Weddings

Riverside Events Reviews

Riverside Events View more information

21 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 21
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • D
    Diane R. Married on 01/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great spot for our holiday party!

    We had our holiday party at the Riverside this year and it was a great success! We had about 160 people and everyone enjoyed the space and loved the ambiance.  We fit well in the main large room and it was nice to have the other two smaller rooms for more intimate conversations. The food was fantastic and the party assistants at Riverside were great too! I was taken very well care of every step of the way. For decor, I simply brought in about 12 dz strings of 100 white lights which they strung up for me that afternoon and brought in several flower arrangements from next door and the place looked great! We've had small off-site meetings there as well and are always well taken care of. Did I  mention the food was great!
  • A
    Alia Married on 10/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We cannot say enough good things about this venue and the staff! I was an incredibly unorganized bride, and Sara was so patient and helpful each step of the way. She was super responsive and helped think of so many little things to make day-of operations go more smoothly for my husband and I. We really felt like the staff did an incredible job working the event, and kept us and the immediate family very well taken care of. They made plates of food for us to make sure we got to eat, set aside a small two-person table with champagne and appetizers for a post-ceremony pre-reception quite minute, and had our drink orders down so well that I don't think either of us personally visited the bar. The venue was perfect for our late afternoon - evening ceremony and reception; we absolutely loved the string lights on the balcony and the fire pit was a nice touch as well. We got a ton of compliments from our guests on the space; the red brick and open lighting really does wonders.
  • J
    Jaclyn Married on 08/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough great things about The Riverside and all of it's staff! I was part of a group that recently held a charity event there and it is an incredible venue in the middle of Boulder with a huge patio overhanging the creek. The layout was perfect as far as space for dancing, a bar, eating and tables. The staff was so attentive and nice. Truly made the night so much more enjoyable! Sound and lighting was great! Parking was easy. This venue is awesome and I would recommend it to groups of all sizes!!
  • C
    Cristina Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We absolutely loved having our wedding at Agora. The venue itself is unique and beautiful, with several different rooms within and a huge outdoor patio overlooking Boulder Creek. The staff are amazing, accommodating, responsive, and knowledgeable. We worked with Sara from day one until our wedding (and even after!) who is simply the best. We always felt that we could trust her knowledge, opinions, and professionalism. She really helped guide us through the whole process. Another perk of this venue is that they basically coordinate food, alcohol, and rentals, and work closely with the musicians of your choice to really streamline the process. This took a huge amount of work off of our plate and was seamless.
  • A
    Alicia Married on 10/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very classy and flexible venue in a beautiful city. Sara is truly gifted at what she does and helps makes the process of planning a wedding easy.
  • D
    Denise Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Do not book a wedding coordinator...if you are willing to do some legwork beforehand, Sabrina the wedding coordinator at Riverside does it all! She was fantastic!!!!! This was the PERFECT venue and quite honestly the perfect day (seriously) ! Thanks to all that helped. AND the food was terrific to boot!!
    EXCELLENT venue! Truly.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful, warm, charming, and perfect on every level! Working with Sara and our wedding planner, Alaina, (Root & Gathering) have this down to a brilliant science. Our daughter's wedding couldn't have been more flawless.
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/24/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at Agora on the Riverside in Boulder in September, and it was amazing! We really loved the this place; it's brick interior, hardwood floors, the stunning window for the ceremony area, the backroom overlooking the creek, the bar area with the penny wall and to top it off the great patio over the creek. This place doesn't need any decor, with the string lighting and minimal flowers it was stunning. We had so many guests tell us they were just blown away by this hidden gem of a venue and they loved the patio area. Sarah was so helpful in the planning process with us as well. She was always warm, welcoming, and quick to respond when questions came up. I would highly recommend this venue for anyone looking for a downtown Boulder wedding with a great feel, and very friendly and accommodating staff.
  • S
    Sharon Married on 04/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Agora at The Riverside provides fantastic support and help during the planning process. The entire staff on the day of the wedding worked very hard to make every part of it special. Everyone was friendly, helpful, kind, and fun!

    We had two live bands play our reception at Agora for our Live Wedding Music Festival. Agora worked diligently and professionally to ensure the needs of the bands were met and maintained great communication with everyone throughout the party.

    It really was the best day of our lives and everything about the venue was perfect for the live music show we hosted as our reception. The atmosphere is fun, relaxing, and has tons of space!

    Big thanks to Sara who was our host for the evening and for the music show and made the whole process so relaxed and enjoyable, she ensured everything we wanted was perfect and ready to go. She ensured everything ran smoothly and did an amazing job – she was a complete star.

    Many of our guests commented on Agora as a great venue for a wedding music show and a wedding party.

    Everyone worked very hard to set up the event and organize everything for us. The different rooms of the venue looked fantastic and everyone commented on the venue, the food and the way in which we were all looked after.

