Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel Reviews

8 | Phoenix, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Recommended by 86%

8

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 12/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just booked this venue for my wedding on New Years Eve this year. They are amazing to work with! So accommodating, reliable and genuinely pleasant people to work with!

    They also helped get the venue within my budget. I know my guest are going to be in awe of the roof top ceremony and the gorgeous ball room. I can't wait to see everyone's reaction. & the fact that I was able to get in all within my budget, I am beyond grateful for their services and help!

    Sent on 08/21/2016
  • User5000235 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! The staff here are wonderful people. From start to finish, they were quick to respond, listened to all of our needs and requests, and were very flexible working with us. They also offered many concessions, especially because we're hosting our rehearsal dinner in their restaurant.

    Other vendors were slow to respond, didn't respond, or seemed unenthusiastic about working with us. The experience we had planning our wedding with the Renaissance was a complete 180 from these other vendors. From the moment we stepped on property to check out the ceremony and receptions spaces we were treated very well. On top of all this, their location is perfect for our out of town guests. They're close to the airport and transportation is a quick taxi or light rail ride away.

    I can't to get married here!

    Sent on 07/07/2015
  • J

    Joyce · event on 08/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely the best at everything from the sales to dinner.

    Sent on 09/01/2014
  • User3325812 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about the care and service we received at the Renaissance. From booking the venue with Jennifer, to planning sessions and day-of assistance from Monique, our whole family and wedding party were taken care of and felt at home during our wedding. The venue was amazing and perfect for our theme of modern elegance. We had our ceremony on the outdoor terrace and it was set-up beautifully. The cocktail hour was in a stylist foyer and the reception was held in the ballroom that had such great architectural elements that you forgot you were in a hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful in pulling all of the elements together before and during the event. Monique, the wedding coordinator, went above and beyond in helping us plan our event. From selecting the menu to providing advice on all the details, she was excellent. Our out of town family and friends loved staying at the hotel and walking around downtown. The hotel was in a perfect location, close to places to eat for breakfast, lunch and post-event. We couldn't have picked a better location and it made our wedding perfect.

    Sent on 02/28/2014
  • nicole47

    Nicole · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Wyndham Phoenix was absolutely amazing. My family and friends all booked rooms to avoid driving home from downtown and the hotel was very accomodating. The staff new all of us by our names. Michael, the Catering Manager, is a very special person and I'm so glad that he was the one who helped me plan my big day. A big thank you to all of the staff at the Wyndham!!

    Sent on 11/04/2009
  • C

    Chandra · Married on 03/18/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our rooftop wedding at the Renaissance was incredible! Initially, I was set on finding a small, unique, local venue and didn’t even consider the large chain hotels. But, my husband found out the Renaissance had a rooftop patio (which is something I love), and we added it to the venues we toured. I thought it would be much more expensive than the smaller local places, but it wasn’t. We ended up choosing it because it had the most beautiful setting at one of the most reasonable prices. They were hip, fun, and open to a little goofiness in our unique event (they are obviously also very classy, if that’s what you’re seeking). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I was super happy that everything was taken care of meaning there were few details for us to worry about (e.g. signs, food presentation, etc.). I was worried that the food might be “blah” because we were required to use their catering. I was wrong. Chef Ryan was incredible and the food got tons of compliments. More than one guest said it was the best wedding food they’ve ever had. And there was a variety of types of food for us to choose from. Our event coordinator, Carol, was super nice, helpful, reliable, and experienced. When there was a heat wave the week of our March event, the staff worked with us to move our cocktail hour inside for AC at the last minute and keep our dinner and dancing on Skyline. When we were terrified we might have had to move our entire event indoors, I emailed Carol and she replied, “Your reception will be amazing. I have no doubt in my mind and I think it will far exceed your expectations. Not to worry. :)“ She was absolutely right.

    Sent on 05/12/2017
  • Jodels

    Jodie · Married on 11/08/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The previous reviewer, in my opinion, is totally off when it comes to the Director of Catering. I too am in the event business and I think the Director of Catering is one of the most professional individuals I have ever come in contact with. He is a superstar and an absolute gem. In fact, if it weren't for the food being sub-par, our wedding experience at the Wyndham Phoenix would have been absolutely flawless. The food quality, however, had nothing to do with the Director of Catering and his staff.

    I am also disappointed that the staff put a tip jar out for gratuity during the cocktail hour since it was a hosted bar and I was already paying gratuity. Once the Director of Catering and his Banquet Manager realized this they took care of it right away. They also found another way to make it up to us, which I appreciated. I certainly wasn't looking for a "handout", but it was nice to be "heard".

    Since the property has been remodeled it is an absolutely stunning modern facility to host any event. I am so fortunate that I worked with the Director of Catering and his staff. I feel like they made my event a huge success. It's unfortunate that the food was not great.

    Sent on 11/13/2008
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 04/05/2008

    0.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I am in the business and expect a high level of service and I did not receive that from the Wyndham. In fact had I not had a contract with this hotel I would have pulled my wedding and had it at another location. The main reason for the terrible experiance was their Director of Catering. My wedding was suppose to be filled with fun memories of the planning and instead it was filled with bad memories, headaches and tears. At one point I had to stop working with the main contact and have my husband take over. They raised the menu prices on me two weeks before my wedding and did not tell me, they tried to charge me $1.00 per person for sliced lemons for ice water, they tried to charge for items that were already negotiated off the original agreement. Please make sure you have your contract with you and you read the fine print before you sign with this hotel. They will nickel and dime you for everything. The professionalism of the event planner was disrespectful At one point he draged my professional career into what I was planning personally with him and I had to remind him that what I do for a living, should in no way effect how I am treated or what I am doing with him.
    A few days before my wedding I asked for a meeting with the banquet manager and banquet captain to go over the details of my wedding and they were amazing to work with. They offered suggestions that should have been thought of three days before my wedding. After I met with them I felt much better about my wedding being held there. Had it not been for them I would have been miserable the entire time. They were on cue all night and attend to all of my needs all night and made sure I was taken care. I wish I was treated this way throughout the planning process, Iwould be singing a dffirent song.
    The food was so-so. I had a veg. meal but my guest all dined on filet and said the filet was amazing.

    Sent on 09/22/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review