Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies Reviews

224 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

224 Reviews for Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies

Recommended by 100%

224
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

29 User photos

Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 1
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 2
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 3
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 4
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 5
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 6
Rev. Samora/Common Ground Ceremonies 7
+ 23
Sort by:
  • J

    Joe · Married on 05/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora was fantastic! Incredibly personable and helpful and made the whole process so much easier. When we were running behind schedule, she even helped us set up the furniture! Can't recommend her enough!

    Sent on 10/22/2015
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 05/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Samora was wonderful, form the minute we made contact she was incredibly helpful and friendly.
    It took us a while to work out what we were doing but we booked her as soon as we had decided on a date and she kept checking in and offering us advice.
    In the end we went with her recommendations for a musician for the ceremony and also the photographer and she also arranged delicious food and drinks for us in central park.
    We would thoroughly recommend Rev Samora to anyone looking to plan their wedding in NYC.

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • G

    Gregory · Married on 05/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Samora was a wonderful officiant for surprise wedding! She was well-prepared and gave us a memorable ceremony that was tailored perfectly to our taste! We highly recommend her!!!

    Sent on 10/22/2015
  • S

    Steve · Married on 05/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was incredible!

    We had never been to NYC before and were travelling from Canada to get married. Samora was extremely helpful in suggesting spots to get married, where to spend our time after the ceremony, and found us an amazing photographer! We had only spoken to her via email and Skype. Through both, she was professional, friendly and quick to respond.

    The day of our wedding went better than we could have imagined and planned!

    Thank you Samora!!!!!!!

    Sent on 11/14/2015
  • M

    Mark Stuart · Married on 05/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can i say,,,this special day took 2 years to plan,,we met Samora,,what a find !
    Absolutely brilliant from start to finish, even down to waiting patiently as the New York traffic took its toll!
    A fantastic service provided and in a beautiful setting as it was changed suddenly down to vandalism, Samora recommended, we trusted!!!!! Happiest day of my life marrying my life partner and now husband,and the setting was perfect! We asked for music playing, it was perfect, and the photographer was out of this world...
    SIMPLY A BIG THANK YOU !!!!Mark and Stuart Potts.Leeds England.

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • User5084709 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we chose Rev. Samora as the officiate for our small wedding ceremony in the central park. On the wedding day, she suggested us to add a balloon release session to the end of ceremony, which was a golden idea to our wedding. Although we couldn't hear her singing on that day, we enjoyed very much the guitarist she arranged for us. The scripts are beautifully written and she could even include our favorite poem into the reading. We are so glad that in the end everything turns out perfect.

    Sent on 05/17/2015
  • M

    Michael · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We live in Albuquerque,NM and decided to get married in New York City's Central Park. We chose Samora as her website was easy to navigate,had great testimonials and she responded immediately to us. Samora was fantastic at answering all of our questions,helping us navigate an out of state wedding with ease and helped us pick an ideal location. We can't say enough how timely she communicated with us,pricing was very reasonable and clear,she even set us up with a guitarist as well. She truly was interested in getting to know our story and incorporated this into our wedding ceremony. Rev. Samora is a real pro! Our wedding went off without a hitch,we would definitely recommend her to anyone.-Michael & Melody.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • User4586543 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was perfect for our wedding! She was highly professional and easy to work with! We felt that she listened to our story and put together a beautiful ceremony that described our journey perfectly. Her speech was heartfelt and special... not only to my husband and I, but to our families as well. We highly recommend Rev. Samora! Thank you!

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • J

    Jason · Married on 03/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, Reverend Samora was awesome... She was very professional, but also very interested in learning about us as a couple. She accommodated all our requests in terms of timing and location. Also, she is extremely knowledgable about Central Park, and about choosing an ideal ceremony location. She also has good connects with other aspects of wedding services... 5 stars!!!

    Sincerely,

    Indrani & Jason

    Sent on 10/22/2015
  • User5570730 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Samora officiated our wedding a few months ago at Central Park & she was absolutely incredible! She was very sweet, attentive and flexible with accommodating our last minute changes. Thank you again!!

    Sent on 10/29/2015
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 01/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It’s no exaggeration to say that without Samora – both as an officiant and as a wedding coordinator – our wedding would not have been what it was. My husband and I only had four weeks to plan our wedding in New York City, and Samora’s help was invaluable.

