Smack Mellon Reviews

6 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for Smack Mellon

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

6

4 User photos

Order by:
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I recently got married at Smack Mellon and had an absoultely amazing day. The location is simply gorgeous and great for pictures. Our guests absolutely loved the space and the real NYC feel to it. You get the space for 12 hours which allows you to do both the ceremony and a long reception there if you would like. It is the perfect setting for a wedding that is a little bit unique and provides a lot of ambiance on its own without spending a fortune on decorations. The acoustics were really great too.

    The only downside is that there isn't air conditioning. We got married in early June on an 80 degree day and it was a bit hot on the dance floor. I wouldn't recommend getting married there in the super hot days in the summer.

    Sent on 06/21/2009
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 09/02/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at Smack Mellon exactly ten years ago today (Sept 2nd 2006). Hurricane Ernesto was raging outside, but inside this beautiful facility everything was perfect and magical. As their pictures show the space is extremely unusual and specular, and the staff is awesome. Suzanne and Kathleen were professional, totally on top of things and completely committed to helping us put on a great event. We've had many people tell us over the years what a beautiful and memorable wedding we had (several mentioning it again today as we celebrate our 10th.) We thought it would be a good time to reiterate our thanks to Smack Mellon and HIGHLY Recommend it as a totally magical place to get married!

    BTW we also highly recommend their excellent gallery shows and studio tours, not to mention their Kentucky Derby Day Fund Raiser! We have not missed "Derby Day" at Smack Mellon since the event began and we look forward to it all year long.

    I guess you could say we are Smack Mellon fans :-)

    Sent on 09/02/2016
  • S

    Sara · Married on 05/29/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly magical place, you have a blank canvas to create an event you want with the best backdrop possible. Our guests all came from out of town. The space was perfect. Eva helped us along the long journey from signing to contract to the day of. Although the rules are not flexible you can still achieve the vision you want, just forces you to brainstorm alternatives! No AirCon so we opted for a May wedding and passed out fans as the dance floor got going. Would highly recommend but would suggest reviewing the restrictions with your caterer prior just to make sure you won't be hit with extra delivery charges since they won't allow rentals to be dropped off early.

    Sent on 10/08/2017
  • J

    Jillian Blakey · Married on 05/18/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Architect in love with this space

    The staff we worked with was very professional and supportive.

    We would have liked to have a little more creative control of the layout, but since they don’t have a permanent public assembly permit, we had to conform to pre-approved temporary PA layouts. The rental period is also just 12 hours as is typical for many NYC venues.

    Still ended up fantastic!! We did manage to install an elaborate backdrop for the ceremony :)

    Sent on 01/23/2020
  • L

    Liz · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Smack Mellon was the perfect urban venue for our 125 person wedding. We held everything at the gallery, from the ceremony to the reception. Even though it rained and was foggy all day, the view of the bridges was still incredible from the venue. Guests commented on how unique the venue was. I was a bit worried that the catering would be difficult without a kitchen, but our caterer, Red Table, was absolutely flawless. Planning was mostly easy, although there are a some restrictions around decorations and timing, and there was a bit of confusion/miscommunication around vendor approvals and insurance. They allowed us to adopt a slightly modified floor plan, which really improved the flow of the wedding. It was great to think that part of our venue cost was a donation to a gallery. Thanks Smack Mellon!

    Sent on 06/09/2018
  • A

    amie · Married on 04/17/2009

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The venue is amazing. Our guests loved the views of Manhattan and the bridges. They can be tough but it ends up ok!

    Sent on 05/11/2009