69 Reviews for Scott A. Nelson Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Additional Hours (2)
Digital Files (2)
Second Shooter (1)
High-Res Images (1)
Liability Insurance (1)
One Event/Day (1)
68 Scott A. Nelson Photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

We absolutely loved having Scott Nelson as our photographer for our wedding. He was punctual, dressed professionally, and well-equipped with multiple cameras. He was incredibly considerate to make sure my bride was getting enough water as it was pretty hot while we were taking the majority of our photos. He's not afraid to lay on the ground or walk through some bushes to get to where he feels he'll get the best shot. I really cannot recommend him enough. If you need a fantastic photographer in Southern California you should stop cause you've found him.

Profile Picture Scott, 6/4/17, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I hired Scott based on a referral from my wedding planner for my wedding back in October 2015. Scott was very professional and a phenomenal photographer. He showed up on time and ready to work taking all kinds of photos before I even knew he was there. After looking at the photos I am so glad that I went with him because he was able to capture some really awesome photos!!! Overall the entire experience with Scott was great and I would recommend him to anyone!!!

Profile Picture Ashley, 10/10/15, 10 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Additional Hours, High-Res Images, Liability Insurance, One Event/Day, Digital Files
5.0

Scott was amazing he took photos that were crazy good and photos I had no idea he was even there
I can say enough about how we love the job he did

Thanks again Scott

Profile Picture Jerry, 10/9/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Additional Hours
5.0

Amazing! We are so lucky that we found Scott Nelson photography. We worked with Alex, for both our engagements and wedding photos. The photos from both are absolutely stunning. The staff was very professional and Scott was so helpful in planning the timeline of the photos to make sure we got every shot that we wanted. Scott is extremely responsive and the photos were ready in a very timely manner. I would highly highly recommend!

Profile Picture Nicole, 9/12/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Our wedding day has yet to arrive, but our engagement photos turned out amazing! We have all the perfect shots for our save the date and wedding website. Scott was both professional and fun to work with. He has a great knack for finding really pretty spots for pictures. We are so looking forward to the wedding day...and just know he'll be the perfect photographer to capture it!

Profile Picture User5003076, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Scott was the photographer for a wedding I coordinated in July and to say he did an awesome job doesn't do his services any justice! Scott was not on time but early and was very conscious of time which is great because in a wedding if one thing is behind it throws all other planned activities off of schedule. Not only was he professional, on time and a pleasure to work with, the photo's were gorgeous, I'm very excited to work with Scott again and will recommend his services to my clients!

Profile Picture Lanishia , 3/24/19, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Found this photographer through wedding wire and we wanted someone inexpensive and amazing at what they do. Nothing but great things to say about Scott A Nelson and Jared who was our photographer the night of the wedding. He was good and I can't wait to see the pictures.

Profile Picture User4354437, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Scott did a wonderful job of capturing both the spirit and substance of our wedding. The photographs were well beyond our expectations and we were truly thrilled with the results. In addition to being a great photographer, Scott was very kind and generous with his efforts at the wedding. He has earned our highest recommendation and we encourage you to use him for your event.

Profile Picture User5214512, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Scott made the process of capturing our wedding smooth, efficient and affordable. From our first consultation, to capturing us as we drove away; he continued to surprise us with great quality of work. Scott and his team meet up with my fiance at the Marriott Villas in Newport Coast. Him and his assistant helped to calm my bride, and they both photographed the little moments while she was getting ready that were the essence of her experience.

The first look was arranged by Scott, and made into a dream come true, as they timed me turning around and the look on my face as I saw my stunning bride to be for the first time in her wedding dress. The weather turned south on us with some rain at the hotel photo shoot; but instead of turning it into a negative, they found us a great protected spot that made the photos priceless.

Scott and his team continued excellent service throughout the ceremony. After, when looking at the photos, I was amazed at the little details they captured without me being aware they were even there. We did a photo shoot on the beach after the ceremony and they made it fun and creative. Again during the reception, it was the little things they photographed that captured the magic of the night.

Scott was fast to deliver on the prints and we were blown away by the quality of work and so many great moments that we had no idea he captured. The pictures were clear, creative, detailed and beautiful.

If you are looking for the perfect photographer for your special day, then look no further. Scott A. Nelson Photography will meet your every need.

Profile Picture User5141974, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Excellent photograpy. Scott provided excellent service he was very professional and we had a great time shooting with him.