    Within an hour of meeting and chatting with us, Samora had found the ideal venue for us and our 40 guests. As well as helping us find a venue, Samora also helped us find and organise a wonderful photographer and beautiful flowers for the space, as well as offering guidance for how to create our wedding playlist.

    When it came to the ceremony itself, Samora was there early to help us get prepared (she even ran out at the last minute to get me cough drops for my bad cold!). The ceremony itself was absolutely perfect: thanks to Samora, we had a ceremony that was unique and personal to us a couple, but one that still retained references to tradition, which is exactly what we wanted. Many of our guests have said that it was one of the loveliest wedding ceremonies they have attended, thanks to the personal touch that Samora gave to it. Samora comes very highly recommended from both of us!

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • User4393028 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora was amazing. After one meeting she already felt like family. Her ability to listen and put our words into a beautiful story on the most important day of our lives will never be forgotten.

    Sent on 10/27/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 12/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora helped (my now wife!) Jenn and I with our elopement in NYC. Samora is a very kind and professional person; we were very pleased with her. She happily answered our questions about the paperwork and other logistics involved with getting married in a different state. She wrote a beautiful, personal ceremony for us and did a wonderful job during our wedding. We highly recommend Samora for your wedding ceremony! Thanks again Samora!

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • L

    Liza · Married on 12/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Samora made our wedding perfect! My wife and I were married by her on 12/08/2014 in the Flat Iron building. We're not religious and we're lesbians, so we had wishes that were a touch unusual, and she was fantastic! She made our wedding very meaningful. Highly recommended!!

    Sent on 07/22/2017
  • A

    Aimee · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reverend Samora is wonderful. She answered every question we had. She was very helpful and honest. She really listened to our story. And, she created a beautiful ceremony, perfect for us. She highlighted who we are as a couple. It was an amazing occasion, and we're so happy we found her!
    - Patrick and Aimee

    Sent on 11/16/2014
  • Ellen

    Ellen · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing an officiant was the most important vendor decision we made during the wedding planning process. We didn't want a cookie cutter ceremony. We wanted something tailored to us. Finding Samora on wedding wire was such a relief. From our first phone call with Samora I knew I could trust her 100% to produce the ceremony of my dreams. She exceeded all my expectations. She wrote a truly beautiful ceremony that captured our love story perfectly. We received so many compliments from our guests that our ceremony was the most beautiful they had heard. I am so pleased with Samora's services. I highly recommended her to anyone out there looking for a wedding officiant.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • M

    Malcolm & Janet · Married on 09/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    We have just returned to the Western Isles, Scotland after having got married in Central Park, NY City on 9th Sept 2014.
    We chose our Officiant for the day after researching numerous YouTube videos. SAMORA SMITH of COMMON GROUND CEREMONIES was excellent from start to finish. She worked with us via e-mail and together we compiled the marriage ceremony.. We travelled to New York on our own, choosing to celebrate with our family and friends on our return and our ceremony was personalised with family members' names included. She ensured every detail was immaculately planned and nothing was too much trouble for her. Rev Samora added the parts to the ceremony which made it magical. We felt we knew her before we even met her in New York and she met with us prior to the day to take us to the location and ensured we were pleased with everything.
    We cannot thank her enough for her services and highly recommend her.
    Malcolm & Janet

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • User4533541 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Samora conducted a beautiful Central Park elopement ceremony for my husband and I. Living in Tennessee and having little knowledge of Central Park, Samora helped us plan our wedding before we arrived in New York, from selecting a wedding site, to securing a photographer. On our wedding day she conducted a beautiful ceremony in the park. I would highly recommend Samora for anyone getting married in NYC.

    Sent on 11/08/2014
  • E

    Erika · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the second we met Samora we were extremely comfortable with her and felt like she completely understood the two of us, the vibe of the ceremony that we wanted and what it would look like. Her ceremony was so completely us while weaving elements in that we didn't even know we needed (but were glad we had). Samora created a thoughtful and personal ceremony for me and my wife based on the information she received. We had an extremely diverse group of people attend out wedding and she was able to speak to everyone and make us all feel welcomed and comfortable.

