Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies Reviews

229 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

229 Reviews for Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies

Recommended by 100%

229
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

38 User photos

Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 1
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 2
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 3
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 4
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 5
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 6
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 7
+ 32
Sort by:
  • N

    Naomi · Married on 06/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora just added that special touch to our big day. I'm so thankful that we found her and that she available to us. She made our day feel more amazing then it already was with her words. She was perfect! Her sweet words talked to my heart and soul and made me feel more connected to my partner.

    Sent on 08/18/2013
  • P

    Paulo · Married on 05/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were initially referred to Samora by our photographer. After reviewing her profile on the web and checking her references we decided to include her in the list of marriage officiants we were considering to celebrate our wedding. During our pre-screening call, it became very clear to both of us that Samora should be our only choice. She was very knowledgeable and had answers to all of our questions, even making suggestions which we had not even thought about. After our initial call, she sent us a through follow up email and a few days before the ceremony contacted us again to remind us regarding all of the logistics . Aside from being well organized and having excellent follow up, we were captivated by the great positive energy Samora radiates. We connected extremely well with Samora since our first contact and were truly enchanted with the way she made our wedding day unique, filled with spiritual energy expressed through the beautiful words she chose for our cerimony. We would unequivocally recommend Samora’s services to any couple looking for a wedding officiant. Roger & Paulo

    Sent on 07/02/2013
  • User3405293 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so glad we met Reverend Samora! She took the time to understand who we were and customized the ceremony according to our wishes. Not only was she reasonably prices, she was responsive, prompt, thoughtful, respectful and made our special day even more special! I would highly recommend Reverend Samora!!

    Sent on 07/19/2013
  • J

    Jelani · Married on 05/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was really great to work with and did an excellent job as our wedding officiant. When we met with her to describe what we wanted we connected with her right away. She's very warm, open-minded, and has a great depth of spiritual and religious knowledge. There was a lot of communication before the day of as we exchanged drafts of the vows. The day of the wedding she arrived early and did a really great job with the service. We received many compliments from our guests on how nice the service was. Overall the entire experience of working with her was really positive and stress-free. Would recommend her to others.

    Sent on 01/12/2014
  • J

    J&J · Married on 05/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was very professional and very easy to work with. She presented us with suggestions, gave us advice and was very flexible. We had an amazing ceremony in a park, it was simply perfect. Thank you Samora.

    Sent on 08/21/2013
  • C

    Crystal Danni · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora married my wife and I in May 2013. I found Samora at the last minute after our original officiant backed out. With only a week before the wedding, she really came through for us and provided the perfect ceremony without much help from me during that busy week.

    She is flexible, friendly, punctual, classy, gorgeous, laid back and very easy to work with. We chose a non-religious ceremony from Samora's collection, and it was more than I had hoped for. Her voice is calming and beautiful and she made all the guests feel welcome. All of our wedding guests raved about her so much that our friends asked for a referral, and she has already married them as well!

    I can not even think of any recommendations for improvement. Samora was just absolutely amazing across the board. I will recommend her to everyone I know gay, straight, and everything in between!

    Sent on 07/29/2013
  • V

    Vicky · Married on 05/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora made our day so special, the ceremony was relaxed and informal and she wrote lovely vows which perfectly reflected mine and my husbands feelings towards one another. The ceremony was also flexible and we were able to say a few of our own words. We cannot recommend Rev. Samora highly enough; she is warm, caring and just a genuinely nice person. Communication beforehand was very good and put us at ease. We also had Diana accompany the ceremony on an acoustic guitar, which was really amazing. Our guests all commented on how lovely the ceremony was, it couldn't of been any more perfect x

    Sent on 06/16/2013
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 04/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had decided we wanted a simple yet of course meaningful wedding ceremony in NYC. At the time we were not sure where to begin in the planning, and our family dynamics needed some consideration. After we did some research, we had decided on Rev. Samora. From the moment we met with her we knew we had made the perfect choice. She was extremely sensitive to our needs. Not only was she helpful with planning the ceremony, she had awesome ideas to incorporate in to the service. We were so happy to have met Rev. Samora. She truly made our wedding day very memorable. Our families all commented on her warm personality and caring ways. We were honored she was able to perform our ceremony.

    Sent on 07/05/2013
  • Sandra

    Sandra · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Rev. Samora searching the web, we live in Argentina and we decided to get married in NY. Once we saw her website and the amazing reviews, we decided to contact her.
    We loved working with Rev. Samora. What can we say? She was so professional, kind and thoughtful, helped us every step along the way.
    She spent nearly two hours meeting with us and was warm and kind from the beginning.
    The ceremony was beautiful, extremely personal, and very well crafted. Rev. Samora wove all the stories we told her about each other.
    She was very professional, and you can tell she is quite passionate and committed to what she does.
    Many have said it was one of the most romantic and beautiful weddings they have ever been.
    We are so grateful to Rev. Samora for crafting the most personal, warm and beautiful memory we could have imagined. Our wedding was intimate and we wanted it to be a reflection of what we were so proud to be celebrating.
    She will build for you the most creative, personal, and magical wedding ceremony you could ever imagine. It will truly be the wedding of your dreams.
    We were honored to have her officiate our special day!
    Sandy & Gabe
    04/20/2013
    Lady´s Pavilion, Central Park, NYC.

    Sent on 08/03/2013
  • J

    jeffery · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The decision to finally get married after 19 years together was a big one. From the very start with emails and phone calls we felt like Samora was family and really wanted everything to be special for us. When we finally met a few days before our event, we both knew that she was sent to us for a reason. I could never imagine that wonderful day without Samora

    Sent on 08/05/2013
  • J

    Julie · Married on 03/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day was more than we dreamed of, and I must give this credit to Rev. Samora, she was very professional and helpful in recommending venues and an amazing photographer. She had a central park package including an amazing guitarist which was perfect for our intimate ceremony. Rev. Samora wrote a beautiful ceremony for us. I have and will continue to recommend her services.

    Sent on 07/06/2013
  • C

    Shirley · Married on 03/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Weddings are always a pinnacle of happiness in life, but I feel that my own wedding shines brighter than most, and not just because it's mine. The particularly magical nature of our union is all thanks to the creative and caring attention of Rev Samora. From the very beginning to the weeks following the ceremony she was so involved in the process that we had hardly any stress, amazing considering that we were planning an NYC wedding from south Texas. Her suggestions on everything from locations to photographers to the particular ceremony were spot on because she took the time to get to know us and make personalized, thoughtful suggestions. She made the ceremony include our history and our family. Rev. Samora was incredibly flexible and always available. She answered every one of our thousand and one questions in a timely and helpful manner with complete patience. On the day of the wedding her warmth and happiness made us feel surrounded by family despite our elopement. She even firmly but politely saved the day by re-directing some sightseers who almost crashed the wedding. Her composure and poise saved the day, making our wedding one of our most cherished memories. We're convinced that without her our special day wouldn't have been the treasured memory it is today. On behalf of the Sanchez-Ward family, thank you so much Rev Samora for helping us make the memory of our lifetime.

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • M

    Mike · Married on 03/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Samora was a pleasure to work with. We sat down with her and she quickly understood exactly what we were looking for without much effort on our part. She crafted a customized ceremony that was delivered beautifully and we were very glad we chose her to be a part of our special day. She was extremely responsive and professional and had even emailed us a scanned, signed copy of our marriage certificate the very next day. I cannot recommend her highly enough. Thank you!

    Sent on 08/06/2013
  • User3374790 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Samora was excellent all around from the moment we contacted her to the day of the wedding! We were living in Peru and trying to plan a Central Park wedding. Samora had no problems Skyping to accommodate us. She really made us feel at ease with her expertise. Our wedding was scheduled right after Hurricane Sandy happened in NY and Samora still managed to make it there despite all of the transit and other issues beyond anyone's control. She worked with us along the way to personalize the entire ceremony to make it one of a kind and just the way we wanted it. I would highly recommend her to anyone and everyone!

    Sent on 07/06/2013
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 11/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora is a terrific mix of personable and professional. She laid out the process for us from the start and was right on time when it came to reviewing drafts of the ceremony. She had many ideas for customizing the ceremony with traditional and modern touches, flow, and readings. She also asked us for preferences around what she wore and other details. If needed, she'll also send gentle reminders to make sure you register for your license with the proper window of time.

    On the day of our wedding, Rev. Samora arrived a bit early to greet the bride and groom and calm any nerves. She looked beautiful and made our guests feel so welcome. We had so many compliments from friends and family of all ages and religious backgrounds on the ceremony and Rev. Samora's warmth and genuine love for what she does.

    She also mentioned that she likes to stay in touch with the couples she marries, and we look forward to sharing news of our life with Rev. Samora as time goes on.

    Sent on 12/11/2012
  • A

    Allison · Married on 10/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was absolutely fantastic!! My wife and I were planning a wedding from Rhode Island and she made it so easy. She made sure we had everything the way we wanted it and was always there whenever we had any questions. From picking a wedding place to finding places in the city she was very informative. Rev. Samora made us feel like family and she has such great passion for what she does. If you are looking for an Officiant we highly recomment Rev. Samora! You will not be disappointed!!

    Sent on 11/13/2012
  • M

    Martin · Married on 10/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Day, Perfect Ceremony, Perfect Memories

    Bob and I decided to celebrate our 15 year anniversary by returning to New York (where our relationship first started) to get married "legally and officially" in New York, since we are not able to legally marry in our home state, California.

    After considering doing a generic ceremony at City Hall - we learned about Reverend Samora through our terrific photographer, Jared Slater (J & J Photography).

    Immediately, I felt like I was dealing was an old friend who understood everything that we wanted and made it so easy to make it all happen. With just a few conversations - she worked out the perfect ceremony for us - incorporating just the right amount of religious/spiritual background, personal history and wishes and hopes for the future.

    Samora helped pick out the perfect spot in Central Park. Her Incredible guitarist, Diana, set the perfect tone for the ceremony. Even though we reviewed the ceremony in advance - I was completely overwhelmed and touched by Samora's delivery of the heartfelt ceremony. These memories will stay with me forever as one of happiest moments ever. The finishing touch was an the ad hoc audience that congregated across the lake during our ceremony - who cheered when we were pronounced 'married' and sealed it with a kiss!

    A perfect day! A truly emotional celebration and highlight of our fifteen years together.

    So glad we did it in New York and choose Reverend Samora to help make it perfect!

    Sent on 11/03/2012
  • I

    Ida · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora is the best Wedding Officiant and does a fantastic job with all the details. She is the sweetest woman I have ever met and had an amazing ceremony. You can be sure your wedding ceremony will be both meaningful and professional when you look to her. She is really helpful when you are planning your ceremony, great ideas and cares about your needs. I highly recommend her. Thanks again Samora, for a wonderful ceremony. <3 <3 <3
    Ida SANOU LUNGU

    Sent on 10/29/2012
  • User2752560 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was absolutely wonderful and made our wedding ceremony even more special than we thought possible. She worked with us to tailor the event so that it was truly a personal and special moment we shared with our friends and family. I would absolutely recommend her to other couples and will use her when we renew our vows.

    Sent on 11/04/2012
  • Mary

    Mary · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Samora performed our wedding ceremony in Central Park on a Saturday afternoon in September. She was very responsive during the planning phase, wrote very lovely wedding vows, arrived early to meet us and did an outstanding job. We were so happy with her services and would recommend her to any couples planning their big day. You put a lot of faith into this person, it's an important choice (what if they didn't show up??) But with Rev. Samora I had a good feeling from the very beginning and she exceeded our expectations, Mary & Bob

    Sent on 10/08/2012
  • User2750426 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was a pleasure to work - professional and extremely helpful. As we were out-of-state, she provided pivotal advice and suggestions that ultimately translated into a beautiful and successful wedding day. She worked closely with us throughout the planning stages and was flexible in allowing us to personalize what was said during the ceremony. She arrived early on the day of our wedding and helped coordinate guests and events which alleviated much of our stress! She was exquisitely dressed and well spoken which was an important consideration for us. I strongly recommend Rev. Samora and have already directed a few of my friends to her to act as their wedding officiant.

    Sent on 11/02/2012
  • S

    Sanna · Married on 09/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was absolutely fantastic! She makes our planning easy and our ceremony elegant and romantic! She is extremely kind and attentive to satisfy any requests! Our day was unique and impeccable thank to Rev. Samora!

    Sent on 09/16/2012
  • C

    Carey · Married on 09/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora offered the most caring, thoughtful, and personal ceremony possible. The rituals she offers are perfect for anyone, no matter faith, sex, and surpassed all expectations. Her guitar soloist rendition of our two favorite songs were beautifully played and really played from the heart, just as the entire ceremony.

    Sent on 10/23/2012
  • M

    Misa · Married on 08/31/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From its inception, our interaction with Reverend Samora Smith from dictated the obvious: That she was going to be our choice among other considerations to be trusted with the duties of officiating our union. The first time we met, Reverend Samora was a lovely mixture of professionalism, a warm and personal touch, charisma and trustworthiness. Her profound knowledge of the marriage process and what was needed, and what was not, was imparted to us with a clarity and natural reassurance that we would all be working together, and that everything was going to be a success - invaluable for arguably the biggest day and step in a couple’s lives.

    In the interim, between that time and the wedding day, she was always on hand and a phone-call away to answer questions, give reassurances, talk about and/or resolve any ancillary matters and be a calming and reassurance influence in steering the ship towards the big day. With unflagging patience and empathy, she conducted it all.

    On the day itself, Reverend was the first one there, coordinated others who had a role to play such as the photographer and the musician, and lastly ourselves and all our friends and family there to share the day with us. She delivered her part in a lovely reaching and calming voice, and shared in our joy as she smiled and exuded genuine happiness for us for our decision to spend our lives together and take our vows.

    Reverend Samora is first-class, delivers first class service with grace and love and happiness and we are happy and blessed that she was the one who officiated our marriage.

    If you are asking “do I want Reverend Samora to preside over our union?”, say “I do”.

    Sent on 10/03/2012
  • J

    Jose · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are very few occasions in life when things happen to be perfect. Our wedding day was just that, perfect. Perfect location. Perfect weather. Perfect company. And perfect person to officiate our ceremony! Reverend Samora M. Smith was perfect from the beginning. My husband, then my fiancé, found her online. I was skeptical. However, it took me just a short phone conversation with her to feel her warmth, her calm, and her love. Rev. Samora gave us just the right amount of pressure, and the right amount of support for our wedding day to be simply perfect. She was prompt to respond our questions and with a practical understanding of the wedding ceremony, offered us the right options. She found for us the perfect musician and the perfect photographer. On our wedding day, she dressed beautifully and in accordance with our preferred colors, blending discretely and harmoniously. She delivered the ceremony simply flawlessly, with grace, candor, and love. We are tremendously proud and happy she held our hands that day and blessed our wedding. Thanks once more, Rev. Samora. It was simply perfect.

    Sent on 10/09/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review