of humor, which I felt really fit our style. We plan to stay in touch with Steve in the future and will always remember how special that day was. Thank you for everything Steve!

    Sent on 03/20/2020
  • C

    Chris H. · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want the ceremony of your dreams, choose Steve!

    Steve was amazing!!!!!!!

    Everyone loved the ceremony and Steve was so fun to work with from the first meeting all the way to marrying us. Everyone thought he was a family member too... I loved having Steve as the officiant in our wedding. If you want the wedding ceremony of your dreams, you HAVE to give Steve a call. He's the best! I plan on giving him a call to grab a beverage the next time I'm in town...

    Thanks again Steve!
    Chris

    Sent on 05/13/2019
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend

    Steve is great! He met with us a few times before the wedding to get to know us, which made for a personal and touching service. He is kind, funny, and professional.

    Sent on 05/04/2019
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were getting married in Paso Robles and we had no one to marry us, we looked here on wedding wire and I took a shot in the dark and reached out. I'm so glad I did because Steve was the best to work with! He was very responsive and easy going and after 2 phone calls, he sent us the most beautiful, kind and funny vow's. We wanted someone who could tell our story and he nailed it!

    Sent on 10/01/2018
  • No

    No · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a more perfect officiant. The day was truly special, and Steve really set the tone for the day. We had the freedom to have our ceremony any way we wanted, and Steve was always there to help. He took the time to get to know us and made our ceremony very personal. Multiple guests asked how Steve knew us so well and if we'd known him for a long time. He seemed invested and committed to us and ensured our day started off beautifully, we can't thank him enough. When we renew our vows we will 100% be calling him up. The worst part of his service, is that it's over. He feels like that cool uncle you just want to bbq with on the weekends. Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 09/19/2018
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 01/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was wonderful. He was very attentive to our needs, quickly responded, and was willing to help us in anyway that he could. He took the time to really get to know us and our story. We have a very vibrant 17 month old, and he handled her spunk with ease and humor during our ceremony. He provided us with a truly special and personal ceremony experience.We highly recommend him!

    Sent on 01/22/2018
  • R

    Rachelle · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Steve! He has a great sense of humor and was easy to connect with right off the bat. We would definitely recommend him!

    Sent on 07/28/2017
  • G

    Gillian · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely love what Steve brings to the table as an officiant. He personalizes the ceremony so much and makes it entertaining and sincere so none of the guests could ever be bored. Watching the ceremony over again I can't help but get emotional each time while still laughing at each of his jokes.

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was wonderful to work with. He worked with us closely to design a ceremony that was meaningful and romantic. He has a great sense of humor and always had great recommendations for where to meet in the area. We even ordered wine for our wedding from the wine tasting room he met us at. He made our ceremony so special and we received so many compliments from our guests about how the ceremony reflected us as a couple. Plus he was also a blast to work with!

    Sent on 07/27/2016
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so pleased with Steve from start to finish. He was recommended to us and within minutes of our first meeting, we knew he had to marry us. He is kind, thoughtful, funny and truly genuine. He took time to make sure our ceremony was what we wanted. Not too mention, he was good at keeping us calm the day of! He is absolutely the officiant we would recommend. Thank you Steve, from the bottom of our hearts. The ceremony was our favorite part!!! -Liz and Lucas

    Sent on 05/09/2016
  • C

    Craig · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To know Steve is to Love Steve!! We first met Steve via skype a couple of months before our weeding. Within minutes we knew he was our guy. Over the course of the next couple of Skype meeting we became more and more comfortable with Steve. He was very professional in his approach to telling our story and did his due diligence on getting the right information to put together an amazing ceremony. Steve truly made our special day with his unique approach to story telling and his keen sense of humor. We recommend Steve 100% and consider him to now be one of our friends. He is truly passionate about what he does and it shows in his work. We had countless people asking how long we've known him and why they haven't met our dear friend. If you are looking for an officiant in the central valley look no further Steve is the man!!!!

    Sent on 06/28/2015
  • User4085749 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planned a destination wedding in Morro Bay and we found Steve on Wedding Wire. He was the only Officiant we could find that fit our style and understood what we were looking for in our wedding ceremony. He was very easy to work with, we even used "Facetime" to meet for the first time! We were always in contact via e-mail or text, and we met our second time at a Cafe near Morro Bay. He was so funny and easy to talk with! We decided to keep our ceremony very simple and he suggested adding in special parts to the ceremony such as the family saying "We Do" after agreeing to stand by us during our lives together and using a special insert about "The Blessing of the Hands." He even agreed to wear a GoPro! The footage was amazing!! We were so happy with Steve and highly recommend him to anyone needing a great officiant! He is wonderful!