Profile Picture Joshua, 10/17/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

This review is way past due, but I wanted to share a bit of our experience with Scott.
Our wedding coordinator passed along Scott's name to us, and we are still thanking her for that!
My husband and I (FOB and MOB) met with Scott initially because our daughter lived out of state at the time. We were immediately impressed by Scott.. He had an easy, friendly manner. He was very interested in the bride and groom to be, the venue, and other details. As he had not previously shot at our venue, he said he would be anxious to see it and become familiar with it. That was great to hear because we had been told by some other photographers that seeing the venue beforehand was not necessary!
As we viewed his slide show, we were so impressed. Then came the albums. They were beautiful, creative, and so artistic. There were also some that displayed a great sense of humor as well.
We talked with our daughter and her fiancee, and they spoke with Scott and saw his work online... Done and done.
Every step of the way, Sc

Profile Picture lisa, 7/19/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Scott A. Nelson photographed our engagement session and wedding day, and we couldn’t have been happier with his work. Scott was the first photographer that we met with, and after interviewing a few of others as well, we kept coming back to Scott as our front runner, which made our final decision an easy choice. No one else’s work compared to his. Not only that, but Scott is friendly, down to earth, very easy to work with, and has an amazing eye for capturing every detail of a bride & groom’s big day. Our photos are BEAUTIFUL, and we love looking at them over and over. We would highly recommend Scott to anyone looking for a talented and wonderful wedding photographer.

Profile Picture User4382690, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We hired Jared from SAN photography and he was perfect!!! During the planning process both Jared and Scott were very helpful and responsive. I am pretty OCD and had sent out a very detailed itinerary and he remembered exactly when everything was happening the day of. He did some very creative pictures with my dress, shoes and jewelry as well as with my husband and I. He also had the list of family pictures I wanted ready and made sure that we got all of the pictures taken in a timely manner. He was very professional but also really read my husbands and I's personalities and did some really fun and silly pictures also. All of our family commented on how nice and accommodating he was. I HIGHLY recommend Jared!!!

Profile Picture elizabeth, 5/17/14, 8 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Jared at Scott A. Nelson was a fantastic photographer. He was very professional but also very nice and easy to work with. He is very good at communication and was always on time! I highly recommend him for any event you are looking for and I will definitely hire him again.

Profile Picture Danielle, 3/1/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Of all of the many details that we had to address for our Wedding, selecting a great photographer was one of the most difficult. In that I have a background in photography myself, I understood how to interview for the assignment. First, we talked the “the wedding planners’ short list of photographers. I found that they were prima donnas and priced way over the top. Having not only an art education but, having owned a production company was very helpful in seeing through the smoke and mirrors some of these people were putting up. We decided to look outside of the list for a real artist that I felt we could work with. After getting Scotts name and reviewing his body of work online, I contacted him. First, I found that he was down to earth and open to a creative dialogue about our interest and wishes. We came to an amicable agreement very easily.
On the day of our wedding, he was there right on time and fully equipped and organized for the assignment. He and his assistant, seem to always be in the right place at the right time. They seemed to magically appear and never miss a perfect photo op.
The results of their work, was wonderful and exceptional. We highly recommend Scott Nelson Photography. Thank you Scott for memorializing our wedding in a style and design that only a true artist could do.
Bob and Dee

Profile Picture Robert, 2/22/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Scott Nelson did my friends wedding 13 years ago and I remembered they were such incredible photos I had to hire him for my wedding. Our wedding photos are incredible!! You are the best photographers in Orange County!! Thank you to you and Alex for making us feel like celebrities and royalty on our wedding day!!

Profile Picture Lisa, 11/17/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I hired Jared from Scott A. Nelson photography for our wedding in Oct 2013. Jared was so friendly, personable and helpful on our wedding day and went above and beyond to make our wedding day absolutely perfect! He also did our engagement pictures and they were amazing! We would recommend Jared to anyone!

Profile Picture Brittany, 10/18/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I'm very satisfied with everything Scott has provided for us so far. In my opinion he is very reasonably priced for all the services he provides. For example, he spent all day with us for our engagement pictures, and on our actual wedding day, he stayed until the party was over to take some night photos. I just got back our wedding photos, and he has captured pretty much every detail, event, and person I wanted captured. My husband is especially impressed that Scott and his team were able to take all their photos while staying in the background during our wedding; he said that's great service. My other friends who have gotten married told me that Scott is quick with getting the photos out. I have chosen Scott as our photographer based on his albums; they were better looking than the other photographers' albums that I looked at when I was searching for a photographer. I'm looking forward to getting the full resolution pics and the album once I can successfully narrow down which pictures I want. :) Highly recommend!

Profile Picture Mabel, 7/27/13, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Scott A. Nelson Photography is A++!
I couldn't have asked for a more dedicated and friendly person to capture the most important day of my life. My Husband & I flew from Minnesota to Laguna Beach, CA to have our wedding. Because we were planning the whole event from half way across the country, we really needed a photographer that would be able to help us with all of our photography needs ASAP... We found that in Scott... Not only did he explain everything in detail before the event, but he went the extra mile to make sure that anything pertaining to the wedding photography at our venue was taken care of before we arrived in CA. The day was BEAUTIFUL and the photographs that Scott captured were truly magical. I now know what it means when people say "A picture says a thousand words"... Our wedding photos are constantly showing us how special and truly amazing our wedding day was.
I recommend Scott A. Nelson Photography 100%!!!
THANK YOU SO MUCH SCOTT!

Profile Picture Chris & Noel, 6/9/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.7

Jared from Scott Nelson Photography was so much fun to work with. He was easy-going, and moved quickly which is what I needed. He did not get in the way of anything, but rather, blended in and somehow managed to get all the shots! My husband and I had a great time during our engagement session with Jared, and we are so happy with how our wedding photos turned out. Thanks Jared!

