Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Reviews

86 | Cancun, MX
See photos, pricing and details

86 Reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Recommended by 96%

86
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

113 User photos

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 1
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 2
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 3
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 5
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 6
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 7
+ 107
Sort by:
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 11/04/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic day, everything I wanted was catered for with no trouble. Wedding co-ordinators we amazing!

    Sent on 02/18/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/20/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sandos made our wedding experience wonderful. Maria and Marisol were so professional and helped to make our day everything we wanted despite my wishes of having different flowers than they normally offer and a different archway to stand under they made it all happen!

    Sent on 02/10/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 05/25/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    is all solved for you!! you don´t have to worry about anything on your wedding day!... just the pictures (a bit expensive). All service at the hotel is very good.

    Sent on 06/15/2016
  • danielleesme

    Danielle · Married on 05/05/2016

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Maria was wonderful to work with! We must have sent a million emails over the course of the 12 months we planned our Mexico wedding. She was courteous and kind, and if she didn't have the answer, she figured out a way to get it.

    We chose the Turquoise Breeze package, and for the extra money, it was definitely worth it. We hosted 25 people for 7 days, and it was perfect!

    We met Maria the Tuesday before our Thursday wedding, and she made the remaining plans very simple and easy. We trusted her, and because of that, I was weirdly calm on my wedding day.

    The food was delicious, the cake was /amazing/!

    The DJ played a couple of weird songs ("Bad Romance" remix, as example), but other than that, played what we wanted to dance to.

    We used an off site vendor (photographer), and the hotel was excellent with her and her team.

    Overall, for accommodating a wedding every single day that I was at the resort, you would have never guessed it. Maria and her team made you feel like the only wedding in the world.

    Sent on 06/01/2016
  • V

    Vickie · Married on 05/29/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had difficulty communicating with her prior to the event because it was only thru email and could never connect with her via phone. Waited long periods sometimes before I would receive an answer. BUT...once we were there, everything was perfect and beautiful. She really went above an beyond to make the very special for us. Thank you, Maria!

    Sent on 06/19/2015
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 02/15/2019

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great coordinator, beautiful beaches, lots of options to customize your wedding, bad DJ

    Wedding coordination: It was difficult before the 3 month mark when you're assigned a wedding coordinator to plan your wedding in detail, and the information they send you on the packages is not as detailed as I had hoped for. Nonetheless, Monserrat was great and worked tirelessly with us emailing back and forth to get all the details right, and we loved working with her. The day of the wedding coordination was also great. Monserrat accommodated our request to have an extra hotel room for the groom and his groomsmen so we could get ready separate in our beachfront room, so that was really nice, and no extra cost.
    Wedding package: We chose this resort for the wedding reviews and the beaches so my expectations were high. They sometimes have two weddings the same day (one on the beach and one in their garden), but on our day we were the only ones so we got to move to the garden after the beach ceremony for a more private reception. The beach receptions are windy and not private (we witnessed 3 other weddings during our stay aside from ours). This weddings team can provide pretty much whatever you'd like but we didn't add much - it can add up quickly. We did the nicest wedding package they offer - Turquoise Breeze which was $4500 but our total was about $6700 (without photography) after adding a dance floor, basic flowers like 2 bridesmaids bouquets, and then $600 for one 'X' of string lights in the garden (overpriced), and cold fireworks. The included flowers were amazing. Do NOT bother getting the under table lighting! You can’t see it because they add spotlighting to the beach or garden.
    Ceremony: We did the included set up with nothing extra and it was beautiful. They let us add blue fabric to the white fabric huppah that is included for no extra cost. Getting ready: the ladies in the spa/salon that did all our hair and makeup were awesome. I paid for a hair trial run a few days before.
    Our officiant, Erica, was great and did exactly what we asked her to (but we had to write out the whole ceremony basically word for word). We didn’t get to meet her or talk with her directly until two days before the wedding day.
    Reception: The Infinity dance floor was expensive but fun - we got the largest size and it still was pretty small. The DJ was terrible. We picked ALL songs we wanted and provided a USB. The DJ still played songs at the reception I didn't want to hear, that no one had requested. Yet we had 2.5x the amount of songs there was time for. We would have been better off just making our own playlist on an iPod and having a friend operate it. We also had to provide our own MC from our wedding guest group, which is usually the DJ’s job.
    Photography: The photographer Marco and videographer Frank (Photo Pro, formerly Romanza) on the property were absolutely amazing!!! We were able to split our videographer's time up and do 1 hour at the ceremony and the second hour later on at the reception after everyone ate and we had started our dances.
    Resort: Sandos Playacar resort didn't blow me away, but it was nice. It was large, and the grounds are very well maintained and beautiful. However, the alcohol definitely was watered down and cocktails were too sweet. House wines were terrible, and they tried to up sell us at the restaurants to get us to buy a normal bottle of wine. Food at a la carte restaurants was super slow and not great. The best food was what they served at the actual wedding reception – we did the Mexican buffet.
    They called us before 9am every single day (waking us up most of the time) and wanting us to go over there so they can “show us” all the excursions (basically sell us stuff) and help arrange our return shuttle to the airport. We were annoyed they didn’t leave us alone after a while, as we didn’t need any help with this stuff and called and did it all on our own. I ended up unplugging the phone each night so we could get some rest. I was so tired of being sold stuff 24/7 in Mexico.
    Room: Rooms are a little out of date but clean. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our room which was nice - they upgraded us for our whole stay because of the wedding (we had a 1br suite with 2 bathrooms, a king, and plenty of closet space, sofa sleeper, TVs, etc). They decorated our room on the wedding night, brought us breakfast in the room one day of our choosing.
    All in all I won't be back to this particular resort but for the wedding purposes it really was a great choice for us.

