SkiEsta Reviews

6 | Newry, ME
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for SkiEsta

Recommended by 86%

6

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 3.9
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.3

7 User photos

SkiEsta 1
SkiEsta 2
SkiEsta 3
SkiEsta 4
SkiEsta 5
SkiEsta 6
SkiEsta 7
Sort by:
  • User4119808 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ski Esta was the perfect location for our wedding family reunion / wedding weekend. This home is expertly managed by Sophia who provides detailed instructions for access, facility use, and events. She went above and beyond to give us recommendations of the vendors in the area and was responsive when we had questions. The luxurious chalet provided a comfortable stay for our family and bridal party, offering stunning vistas and incredible amenities. We used every hot tub, steam room, sauna room, movie theater, pool, yard, fireplace, grill available during out time there. Every single room of the sprawling home is carefully and elegantly decorated to provide guests with a unique sense of rustic elegance.

    We hosted our family for a four day weekend at the house and had our reception there. It comfortably fit our 55 guests during the reception with beautiful decks for cocktail hour, a stunning vaulted ceiling and window lined dining space, and a beautiful great room for dancing. In the cool summer evenings, the house became magical with luna moths fluttering around the outdoor fireplace and a curving sky you can view from the hot tub in the turret, or any one of the many decks.

    Five months later, and I still can't think of this place without feeling joy. What a wonderful and special space for our family reunion/ wedding. It was truly a unique and treasured experience. We look forward to returning for family reunions in the future.

    Sent on 11/09/2015
  • K

    Kristy · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Skiesta was the perfect setting for our wedding!!! We are from PA so it was great to have the house for a few days!! So many ways to relax!! Sophia was amazing & very helpful!!! During our stay one of the smoke alarms started beeping and she had a maintenance person come over promptly to fix it. She was very helpful with any questions we had. Can't wait to go back and stay longer!!!

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ski-Esta was a perfect venue for our wedding. The views of the mountain were amazing! The owners were quick to respond to any questions I had. You make the cost is high but think of it: You and 25+ of your loved ones can stay at an AMAZING home for 3 nights for the cost of a wedding hall for 6 hours.

    Sent on 04/15/2013
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 10/13/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue with breathtaking views

    We rented the SkiEsta Mansion for 1 week. 10/10/18 - 10/17/18. The SkiEsta Mansion was an amazing venue for our wedding and our rehearsal the views are absolutely breathtaking. Upon arrival & throughout our stay Sophia and Walter we’re extremely responsive to my text messages and any questions I may have had during our stay there. The caretaker Missy came up several times and was so helpful and friendly we truly appreciated it and did not mind her popping in at all she actually helped to make our stay more enjoyable and she was able to give us an on-site tutorial for several things, as well as put some electronics back together that previous guests had disassembled.

    One thing I will say and it’s nothing against the home or the homeowners. This is for any future guests please treat this house with respect treat it as if it were your own. Turnover time from check out to check in for cleaning staff (Holly, & her team, PS she is amazing also!) is usually only six hours take care of what you’re supposed to take care of and go through your exit checklist and treat the property with respect. We had hoped to enjoy games in the game room however found many pieces were missing if you have children supervise them it is by no means the fault of the owners but when you’re a median income family and you rent a beautiful mansion for a week for $12,663.00 you truly want to be able to enjoy all the amenities every little thing so future renters don’t be rude clean up your messes if you lose something replace it or let someone know and don’t mess with the electrical equipment for TVs stop ruining the fun for the next family thank you.

    Ok Rant over, back to raving.