    I cannot thank Agora enough for everything they did for us to ensure it all went smoothly.







  • User2527269 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Riverside (through Agora events) was the perfect place to hold our 1930's hollywood glamour winter wedding. The venue is gorgeous, with tons of historical atmosphere and just a great "feel". We had access to the entire first floor...both the café and the great room, as well as the back room, so our guests had plenty of room to mingle, eat, and dance. Everyone loved it, and many people said it was one of the most beautiful weddings they had been to. Our wedding photos were so awesome too...we even had a few taken on the roof with the lights of Boulder and the mountains in the background. Magical.

    Sara Stillings, the venue coordinator, ROCKS. She was super responsive, and handled all the details so I didn't have to worry about anything. She worked closely with our month-of coordinator (Alaina Johnson at root + gather events) to make sure all of the little details were exactly right. Sara even allowed us to use the space to rehearse our first dance before the wedding. She was just wonderful.

    One of the best things about Agora (besides the atmosphere and Sara) is that it's sort of all-inclusive. They work with a specific caterer (Spice of Life...awesome!), and they handle their own bar setup and all the equipment rentals. So it was very, very easy to plan our wedding at the Riverside.

    Do yourself a favor and schedule a walk-through. You'll be so glad you did.
  • User2286053 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held our wedding reception at Agora last week and it was absolutely perfect. We live in Boulder and many of our friends couldn't believe this spot right in downtown. The patio was great, so beautiful with the creek and the string lights at night, and provided the perfect place for our friends to gather and celebrate. The inside space was also great, good dance space, an inside bar, a separate room for the photo booth and plenty of space for three food stations.

    If you want a unique space for your reception, this is it. The room and patio are so beautiful on their own we barely did any decor and it came out lovely. Plus working with their contact person was a pleasure, they're very accommodating and offered great suggestions when we needed a professional opinion. Highly recommend!
  • P
    Priscilla Married on 07/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our reception at this location. from the day we went to visit, the staff was very helpful. We wanted to use the outdoor patio and my fiance asked questions about the possibility of having a ramp to allow guests with wheelchairs to get outside. We spoke directly to the owner who helped with the planning so that we could have the ramp available. In the time leading up to the reception, the Agora staff was very responsive to emails--especially in the week beforehand, when I probably contacted our event manager on a daily basis. When we arrived to the actual reception, I was blown away by how beautiful everything looked. Service throughout the evening was excellent and everyone was eager to help us have an awesome night.
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held our wedding reception at Agora at the Riverside, and could not have been happier with it! The building is beautiful and unique with exposed brick, wood floors and a bar covered with pennies. The creek side patio is beautiful as well and provides great space for guests to mingle. It was a great indoor/outdoor feel. The only downside is the lack of parking, but as long as you let your guests know in advance it is not a problem. Sara is the coordinator and she was AMAZING. Very responsive and helpful with all of our questions and requests, and she made sure the day went smoothly. She was very flexible with our ever changing plans and we are very thankful for her. We were able to use any decor and completely design the space how we wanted. The caterer they use, A Spice of Life, was fantastic! They can make your menu absolutely anything you want and the food was great. Many of our guests commented on how neat the space was, and really enjoyed the different areas of the venue (bar, main room, patio) and how they all flowed together. Thank you Sara and Agora/the Riverside!!
  • F
    Frederick Married on 08/20/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Agora is a one of the best venues in Boulder. Just a block away from Boulder's historic Pearl street and a creek away from Central Park. Agora has a clean industrial interior with big windows, as well as a patio located right on the water. Aside from the building, the people at Agora are very friendly and helpful. Sara, in particular, did a fantastic job helping us plan and coordinate our small wedding and reception. I highly recommend Agora for any event.
  • A
    Abby Married on 12/31/2017
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The Riverside in Boulder is a bit of a hidden gem, as it's been a few different things over the years. Now, it's a primary event space and it truly lends to a beautiful and fun party/wedding. The location is on the Boulder creek, 2 blocks from downtown Boulder (the heart of Pearl Street), so it's easy to get to and incredibly convenient for guests to walk to. It has a lot of fun, charming aspects to it: exposed brick walls, a beautiful bar, big windows and a perfect space for live music/a DJ. The space can hold around 150 guests, but also feels really cozy and intimate for with 75-100 people. We had such an incredible and professional experience working with the staff at the Riverside - they were prompt and very flexible with set-up, and gave great advice along the way. I could not recommend this venue more.
  • R
    Rob Married on 05/30/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our ceremony at Agora and loved it! Our guests loved the outdoor patio along Boulder creek and the location was perfect. The food from Spice of Life was wonderful and all of the service from Agora was top notch. Highly recommended!
  • D
    Dina Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Setting and Exceptional Service

    The Riverside was an amazing place to have our wedding reception. Everything went beyond our expectations from the outstanding food, to the romantic setting by the creek, to the phenomenal service. Our guests commented on how it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. The setting down by the creek was beautiful with string lights and an outdoor bar and dance floor. I could not have dreamed up a better atmosphere. The team at the Riverside was also so attentive and accommodating. They were so easy to work with in the planning phase and the night of the wedding they took care of us and our guests so well. I simply could not have asked for a better experience for our wedding reception.
  • C Goff
    C Goff Married on 06/12/2019
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    When it all comes together.............