    Sent on 02/20/2019
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 10/13/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Destination wedding success!

    The wedding staff were so professional and easy to work with which made the planning that much easier! Our wedding was as beautiful as we had imagined at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort!

    Sent on 11/04/2018
    Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 8
  • T

    Tina · Married on 10/24/2008

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    The Sandos Playacar was a beautiful place to get married however i believe that it was because we were very laid back and easy going. If you are a bride who has to have everything perfect this is not the place for you. Lupita, the wedding coordinator was very helpful however she works very slowly. If you want the best beach for your wedding then Sandos has the most beautiful beach in the area. People were coming from other resorts to take pics on this beach. Great place for a large group who like to have a good time...not an intimate upscale resort. Food was great....do not recomend the DJ...bring your own music on an ipod...he played a lot of very inappropriate music and my friends had to go over and start picking out the songs.

    Sent on 11/16/2008
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/09/2016

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My husband and I were married at Sandos Playacar on June 9th. We had 39 guests - 26 adults and 13 children.
    First, the wedding night and the wedding planners were great. The set up is lovely - although the way the blankets are draped obstructs photos slightly. We did the turquoise breeze package and added on an extra hour to the reception and a slideshow. Very happy with both.
    The wedding planners are response to emails regarding planning leading up to the big day. Due to the heat, we choose to move the reception inside and keep the cocktail hour outside. Very happy with both decisions. Despite the sad picture the wedding planners sent of the inside venue, it really was lovely once the white linen table cloths were added. A bummer for me is that the wedding food had to be buffet. Luckily the buffet wedding food was better than the Main buffet food. The wedding cake was good. Didn't have a chance to try any of the apps during the cocktail though and didn't get any feedback - good or bad.
    The service during the reception was great - bartenders and waiters did a great job. The deejay had very professional equipment. His song selection needed help though (Michael Bolton during the cocktail hour) but he was very open to our playlists and finding requests on YouTube.
    A nice aspect of the resort is that it is at the end of the strip. Makes the ceremony more private although people from the beach will still look on.
    The spa services were very good. The massages included in the wedding package was very good. They also did a great job with hair. The makeup was heavy but that is just my taste. I chose to finish the makeup myself.
    Finally, a real damper on the whole trip is that about 30 of our 40 guests got sick either vomiting or diarrhea. It lasted about 24 hours and started on Saturday, June 11th and slowly went through the group. At least it was at the end of the trip.

    Sent on 07/01/2016
  • D

    Darian · Married on 01/06/2015

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Overall we were happy with the service. We were a little surprised that the food at the menu tasting was not the same food that was at the wedding. But the food was good and we had a great time dancing the night away.

    Sent on 03/28/2015
  • C

    Camille · Married on 06/12/2016

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    While the wedding portion of this venue is wonderful, everything else is terrible! This was our 3rd year at this resort and that is why we booked our wedding here. We loved it the first 2 years! We were familiar and were excited to share this place with our family and friends. But it was the opposite of everything we had hoped for.

    Positives:
    -BEAUTIFUL Beach!
    -Wedding services/location

    Negatives:
    -We had 27 guests, 9 of which got sick.
    -Front desk just sent guests towards the general direction of their rooms and said "go that way" and more than a few of our guests were lost for a good bit of time,some over an hour, trying to find their rooms.
    -Al a carte's did not like seating a large group even when the whole place was essentially empty. We were basically a hassle. We didn't even all try to eat at the same table or all at the same place. 10 people was too inconvenient for them. We were told the only time we could make group reservations was for 6 or 9:30pm. That is not acceptable when we brought almost $25,000 to this resort. Not including what we spent on the wedding package.
    -The blue beach towels you receive the towel cards for when you arrive are not available half the time because they have more guests that towels I guess. So no towels for half the day most times.
    -We heard they were under new management, and it seems that way. Most of the time no one even answered the phone in guest services when we have a problem. After calling 5 or more times we have to walk all the way down there. Even calling the front desk they just transfer us and still no answer.
    -Housekeeping was terrible towards the end of our trip after I commented on our terrible service and the sickness of our group on a facebook group and management responded.
    -The last night we were there it took us 2+ hours to get 2 towels for our room so we could take showers. After multiple calls and visits to guest services I went down again and stood there until I was given towels.

    Sent on 06/29/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review