    Samora was an absolute dream to work with, so kind, warm, helpful and flexible.

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • M

    Maya & Bobby · Married on 07/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora was an absolute joy to work with. Not only was she thoughtful about our vows and our readings, but thorough in her investigation about the couple Bobby and I are. Her goal was to make Bobby and I reflective about our journey thus far together so we could weave our wedding vows together in a meaningful way that reflected our future. It was a wonderful exercise that made our ceremony and vows have gravitas. I can't recommend Rev. Samora highly enough. A true professional through and through! xo Maya

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 07/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev.Samora is a truly wonderful person and really made our day special!
    We live in London and were travelling to New York for a short holiday and my birthday treat!, we thought it would be a nice idea to have an intimate blessing while we were away but was not sure how to go about it and if it was even possible? I found Rev.Samora at Common Ground Ceremonies online and sent her an email, she responded fast and gave us all the information we needed. It was so overwhelming to have the support from someone so far away and who we had never met, Rev.Samora answered all our questions and assured us that it was possible to have an intimate ceremony, she arranged the venue and photographer and was so supportive throughout. This was so kind and wonderful as we didn't have friends or family coming to New York with us and it was our first time there.
    We had a beautiful, intimate ceremony on a (very) hot summer's day in Central Park, New York on 14th July 2014.
    Exactly what we wanted and we could not of asked for more, a truly special time that meant more to us than we can ever express.
    Thank you Rev. Samora, we are appreciated it so much. xxx

    Sent on 10/31/2014
  • A

    Ameenah · Married on 07/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Samora is truly the epitome of professionalism! From the beginning to the very end, she was thoroughly informative, helpful and kind. We were very conscious about our selection; we knew our elopement was to be a small, simple ceremony- the majority of which the officiant would have "the floor". Just as her stellar reviews suggested, Rev. Samora did not disappoint! We could not have asked for a better officiant. She ensured that our day was memorable, while making us feel comfortable and, most importantly, special! We can't thank Rev. Samora enough and would highly recommend her for any wedding- big or small!

    Sent on 07/16/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife Alicia and I were wed by Samora on July 5th, 2014. Samora's words at our ceremony were incredibly meaningful and touching. The guests were very impressed with her, as were Alicia and I. Samora is extremely professional, easy to talk to, and fast with communication. Thank you, Samora!

    Sent on 07/10/2014
  • User4289608 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing to work with Samora as the officiant for our ceremony was a great decision for us! We knew from what we read about her that she was what we were looking for. Luckily she was available, even though it was technically a holiday weekend (July 4th).

    She worked closely with us prior to the ceremony to develop and finalize all of the text - and she was very flexible as far as changes we wanted to make, and did not question any of the personal sentiments we asked to have included.

    She attended the event on time, and walked us through the signing of the certificate afterwards.

    It was wonderful having her be a part of our most important day.

    Highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/04/2014
  • E

    Elana · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking into different options for our ceremony, we opted for an officiant that would provide a non-denominational service, as we are both spiritual, but not overtly religious. Samora connected with us immediately. She understood who we were, what brought us together, and what we envisioned for our big day. She guided us through the whole process and made it easy for us to relax and enjoy it. We opted to write our vows, and Samora integrated everything into a personalized experience. On the day-of, Samora was on time, organized and kept the focus on keeping our special moment just that. She talked us through the steps leading up to the ceremony, setting our minds at ease and orchestrating a beautiful service.

    Truth be told, in all of the commotion and nervousness leading up to the big moment, the rings were misplaced, by the husband-to-be, in a waiting area before the ceremony. It did not occur to us until at the altar that there were no rings. Samora instinctively picked up what had occurred without being told and continued with the ceremony reassuring us that we would have a symbolic exchange in place of the ring exchange. Amazingly, a family member located the rings just in time for this part of the service, and Samora simply reincorporated them. She seamlessly delivered the service without the guests even realizing that the ring debacle occurred. It was a rollercoaster of an experience and Samora was ever the professional. The ceremony was perfect in the end.

    Samora has a special way with people and understanding what brings them together. We are forever indebted to her and cannot speak highly enough of how incredible of a person she is to us. Thank you Samora.

    Sent on 02/02/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review