Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies Reviews

240 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

240 Reviews for Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies

Recommended by 100%

240
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

47 User photos

Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 1
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 2
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 3
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 4
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 5
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 6
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 7
+ 41
Sort by:
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 01/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It’s no exaggeration to say that without Samora – both as an officiant and as a wedding coordinator – our wedding would not have been what it was. My husband and I only had four weeks to plan our wedding in New York City, and Samora’s help was invaluable.

    Within an hour of meeting and chatting with us, Samora had found the ideal venue for us and our 40 guests. As well as helping us find a venue, Samora also helped us find and organise a wonderful photographer and beautiful flowers for the space, as well as offering guidance for how to create our wedding playlist.

    When it came to the ceremony itself, Samora was there early to help us get prepared (she even ran out at the last minute to get me cough drops for my bad cold!). The ceremony itself was absolutely perfect: thanks to Samora, we had a ceremony that was unique and personal to us a couple, but one that still retained references to tradition, which is exactly what we wanted. Many of our guests have said that it was one of the loveliest wedding ceremonies they have attended, thanks to the personal touch that Samora gave to it. Samora comes very highly recommended from both of us!

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • User4393028 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora was amazing. After one meeting she already felt like family. Her ability to listen and put our words into a beautiful story on the most important day of our lives will never be forgotten.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 12/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora helped (my now wife!) Jenn and I with our elopement in NYC. Samora is a very kind and professional person; we were very pleased with her. She happily answered our questions about the paperwork and other logistics involved with getting married in a different state. She wrote a beautiful, personal ceremony for us and did a wonderful job during our wedding. We highly recommend Samora for your wedding ceremony! Thanks again Samora!

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • L

    Liza · Married on 12/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Samora made our wedding perfect! My wife and I were married by her on 12/08/2014 in the Flat Iron building. We're not religious and we're lesbians, so we had wishes that were a touch unusual, and she was fantastic! She made our wedding very meaningful. Highly recommended!!

    Sent on 07/22/2017
  • A

    Aimee · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Samora is wonderful. She answered every question we had. She was very helpful and honest. She really listened to our story. And, she created a beautiful ceremony, perfect for us. She highlighted who we are as a couple. It was an amazing occasion, and we're so happy we found her!
    - Patrick and Aimee

    Sent on 11/16/2014
  • Ellen

    Ellen · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing an officiant was the most important vendor decision we made during the wedding planning process. We didn't want a cookie cutter ceremony. We wanted something tailored to us. Finding Samora on wedding wire was such a relief. From our first phone call with Samora I knew I could trust her 100% to produce the ceremony of my dreams. She exceeded all my expectations. She wrote a truly beautiful ceremony that captured our love story perfectly. We received so many compliments from our guests that our ceremony was the most beautiful they had heard. I am so pleased with Samora's services. I highly recommended her to anyone out there looking for a wedding officiant.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • M

    Malcolm & Janet · Married on 09/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    We have just returned to the Western Isles, Scotland after having got married in Central Park, NY City on 9th Sept 2014.
    We chose our Officiant for the day after researching numerous YouTube videos. SAMORA SMITH of COMMON GROUND CEREMONIES was excellent from start to finish. She worked with us via e-mail and together we compiled the marriage ceremony.. We travelled to New York on our own, choosing to celebrate with our family and friends on our return and our ceremony was personalised with family members' names included. She ensured every detail was immaculately planned and nothing was too much trouble for her. Rev Samora added the parts to the ceremony which made it magical. We felt we knew her before we even met her in New York and she met with us prior to the day to take us to the location and ensured we were pleased with everything.
    We cannot thank her enough for her services and highly recommend her.
    Malcolm & Janet

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • User4533541 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora conducted a beautiful Central Park elopement ceremony for my husband and I. Living in Tennessee and having little knowledge of Central Park, Samora helped us plan our wedding before we arrived in New York, from selecting a wedding site, to securing a photographer. On our wedding day she conducted a beautiful ceremony in the park. I would highly recommend Samora for anyone getting married in NYC.

    Sent on 11/08/2014
  • E

    Erika · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the second we met Samora we were extremely comfortable with her and felt like she completely understood the two of us, the vibe of the ceremony that we wanted and what it would look like. Her ceremony was so completely us while weaving elements in that we didn't even know we needed (but were glad we had). Samora created a thoughtful and personal ceremony for me and my wife based on the information she received. We had an extremely diverse group of people attend out wedding and she was able to speak to everyone and make us all feel welcomed and comfortable.

    Samora was an absolute dream to work with, so kind, warm, helpful and flexible.

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • M

    Maya & Bobby · Married on 07/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was an absolute joy to work with. Not only was she thoughtful about our vows and our readings, but thorough in her investigation about the couple Bobby and I are. Her goal was to make Bobby and I reflective about our journey thus far together so we could weave our wedding vows together in a meaningful way that reflected our future. It was a wonderful exercise that made our ceremony and vows have gravitas. I can't recommend Rev. Samora highly enough. A true professional through and through! xo Maya

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 07/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev.Samora is a truly wonderful person and really made our day special!
    We live in London and were travelling to New York for a short holiday and my birthday treat!, we thought it would be a nice idea to have an intimate blessing while we were away but was not sure how to go about it and if it was even possible? I found Rev.Samora at Common Ground Ceremonies online and sent her an email, she responded fast and gave us all the information we needed. It was so overwhelming to have the support from someone so far away and who we had never met, Rev.Samora answered all our questions and assured us that it was possible to have an intimate ceremony, she arranged the venue and photographer and was so supportive throughout. This was so kind and wonderful as we didn't have friends or family coming to New York with us and it was our first time there.
    We had a beautiful, intimate ceremony on a (very) hot summer's day in Central Park, New York on 14th July 2014.
    Exactly what we wanted and we could not of asked for more, a truly special time that meant more to us than we can ever express.
    Thank you Rev. Samora, we are appreciated it so much. xxx

    Sent on 10/31/2014
  • A

    Ameenah · Married on 07/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora is truly the epitome of professionalism! From the beginning to the very end, she was thoroughly informative, helpful and kind. We were very conscious about our selection; we knew our elopement was to be a small, simple ceremony- the majority of which the officiant would have "the floor". Just as her stellar reviews suggested, Rev. Samora did not disappoint! We could not have asked for a better officiant. She ensured that our day was memorable, while making us feel comfortable and, most importantly, special! We can't thank Rev. Samora enough and would highly recommend her for any wedding- big or small!

    Sent on 07/16/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife Alicia and I were wed by Samora on July 5th, 2014. Samora's words at our ceremony were incredibly meaningful and touching. The guests were very impressed with her, as were Alicia and I. Samora is extremely professional, easy to talk to, and fast with communication. Thank you, Samora!

    Sent on 07/10/2014
  • User4289608 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing to work with Samora as the officiant for our ceremony was a great decision for us! We knew from what we read about her that she was what we were looking for. Luckily she was available, even though it was technically a holiday weekend (July 4th).

    She worked closely with us prior to the ceremony to develop and finalize all of the text - and she was very flexible as far as changes we wanted to make, and did not question any of the personal sentiments we asked to have included.

    She attended the event on time, and walked us through the signing of the certificate afterwards.

    It was wonderful having her be a part of our most important day.

    Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/04/2014
  • E

    Elana · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking into different options for our ceremony, we opted for an officiant that would provide a non-denominational service, as we are both spiritual, but not overtly religious. Samora connected with us immediately. She understood who we were, what brought us together, and what we envisioned for our big day. She guided us through the whole process and made it easy for us to relax and enjoy it. We opted to write our vows, and Samora integrated everything into a personalized experience. On the day-of, Samora was on time, organized and kept the focus on keeping our special moment just that. She talked us through the steps leading up to the ceremony, setting our minds at ease and orchestrating a beautiful service.

    Truth be told, in all of the commotion and nervousness leading up to the big moment, the rings were misplaced, by the husband-to-be, in a waiting area before the ceremony. It did not occur to us until at the altar that there were no rings. Samora instinctively picked up what had occurred without being told and continued with the ceremony reassuring us that we would have a symbolic exchange in place of the ring exchange. Amazingly, a family member located the rings just in time for this part of the service, and Samora simply reincorporated them. She seamlessly delivered the service without the guests even realizing that the ring debacle occurred. It was a rollercoaster of an experience and Samora was ever the professional. The ceremony was perfect in the end.

    Samora has a special way with people and understanding what brings them together. We are forever indebted to her and cannot speak highly enough of how incredible of a person she is to us. Thank you Samora.

    Sent on 02/02/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been more happy with Rev. Samora and her ability to provide such personal services at such a professional level.

    Destination weddings provide room for lots of anxiety, but Rev. Samora eases all the tensions with quick answers and easy solutions.