Profile Picture Nancy, 4/20/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Alex really worked to get the hubby to relax during out photo sessions. I was so happy with how our engagement session turned out, that I am not worried about the outcome of the wedding pictures. I'm sure they will be just as beautiful. I really appreciated the fact that Alex (and his second, Christa) didn't make us take all the cheesy cliche poses that are all too common with engagement and wedding pictures (while convincing me that certain shots ARE necessary "to make the parents happy" ;0P ). And willing to take a risk for that great shot, he crouched quite precariously on the side of a steep hill, just so the light and us were where he wanted it. Several of my guests even commented/complimented on how impressed they were with our photographer always in the midst of the action, camera at hand, to take that right picture that captured the moment.
As a side note, maybe I am just an academic snob, but I really respect a guy who, despite all the years of experience, still finds the value in continuing his formal education in the art of photography and film, fulfilling a graduates program at the Brooks Institute. Just one detail why I chose to sign with Alex instead of someone else.

Profile Picture Roselyn, 4/6/13, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We had Sean as our wedding photographer and there are not enough words to describe how GREAT he is! Sean was always professional, patient and very accommodating. He listened to all of our suggestions and was always willing to try anything we wanted and most importantly he made us feel relaxed and comfortable during the entire process. We received our engagement and wedding photos quickly and every single photo was AMAZING!!

Sean and Scott Nelson Photographers are extremely easy to work with. They are responsive and very helpful. Compared to all of our other vendors, they were the easiest to work with. They were the one vendor that gave us absolutely no problems and nothing to worry about during the entire process.

I would and have already recommended Sean to others. If you are seeking a professional, easy to work with, and great photos of your event, then I highly recommend Sean.

Profile Picture Manny & Chiyo, 10/14/12, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

AMAZING!!!!! Booked Jared for our 9/29 wedding. I am beyond overjoyed with every single one of the pictures jared took the day of the wedding. He was professional,fun and reliable.You can really tell he enjoys what he does and his shots show it. Scott is also very responsive and makes the process of booking and planning the details very easy.

Profile Picture nayelis, 9/29/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We got married a month ago and Scott was our photographer....I can say nothing but great things!! I am surprised there are not more reviews but I wanted to take the time and acknowledge this man's talent and business. I searched for 6 months to get the right photographer....I wanted someone that was talented, honest, caring, professional and affordable.....we got all that and more when we hired Scott Nelson. WOW! The transaction process was a breeze and the phone calls and emails were super timely...then the big day came...unlike alot of the other photographers I came in contact with...Scott was not concerned with 'how long' he would be there....he let me know that he would be there as long as it took to get the perfect shots. HOW AWESOME IS THAT?? The Day of..he arrived before he was due to get acquainted further and to set up...he did so much leg work on the wedding grounds and got amazing behind the scene shots as we all got ready in makeup/wardrobe. Also, Scott was dressed very well....total professional...very impressed. After wedding....the very next week he teased us with a sample shot.....we practically drooled....another week after that he sent us a few more.....3rd week....he sent me video he made with pictures and also a link to all of our pictures.....almost 700 pictures! Honestly.....I was stunned. With the amount of shots Scott took and the quality of work.....i would have gladly paid him twice what he charged us....no joke. At this point I am basking in the glory of picking the ones we will be blowing up for our new home.....tough life right? In addition, Scott has been in timely contact with us ever since....STILL....making sure we are taken care of. If you are looking for THE photographer for your big day OR ANY OCCASION.......this is your guy. Thank you Scott, my husband and my mom thank you as well.....we hope to have you for future shoots. God Bless.

Profile Picture Eyvet, 9/4/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We searched for 3.5 months for a photographer before we came across Scott's portfolio. All I could think was: WOW!!!
Every girl fantacizes about her wedding day. I started when i was 4! I pictured every detail, from the veil to my pedicure. It's funny, I still cant get enough of fantacizing and daydreaming about that day... It's in a month and 11 days! Our search for a photographer was specific: capture the moments so I could re-live that day over and over, and Scott's portfolio did just that for us and more. We are so excited and grateful to have him photograph our wedding. In our first meeting, he asked us so many questions to find our style. He even offered, actually insisted, on helping us with time management the day of... He's got so much talent and experience AND is so willing to share it; it's so nice and fresh. He is a genius with a camera and he's got a heart of gold.
He is very prompt to return calls and emails. He listens to every word I say, is extremely curteous, easy to talk to, open, direct and honest, and he has great input. He is like a photographer+ planner+angel. We can't wait! Our next appointment is to review the times for vendors - he is going to help guide us what time to tell each vendor to show up that day.
ooooo! One more thing, his printed albums are a MUST-SEE! They are amazing... They glow! I'm serious! I guess there is a special way he prints them... They look SO good. I never cared about the album till I saw his... I can't describe them, you just have to see them.

I'll update this review as we go along.

Profile Picture Maryam, 3/24/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography