Sanborn County Park Reviews

8 | Saratoga, CA
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Sanborn County Park

Recommended by 88% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

8
Order by:
  • W

    William J. · Married on 06/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful venue area

    I loved every moment. The space was perfect.

    Sent on 07/01/2019
  • V

    Vani · Married on 04/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is one of the most beautiful locations! And people at the park truly make it even more special. Try to book it in advance, because this place really gets booked very fast. The redwoods are very beautiful, very majestic. The adjoining reception area is perfect. The parking is right there. All in all, we loved the place :)

    Sent on 05/19/2017
  • A

    Arazeli · Married on 03/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This park was perfect for our wedding and our budget. We wanted an outdoor ceremony and reception and everything worked out great. All our vendors were able to find the venue and do the set up/breakdown effectively within the given timeframe. The county park doesn't have anyone on staff to help with special events so our event coordinator was a life saver. She was able to point vendors in the right direction and confirm directions and other logistics with them before the day of. The weather was perfect an everything turned out beautifully!

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • User4580419 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sanborn Park is beautiful. They have an area specifically for weddings. A large deck surrounded by tall redwoods is the ceremony area. Adjacent to the ceremony area is the reception area. They have large picnic tables, but what we're doing is renting rectangle tables and wooden chairs so that our guests are more comfortable. There is also a large gazebo that is used as a dance floor. For the price, this venue is beautiful. Parking is $6 per vehicle, but you can purchase tickets ahead of time and give to your guests. They are very flexible and work with you to create your wedding vision. Keep in mind that it is a county park, so park closes at sunset. We decided to host an after party at our house for anyone wanting to continue celebrating with us until dawn. For under $500, this venue was perfect for our budget.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • K

    Krys · Married on 06/30/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an incredibly beautiful site, and it's got a lot of room. You have a shady redwood grove for your ceremony, you have picnic tables and a fenced off area for your reception, power plugs if you want music or amplification, and bathrooms nearby. It's pretty much as good as it gets for outdoor weddings.
    If you ask nicely, they'll let you rent the Youth Science Institute nearby to get ready. We did that, and we're so glad, because then all I had to do was walk out the door and down the steps to show up!

    Sent on 03/26/2014
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/06/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Sanborn County Park in Saratoga for our ceremony and reception. The park is beautiful and green, and the ceremony location (Peterson Grove) is surrounded by redwood trees. The park contains a youth science institute, so they keep the meadows watered and green, unlike other parks where everything turns yellow and brown as summer turns into fall. They have running water near the large BBQ pit (which our caterer was able to use), 6 electrical outlets, a permanent "buffet" table, and about 20 large picnic tables at the Sequoia Group Area, next to the ceremony site.

    This location also allows amplified music, alcohol and photography, without extra permits when it is booked for a wedding.

    We were so happy we found this place and had many people tell us they wish they had found something similar for their wedding.

    Sent on 11/02/2012
  • Y

    Yixi · Married on 06/28/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    It is really a nice county park as wedding venue. They don't provide any service and there is no room to change clothes. Besides that, it is very beautiful place and it has a very nice shade in the afternoon. It also has electricity. It was a perfect fit for me, though if you expect a professional wedding all done by professionals, then this venue might not be the match.

    Sent on 01/02/2015
  • C

    Cameron · Married on 05/02/2015

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We had our reception at Sanborn County Park's Sequoia Peterson Grove group site. The space was gorgeous, and it suited us perfectly--outdoors, with tall redwood trees as a backdrop. The price was right for the venue, although parking can be expensive if you have a lot of guests, as we did. While our reception was wonderful, it was very difficult to work with the Santa Clara County Parks Department staff--specifically the park ranger LeRoy and the special events coordinator. Each parks department staff member had their own answer to our questions, reflecting a general lack of competency, cohesiveness, and care for the customer.

    We were told when we originally booked the site (a year in advance) that we could pay the ranger overtime at $70/hr to extend the ending time of our party to 10 PM. Just 3 months before the wedding, we were told that that was simply not an option anymore, and we would have to be satisfied with our end time of sunset, which was at 7:58 exactly, and not a minute more. This put us in a real crunch for time, and the park was not accommodating at all. While some of the staff at the county office told us that we could hang around until at least 9 to clean up, others informed us that we and our guests would be ticketed for staying past the end time.

    The worst thing that happened was that we had no power for our 5 hour event at the group site. Nada. PG&E decided to conduct repairs on a utility pole serving the park during the exact time that we had our reception. Surely someone at the park knew this was going to happen?!? No one told us. No warning. No apologies. Nothing!

    We also shelled out $450 for parking passes for the event. This included parking for vendor vehicles. On the day of, however, park staff at the gate let everyone in for free without showing their passes. This was very courteous of the gate keeper, but just another example of how no one at the park was on the same page about very important logistical details.

    Sent on 05/14/2015