    If you’re looking for a place that is unique, quaint and spicy, and where the food you indulge in is fresh and vibrant, then look no further than The Riverside in Boulder, CO. This place along with their professional staff will put together an amazing event for you. From this day forward, we will always give The Riverside the first right of refusal on any of our future events. Try them out!
  • User2300107 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We wish we could have separated out the QoS rating to day of wedding and prior to wedding. The service on the day of wedding was excellent. Prior to the wedding there was confusion on overall cost (either due to our lack of understanding or it not being completely clear). Complicating the manner was the uncertainty of how many guests would be at the reception. Either way I think the information could have been more clear up front in the process.

    Other than this one issue, things went very well and I would still recommend Agora as a location for a wedding reception. Many guests commented on how nice a venue Agora was for a wedding of our size ... appr 75 people. The outside patio was a perfect spot for gathering on a beautiful summer night. Our event coordinator, Sara, did an excellent job! The food was provided by Spice of Life and that went very smoothly day of wedding and the food was excellent ... it was set up for a buffet. We bought three non-traditional wedding cakes from Whole Foods. All guests loved the cakes and the idea of having the non-traditional cakes.
  • Bianca
    Bianca Married on 06/01/2021
    Rating 1.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Do NOT book this venue

    To start off, this is going to be a lengthy review - and if you get anything out of this: Do NOT book Riverside for your wedding.

    My husband and I got married at Sunrise Amphitheater then had our reception at Riverside about a week ago - but I feel very strongly about this that I had to leave a review (and I am not that type of person).
    We booked this venue last October during Covid when we had to move our wedding. We decided to have a small wedding in Colorado (we're from Texas) and Riverside had great reviews and looked like a nice venue to host a wedding of about 50 guests.

    When we booked, we first were speaking back and forth with the manager of Riverside who's name was Nicholas. He was very nice, but pretty unorganized with our event. He did not know how to answer our questions (regarding food/open bar), took long to email my planner back, and once we booked it just seemed like Riverside was all over the place and extremely unorganized.

    We went for a food/drink tasting in January a few months before our wedding. The owner Richard, some lady named Rachel who we never saw again, and a chef named Ethel was there. Nicholas did not show up, which was disappointing because he was our main point of contact. We tried a parmesan encrusted chicken and prosciutto wrapped salmon for our two entrees we wanted for our wedding. The food was DELICIOUS. I mean I was SO excited to have those plates served at our wedding.

    Our wedding rolled around, Nicholas transferred us to his wife Lauren who was going to be our day of coordinator. She was new to the job. We did a walk through the day before our wedding, the place was FILTHY (it looked the same as it did in January). There was mold on the windows, spider webs, the HVAC system was dusty, bricks were missing and they filled them with random pieces of wood. I mean the place is a dump. It was raining that whole weekend and the ceiling was LEAKING. In the main room where our reception was going to be held. I was livid. Lauren said "yeah we usually just let the leaking do its thing until it stops." Freaking ridiculous.

    So to sum up, during my wedding reception the ceiling was STILL leaking (Lauren promised to get it patched up which it is was not), the patio was nice and green because of the rain (but still behind the bar was a mess and had random eye sores - like they couldn't clean that up?) the food that was served at our wedding was a COMPLETELY different plate than the food we tried at our tasting. The two plates were dry, cold, and took forever to be served. My husband and I didn't even eat our plate. I was extremely disappointed. And the fact that they took forever to serve 45 guests a plate of cold food was infuriating. The whole planning process was a mess, and I was so upset with how everything turned out. I could go into further detail, but I'll spare you. What's done is done, but if you have high expectations for this place to host your wedding. Don't.
  • B
    Bill Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Not Reasonable

    The Riverside, Boulder Colorado. After visiting the Riverside we decided that it would not accommodate our wedding party and band. We are having great difficulty with the owners who do not want to return our $7500 deposit . We gave them a deposit on 8-28-2018 and informed them it wasn't able to comply with our group on October 2 .The wedding date is 9 months out. We never signed a contract and now the owner is claiming expenses incurred and not much of a refund... he is charging us a commission on the wedding to his sales coordinator as well as a fee to his event manager. Sounds fishy. I will update our progress.