    Sent on 05/14/2015
  • C

    Chris · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I met with several officiants and one of the easiest decisions we ever made was selecting Steve. Steve truly took the time to get to know us and to understand our story. We met over Skype and had the pleasure of meeting him and his wife for drinks leading up to our big day. It was very important that our ceremony be personal and meaningful not to just us but to all of our friends and family in attendance. We were blown away by what Steve put together and he played a major role in making our wedding as special as it was. My wife and I would 100% recommend him to everyone!

    Sent on 09/23/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really can't say enough great things about Steve! He was everything you would want from an officiator, professional, detail oriented, personable, responsive and just a cool guy in general. From the moment we met him we knew we wanted him to marry us. Steve made awesome suggestions to make our ceremony unique and intimate with personalized touches and a bit of humor to calm our nerves at the alter. Steve suggested a mid ceremony toast with our guests, that everyone loved (who doesn't like to drink during a wedding ceremony?)! He helped us create a ceremony that was light hearted and romantic without being too silly or over the top. We have gotten nothing but fabulous reviews from our friends and family saying it was the best ceremony they have ever attended! He suggested writing "words of love" similar to personal vows to each other and was so helpful with coaching each of us through it. It made our ceremony intimate and there wasn't a dry eye in the house! We are from the bay area and Steve was super accommodating to meet up with us on weekends that we were already going to be in the central coast area to talk about our ideas for our ceremony/finalize details about our wedding. He was really responsive with emails. Look no further for an officiant, Steve is your guy!

    Sent on 12/09/2014
  • C

    Cara · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the beginning Steve from Smiling Vows was so wonderful- just simply put, he's a really cool guy!

    We were looking for a light hearted, personal ceremony and Steve helped that dream come true. He kept the ceremony light but not too silly like we've seen too. He perfectly tied in a tradition my mom wanted included, our love story and our "words of love" which my fiancé and I read similar to vows. ***Steve was crucial in the worlds of love portion-- he coached us individually on crafting what we wanted to say which was so helpful!***

    Steve was very detail oriented and took the time to get to know my fiancé and I through our year of wedding planning-- through several skype calls, emails, and a lunch! I never felt like I couldn't shoot him a call to ask him a question, he was very responsive.

    I am so happy we had the opportunity to work with Steve of Smiling Vows-- we had people telling us how we had the best ceremony they'd ever seen all night and still have people complimenting it thanks to Steve!

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was the perfect officiant for our wedding! We were looking for a lighthearted and fun but still heartfelt ceremony and that is what he gave us. During the ceremony, both our bridesmaids and groomsmen were teary and we had many compliments from those who attended our wedding about how nice the ceremony was. He was available and willing to help through the entire process, from connecting us to vendors, to outlining our ceremony, and to helping us craft our personal words of love. We would highly recommend Steve!

    Sent on 10/18/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was everything we wanted in an officiant! Our ceremony was intimate, personal, funny... exactly as we envisioned it to be. We received many compliments on our ceremony from our guests and of course it is something we will never forget either.

    We were planning a wedding in SLO while living in the Bay Area and Steve was super accommodating, even met us at 8am on a Saturday!! :) Steve is hilarious and great to work with! Can't wait to meet him for drinks next time we are in the area! We highly recommend Steve... this is one vendor you will be very happy with!

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • Lindsay

    Lindsay · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Look no further! Steve was a treat from the start. While we live down in Los Angeles, our wedding was up in Cayucos, CA. We discovered Smiling Vows via WeddingWire and set-up a time to meet when we were in the Central Coast doing some planning. What we thought would be a quick meet & greet in SLO turned into over an hour of great conversation with a great man - Steve. If you are looking for a more casual but heartfelt ceremony, then I suggest you put your ceremony into Steve’s more than capable hands. He is hilarious, a wonderful storyteller, and now a great friend. Throw whatever tradition or original ideas his way and he will make it happen. He kept us on task with deadlines and helped us write our personal vows and kept it fun and delightful during an overwhelming time. And if you’re lucky, he’ll give you some tequila to shake your nerves before the ceremony. :) Several folks that attended our wedding raved over it saying it was one of the most beautiful ceremonies they'd witnessed – equal parts laughter & tears. You won’t regret your time with Steve. He’s an all around solid guy and performed one helluva wedding. Have fun! Thanks, Steve!!