    WE LOVED everything! The hot tubs are amazing, the pool is amazing, the movie theater is great for watching Sunday night football! the heated floors OH MY! when I came home I was sad to be without that amenity. The master bath shower/steam room is amazing. Truly lived in the lap of luxury thank you for making us feel like millionaires if only for a week. :)

    We would rent again and hope to rent the house again someday maybe for our 5th or 10th anniversary. :)

    Thank you
    Tiffany & Nathan Landry

    Sent on 10/18/2018
    SkiEsta 8
    SkiEsta 9
    SkiEsta 10
    SkiEsta 11
    SkiEsta 12
    SkiEsta 13
    SkiEsta 14
  • A

    amanda · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Skiesta was an amazing place for a wedding. Having the house for three days was perfect, we were able to set up and have rehearsal dinner right there. I got so many complements from guests about how beautiful everything was. If I could take it back I would have my wedding at skiesta all over again. There is ample space for getting ready, we had hair and make up ladies come in and get us ready right at the house it was awesome. Our ceremony was out on the deck and it was amazing. The house has great layout for transition from ceremony to cocktail hour to dinner and reception. The good food store, one stop event rentals and mainely bartenders were other vendors that we used they were all familiar with Skiesta and that helped everything go off smoothly.

    Room for improvement: Upon arrival at skiesta the front door would not open(we were able to use a side door and got inside fine) I called Sophia, and she was kind of rude to me. She proceeded to explain how to use the codes to get inside (I was already inside and had told her that), then told me about five times how to undo the deadbolt to unlock the door and open it (I know how to open a door, and it was broken). After explaining that I was in fact trying to open the door correctly about five times she agreed to have the maintenance person out to fix it. He ended up being very nice and professional and took the deadbolt off (because it was broken) so that we could use the door. Everything worked out fine it was just not a good way to start off the weekend. Sophia could have been much more friendly about it, but I do give her the benefit of the doubt that she probably has dealt with a lot of people who are doing something wrong, but say something is broken. Cleanliness. It was not good. Look under the beds if you go do a walk through there are dust bunnies that have been under there for years. The cleaning crew does the minimum to get by and you can tell if you look closely that the house hasn't been cleaned.

    Sent on 12/10/2016

    SkiEsta's reply:

    I am sorry that you interpreted my confusion over which front door (we have two) and which deadbolt (we have double doors) as rudeness. The fact that you dedicated half of your review to this belies your comment that you give me the benefit of the doubt. Glad that our caretaker was able to resolve the problem.
    As to dust bunnies and cleaning -- we have only hard surface floors throughout the house. For that reason, even after a day, dust bunnies will begin to accumulate in the house. Our team cleans thoroughly after every turnover -- including under the beds -- and we have deep cleans in the spring and in just before the winter ski season begins.
  • Amy

    Amy Parsons · Married on 11/10/2018

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Owner is terrible

    My husband and i stayed here and had our wedding in November. The house was beautiful and amenities were awesome but that’s all the food I can say about this place. The cleaning was not properly done , they had exterminaters come spray for mice and didn’t clean up after them, windows weren’t cleaned, floor wasn’t vacuumed, baseboards and table chairs had dust all over them. I was disgousted as I was having catering come the next day. When the owner sent over her cleaning girl she said she didn’t have time to clean everything because she was going away for the weekend. When I brought this up to the owner she denied everything and offered me
    NO money in return. We paid thousands upon thousands of dollars for this place and only expected what was supposed to be done. Also there was a major snow storm and the plowing and shoveling didn’t get done until the next night (the night of my wedding) and by that point it had
    Already turned over to ice. I am SO unhappy with the owner and how she handled everything.

    Sent on 12/15/2018

    SkiEsta's reply:

    As soon as Amy sent us a message about the cleaning not being up to her standards, we had our housekeeper come the next morning to take care of all of her concerns. She also sent me a text that the driveway was not cleaned to her liking and we immediately had not only our caretaker come out but also the snow plowing company to assist with salt and ice issues. This stream of texts continued throughout her stay. Despite having multiple staff members there almost daily, she still asked for a refund and was unhappy. They also left a hot tub open in extremely windy conditions and caused over $1000 of damage for which she is being charged and that of course makes us terrible owners.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review