    Sent on 10/18/2014
  • T

    trixie · Married on 06/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can highly recommend Reverend Samora to anyone looking for a wedding officiant in NYC. She was 100% professional from the first phone call to the actual wedding day. She knows NYC very well, so she helped us choose a great location, she arranged for wedding flowers, and she was wonderful with our children. You will be happy you chose her! Micah and trixie Ruch, PA.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • P

    Phillip · Married on 06/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora is amazing! The moment we found here and started working with her it was meant to be. She assisted us with our wedding vows, photographer, witness, and location of the ceremony in Central Park. She put our minds at ease which made our special day very stress free and peaceful. We could not have asked for a more perfect day and Officiant who is perfect in every way! We arrived at Central Park a little before our noon ceremony. We were married by the Gapstow bridge in Central Park in an intimate private ceremony. Rev. Samora's ceremony she officiated was beautiful, wonderful, and simply put, amazing! Thank you for the kindness and personal generosity you kindly shared with us which made our day even more special! Phillip & Harry

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 06/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora made our wedding ceremony on 06/06/2014 the most wonderful ceremony we could ever think of.
    We were wed by her in Shakespeare Garden in Central park on a lovely sunny day. As we come from Europe we were unable to meet before hand, but she was extremely helpful via email, and always responded quickly, and even when we spoke via skype, she was so excited and delighted to help.
    She had personalised our ceremony for us and she performed it beautifully.
    It was neither too short, nor too long, just perfect for us and our 8 wedding guests, who were very emotional towards the end of it.
    We highly recommend Rev. Samora to all future brides and grooms! Thank you Rev. Samora for making our day so memorable!

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • User4483168 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was great. She was professional and punctual. She was quick to respond our questions and to accommodate our needs. She helped us to make our wedding day more special.

    Sent on 10/18/2014
  • N

    Nicholas · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My partner and I were married by Rev Samora just over a week ago. After talking with several officiants, as soon as we met Rev Samora, we immediately felt a connection with her and knew she was the right officiant for us. Rev Samora was very helpful in creating the most perfect, and unique ceremony for us. We did not know where to even begin when planning our ceremony, and thanks to Rev Samora's guidance and ideas, our ceremony could not have been more perfect. It was exactly what we hoped it would be, with all the right personal touches that we wanted to have incorporated. Rev Samora was willing to be at our rehearsal, which was very helpful and deeply appreciated. Our family and friends have not stopped talking about how beautiful our ceremony was...all thanks to Rev Samora! All communication with Rev Samora was timely and professional. I can not say enough good things about Rev Samora - she is gentle, warm, kind, and thoughtful.

    Sent on 06/04/2014
  • P

    Phillip · Married on 05/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From first contact through the entire planning stage and actual ceremony, Samora was a delight to work with. Very much saw the vision we had in mind for our wedding.

    Sent on 08/06/2014
  • User3548127 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't think I can say anything different than what has already been said about Rev. Samora. She was absolutely amazing to us from the first email exchange to this past weekend on our wedding day. The ceremony she wrote for us was perfect and wonderful and exactly "us". So many of our guests gushed about the ceremony and how the tone perfectly reflected us as a couple.

    Rev. Samora instantly put us at ease which was very important to us as the ceremony was the most important part of the day. I'm also somewhat of an introvert so it was great to have someone up there with us who made me feel comfortable and secure. Basically, I cannot recommend Rev. Samora more, she was amazing and made our wedding ceremony everything we ever wanted!

    Sent on 05/19/2014
  • P

    Phill · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When Jay and I first went online to look for a marriage officiant in NYC we found four that we thought might be good fits. After just a few emails it was clear that Samora Smith was going to be our choice! She contacted us promptly, provided us with just the information we needed, fashioned a lovely ceremony, and was very flexible when we were picking dates and times. She was informed about our chosen location in Central Park and linked us up with a wonderful photographer (Jared Slater at J&J Photography). Together they made our special day the relaxed and ultimately fun and exciting occasion we wanted it to be. Samora felt like an old family friend. Although our's was a simple affair we appreciated her professionalism, good humor and flexibility. We wholeheartedly recommend her services!

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 05/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy when we found Rev Samora. She handled everything beautifully and my wife and I never had to worry. Rev Samora communicated everything across to us and helped guide us through what we needed to do step by step. She has such a soothing and loving energy about her. We decided to have our wedding in Central Park, it was a beautiful day, but there was more of a crowd than we expected. As soon as Rev Samora showed up her positive energy quickly made us forget about everyone else around us. The ceremony was perfect. Thank you for making us feel like we had the park to ourselves during our wedding. We are so very grateful we found you and that you were a part of our very special day.

    Liz & Lucy

    Sent on 07/29/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review