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • M

    Matt A. · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the great fortune of meeting Steve this past December through an introduction from our Wedding Planner – we live in Minneapolis and got married outside of Paso Robles, so didn’t know of any local officiants to use for our ceremony. We immediately felt at ease with Steve, which was important to us since we knew we’d be doing much of our wedding planning virtually. Steve had gone out to The Knot to check out our wedding website prior to meeting with us, and asked us lots of great questions to make sure we all were a good fit. It was an incredibly easy decision for us to confirm Steve to officiate our wedding very shortly after our first meeting!

    Over the next several months, we kept in touch via email, and spent over an hour chatting via FaceTime to give Steve a better idea of how we wanted the ceremony to feel in terms of tone and duration, and to get his thoughts. We added a few unique things, like an Irish Toast at the beginning of the ceremony, and Steve helped us find the perfect verse to use to kick things off – and worked with our Day of Coordinator to figure out a way for the bridal party to have a glass of bubbly in hand during the toast, which was awesome. He also included several personal touches about each of us after getting to know us better, and did a phenomenal job of making the ceremony truly feel like us!

    Overall, we can’t say or write enough good things about Steve, and we feel like we’ve made new friends with Steve and his wife, Nancy. If you’re looking for someone professional with a fantastic sense of humor, someone who will take the time to get to know you before the ceremony and personalize it so it’s perfect for your day, and encourage you to make things even more personal by writing Words of Love (and keeping you on track to make sure they’re done!), you should absolutely get in touch with Steve from Smiling Vows to officiate your wedding. It will be one of the best decisions you make!

    Sent on 06/24/2014
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really wanted a laidback and fun ceremony. We got everything we wanted and more. Steve made our ceremony such a wonderful and personal experience even though we only met him once before the wedding. We really couldnt be happier with how our ceremony went and it really helped set the tone for the rest of our wedding. Thank you Steve, you're awesome.

    Sent on 05/12/2014
  • K

    Kerry · Married on 10/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were at an Edna Valley winery the day after we got engaged. We were soaking in the exciting reality and checking out the venue when we ran into Steve's wife, who I know through business. We shared our news with her and she let us know that her husband, Steve officiates weddings.

    We called to set a meeting and soon, Steve was on our couch laughing and sharing a beer with us. We immediately liked him and knew he was the one who was meant to share our story and name us man and wife. We hired him on the spot.

    Steve asked questions and took notes. He was very engaged and we got the feeling that he genuinely cared about our story. It was important to him to create a ceremony that was very "us". He gave insight on various styles and traditions but let us take the lead on how it would all fit together.

    We appreciated his enthusiasm, openness, and humor throughout the process. He was great at email communication and very adaptable to the adjustments we made to the vows as we went along. There were a few details that fell between the cracks but were most likely the result of enjoying good tequila at our meetings... :)

    On the day of the wedding, Steve was calm, composed, and professional. He delivered our story with confidence, emotion, and charisma. I can't imagine anyone else walking us through our vows and announcing us man and wife. We are forever thankful for the friend we found in Steve and the gift he gave us on our perfect day.





    Sent on 11/13/2013
  • S

    Shawn · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was extremely personable and genuine in his role as our officient within our 60 person wedding. He provided us with insight and offered great suggestions within his help. I highly recommend Steve, he's amazing.

    Sent on 09/22/2013
  • S

    Shawn · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was truly a pleasure to have Steve with Smiling Vows be our officiant for our big day! He was extremely polite and professional while having a sense of fun and excitement during the planning process which made it a very enjoyable experience leading up to the wedding. For example, Steve met with us multiple times in a casual setting to get to know us personally as well as really identify what the "feeling" of our wedding that we wanted to share with our guests, which was "elegant, with an Aloha theme." Once Steve got to know us both on a personal note, and determined his vision for our ceremony, he wrote up a version of the ceremony for our review. We really appreciated this process as it gave us an opportunity for us to have our perfect ceremony that included the feelings and moments that we wanted to share with our guests.

    But wait, there's more! Not only did Steve provide us with an excellant ceremony experience, he provided us with amazing suggestions as well as his "Smiling Vow" experience. To be specific, based off the personal friendship we developed in the planning phases, Steve infused the perfect amount of humor to our ceremony that kept it very interesting and unique. We felt this was a touch that we could have only received from Steve, as he knew exactly when and where would be appropriate for the humor.

    Overall, I highly recommend Smiling Vows as Steve is committed to providing a sensational experience. Thanks Steve!

    Sent on 11/21/2013
  • A

    Alex · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve is outstanding, genuine and caring. He took the time to get to know us as individuals and as a couple which allowed him to make our ceremony very special. He is very accommodating and patient and an awesome officiant. Highly recommended!!!

    Sent on 09/01/2013